Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Asylum/Oldskool thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Steo32

Anybody have Hole in one - Lifes too short cant find it anywere

Lads, there was another track played in the olympic very regular it has guitar music in it. it use to get the crowd going mental, its not the one
    called 2 fat guitars or somthing. no vocals in it very hard to describe so im
    not banking on anybody remembering it, one thing for sure i dont think it was posted up here. Just like to say aswell i know i havent posted up anything myself yet reason being i have little time as I log on at work
    and dont have a pc at home, plus I havnt got a clue how? but when i sort out both I will. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭Is mise le key

Steo32 wrote: »
    Anybody have Hole in one - Lifes too short cant find it anywere

Heres that track you were after chief;)
    Hole In One - Life's Too Short.mp3
    Lads, there was another track played in the olympic very regular it has guitar music in it. it use to get the crowd going mental, its not the one
    not banking on anybody remembering it, one thing for sure i dont think it was posted up here. Just like to say aswell i know i havent posted up anything myself yet reason being i have little time as I log on at work
    and dont have a pc at home, plus I havnt got a clue how? but when i sort out both I will. ;)

Need a bit more info for that one......

A little bit off the subject of the Rave again but sure times are hard.....any of ye with children that have a Nintendo DS & € 40 € 50 € 60 is just too much to be paying for games.......get your self one of these jobs here,

http://www.r4ds.cn/

You can pick them up around dublin for about € 50 & then you can download games to go onto a standard mini memory card with your PC that slots into the top of the chip on the site above:rolleyes:
    The chip you buy is an adapter for memory cards.
    You need to get a USB key to put the mini SD into to transfer data from your PC......then the mini SD slots into the R4 & you have your game on your DS

http://www.amazon.com/Memory-Reader-Writer-MINISD-MOBILE/dp/B000H0H04C

I have at loads of downloaded DS games already & it saves a bundle;)

Heres that track you were after chief;)
    Hole In One - Life's Too Short.mp3

Need a bit more info for that one......
    Thanks for that man grand tune. that other one I was told before it was called trashman but I think that was a lie as i serched to no avail. yea I heard about those r4 cards I just bought my little fella a ds have to get one.

Ye its a belter alright......remember it being banged out in the LUSH tent in homelands.....had the whole place ecstatic:D

for the DS chips You should drop into Max Burns in the industrial esatate behind domnicks shopping centre in tallaght......he should be able to sort ya out with one.....if not the Red Cow market is another place you can pick one up.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭aidan kelly

Just a wild guess based on your description, but is it Salt Tank's "Eugina" - I think Mark Kavanagh used to play it a lot in the Olympic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j315NpcKzKc

I think this mix came later though, The original "Salt Tank" track (which I've on a double pack at home somewhere) had the same guitar riff, but was a bit slower than this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,614 ✭✭✭es-cee

aceberg wrote: »
    here's the tracklist for hp3.

Pressure - House Pressure 3

Side A

1.Vision Masters & Tony King - Keep On Pumpin' It ---> http://www.discogs.com/Vision-Masters--Ton.../release/154227
    2.Sonexuno - Alchemy ---> http://www.discogs.com/Sonexuno-Alchemy/release/466465
    3. D.o.p - Lion ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/74944
    4.JX - Son Of A Gun ---> http://www.discogs.com/JX-Son-Of-A-Gun/release/35418
    5.Grid, The - Swamp Thing ---> http://www.discogs.com/Grid-Swamp-Thing/release/45805
    6.Joe Inferno - Tribal Church ---> http://www.discogs.com/Joe-Inferno-Tribal-.../release/130458
    7.D'Enrico - It Was Meant To Be ---> http://www.discogs.com/DEnrico-It-Was-Mean.../release/100079
    8.Atlantic Ocean - Waterfall ---> http://www.discogs.com/Atlantic-Ocean-Wate...l/release/14158
    9.Pangalactic - Na-Na ---> http://www.discogs.com/Pangalactic-Na-Na/release/216884
    10.Nikolai - Ready To Flow ---> http://www.discogs.com/Nikolai-Ready-To-Flow/release/67192
    11.Visions Of Shiva, The - Perfect Day ---> http://www.discogs.com/Visions-Of-Shiva-Pe.../release/151858

Side B

1.Datura - The 7th Hallucination ---> http://www.discogs.com/Datura-The-7th-Hall...n/release/98255
    2.Luxor - Perpetuum Mobile ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/195539
    3.Whitestorm - Bongos And B-Line / Ride The Whitestorm ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/221435
    4.Union Jack - Two Full Moons & A Trout (Remixes) ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/46909
    5.Leroy - The First Flight ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/172597
    6.Dee Rex - The Garden Of Life ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/218466
    7.Voodoo Posse - Totem Vibes EP ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/169493
    8.Mo-Tune - Infinite Climax ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/53501
    9.Cosmic Baby - Fantasia ---> http://www.discogs.com/release/109509

it must be dee rex your after the garden of life.top track indeed.

fair play 4 that track list, i hadn't a clue of the names of half the tunes on that tape.
    did the other sets end up downloadin 4 ya?
    ive a few more on the way,
    carl cox and the like.

wats the story wit them house pressure tapes anyway,
    are they just bedroom mixes or wats the craic?
    none of them seem 2 be actually live in the asylum.
    its like pressure mixed them in his gaf and passed them off as live
    asylum recordings.
    all the tracks are deadly and the mixin good 4 the most part,
    but havin 2 sides off a tape with different music and different mixes can't be live.
    any1 feel the same way?
    let us know wat yis think, i'm interested in finding out.

es-cee wrote: »
    wats the story wit them house pressure tapes anyway,
    are they just bedroom mixes or wats the craic?
    none of them seem 2 be actually live in the asylum.
    its like pressure mixed them in his gaf and passed them off as live
    asylum recordings.
    all the tracks are deadly and the mixin good 4 the most part,
    but havin 2 sides off a tape with different music and different mixes can't be live.
    any1 feel the same way?
    let us know wat yis think, i'm interested in finding out.

As far as i know they were never claimed to be live......& the subtle joke is that its House music but their called house casue their mixed from his house.....well thats what i always thought at the time he was releasing them but mind you i was off my tits all that time & maybe i made it up in my head:D:D:D

Ye its a belter alright......remember it being banged out in the LUSH tent in homelands.....had the whole place ecstatic:D

for the DS chips You should drop into Max Burns in the industrial esatate behind domnicks shopping centre in tallaght......he should be able to sort ya out with one.....if not the Red Cow market is another place you can pick one up.;)
    Fair play to ya! domnicks is only down the road from me ill try him;).
    Never went to homelands but know loads who did and said it was great.
    I stopped going to raves after the ormond clossed its doors never, stopped listening to the music do ;)

As far as i know they were never claimed to be live......& the subtle joke is that its House music but their called house casue their mixed from his house.....well thats what i always thought at the time he was releasing them but mind you i was off my tits all that time & maybe i made it up in my head:D:D:D

good stuff man, i was 2 young 2 go 2 the asylum regularly, exept 4 an hour of madness when i was about 13/14? cant remember wat age i was.
    1st time i took yolks, off me head chewin the jaws off meself.:eek:
    anyway used 2 listen 2 me cousins and mates older brothers and sisters
    asylum, sides and olympic mixes.
    have 1 - 8 meself, how many are there?

good stuff man, i was 2 young 2 go 2 the asylum regularly, exept 4 an hour of madness when i was about 13/14? cant remember wat age i was.
    1st time i took yolks, off me head chewin the jaws off meself.:eek:
    anyway used 2 listen 2 me cousins and mates older brothers and sisters
    asylum, sides and olympic mixes.
    have 1 - 8 meself, how many are there?

As far as i know there was 9 and i still have one working link for SIDE A
    http://www.mediafire.com/?jjdmzexgt9m

Just a wild guess based on your description, but is it Salt Tank's "Eugina" - I think Mark Kavanagh used to play it a lot in the Olympic.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j315NpcKzKc

I think this mix came later though, The original "Salt Tank" track (which I've on a double pack at home somewhere) had the same guitar riff, but was a bit slower than this.
    Salt Tank what a track not the one do. Its hard to explaine in words the way the tune went but f it here goes this is the middle du du. du du du, du du. du du du, du du. and so on the 2 DUs go low then the other 3 go high id say your laughing at my explanation right now but its all i can think of to help id it. :P

As far as i know there was 9 and i still have one working link for SIDE A
    http://www.mediafire.com/?jjdmzexgt9m

downloadin now, ill give it a listen when its finished.
    do ya have side b, can ya up it if at all possible?

downloadin now, ill give it a listen when its finished.
    do ya have side b, can ya up it if at all possible?

Sorry chief dont have it....will have to have a look on the HD at home to see if its there........heres a couple of links i put up a while back i highly reccommend D/L'ing.....only three D/L's on this so far.......far be it from me to tell anyone what they should be listening to but this album is Fuc.kin class & has never lost its appeal in 16 years;)
    Some serious tunes on here:)

Beltram - OLYMPIC SIDE A.MP3
    Beltram - OLYMPIC SIDE B.MP3

Salt Tank what a track not the one do. Its hard to explaine in words the way the tune went but f it here goes this is the middle du du. du du du, du du. du du du, du du. and so on the 2 DUs go low then the other 3 go high id say your laughing at my explanation right now but its all i can think of to help id it. :P

good effort.
    is there any lyrics in it at all?

Sorry chief dont have it....will have to have a look on the HD at home to see if its there........heres a couple of links i put up a while back i highly reccommend D/L'ing.....only three D/L's on this so far.......far be it from me to tell anyone what they should be listening to but this album is Fuc.kin class & has never lost its appeal in 16 years;)
    Some serious tunes on here:)

Beltram - OLYMPIC SIDE A.MP3
    Beltram - OLYMPIC SIDE B.MP3

is this mix live in the olympic?
    d/l now ill give it a listen when its finished.

did ya check out any of the hardcore/jungle mixes i put up,
    are ya in2 the old english scene at all?

is this mix live in the olympic?
    d/l now ill give it a listen when its finished.

did ya check out any of the hardcore/jungle mixes i put up,
    are ya in2 the old english scene at all?

Wouldnt be my cup of scald now chief......no its not live at the OLYMPIC there is just a couple of OLYMPIC tunes on the end that were being played week in week out when it was open i stuck on to fill up the tape at the time......tunes arnt in keeping with the beltram mix either but its all good;)

I do like old english i have to say though mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm
    http://www.mediafire.com/?ttmyk2ynzn0

Wouldnt be my cup of scald now chief......no its not live at the OLYMPIC there is just a couple of OLYMPIC tunes on the end that were being played week in week out when it was open i stuck on to fill up the tape at the time......tunes arnt in keeping with the beltram mix either but its all good;)

lol!!!!

if you like scratch dj type scratchin and herin the crowd go off their tits
    then they might just appeal 2 ya.
    i have a good carl cox 1 on the way live @ the edge '93.
    its a belter!
    ranges from happy hardcore to down and dirty dark core/jungle.
    some of the mixin is a bit sketchy, but we get that from our good pal pressure anyway.

good effort.
    is there any lyrics in it at all?
    No but all I can say is it was played alot in the olympic around 93 and
    im sure M. Kavanagh played it when the likes of thk France, Dream lover,
    young braves reach, rottherdam93, delromes biknicks? crunch-devo,moonboom,veiwfinder back to front, ext all in the same mix. towards the end of the track it gets very heavy but it starts off very uplifting thats when u can realy hear the guitar music in it. I had the tape years ago the mix was played on sunset fm the next day I taped it sunday morning if i recall. they somtimes did that on sunset the next day.I lost all my tapes from back then could never hold on to them always got nicked.:mad::D:D.

I just listened to the tape you converted I see you have rotterdam93 on it, was always one of my favourites at the time, and I remember that one with the indian singing eeeeeeeeeee ya ooooooooooo.at the start of side b I think I downloaded it thanks to that chap who id ed it

No but all I can say is it was played alot in the olympic around 93 and
    im sure M. Kavanagh played it when the likes of thk France, Dream lover,
    young braves reach, rottherdam93, delromes biknicks? crunch-devo,moonboom,veiwfinder back to front, ext all in the same mix. towards the end of the track it gets very heavy but it starts off very uplifting thats when u can realy hear the guitar music in it. I had the tape years ago the mix was played on sunset fm the next day I taped it sunday morning if i recall. they somtimes did that on sunset the next day.I lost all my tapes from back then could never hold on to them always got nicked.:mad::D:D.

its not the tune off the carl cox psyclone zone is it.
    it think the guitar in it is a sample of a status quoe song.
    probobly not, just throwin wild ideas around.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,531 ✭✭✭jonny68

Just seen this on facebook, just when you think you know all there is to know about Old Skool classics one crops up and bites you,i never heard this before until now,,listen to the piano an bassline in this classic.:):)

The Crowdpleasers - Kick Ya Legs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mix2H2KxIoM

any1 have this track on mp3?
    only have the short radio edit meself.

jonny68 wrote: »
    Just seen this on facebook, just when you think you know all there is to know about Old Skool classics one crops up and bites you,i never heard this before until now,,listen to the piano an bassline in this classic.:):)

The Crowdpleasers - Kick Ya Legs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mix2H2KxIoM

good track alright, never heard it before either.
    pitty the sound quality isn't the best, would have made a good d/l.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭DjAloldskool

any1 have this track on mp3?
    only have the short radio edit meself.

Do you mean Mix Factory - Take me away?

thats the 1 man, my f ing cousin had me convinced it was called techno.
    no wonder i couldn't find it, ah well no harm no foul.

fair play 4 the info.
    don't have it on mp3 by any chance do ya?

thats the 1 man, my f ing cousin had me convinced it was called techno.
    no wonder i couldn't find it, ah well no harm no foul.

fair play 4 the info.
    don't have it on mp3 by any chance do ya?

there ya go chief........4.66MB
    Mix factory - Take Me Away.mp3

there ya go chief........4.66MB
    Mix factory - Take Me Away.mp3

nice 1. thats a few bits and bobs your after sortin out 4 me 2day,
    if your lookin 4 anythin yourself give us a shout.
    like i told aceberg, i might have somethin in me bag of tricks.:D