Licence for silencer for .22

• 20-05-2009 08:19PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭

Lads does anyone on ere have a licence for there silencer on there .22lr. what reason did ye give, was it complicated?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,874 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Hey fiestaman,

Was curious about something. Since when do you need a licence for a silencer. Not being condescending, am genuinely curious. The reason i ask is that 2 - 3 years ago i went to buy one for my .22 and the dealer would not give it to me unless i got a licence. When i went to my local FO he was more puzzled than me. Said that there are no licences for silencers and that a dealer does not need one or even a note from the gardai to sell them as it is completely up to the person buying the silencer to make the local FO aware that he/she has purchased one. The Garda did not ask for a reason for getting it but i voluntarily told him it was for reducing noise levels so as not to disrupt or upset locals. He printed me out a note there and then, signed it and stamped it. Job done.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭fiestaman

sorry my mistake, i meant a note not a licence. was just woundering like if i went in to ask about one from my local FO would there be hassle as i hear they dont want you with them...even though i have one id like to be able to carry the gun without having to screw it off all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,274 ✭✭✭clivej

To follow the letter of the law you need a license for a mod BUT a letter of permission from you Super will do.

seach for "moderator not allowed here" on the forum for more info.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,874 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

Hey lads,

Looking over some things and you do not need a licence for a silencer/moderator. You cannot get one as they do not exist. All that can be got is a note/letter of authorisation from your super. Possesion of such a note/letter will inform any person that needs it, that you have informed your local Gardai that you have a silencer/moderator and that the Gardai deem your ownership and use of it as necessary and allowed.

According to the N.A.R.G.C. site they state that under the new three licence system a silencer/moderator will be noted on the new licence as an endorsement and must be applied for as justification of ownership will be required.

Read it at http://www.nargc.ie/site.aspx under "Clarification regarding sound moderators (silencers)
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo