Garda gets €15k over stress of tackling naked woman!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 47 mickeymoney

Nodin wrote: »
    Wobbly bits, flappy bits, saggy bits, bits you know neither the name or function of.....

I ca see a headline ....... "Bobby bloodied by black womans bibgo wings"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

netwhizkid wrote: »
    I laughed when I read the thread but fully sympathise with the Guard waiting for any medical tests is stressful and for him the thought of potentially contracting HIV/AID's must be awful. That horrible should be locked in a forced labour camp and made to work off the 15k debt.

Well you seem fairly clued up so I'll ask again. How does cutting your hand= OMFG I've got AIDS? :confused:

It's not only stupid that he got compo it's anti-scientific and racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Wibbs wrote: »

Very simply. Loud bangs are part and parcel of being around firearms. Being around firearms is part and parcel of being in the army. Being around large areas of wet stuff is part and parcel of being in the navy. If a navy man brought a law suit against the navy for getting excessively wet, it is not too far from an army man taking a case against loud noises.
    I am not suggesting that they shouldn't have had ear protection in live fire on range exercises.

What does it matter if it is live fire or not?

Yes no problem there, but I was looking at the example given of training designed to acquaint a serviceman to the feelings of being under fire and requiring ear protection as frankly daft. Lets say they did have ear protection in that situation and then god forbid had the full force of the real thing in actual combat, surely as a training exercise it would have limited merit, other than the bloody obvious of "eh lads keep your head down".

So you believe that the service men and women should be exposed to the loud noises because that's what it will be like for real?

While no simulation will completely reproduce the thing it's trying to simulate for obvious safety reasons, there are limits. This was one of them. Obviously safety is paramount for again bloody obvious reasons and as I said they should have had ear protection for on range exercises, but that particular case had many of the hallmarks of compo culture attached to it. In any case simple foam ear protectors are bloody cheap, so why didn't the grass roots themselves take it upon themselves to buy the privately, even on an individual basis, or unit basis, even if to highlight it as a problem? On the back of that pass it up the chain of command. Hardly rocket science. I know I would have if I considered the risk great enough. To take the navy analogy further, I would not join said force without learning to swim and if the navy didn't see that as a requirement and I ended up drowning in an exercise as a result, my family could hardly claim compensation on the back of my own lack of foresight.

THe claimant could argue that swimming classes were not arranged for those unable to swim etc etc. I guess you don't know too much about the army, thinking that the chain of command works like that. It doesn't. It should, but it doesn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 996 ✭✭✭bnagrrl

Objectively speaking, if I was bitten by another person I would want blood tests for Hep C, HIV and a tetanus, regardless of their race/nationality whatever.
    A human bite can be more dangerous than an animal bite due to the different strains of bacteria in the mouth.
    According to the Garda in this case he wasn't sure if he was scraped or bitten and the Dr suggested he be tested.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

ScumLord wrote: »
    The fact is he would be looked after. Even if he did contract something he would have been taken care of. There was no need for this additional compensation on top of all the privileges he already has.

Looked after and taken care of by who exactly. And what are these supposed privileges he apparently has?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

THe claimant could argue that swimming classes were not arranged for those unable to swim etc etc. I guess you don't know too much about the army, thinking that the chain of command works like that. It doesn't. It should, but it doesn't.
    I know enough to know it depends on the army, the people in that army, specifically in the chain of command and in this case they failed those beneath them.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

O'Coonassa wrote: »
    Well you seem fairly clued up so I'll ask again. How does cutting your hand= OMFG I've got AIDS? :confused:

If she was white from the same area, would it be racism? I guess not. She is from an area where aids is rampant. Of course he is going to worry. Do I agree with him getting money for it? Nope.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    I know enough to know it depends on the army, the people in that army, specifically in the chain of command and in this case they failed those beneath them.

They sure did, and they sued and got compo for it. What's the problem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

The person is from Nigeria where 3.1% of the population is HIV+ or has Aids this represents 2.6million people who are HIV+, Now Ireland has a population of over 45,000 people of African descent and a large proportion of these are Nigerians and while I don't have the figures last I saw was there was 16,000 to 20,000 documented Nigerians living in Ireland (the real figure is slightly larger).

So 3.1% of 16,000 people gives us a figure of 496 HIV+ Nigerians in Ireland, now going for the higher end of the scale at say 20,000 Nigerians in Ireland would give us 620 HIV+ Nigerians and if we imagine there is another 5,000 or so undocumented and in legal limbo here it would give us 775 HIV+ Nigerians.

So for sake of argument there is somewhere between 496 to 775 HIV+ Nigerians in Ireland where our HIV/AID's rate is 0.2% with over 5,500 infected individuals, which would see Nigerians alone accounting for between 7 and 9% of the Irish HIV+ infected persons, despite representing less than 1% of the Irish population.

So Nigerians represent a higher risk category for HIV/AID and now this Garda was involved in a altercation with the woman in question and during it he broke the skin in his hand and was bleeding, now there is also uncertainty to whether this was cut or bitten, which leads me to believe that there may have been attempts to bite the Garda, the woman was also naked when she was restrained and perhaps also suffered cuts and bleeding. The possibility of bodily fluids to exchange was there and by the sounds of it small but plausible.

Bodily fluids from the Vagina also cause infection but as this was a non-sexual encounter the risks of this were very low. I'm sure HIV was the last thing on the Garda's mind at the time and while the risks were extremely low they were there and if the woman was HIV+ to begin with (which was a 1 in 12.5 chance) he stood the risk of potentially contracting something.

Also bear in mind due to the uncertainty of this the Guard had to wait three months for testing and another three to get the all clear. During this time the Garda would have had to abstain from all sexual activity with his partner incase of infecting her/him if found positive. So he spent 6 months worrying and asking himself "have I got it or not?" and having no sexual relations which could lead to low self esteem and potential relationship or marital problems.

So to sum it up I think was fair he got compensation based on scientific facts, and race has nothing to do with it as HIV/AIDS does not discriminate on skin colour, certain Socio/Economic issues lead to higher prevelences of HIV/AIDS in different countries but once again as in Ireland the different racial make up of each country is effected accordingly with lifestyle and sexual behaviour and intravenous drug use defining the at risk categories not race. I have based my deduction on CIA world factbook figures and allowed for natural increases since the 2006 census.

CIA World Factbook Ireland

CIA World Factbook Nigeria
    CSO Census 2006 Demographics
    Demographics of Ireland

If she was white from the same area, would it be racism? I guess not. She is from an area where aids is rampant. Of course he is going to worry.

Nigeria's got a really low infection rate compared to other African countries it's only around 3% or something. Did they have sex? did they share needles or exchange bodily fluids in some other way? No they didn't. If she'd been European would the cop in question be getting tested? No he wouldn't therefore he's an ignorant racist bollocks.

netwhizkid wrote: »
    So 3.1% of 16,000 people gives us a figure of 496 HIV+ Nigerians in Ireland, now going for the higher end of the scale at say 20,000 Nigerians in Ireland would give us 620 HIV+ Nigerians and if we imagine there is another 5,000 or so undocumented and in legal limbo here it would give us 775 HIV+ Nigerians.

So what you're saying is that out of 25,000 people only 775 of them have HIV and you think that's cause for a big grown man to be worried on account of the fact that he cut his hand? The odds of him contracting AIDS were tiny. Even if he'd had real rough sex with the girl or shared a needle then the odds would still be extremely small. But he didn't even do those things. He didn't even know how he'd cut his hand. It's feckin' ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭johnny_knoxvile

If it was Susan Doyle i would want at least ?60k.

Megan Fox, we could round it down a little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

If it was Susan Doyle i would want at least ?60k.

She'd be an easy take-down tho. Over nice and quick. Just have to grab her by her bushy eyebrows or failing that her mane of anus hair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

Nigeria's got a really low infection rate compared to other African countries it's only around 3% or something. Did they have sex? did they share needles or exchange bodily fluids in some other way? No they didn't. If she'd been European would the cop in question be getting tested? No he wouldn't therefore he's an ignorant racist bollocks.

hardly

He didnt know whether he was scraped or bitten, if I was bitten by someone; white or black, european or african...I would be just as worried and getting myself tested.
    I fail to see how that makes him a racist tbh.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

If she'd been European would the cop in question be getting tested?

Yes he would.
    I know a cop who was bitten by a bloke during an arrest and he was tested for HIV too.
    The bloke was irish and white so saying racism is part of it is pathetic.
    I'm sure if somebody bit YOU or spat blood on you under violent circumstances you'd be quiet happy to KNOW you didnt catch anything.

Zadkiel wrote: »
    if I was bitten by someone; white or black, european or african...I would be just as worried and getting myself tested.
    I fail to see how that makes him a racist tbh.

He'd surely have noticed if she bit him and drew blood. You have to bite pretty damn hard to draw blood and bites hurt there and then. Yourself, highly paranoid though it seems to me, would go and get an AIDS test whoever bit you regardless of what they looked like.

Cop in question was playing the angles for compo and used the womans ethnicity to get maximum leverage, it seems that he's done very nicely out of us.

Lol... I find this hilarious, that you actually believe this is racism. Basically what you are saying is that if someone injures you to a point where bodily fluids may be exchanged and the person is black, by seeking medical advice you are racist? 3% of any population to have aids is pretty large. If it was in Ireland or anywhere else he would be advised to do so. A persons bit is worse than a cat or dogs bite.
    So what you're saying is that out of 25,000 people only 775 of them have HIV and you think that's cause for a big grown man to be worried on account of the fact that he cut his hand? The odds of him contracting AIDS were tiny. Even if he'd had real rough sex with the girl or shared a needle then the odds would still be extremely small. But he didn't even do those things. He didn't even know how he'd cut his hand. It's feckin' ridiculous.

This statement is fecking ridiculous... lol...

Degsy wrote: »
    Yes he would.
    I know a cop who was bitten by a bloke during an arrest and he was tested for HIV too.

He wasn't bitten. He didn't snog her, didn't have sex with her, didn't share a needle with her. She either scratched him or he scratched himself in such a minor way that he didn't notice until well after the fact.

He'd surely have noticed if she bit him and drew blood. You have to bite pretty damn hard to draw blood and bites hurt there and then. Yourself, highly paranoid though it seems to me, would go and get an AIDS test whoever bit you regardless of what they looked like.

It's not hard to contract aids from someone who... well... has aids... You ever hear of adrenalin? Probably not... Soldiers have been shot, not noticing they have been shot they continue as if nothing has happened.

Cop in question was playing the angles for compo and used the womans ethnicity to get maximum leverage, it seems that he's done very nicely out of us.[/QUOTE]

Are you speculating? Let me answer that for you. Yes, yes you are... Unless you have proof that he has done anything wrong, I suggest you stfu about it. Slander... :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

He wasn't bitten. He didn't snog her, didn't have sex with her, didn't share a needle with her. She either scratched him or he scratched himself in such a minor way that he didn't notice until well after the fact.

How do you know it was minor? Speculate much?

Lol... I find this hilarious, that you actually believe this is racism. Basically what you are saying is that if someone injures you to a point where bodily fluids may be exchanged and the person is black, by seeking medical advice you are racist? 3% of any population to have aids is pretty large. If it was in Ireland or anywhere else he would be advised to do so. A persons bit is worse than a cat or dogs bite.

Where are you getting the information that bodily fluids were exchanged? Seeking medical advice and asking 'does I haz AIDS?' should have been met with a solid no. Anyhow with you it isn't even Nigerians or Africans in question, it's all 'black' people. I think we know where you stand.

How do you know it was minor? Speculate much?

Have you ever cut yourself in a major way and not noticed it until some good while after? Of course not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭jusk

If he was worried maybe he should have called for backup, and waited for gloves, a lab coat, condoms, a facemask, an umbrella and a lasso to arrive.

This is a joke. Claiming compensation to do your job, when such 'dangers' are part of the job every day (drunks, junkies, terrorists, cannibals, hippies, dirty protestors, children, pigs, foreigners, etc) is ridiculous.

It's very easy to play up your stress and lasting mental anguish when there is the possibility of a big check from the taxpayer at the end of it.

If you don't want to have to tackle people who 'might' have AIDS (or anything else), then don't become a garda or a security guard and don't play rugby.

And this 'I might have been bitten. . . I don't know' crap, is a load of crap. Convenient crap. And how on earth do they decide the amount? "Hmmmm, yes this was €15,000 worth of stress."

Yes, yes you are... Unless you have proof that he has done anything wrong, I suggest you stfu about it. Slander... :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

He has shafted me out of tax money by using racist prejudice and ignorance. Sue me or stfu lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭irelandrover

what was he doing while she was taking off her clothes? was he just standing around watching. this seems like he was doing his job badly, allowed the woman to escape and then claimed compensation when he finally did his job properly. i apologise if I'm wrong but that's the impression I get from this story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭mehfesto2

Have you ever cut yourself in a major way and not noticed it until some good while after? Of course not.

Have you ever chased an naked African lady across a carpark?!

It's very easy to not notice injury immediately, especially in the heat of things. Look at any sportsmen/women. I've met a man who broke his collarbone during a GAA semi-final match and played on for 10minutes and a Boxer who fought with, unbeknownst to him for at least a round, with a broken nose.

Im sure a guard trying to catch a flailing naked lady in a public place had more on his mind than just his injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

You generally need several exposures to HIV to contract it. The chances of catching HIV on a once off casual encounter are actually very very small.

Read a medical journal report on it recently and I cldnt be arsed trying to find it now.

But at the same time that is no comfort if one is genuinely worried.

I am surprised you could pin her down..have you seen the size of those Nigerian women especially the ones with children...

Oh now you seem to know everything about me, WRONG!!! I have sustained several injuries and not known straight away, cuts, dislocations broken bones. My brother had a broken rib for months, he got a lump on his side checked out which turned out to be a broken rib.
    Where are you getting the information that bodily fluids were exchanged? Seeking medical advice and asking 'does I haz AIDS?' should have been met with a solid no. Anyhow with you it isn't even Nigerians or Africans in question, it's all 'black' people. I think we know where you stand.

You can exchange bodily fluids without even knowing. Anyone in the medical profession will not turn down a request with a solid no, based on the grounds that she is black. It's laughable. By your logic it's ok to seek medical help if the person is white... Oh and you are calling me a racist now? I assure you I am not. Also speak for yourself, don't be using "we" in your arguments. There's nobody else there...
    He has shafted me out of tax money by using racist prejudice and ignorance. Sue me or stfu lol

Again, claiming something you are not sure of, slander and speculation, assumptions assumptions, the mother of all fcuk ups. Where is your proof that he is racist, the fact that she is black isn't good enough.

Also, the money was never yours. Get that idea out of your head. You don't decide where it goes, what it gets spent on etc etc. A LOT more money has been wasted on a lot of differant things, have you done anything more than whine on an internet forum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭Plascebo

Excuse my ignorance but can you get AIDS from an infected persons saliva? i.e. if I was to french-kiss an AIDS infected person I could get AIDS???

I don't think so.....

So if they bite me, how do I get AIDS, unless they have a bloody injury to their mouth, which I'm sure would have been noticed.

mehfesto2 wrote: »
    Have you ever chased an naked African lady across a carpark?!

No only around houses and across open countryside :)
    mehfesto2 wrote: »
    It's very easy to not notice injury immediately, especially in the heat of things. Look at any sportsmen/women. I've met a man who broke his collarbone during a GAA semi-final match and played on for 10minutes and a Boxer who fought with, unbeknownst to him for at least a round, with a broken nose.

Im sure a guard trying to catch a flailing naked lady in a public place had more on his mind than just his injuries.

How can you not see that he's just some chancer? I'm sure in both those cases the pain was noticable immediately and didn't subside. I've busted my nose, my leg and my collarbone before now, hurts some but you don't know they're broken right away. By contrast any time I've had a serious cut the flowing blood made it apparent immediately. Have gone without noticing scrapes for a long while, even days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

Cop in question was playing the angles for compo and used the womans ethnicity to get maximum leverage, it seems that he's done very nicely out of us.

You cant tell by looking at someone whether or not they have HIV/AIDS!