Garda gets €15k over stress of tackling naked woman!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Take off your clothes and run onto the street, there's 7,500 in it for ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Altreab

Reminds me of the army getting compo for loud bangs from shooting guns! :)

The problem was because the army didnt provide ear muffs as was recommended under a safety report that they has commissioned about 20 years previous. They knew there was a possibility of hearing damage but didnt supply the recommended equipment. Hence the gravy train for a good number of army personnel and of course the lawyers. MANY serving and former army personnel were truely disgusted with those that made the claims.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Actually members of the defence forces were compensated for negligence on behalf of the Defence of Defence for not providing member's with hearing protection.

It came to light when the then Minister for Defence, Coveny attended a fire power innoculation in the Glen of Immal (Co.Wicklow) wearing hearing protection, the kind which we'd been looking to be issued with for years.

Fire power innoculations were carried out for soldiers travelling to (primarily) Lebanon to show the soldier the effects of incoming small arms & artillary fire, the soldiers would sit in a trench while the stuff was fired over and in close proximity to the trench.

When YOU'VE done similar as part of your job come back and make fun of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

I wonder was he pulled from duty....

If he'd played his cards right he might have been 'pulled' on duty :D

Altreab wrote: »
    . MANY serving and former army personnel were truely disgusted with those that made the claims.

Actually we weren't.

We were disgusted at our Minister for Defence & the Government, who instead of providing the hearing protection, and protecting us from public ridicule used the Governments P.R. machine to turn us into a public joke.

PDFORRA our representive body was in its infancy at the time and wasn't prepared for the onslaught of ridicule brought to bare by our bosses.

Fvcking disgraceful IMO turning on those whose welfare your mean't to protect and whose members were willing to served without question whatever mission might be chosen for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭FernandoTorres

Does this compensation come out of taxpayers money?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

Does this compensation come out of taxpayers money?
    Yup, he brought the case against the state.

We were shafted twice here. A deportee who cost thousands to get rid of and service whilst here and then another €15k for the cop whom the classy lady bite on the hand.

Kinda makes you feel good about the place doesnt it? :mad:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Actually members of the defence forces were compensated for negligence on behalf of the Defence of Defence for not providing member's with hearing protection.

It came to light when the then Minister for Defence, Coveny attended a fire power innoculation in the Glen of Immal (Co.Wicklow) wearing hearing protection, the kind which we'd been looking to be issued with for years.

Fire power innoculations were carried out for soldiers travelling to (primarily) Lebanon to show the soldier the effects of incoming small arms & artillary fire, the soldiers would sit in a trench while the stuff was fired over and in close proximity to the trench.

When YOU'VE done similar as part of your job come back and make fun of it.

Oh I get your point and far be it from me to suggest that successive governments have been anything but moronic and consistently moronic with it, but isn't a fire power inoculation in particular supposed to get people used to incoming rounds? The noise would be one hell of a large component of that as you wouldn't have ear protectors in a warzone(or would you?). Are other military forces issued with ear protection in that self same exercise? Genuine questions BTW.

Yes I can see the obvious benefit of ear protectors in life fire exercises on the range say, but that example in particular seems a bad one. As for others doing similar as part of their job, yes I take your point, but equally that is not someone elses job, so that argument holds little weight frankly. If you as an army man were getting repetitive strain injury from being asked to type 4 hours a day entering data, I could see your point, but you signed up for a job, a large part of which entails loud bangs.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

IIMII wrote: »
    I keep thinking of how on the one hand you have one women from Nigeria lying about female genital mutilation and then another bully that strips naked and then streaks across Drogheda, shrieking her head off. I'd say it's a barrel of laughs for the GNIB dealing with these cases, and a complete waste of time, money and resources

Indeed. Try expressing concern over how a single nationality is responsible for such a disproportionate amount of opportunism, crime, intimidation, lying, false accusations of racism, fraud and welfare dependency, and see how fast the bleeding hearts who would pander to such for the sake of showing off how tolerant they are pop out of the woodwork :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Reasonable compo. What's the problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

IIMII wrote: »
    I keep thinking of how on the one hand you have one women from Nigeria lying about female genital mutilation and then another bully that strips naked and then streaks across Drogheda, shrieking her head off. I'd say it's a barrel of laughs for the GNIB dealing with these cases, and a complete waste of time, money and resources
    In fairness, nobody wants to live in Nigeria. I can fully understand why someone would kick, scream and do anything to avoid going back.
    PDFORRA our representive body was in its infancy at the time and wasn't prepared for the onslaught of ridicule brought to bare by our bosses.
    Irish take the piss, growing up in Ireland they must have known they where prime for slagging. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I bet you had she been hot there'd be no compo claim. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,602 ✭✭✭Saint_Mel

For the most part that was deserved, there was no hearing protection whatsoever provided back then.

Did members of the army band put in deafness claims too due tot he noise of the instruments? I remember hearing that some did, but didnt know if it was a p!ss take.

I think there's something very wrong here with the garda getting compensation for chasing a naked woman and getting injured while doing so. Is this not his job?

What am I missing?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Random wrote: »
    I think there's something very wrong here with the garda getting compensation for chasing a naked woman and getting injured while doing so. Is this not his job?

What am I missing?

His job is to chase naked women?

I'm signing up!

dlofnep wrote: »

I'm signing up!
    Sorry to confuse you, seen this thread in my subbed forums list and assumed it was on the ES forum. Didn't realise it was AH. My fault, carry on, nothing to see here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,111 ✭✭✭Jesus Juice

I seen this thread and thought it was a Garda chasing streaker or something lighthearted...But a man having to wait 3 months to find out if he transmitted Aids or Hepatitis?I dont blame the man for wanting damages ffs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

dlofnep wrote: »

But some days its his job to get some fecker into court thats decided to smear himself all over with shite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,769 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Hmmm, I tihnk the payment is over the top. If the doctors were worried about infection they would have given him anti-viral treatment which could prevent HIV from attaching to his system. I'm sure this happened and he would have been told the chances were low.

A rape victim wouldn't be getting that payment as far as I know.

One thing though, I do think the army guys who had their hearing damaged were entitled to payments seeing as there was negligence. I don't know how one poster could seriously compare it to guys in the navy getting wet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭O'Coonassa

So if you cut your hand it means you might have AIDS?:confused:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Hmmm, I tihnk the payment is over the top. If the doctors were worried about infection they would have given him anti-viral treatment which could prevent HIV from attaching to his system. I'm sure this happened and he would have been told the chances were low.

A rape victim wouldn't be getting that payment as far as I know.
    Agreed.
    One thing though, I do think the army guys who had their hearing damaged were entitled to payments seeing as there was negligence. I don't know how one poster could seriously compare it to guys in the navy getting wet.
    Very simply. Loud bangs are part and parcel of being around firearms. Being around firearms is part and parcel of being in the army. Being around large areas of wet stuff is part and parcel of being in the navy. If a navy man brought a law suit against the navy for getting excessively wet, it is not too far from an army man taking a case against loud noises.

I am not suggesting that they shouldn't have had ear protection in live fire on range exercises. Yes no problem there, but I was looking at the example given of training designed to acquaint a serviceman to the feelings of being under fire and requiring ear protection as frankly daft. Lets say they did have ear protection in that situation and then god forbid had the full force of the real thing in actual combat, surely as a training exercise it would have limited merit, other than the bloody obvious of "eh lads keep your head down".

While no simulation will completely reproduce the thing it's trying to simulate for obvious safety reasons, there are limits. This was one of them. Obviously safety is paramount for again bloody obvious reasons and as I said they should have had ear protection for on range exercises, but that particular case had many of the hallmarks of compo culture attached to it. In any case simple foam ear protectors are bloody cheap, so why didn't the grass roots themselves take it upon themselves to buy the privately, even on an individual basis, or unit basis, even if to highlight it as a problem? On the back of that pass it up the chain of command. Hardly rocket science. I know I would have if I considered the risk great enough. To take the navy analogy further, I would not join said force without learning to swim and if the navy didn't see that as a requirement and I ended up drowning in an exercise as a result, my family could hardly claim compensation on the back of my own lack of foresight.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

What was wrong with that skywalker? I am sure you know all about the case... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I seen this thread and thought it was a Garda chasing streaker or something lighthearted...But a man having to wait 3 months to find out if he transmitted Aids or Hepatitis?I dont blame the man for wanting damages ffs!
    I'm sure guards come into contact with junkies everyday and would assume they have some sort of disease. Many may even assume all Africans have aids too. This would be something he'd have known when he gave chase, if he didn't want to get injured in the line of duty then he should have stayed at home.

The fact is he would be looked after. Even if he did contract something he would have been taken care of. There was no need for this additional compensation on top of all the privileges he already has.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

O'Coonassa wrote: »
    So if you cut your hand it means you might have AIDS?:confused:
    Exactly, he probably cut his hand on the ground when he so bravely tackled thee naked woman.

Blown out of proportion and another chapter to the unending saga of Irish compo culture

Wibbs wrote: »
    Oh I get your point and far be it from me to suggest that successive governments have been anything but moronic and consistently moronic with it, but isn't a fire power inoculation in particular supposed to get people used to incoming rounds? The noise would be one hell of a large component of that as you wouldn't have ear protectors in a warzone(or would you?). Are other military forces issued with ear protection in that self same exercise? Genuine questions BTW.

Yes I can see the obvious benefit of ear protectors in life fire exercises on the range say, but that example in particular seems a bad one. As for others doing similar as part of their job, yes I take your point, but equally that is not someone elses job, so that argument holds little weight frankly. If you as an army man were getting repetitive strain injury from being asked to type 4 hours a day entering data, I could see your point, but you signed up for a job, a large part of which entails loud bangs.

Ok, well this is going way off topic, so I'll try answer your questions as briefly as I can.

Imagine the hypocracy of a government who refuse's to issue hearing protection to its soldiers, who had sought same for years (like a lot of soldiers are the time I bought my own & was told numberous times to remove them as they weren't on issue), then sending its Minister for its DEfence Forces to ranges with his soldiers wearing THE VERY HEARING PROTECTION his soldiers wanted but weren't issued!.

Other armies are issed with hearing protection, the British actually take theirs to war with them and it (the protection) forms part of their communications equipment.

There's a larger issue here than some soldiers jumping on the band wagon & making claims for compensation for hearing loss.

Btw, the hearing loss was/is very real. The frequency whereby the loss is incured is unique to gunfire and CAN NOT be bluffed on a hearing check as it would be impossible for the individual to even take a haphazard guess at its frequency.

Incase your wondering, I can hear the grass grow :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭bushy...

ScumLord wrote: »
    Even if he did contract something he would have been taken care of.

2 anadin and a few thousand would be a good cure for AIDS ok.

Because this is AH and people talk through their hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

Its part of his job - if you could get compensated for work-related stress then I guess prison guards would be millionaires.

If the refugee paid it herself, then maybe, fair enough.But nobody else was negligent.:confused:

Because this is AH and people talk through their hole.

Given I was the one who made the comment and didn't denigrate you and asked for simple answers(and thanked the one you gave), that's hardly polite or befitting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Never mind the Garda I am surprised the Nigerian woman did not come back and sue the state and guard for attempted rape, voyeurism and assault. Knowing our stupid legal system I'd say the state got off light.

I laughed when I read the thread but fully sympathise with the Guard waiting for any medical tests is stressful and for him the thought of potentially contracting HIV/AID's must be awful. That horrible should be locked in a forced labour camp and made to work off the 15k debt.