Boyfriend - no sex before marriage

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

prinz wrote: »
    You should try it.

Sorry, but I see absolutely no reason to withhold from sex. There's really, truly no point. It's an enjoyable activity, why on earth would you not?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Are you equating sex with buying a dress?? I can see how highly you value it then.Shocking.

Yes. That's exactly what I was saying there. :rolleyes:

I was not trying to point out that someone will try on a dress before they buy it.
    I was not trying to point out that considering how much more serious a long term binding marriage contract was compared to buying a dress, I think it not unreasonable to make sure they are compatible before hand.

prinz this thread isn't about you.
    It is about the OP, who is not happy with being lead on by her b/f for 3 months before he dropped this bombshell on her.
    Please address that fact and quit trying to defend the b/f.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Thread could easily have been closed after this:

Dudess wrote: »
    If a person wants to wait until marriage to have sex, they should only be in relationships with others who want to wait until marriage to have sex.

He seems too serious about this OP - time to move on.

Perfect advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭puglover

Prinz you really have a knack for turning topics around so they are all about you. Your sanctimonious, self-righteous garb is quite annoying & more often than not, very unhelpful. You need to grow up and realise that the world is not black and white. Everything might be perfect & rosey in your little bubble right now, but someday that bubble will burst(possibly when you marry and the oh realises you're ****e in bed) and you will want some practical advice.

Now back on topic, OP you need to have a talk with the bf. Tell him what your feelings and thoughts on the situation are. Ask him for his.

For this to work one of you will have to compromise(IMO it should be him, he is witholding a big part or the relationship). If neither are willing then it's time to go your separate ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

I take offence to that. Some men are more than just sex obsessed balls of libidinous hormones.
    While you denied it to the shellyboo, that does imply men who don't wait until marriage are sex obsessed balls of libidinous hormones. If you didn't mean it literally, then that comment was obviously just something you threw out there without thinking. There are people who wait until marriage, there are people who are insatiable horndogs, then there are people somewhere in between - probably most people.
    There is nothing wrong with the OP's bf just as there is nothing wrong with me.I love my OH enough to wait to marry her. That doesn't mean there is something wrong with me thanks.
    Yet further on, you reveal you're waiting until marriage because your girlfriend would like you to. So you're a different case to the OP's boyfriend. I stand by the fact that I think there could be something wrong if a person won't have sex with the person they love and are attracted to, unless it's for religious reasons.
    Jeez, when you're in love with someone you want to make love to them... how can you deny yourself that, cause yourself such frustration and such a sense of missing out... unless there's something amiss/you're really religious?
    That's your issue that only associate attraction with sex. Could you fall in love with someone who couldn't have sex for medical reasons? What if you or your OH, God forbid, had an accident and couldn't perform. Would you cease being attracted to that person? Think about your answer and what that says about you as a person.
    Way to assume the answer will be "no". And as Silverfish said, you're not comparing like with like. Of course a person could fall in love with/become highly attracted to someone who can't have sex. But to feel saddened that they won't have a sex life is not a terrible way to feel, or selfish, it's perfectly understandable. And it's not terrible or selfish to reach the point where the relationship has to be ended. People have physical needs, like it or not. Repressing your natural urges is not healthy.
    PCPhoto wrote: »
    IMO ..... you would be considered selfish for leaving a "perfect" relationship 'cos he didnt want to have sex.
    That's just craziness. The relationship is not perfect, that's for sure. And wanting sex because of having physical needs - oh yes, how selfish.
    he would obviously be hurt - you would be free to have sex - but at that point - would you really want to jump straight into a relationship (or couple of one-nighters) just for sex ?
    Where did the OP give any indication she'd jump into a relationship just for sex, or having one-nighters? I get the impression she would look for another meaningful relationship, only one which includes sex, however long that takes. And even if she did have casual sex due to frustration (and god knows it's been a while for her) what would be wrong with that?
    you could always tease him by playing with yourself while you are both in bed (I assume you both sleep together just no sex) :p;):p
    What on earth would that achieve other than mutual frustration?
    If sex means that much to her then you're right she should have.
    It's not a case of sex meaning varying amounts to people - adults are sexual beings and want/need sex, simple as. It's bizarre how wanting to have sex within a relationship is almost being made out as something "deviant" here.
    I definitely think you're being ridiculously hard on the guy.
    Here we go again. No she isn't. She has needs and is upset they won't be fulfilled. FFS.
    Obviously he is a guy of high morals and there are so few of them
    Are you for real? Sex in a loving relationship outside of marriage is immoral? Because that's all this is, not indiscriminately sleeping around with anything that moves.
    you're lucky to have someone who really respects you, and himself for that matter.
    Why does abstinence equate with self-respect/respect of one's partner? I don't think he seems to have much of either, to be honest. If he respected others he wouldn't force his views on them, and if he respected himself he wouldn't repress his natural urges.
    No, I have had, Corrected.Not that I look back and say I'm glad I did that. Because I'm not.
    Why not?
    naive.....right.... Why because my OH and I love each other enough to wait, or because I respected her wish to wait and fell in love with her anyway?
    How does waiting equate with loving someone enough. Do you love someone slightly less if you have sex with them?
    This stuff is veering dangerously in the direction of "sex is dirty", "sex is a violation of women" etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,005 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

If you can't respect your boyfriend's beliefs then I don't think you are suited, OP. And hoping he would 'cop on' seems to show a real lack of respect for something that is obviously very important to him. (I am sometimes amazed at how little respect for religion some Irish people have these days. I'd go so far as to say downright intolerant, even. This too will change in time to a more tolerant attitude. ) Also, if you do stay with him, I would discuss the sex after marriage options as someone suggested above so you know exactly what is ahead. No offence, but I don't think you have the maturity for this relationship. Do you even want to marry him? But you're still young and have a lot of mistakes to make and lessons to learn yet so best of luck either way.

No offence, but I don't think you have the maturity for this relationship. Do you even want to marry him?
    It's been 1.5 years and she's young, and furthermore marriage is not the goal of everyone's existence. There's nothing immature about wanting a healthy sexlife.
    But you're still young and have a lot of mistakes to make and lessons to learn yet

So does he, after that manipulative stunt he pulled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

Maybe he doesnt want to have sex because hes nervous ? Perhaps hes worried about performance ,,or maybe hes confused about his sexuality ,he could be gay ,,its quite possible you know ..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,343 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I agree with Nervous Wreck, Dudess' quote is on the money.

My take is, if you don't feel right about having sex before marriage then I say fair play to you.

IMHO that's what sexual liberation is all about. All too often people seem to mistake freedom to be all about the choice to do something. It's not. It's about the choice. Freedom should be about personal choice, not following the herd, whichever way it runs.

As I would not judge someone if they wanted to have sex with every manner of person in every manner of way to their hearts content so long as it wasn't unhealthy to the other person involved or self destructive, I would equally not judge someone, if they for whatever reason choose not to. It's all about choice. And just because at this moment in history the herd has decided sex before marriage is the "right" choice, doesn't mean it's correct for those who choose not to believe it's right. Indeed being a minority can be equally hard in seemingly liberal environments, as in seemingly oppressive ones.

I may have been a man whore in my time, it doesn't mean I expect others to feel that's the right way. It was both right and wrong for me. The "for me" is the important bit.

Now the OP's situation is where this choice breaks down. The choice is only on one side, her partners. In which case the problem arises. You're simply not singing off the same hymn sheet.

How do you fix this? I truly don't know. If he has made this choice to wait and will not be moved or compromise on this, well then you've oly two real choices after sitting down and working through it; go along with this or leave. No matter which way you cut this they seem to be the choices.

My 2 cents anyway.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

If you can't respect your boyfriend's beliefs then I don't think you are suited, OP. And hoping he would 'cop on' seems to show a real lack of respect for something that is obviously very important to him. (I am sometimes amazed at how little respect for religion some Irish people have these days. I'd go so far as to say downright intolerant, even. This too will change in time to a more tolerant attitude. ) Also, if you do stay with him, I would discuss the sex after marriage options as someone suggested above so you know exactly what is ahead. No offence, but I don't think you have the maturity for this relationship. Do you even want to marry him? But you're still young and have a lot of mistakes to make and lessons to learn yet so best of luck either way.

The OP hasnt stated that the BFs views are based in religion - however if they are there are more issues at stake than him just not wanting sex before marriage. If he is extremely religious how would he react in the future if (for example) his teenage daughter became pregnant - would he throw her out because of his beliefs? And how would the OP feel about that? What about birth control? Would he be willing to allow his wife to use it? There are many questions the OP needs to ask.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,343 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

oisindoyle wrote: »
    Maybe he doesnt want to have sex because hes nervous ? Perhaps hes worried about performance ,,or maybe hes confused about his sexuality ,he could be gay ,,its quite possible you know ..
    Orrrrr *Gasp*:eek: he believes sex before marriage is not for him. Its' not that long ago when a pretty big section of this society felt the same. When one talks about moral equality, that knife cuts both ways.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

And hoping he would 'cop on' seems to show a real lack of respect for something that is obviously very important to him.
    He should cop on by not expecting her to just comply with his wishes. I love how his way has to be the one that's followed, not hers.
    I am sometimes amazed at how little respect for religion some Irish people have these days.
    Oh so you respect religion, therefore everyone else has to? Sorry, the days of it being the onus on all corners of society to embrace religion unquestioningly are long gone. Now it's the individual's choice.
    I'd go so far as to say downright intolerant, even. This too will change in time to a more tolerant attitude.
    Will it? How so?
    No offence, but I don't think you have the maturity for this relationship.
    How the **** does she not have the maturity for this relationship? She has sexual needs, like most people, and would rather not repress them. Good for her.
    Do you even want to marry him?
    She's 21 - why should marriage even be entering her head?
    But you're still young and have a lot of mistakes to make and lessons to learn yet
    How patronising - and irrelevant.
    Incidentally, her boyfriend is also still young with a lot of mistakes to make and lessons to learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭axer

Beruthiel wrote: »
    It is about the OP, who is not happy with being lead on by her b/f for 3 months before he dropped this bombshell on her.
    I think this is wrong. How did the bf lead the girl in question for 3 months before telling her? Did the OP tell the boyfriend that she wanted sex within x months? He did tell the OP 3 months into the relationship and she chose to stay with him for another 12? Do you expect a talk on sex and when to have it straight away into a relationship?

What if the bf in question does not want sex before marraige because he doesn't want the chance of pregnancy. Would people still think that is crazy?

Each side of this has a RIGHT to their beliefs and nobody can say either belief is correct or incorrect.

OP: you must decide whether you can put up with that because if the boyfriend is unwilling to change his mind.

You have 3 choices here:
    1. You break up with him

2. You put it to him that you cannot wait as long as marraige to have sex and let him decide if he is willing to compromise.

3. You agree to wait until marraige.

BTW: I do not believe in the "no sex before marraige" thing but I believe that people are entitled to hold that belief if they so choose without being ridiculed as people have been doing here.

axer wrote: »

What if the bf in question does not want sex before marraige because he doesn't want the chance of pregnancy. Would people still think that is crazy?
    Yes. I'd think it's even more crazy. The idea that marriage at any age magically prepares you for an unwanted pregnancy (unless you think all pregnancies in marriage are wanted/planned, in which case lol), the idea that... oh I give up.
    Just, even more crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

..and assumed that in time he'd 'cop on' - that obviously hasnt happened!!

Also take offence to that. He has no reason to 'cop on'. Basically he told you 3 months in and you had the chance to walk away then. Why didn't you? I know - because you thought about yourself first, not the relationship and not him.

Why are you taking offence? You must have big issues with this stuff if you are taking offence at random internet posts from anonymous people.

As for 'you thought about yourself first' - I can't believe your double standards here. The guy led her on for three months so she would like him too much to leave "He said he waited that long to tell me cos didnt want to lose me." This is not 1950's Ireland where people are repressed with catholic guilt, sex is the norm and expected in relationships these days. He should've told her his views at the very start of the relationship not 3 months in when she was probably in love with him...the only reason he didn't is because as you say he was thinking about "himself first, not the relationship and not her".

Are you equating sex with buying a dress?? I can see how highly you value it then.Shocking.

Beruthiel's analogy was spot on and you are making yourself look stupid trying to undermine it. It's the same way I would view it, I would not marry someone (if i was interested in marriage, which Im not) and commit the rest of my years on earth to them if I hadn't even slept with them yet. That is just crazy. Obviously if both parties are of the opinion that they want to wait till marriage, there will be no problem, but if one of the parties isn't happy with that arrangement it is a huge problem as in their eyes no sex before marriage is a completely ludicrous proposition for the reason in Beruthiel's analogy.

Agreed. However it took two of them to make it this way. If he doesn't want to fair play to him. If she does fair play to her. It's the fault of neither. However it I have to add that it's up to her now what she wants more, sex or her bf.
    Great, throw a guilt trip on her. She is not a bad person because she wants a sexual relationship. In the vast majority of peoples eyes it is essential for an adult relationship. It mightn't have been in 1950 but it is in Ireland in 2009. I dont know any friends of mine who would agree to no sex before marriage. This guy should've told her from the start, not slyly waiting until she had fallen for him especially as she knew him for 2 years beforehand. He as good as admitted that he was deceitful when he said he'd knew she'd leave if he told her from the start. She should've been given that option.

Without sex, they are basically just having a close friends relationship where she can't sleep with anyone else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Beruthiel wrote: »

He needs defending seeing as how the knives are out to get him immediately without people taking a proper balanced view.

(a) I already said he should have made it clear from day 1.......he didn't.

(b) She could have dumped him when he did tell her his views...she didn't.

(c) Since he did tell her it has been 15 months.... over a YEAR.....and the OP has stayed with him.I ask why, because she wanted to give him time to 'cop on' as she put it? That's not very nice thing to say about the partner you love and it's equally unfair to him.He wasted 3 months of her time, she has wasted a lot more of his, and now she thinks it's her right t give him an ultimatum?

I'd like to know if she agreed to the no sex thing all along during the last 15 months since he told her.If she did, and now she's changing her mind.... again unfair on him.

I'm just looking at it from all sides here. Yes they are obviously incompatible if she wants to have sex, so they can break up. Problem solved.I'm just not as quick to paint people with the blame brush.

The OP hasnt stated that the BFs views are based in religion - however if they are there are more issues at stake than him just not wanting sex before marriage. If he is extremely religious how would he react in the future if (for example) his teenage daughter became pregnant - would he throw her out because of his beliefs? And how would the OP feel about that? What about birth control? Would he be willing to allow his wife to use it? There are many questions the OP needs to ask.
    Good points there. A partnership needs to set certain agreements to have any chance of flourishing.

Pub07 wrote: »
    Without sex, they are basically just having a close friends relationship where she can't sleep with anyone else.

AFAIK that's a bannable offence on this forum. I should know, I've been banned for an identical comment to the one above. Funny the thing about double standards and all that.

How does waiting equate with loving someone enough. Do you love someone slightly less if you have sex with them?
    This stuff is veering dangerously in the direction of "sex is dirty", "sex is a violation of women" etc...

As I said waiting was intially her wish, I love her, so I respect her wishes and I agreed that we wait. It wasn't about who loves who more.

And as for the 'sex is dirty' rubbish, you don't know what you're talking about. Some people feel it is so beautiful and special and to be valued so much that it should be kept for one person... it has NOTHING to do with sex being dirty or a violation of women.

Nobody who posted on this thread has been anti-sex, just have differing opinions on the when and the how.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

(c) Since he did tell her it has been 15 months.... over a YEAR.....and the OP has stayed with him.I ask why, because she wanted to give him time to 'cop on' as she put it? That's not very nice thing to say about the partner you love and it's equally unfair to him.He wasted 3 months of her time, she has wasted a lot more of his, and now she thinks it's her right t give him an ultimatum?

I'd like to know if she agreed to the no sex thing all along during the last 15 months since he told her.If she did, and now she's changing her mind.... again unfair on him.

I'm just looking at it from all sides here. Yes they are obviously incompatible if she wants to have sex, so they can break up. Problem solved.I'm just not as quick to paint people with the blame brush.

I can agree with this, she should've left him sooner, waiting 15 months was a bit dumb. I can understand how she thought maybe he'd change his mind but after a few weeks/months it was prob obvious it wasn't going to happen and she should have left.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

If the OP's boyfriend doesn't want to have sex with his girlfriend to whom he is attracted, there is nothing honourable about that - there may in fact be something wrong. If he was abused, waiting until marriage for sex won't exorcise the demons of his past. Talking to an expert might though.

Haven't had time to read all the replies but had to comment on this one. I really have never heard such immature nonsense. So if someone wants to wait until marriage they must have been abused and be in need of counselling? Is it really so difficult to believe that some people simply believe sex is special enough to be shared with only your marriage partner? Is it so hard to believe that despite being attracted to your OH, you can control yourself and not jump into bed with them? I personally think it's very honourable that he wants to wait until marriage. He's obviously someone who takes commitment seriously.

OP, there's nothing wrong with you wanting sex and not being ready for marriage at your age. But your bf obviously feels strongly that he wants to wait until marriage and it would be very unfortunate for him to feel pressurised to give in on this issue to keep the relationship. If he sleeps with you and then regrets it for the rest of his life, do you want to be responsible for that?

I really think you two should just be friends and you should find someone who wants the same as you. It is not fair on you to be deprived of what you want, and it would not be fair on him to feel pressured into sleeping with you.

This issue reminds me so much of a friend of mine. At 20 she was still a virgin and wanted to wait until marriage. However, she got with a boyfriend who did not share her views and she ended up having sex with him to keep the relationship. That was 6 years ago and she has regretted it every day since, and now hates and resents her ex boyfriend. It would be sad for you two to end up like that when you could just part now and stay good friends.

You also don't seem to have much respect for either your boyfriend or his views, your post makes you seem a little selfish IMO, you want sexual gratification and so there must be something wrong with your boyf for not giving it to you. Neither of you should have to compromise on this issue, it's too important. I really don't think you are compatible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

I have not read all the posts yet. Me and my wife were like this when we first met. No sex before marriage. It lasted a year and we could not take our hands off each other

Its down to you but I dont agree with him forcing this on you. Its a relationship of equals. You have to decide whats more important

But i would say this what if he decides when you are married you only get sex once a month. Is this fair....Yes if you can accept it.

I would talk to him and then make your decisions

Wibbs wrote: »
    My take is, if you don't feel right about having sex before marriage then I say fair play to you.

IMHO that's what sexual liberation is all about. All too often people seem to mistake freedom to be all about the choice to do something. It's not. It's about the choice. Freedom should be about personal choice, not following the herd, whichever way it runs.

As I would not judge someone if they wanted to have sex with every manner of person in every manner of way to their hearts content so long as it wasn't unhealthy to the other person involved or self destructive, I would equally not judge someone, if they for whatever reason choose not to. It's all about choice. And just because at this moment in history the herd has decided sex before marriage is the "right" choice, doesn't mean it's correct for those who choose not to believe it's right. Indeed being a minority can be equally hard in seemingly liberal environments, as in seemingly oppressive ones.
    Agreed completely. It's up to the individual, not society/culture, but I disagree with one thing: if a person chooses to wait until they're 25/35/45 to lose their virginity because they want it to be with the right person, more power to them. But meeting that right person and not having sex with them until marriage, no matter how long that takes... I don't consider this a good thing. Religious beliefs, ok - I may not agree with them but at least that's a reason. But simply waiting until marriage, because... well just because? Why would you do that to yourself?
    And also, I don't see how waiting til marriage is anything other than a relic of a more oppressive time. There's nothing actually beneficial or natural about it.
    Wibbs wrote: »
    Orrrrr *Gasp*:eek: he believes sex before marriage is not for him. Its' not that long ago when a pretty big section of this society felt the same.
    I don't know whether they actually felt that way or had it forced upon them though Wibbs.
    axer wrote: »
    Each side of this has a RIGHT to their beliefs and nobody can say either belief is correct or incorrect.
    A person has the right to say they believe one is not good for the person concerned or his partner though.
    I do not believe in the "no sex before marraige" thing but I believe that people are entitled to hold that belief if they so choose without being ridiculed as people have been doing here.
    I don't see much evidence of him being ridiculed at all, if anything I see the girlfriend being pilloried for, when it comes down to it, having needs and being frustrated they're not being fulfilled.
    He needs defending seeing as how the knives are out to get him immediately without people taking a proper balanced view.
    See above.
    AFAIK that's a bannable offence on this forum. I should know, I've been banned for an identical comment to the one above. Funny the thing about double standards and all that.
    What on earth is bannable about it?
    Some people feel it is so beautiful and special and to be valued so much
    I agree in the context of being in love with the person.
    that it should be kept for one person
    Sorry, I don't follow. You've met that one person.
    So if someone wants to wait until marriage they must have been abused and be in need of counselling?
    Oh here we go... more selective reading of posts. I did not say every person who wants to wait until marriage for sex has been abused. I said it COULD be a reason for it - actually someone else suggested it first, and I took their point further by merely saying waiting for marriage in that scenario won't cause the traumas of the past to just vanish.
    Is it really so difficult to believe that some people simply believe sex is special enough to be shared with only your marriage partner? Is it so hard to believe that despite being attracted to your OH, you can control yourself and not jump into bed with them?
    I do not believe anyone would wait until marriage without having issues (apart from those who are very religious). Why wait? What on earth difference would that make? How can repressing your desires over a long period of time be good for you?
    And I don't get how the OP seems to have no respect for her boyfriend - seems like she has plenty, to me. And she wants sex with the man who loves her - how awful of her. She probably hoped he might change his perspective - nothing wrong with that. Sometimes we live in hope.
    OP, take no notice of people constantly insulting you by calling you selfish. There is nothing selfish whatsoever about you. But you HAVE to break up with him. He should only have gone for a girl who shares his views in the first place - can't believe HIS selfishness tbh.

But meeting that right person and not having sex with them until marriage, no matter how long that takes... I don't consider this a good thing.

I agree in the context of being in love with the person.

Sorry, I don't follow. You've met that one person.

Why are we just assuming that her boyfriend thinks she is the right one? Maybe he doesn't!

I thought the "boyfriend" and "year and a half" were indicators...

Maybe he's just dating her while he tries to decide whether she's the one or not. You can date someone without intending to settle down with them. Maybe he just likes her company? Or maybe he's getting to know her with marriage in mind? He seems in no rush for sex so why wouldn't he date someone for over a year just because he enjoys spending time with them?

He should only have gone for a girl who shares his views in the first place - can't believe HIS selfishness tbh.

He could have, if after he told her his views she ended the relationship. She didn't.

15 months later it's now an issue for her because he didn't "cop on".
    That's selfishness.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Can I suggest a thread in the Humanities forum to debate the ins and outs of this.

Can we keep this forum for advice please.

Maybe he's just dating her while he tries to decide whether she's the one or not. You can date someone without intending to settle down with them. Maybe he just likes her company? Or maybe he's getting to know her with marriage in mind? He seems in no rush for sex so why wouldn't he date someone for over a year just because he enjoys spending time with them?
    Oh come on. They're boyfriend and girlfriend.

So what? Each of them obviously have different ideas about what "boyfriend and girlfriend" means. To her, it's someone you love and have sex with. To him, maybe it's someone you date without sex whilst deciding if they're marriage material.