Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boyfriend - no sex before marriage

• 15-04-2009 2:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Realta05

my BF of 1.5 years is against sex b4 marriage, I have put up with this because well I really do love him, but I am sick of what is a sexless relationship, I am not ready to get married, and I know an ultimatum will mean he (or i will be forced to) end the relationship.

Apart from no sex the relationship is v.g., am I a fool for putting up with this, should i give him an ultimatum regardless of the outcome.

Sex is obviously a fundamental part of a relationship as far as i'm concerned, as is intimacy.

Is anyone else in this situation - any advice for me?

Should I walk away from an otherwise great relationship?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

May I ask what age the two of you are?

If he's dead set in his decision you can't change it so you either have to accept it or walk away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭starchild

hi op

thats a bit of a downer alright, sex is obviously a vital part of a relationship & even though you are waiting a lot lot longer than most couples there are plus's to your relationship in that you get on so well

i would delve a little deeper and figure out his attitude to sex full stop namely that once you marry he is looking forward to this aspect of the relationship or whether he is not interested in sex full stop

when it comes to being intimate do you ever get the impression he would like to take things further

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If a person wants to wait until marriage to have sex, they should only be in relationships with others who want to wait until marriage to have sex.

He seems too serious about this OP - time to move on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

Realta05 wrote: »
    my BF of 1.5 years is against sex b4 marriage, I have put up with this because well I really do love him, but I am sick of what is a sexless relationship, I am not ready to get married, and I know an ultimatum will mean he (or i will be forced to) end the relationship.

Apart from no sex the relationship is v.g., am I a fool for putting up with this, should i give him an ultimatum regardless of the outcome.

Sex is obviously a fundamental part of a relationship as far as i'm concerned, as is intimacy.

Is anyone else in this situation - any advice for me?

Should I walk away from an otherwise great relationship?

You're not a fool for 'putting up with it' as you say. You obviously have strong feelings for this guy.
    I personally wouldn't marry someone I had never had sex with.
    You're right - sex is a fundamental part of a relationship and is an important part of the development of a relationship - not some sort of 'reward' for getting married.
    It's a hard situation but I would end the relationship if he isn't willing to change. You can't force someone to change their beliefs but in this day and age 'no sex before marriage' is an outdated concept. Future happiness is a more important concept. Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Realta05

he is 25 and I am 21. I just cant understand how someone can be so pigheaded about it, and am really angry at him at the moment because I dont see the need for a relationship to end.

I know if i was advising my friends, I'd tell them to leave, but i dont want to. He says he cant wait to have sex but only once married. What century does he think this is?????!

it just get really infuriating

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Did you know this about him when you guys got together? (obviously not first date conversation but that time)
    If he's really set on waiting, he's 25, and you're offering so it's not like he's not getting the chance to try. It's not about what century it is etc, it's about his personal view on it.
    I would have liked to wait until I was married, in the sense that I would like to only sleep with the guy I fall in love with. But needs and all that jazz, I didn't wait obviously. But that's me and my views. Your bf has his. You can talk to him but if he won't budge then you won't change him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

I personally wouldn't want to wait until I was married - I actually don't even know if I ever want to get married.
    I can understand why you would be annoyed but everyone has different views when it comes to sex and marriage and unfortuantely in this case you both have very different views.
    I think you just need to sit down and discuss it with him rationally. Maybe you can come to some kind of comprimise or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭squishywishy

Personally OP I would think you would be mad to walk away from an otherwise great relationship.
    You dont say what age you are but although you arent ready for marriage now you might be in the future. Would you consider marrying your boyf in future??

Sex is important but it is not the be all and end all. Great sex does not make a great relationship but you can have a great relationship without sex as you are already having. Sex wont make a crap relationship great but it can make a good relationship great!

Your boyf obviously has reasons why he feels this way. It might be religious or he may be a romantic who feels that sex is something you share with an important person, or he may even have been abused in the past. He wants that important person to be his wife. If I knew your boyfriend I'd congratulate him for having such integrety, there are not many guys out there are not trying to jump into a girls pants at their first chance.

If you feel its too much for you then walk away, only you know that and you would want to be sure its not something you will regret.

Remember too, if the shoe was on the other foot and you didnt want to have sex you'd be raging and upset that he was giving you an ultimatum and putting presure on you. I think you are being a bit hard on him. He is as entitled to his views as you are. Its his body

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

he is 25 and I am 21. I just cant understand how someone can be so pigheaded about it, and am really angry at him at the moment because I dont see the need for a relationship to end.

I know if i was advising my friends, I'd tell them to leave, but i dont want to. He says he cant wait to have sex but only once married. What century does he think this is?????!

it just get really infuriating

It's unfair of him to be forcing his beliefs on you...

And it's unfair of you to expect him to conform to yours. You're different people, clearly. Time to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Skuxx

My religion teacher spent a whole week telling us (6th years) that under no circumstance were we to have sex before marriage!!!

It was to late for 3/4 of us!!!:rolleyes:

Sorry a bit random I know!

You dont say what age you are but although you arent ready for marriage now you might be in the future. Would you consider marrying your boyf in future??
    She's 21 - most 21-year-olds feel WAY too young for marriage. That's five years plus of a wait she's got. Realistic? I certainly don't think so. And then they might end up marrying for the wrong reasons, or rushing into it without enough money, security etc.
    Sex is important but it is not the be all and end all.
    Sex is very important if it's something a person would like as part of their relationship with a person to whom they are sexually attracted, and the lack thereof is causing them to feel frustrated and unhappy.
    If the OP's boyfriend doesn't want to have sex with his girlfriend to whom he is attracted, there is nothing honourable about that - there may in fact be something wrong. If he was abused, waiting until marriage for sex won't exorcise the demons of his past. Talking to an expert might though.
    Remember too, if the shoe was on the other foot and you didnt want to have sex you'd be raging and upset that he was giving you an ultimatum and putting presure on you.
    Not if she understood where he was coming from, which is a perfectly reasonable place.
    I think you are being a bit hard on him.
    She is only feeling natural frustration and upset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Agree with Dudess

As a guy - I could not wait to have sex - though I did - was also 21.
    As to waiting - I got married when I was 27.

Think you have to ask yourself - are you really prepared to wait that long?
    If not then this is your heads way of telling your heart that this relationship is not right for you.

best of luck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,797 ✭✭✭bobcar61

How long were you going out with him before you knew he didn't want sex before marriage.
    I don't think I would be able to do it but if it is a spiritual belief or something and you knew about it then wither you have to put up with it and respect him or you should have ended the relationship before you "fell in love"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I was with him 3 months before he told me his views, I had known him for 2 yrs prev, so I was mad about him for ages den we got 2gether. By time he told me I was really annoyed because I'd fallen for him, and assumed that in time he'd 'cop on' - that obviously hasnt happened!!

He said he waited that long to tell me cos didnt want to lose me.

it's just one big mess, that i cant seem to sort out, appreciate everyone's comments though

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

So basically, he did not tell you until ye were together for ages, in the hopes of tricking you into staying with him.
    How utterly selfish and childish.
    As for no sex before marriage. I honestly don't get it.
    I wouldn't buy a dress without trying it on first.
    Yet someone expects you to spend the rest of your life with them in a binding contract without first trying out the goods.
    Nope.
    Don't think so.
    If you are not of the same belief as him, walk away now, cos that's just one big head melt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

he must come from an old fashioned family.

fair play for putting up with it, you must really love him. but i'd say time to give him the ultimatum.
    you see he may agree to sleep with you and then regret it and it could cause problems and he could blame you for "corrupting" him so dont be too pushy when you speak to him about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Its time to go your seperate ways IMO.

Sex obviously isn't important to him, and it is to you (and most others).

Even if you did stick it out, and you got married etc - would you want to be married to a virgin in this day and age? The sex would most likely be rubbish, you'd have to try teach him and everything -ugh I really don't see that working.

You are obviously a sexual girl, and want / need sex as part of a healthy relationship - which is perfectly normal.

Its not too much to ask really. And to be honest, if he waitied long enough before even telling you that - what else could he be not telling you? Not saying he is, just some food for thought.

IMO you both want different things, and if your views differ that much on such an important topic, its time to let go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Dudess wrote: »
    If the OP's boyfriend doesn't want to have sex with his girlfriend to whom he is attracted, there is nothing honourable about that - there may in fact be something wrong.

I take offence to that. Some men are more than just sex obsessed balls of libidinous hormones. There is nothing wrong with the OP's bf just as there is nothing wrong with me.I love my OH enough to wait to marry her. That doesn't mean there is something wrong with me thanks.
    She is only feeling natural frustration and upset.

I agree. So she can leave him. Neither of them can force it upon the other.
    ..and assumed that in time he'd 'cop on' - that obviously hasnt happened!!

Also take offence to that. He has no reason to 'cop on'. Basically he told you 3 months in and you had the chance to walk away then. Why didn't you? I know - because you thought about yourself first, not the relationship and not him.
    Beruthiel wrote: »
    As for no sex before marriage. I honestly don't get it.
    I wouldn't buy a dress without trying it on first.

Are you equating sex with buying a dress?? I can see how highly you value it then.Shocking.
    If you are not of the same belief as him, walk away now, cos that's just one big head melt.

Agreed. However it took two of them to make it this way. If he doesn't want to fair play to him. If she does fair play to her. It's the fault of neither. However it I have to add that it's up to her now what she wants more, sex or her bf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

Prinz - considering you seem to be takiing offence to posts not directed at you, are you in fact, the other half in question???

Most agree that sex is a bloody big part of any relationship - and cop on yourself, the poster above what not equating sex to buying a dress, but the symbology of being stuck married to someone who was crap in bed was not something she - nor most others are willing to put up with.

You are in the minority in 2009, and like most minorities, you take offence to things you dont agree with.

TBH - I would take offence to my other half not wanting to have sex with me before marriage, as that would make me feel quite unattractive, regardless of her beliefs.

The fact of the matter is, sex is, and should be (IMO) a big part of any relationship, as intimacy and love making are as important as any other part of a relationship.

The OP and her other half don't see this the same way, so in my view, they should part company - while they still can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,883 ✭✭✭shellyboo

I was with him 3 months before he told me his views, I had known him for 2 yrs prev, so I was mad about him for ages den we got 2gether. By time he told me I was really annoyed because I'd fallen for him, and assumed that in time he'd 'cop on' - that obviously hasnt happened!!

He said he waited that long to tell me cos didnt want to lose me.

Oooh, that's awfully manipulative. And deceitful. I'd have walked away then and there, OP.
    prinz wrote: »
    I take offence to that. Some men are more than just sex obsessed balls of libidinous hormones. There is nothing wrong with the OP's bf just as there is nothing wrong with me.I love my OH enough to wait to marry her. That doesn't mean there is something wrong with me thanks.

I take offence to you implying that people who have sex with their partners are "sex obsessed balls of libidinous hormones".

And also, NOT waiting until marriage to have sex does not mean we all love our partners any less, either. Or that they don't 'love us enough' to wait. I really resent that implication. If you want people to stop devaluing your relationship and how you run it, you might want to stop doing it to others.

Are you equating sex with buying a dress?? I can see how highly you value it then.Shocking.

It was a metaphor and you know it :)

I wouldn't commit to anything for life unless I knew I was happy with everything. Sex is important to me, it's important to the OP - she would be an idiot to marry someone without sleeping with them, because it matters to her.

The lack of sexual compatibilty has ruined many, many relationships, marriages included. So I think the OP is very wise not to give in to her bf's beliefs - however, she can't make him come around to her beliefs either.

Both of them need to find people who share their basic ideals about a relationship. And OP, this will be much harder for your bf than it will for you - but just look at prinz as a great example of someone who it's working for. There's nothing wrong with your boyfriend - he's just wrong for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 692 ✭✭✭i-digress

He's twenty five, which is fairly old to be a virgin. There isn't anything particularly wrong with that, but it may be a case that he is worried that you might not enjoy sex with him, and he may lose you because of it.

I know when I met my partner he was much more experienced than me, which made me really nervous. Logically, it was ridiculous of me to worry that I would lose someone who loved me over something that you can get better at, but when emotions are involved logic can go out the window.

Obviously I don't know this guy, just saying that could be part of the whole thing.

Prinz - considering you seem to be takiing offence to posts not directed at you, are you in fact, the other half in question???

No I am not. However seeing as I am in a similar position I take offence at some insinuating that there could be something wrong with me or my relationship. That is unfair on the guy in question and unhelpful in general.

the poster above what not equating sex to buying a dress, but the symbology of being stuck married to someone who was crap in bed was not something she - nor most others are willing to put up with.

Pretty ham-fisted analogy to say the least. I, and I presume most people don't get married on the basis of your partners skills in the sack. There is more to love and relationships.

TBH - I would take offence to my other half not wanting to have sex with me before marriage, as that would make me feel quite unattractive, regardless of her beliefs.

That's your issue that only associate attraction with sex. Could you fall in love with someone who couldn't have sex for medical reasons? What if you or your OH, God forbid, had an accident and couldn't perform. Would you cease being attracted to that person? Think about your answer and what that says about you as a person.
    The fact of the matter is, sex is, and should be (IMO) a big part of any relationship, as intimacy and love making are as important as any other part of a relationship.

Agree 110%. However if he feels that it should be reserved for 1 special person whom he wants to be married to more power to him, why not?

The OP and her other half don't see this the same way, so in my view, they should part company - while they still can.

Again agree 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

IMO ..... you would be considered selfish for leaving a "perfect" relationship 'cos he didnt want to have sex.

he would obviously be hurt - you would be free to have sex - but at that point - would you really want to jump straight into a relationship (or couple of one-nighters) just for sex ?

you need to sit him down and explain to him that you have needs, you understand his views and respect them, you have feelings for him and do not want to hurt him but you feel frustrated and curious about his life choice (no sex before marriage) ....has he always had that view or was it a decision made following a previous relationship ?

In fairness he's been raised in the traditional catholic role (whatever way that is viewed nowadays) - since the catholic church no longer have a stranglehold over society I'm guessing he's in the minority, I was with a girl who shared similar views - (and she didnt drink too) ..... we had a great time but in the end the relationship ended due to both of us wanting different things with our lives - I was concentrating on my career and she was busy with her college/work life/social life.

Anyway.... my point is that if you cant take it any more then you need to discuss this with your BF and see if theres any hope for a future.

Ps. you could always tease him by playing with yourself while you are both in bed (I assume you both sleep together just no sex) :p;):p

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

No I am not. However seeing as I am in a similar position I take offence at some insinuating that there could be something wrong with me or my relationship. That is unfair on the guy in question and unhelpful in general.

Pretty ham-fisted analogy to say the least. I, and I presume most people don't get married on the basis of your partners skills in the sack. There is more to love and relationships.

That's your issue that only associate attraction with sex. Could you fall in love with someone who couldn't have sex for medical reasons? What if you or your OH, God forbid, had an accident and couldn't perform. Would you cease being attracted to that person? Think about your answer and what that says about you as a person.

Big difference between 'Can't' and 'can but won't'

Agree 110%. However if he feels that it should be reserved for 1 special person whom he wants to be married to more power to him, why not?

That's fine and all, but would he not be best making sure he finds a girl who is in agreement with him on this, and also wants to wait, rather than going out with someone, then springing it on them?

OP, there is something wrong in the relationship if you both want different things.
    You just have to decide if you love him enough to wait til you get married, or if you want to try and find someone on the same page as you.

shellyboo wrote: »
    Oooh, that's awfully manipulative. And deceitful. I'd have walked away then and there, OP.

If sex means that much to her then you're right she should have. She has made it worse for herself and her fella by continuing from that point. On the other hand it is a very hard thing to bring up in a conversation. Although it should have been done from day 0, I'm sure he wasn't trying to be manipulative but more just worried that the girl he really liked would leave him because of this... and he was right. She should have broken up with him then.
    I take offence to you implying that people who have sex with their partners are "sex obsessed balls of libidinous hormones".

And also, NOT waiting until marriage to have sex does not mean we all love our partners any less, either. Or that they don't 'love us enough' to wait. I really resent that implication. If you want people to stop devaluing your relationship and how you run it, you might want to stop doing it to others.

I didn't intend to imply any such things. Just highlighting the fact that because a fella wants to wait there maybe be something wrong with the guy.

It was a metaphor and you know it :).

but just look at prinz as a great example of someone who it's working for. There's nothing wrong with your boyfriend - he's just wrong for you.

Ooh appreciate that.I agree.Like anything major both parties need to be in some sort of accord. Not going to work if both are at polar divide over things like this. It's natural to be frustrated and angry at times, I know I am sheesh, I never intended to wait until marriage, I haven't waited. On the other hand the girl I love has and wants to marry me for some reason and if that's what I have to do to make her happy I will, and I actually think it has improved our relationship, makes things easier, and now I've come to wish I had waited to meet her too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

You mentioned you were waiting to have sex with your OH. I'm going to assume this means you are a virgin and you have not yet had sex. If I'm wrong, feel free to correct me.

Anyway, nobody here has claimed that relationships are all about sex. They are definitely not. But you would be a complete fool to deny that sex is an incredibly large part of it. It's affirming to one another that you are attracted to one another, that you are compatible sexually. If you choose to continue a relationship without sex, in all honesty it just becomes a very close friendship.

What would happen if you got married and found out you two were just not compatible in the bedroom? Ultimately this would destroy the relationship from the inside out. Each partner would get frustrated and start acting out in other aspects of relationship, and it would fall to bits. Sex is vital.

You asked us what would happen if a partner couldn't have sex. You implied that we would be horrible, insensitive people if we decided the relationship wouldn't work. Unfortunately, whether you like it or not, the relationship would deteriorate into solely a very close friendship and the partner who was capable would be likely to seek that aspect of their relationship elsewhere-- sexual intimacy is a requirement of a relationship. Perhaps you don't realize this because you have not yet experienced it and are still quite naïve about the topic.

You're going about this from the aspect of respect for your partner, but honestly, if you had respect and love for your partner you would do everything in your power to keep them happy and you would want to explore all facets of relationships with them. Denying them sex is selfish-- sex is something you share with your partner that brings you closer together for the benefit of the relationship. It's not anything to do with carnal desires. Denying it is disrespect to your partner and the relationship.

Silverfish wrote: »
    That's fine and all, but would he not be best making sure he finds a girl who is in agreement with him on this, and also wants to wait, rather than going out with someone, then springing it on them?

OP, there is something wrong in the relationship if you both want different things.
    You just have to decide if you love him enough to wait til you get married, or if you want to try and find someone on the same page as you.

Of course he would.However such people are hard to find. My gf told me pretty much immediately when I met her, but I fell in love anyway. Not everyone is as lucky. We've been together almost 4 years and I still get laughed at by strangers when they hear, or the 'sure we'll hire you a hooker' jokers.

Your post is spot on. They both want different things. It's up to them to work through it, or go seperate ways. Trying to force one into the other won't work. However in these threads the general consensus is always 'he/she should be having sex, not having sex is abnormal/unhealthy/weird etc'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

OP - what are his reasons for not wanting to have sex before marriage?

Is it religious?
    Is it personal morals (ie, that he only wants to give himself to one special person)?
    Did he ever have a bad experience?
    Is it fear?

Is it a reason that you could understand and accept?

If it isnt, then I dont see much of a future in the relationship.
    Some people who have wonderful relationships in many ways dont have good sexual chemistry together or vice versa - it would be awful to get into a legally and morally binding contract only to discover on the other side of it that the sexual compatibility was bad between the two of you. An enormous amount of hurt could be caused.

Something else to consider is this - if his belief system about having sex at all is this strong, what if you marry him and find that he is regimented in sexual experimentation with you when sex is 'allowed' and that he is only willing to indulge in basics and finds wishes that you express to be beyond his willingness to perform?

Ultimately I think that you are two people with different wants and needs and that you wont be compatible long term.

Personally speaking I believe sex to be a fundamental part of any loving relationship and what defines a couple from just being friends - some people may disagree and they are entitled to do so, but I wouldnt be able to be in a relationship with someone who wanted to wait until after marriage for sex - and I would not expect someone who felt that way to be in a relationship with me.

I definitely think you're being ridiculously hard on the guy. Obviously he is a guy of high morals and there are so few of them, you're lucky to have someone who really respects you, and himself for that matter. I've been with my boyfriend for almost 4 years. We're both virgins, he's happy waiting and so am I. Our relationship is great.

I think the issue isn't that he's "in the wrong century", it's that regardless of your feelings for eachother, you're obviously completely incompatible. If you can't accept eachothers views then it's time for the relationship to end.

liah wrote: »
    You mentioned you were waiting to have sex with your OH. I'm going to assume this means you are a virgin and you have not yet had sex. If I'm wrong, feel free to correct me.

No, I have had, Corrected.Not that I look back and say I'm glad I did that. Because I'm not.
    Anyway, nobody here has claimed that relationships are all about sex. They are definitely not. But you would be a complete fool to deny that sex is an incredibly large part of it. It's affirming to one another that you are attracted to one another, that you are compatible sexually. If you choose to continue a relationship without sex, in all honesty it just becomes a very close friendship.

In all honesty it doesn't. My love and desire for her has grown and grown.There's nothing I'd like more than to have sex with her.Romance and sex are not identical.
    Sex is vital.

It's enjoyable, it's great, it's fantastic. It's many things but it's not vital.
    Perhaps you don't realize this because you have not yet experienced it and are still quite naïve about the topic.

...........naive.....right.... Why because my OH and I love each other enough to wait, or because I respected her wish to wait and fell in love with her anyway?

You're going about this from the aspect of respect for your partner, but honestly, if you had respect and love for your partner you would do everything in your power to keep them happy and you would want to explore all facets of relationships with them. Denying them sex is selfish-- sex is something you share with your partner that brings you closer together for the benefit of the relationship. It's not anything to do with carnal desires. Denying it is disrespect to your partner and the relationship.

I am thanks, it is her conviction.I don't feel in the slightest bit disrespected. Actually it makes me feel better about myself, and about her. It's quite empowering. You should try it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

You should try it.

Sorry, but I see absolutely no reason to withhold from sex. There's really, truly no point. It's an enjoyable activity, why on earth would you not?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Yes. That's exactly what I was saying there. :rolleyes:

I was not trying to point out that someone will try on a dress before they buy it.
    I was not trying to point out that considering how much more serious a long term binding marriage contract was compared to buying a dress, I think it not unreasonable to make sure they are compatible before hand.

prinz this thread isn't about you.
    It is about the OP, who is not happy with being lead on by her b/f for 3 months before he dropped this bombshell on her.
    Please address that fact and quit trying to defend the b/f.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,115 ✭✭✭✭Nervous Wreck

Thread could easily have been closed after this:

If a person wants to wait until marriage to have sex, they should only be in relationships with others who want to wait until marriage to have sex.

He seems too serious about this OP - time to move on.

Perfect advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 442 ✭✭puglover

Prinz you really have a knack for turning topics around so they are all about you. Your sanctimonious, self-righteous garb is quite annoying & more often than not, very unhelpful. You need to grow up and realise that the world is not black and white. Everything might be perfect & rosey in your little bubble right now, but someday that bubble will burst(possibly when you marry and the oh realises you're ****e in bed) and you will want some practical advice.

Now back on topic, OP you need to have a talk with the bf. Tell him what your feelings and thoughts on the situation are. Ask him for his.

For this to work one of you will have to compromise(IMO it should be him, he is witholding a big part or the relationship). If neither are willing then it's time to go your separate ways.

I take offence to that. Some men are more than just sex obsessed balls of libidinous hormones.
    While you denied it to the shellyboo, that does imply men who don't wait until marriage are sex obsessed balls of libidinous hormones. If you didn't mean it literally, then that comment was obviously just something you threw out there without thinking. There are people who wait until marriage, there are people who are insatiable horndogs, then there are people somewhere in between - probably most people.
    There is nothing wrong with the OP's bf just as there is nothing wrong with me.I love my OH enough to wait to marry her. That doesn't mean there is something wrong with me thanks.
    Yet further on, you reveal you're waiting until marriage because your girlfriend would like you to. So you're a different case to the OP's boyfriend. I stand by the fact that I think there could be something wrong if a person won't have sex with the person they love and are attracted to, unless it's for religious reasons.
    Jeez, when you're in love with someone you want to make love to them... how can you deny yourself that, cause yourself such frustration and such a sense of missing out... unless there's something amiss/you're really religious?
    Way to assume the answer will be "no". And as Silverfish said, you're not comparing like with like. Of course a person could fall in love with/become highly attracted to someone who can't have sex. But to feel saddened that they won't have a sex life is not a terrible way to feel, or selfish, it's perfectly understandable. And it's not terrible or selfish to reach the point where the relationship has to be ended. People have physical needs, like it or not. Repressing your natural urges is not healthy.
    PCPhoto wrote: »
    IMO ..... you would be considered selfish for leaving a "perfect" relationship 'cos he didnt want to have sex.
    That's just craziness. The relationship is not perfect, that's for sure. And wanting sex because of having physical needs - oh yes, how selfish.
    he would obviously be hurt - you would be free to have sex - but at that point - would you really want to jump straight into a relationship (or couple of one-nighters) just for sex ?
    Where did the OP give any indication she'd jump into a relationship just for sex, or having one-nighters? I get the impression she would look for another meaningful relationship, only one which includes sex, however long that takes. And even if she did have casual sex due to frustration (and god knows it's been a while for her) what would be wrong with that?
    you could always tease him by playing with yourself while you are both in bed (I assume you both sleep together just no sex) :p;):p
    What on earth would that achieve other than mutual frustration?
    If sex means that much to her then you're right she should have.
    It's not a case of sex meaning varying amounts to people - adults are sexual beings and want/need sex, simple as. It's bizarre how wanting to have sex within a relationship is almost being made out as something "deviant" here.
    I definitely think you're being ridiculously hard on the guy.
    Here we go again. No she isn't. She has needs and is upset they won't be fulfilled. FFS.
    Obviously he is a guy of high morals and there are so few of them
    Are you for real? Sex in a loving relationship outside of marriage is immoral? Because that's all this is, not indiscriminately sleeping around with anything that moves.
    you're lucky to have someone who really respects you, and himself for that matter.
    Why does abstinence equate with self-respect/respect of one's partner? I don't think he seems to have much of either, to be honest. If he respected others he wouldn't force his views on them, and if he respected himself he wouldn't repress his natural urges.
    No, I have had, Corrected.Not that I look back and say I'm glad I did that. Because I'm not.
    Why not?
    naive.....right.... Why because my OH and I love each other enough to wait, or because I respected her wish to wait and fell in love with her anyway?
    How does waiting equate with loving someone enough. Do you love someone slightly less if you have sex with them?
    This stuff is veering dangerously in the direction of "sex is dirty", "sex is a violation of women" etc...

If you can't respect your boyfriend's beliefs then I don't think you are suited, OP. And hoping he would 'cop on' seems to show a real lack of respect for something that is obviously very important to him. (I am sometimes amazed at how little respect for religion some Irish people have these days. I'd go so far as to say downright intolerant, even. This too will change in time to a more tolerant attitude. ) Also, if you do stay with him, I would discuss the sex after marriage options as someone suggested above so you know exactly what is ahead. No offence, but I don't think you have the maturity for this relationship. Do you even want to marry him? But you're still young and have a lot of mistakes to make and lessons to learn yet so best of luck either way.

No offence, but I don't think you have the maturity for this relationship. Do you even want to marry him?
    It's been 1.5 years and she's young, and furthermore marriage is not the goal of everyone's existence. There's nothing immature about wanting a healthy sexlife.
    But you're still young and have a lot of mistakes to make and lessons to learn yet

So does he, after that manipulative stunt he pulled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭oisindoyle

Maybe he doesnt want to have sex because hes nervous ? Perhaps hes worried about performance ,,or maybe hes confused about his sexuality ,he could be gay ,,its quite possible you know ..

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I agree with Nervous Wreck, Dudess' quote is on the money.

My take is, if you don't feel right about having sex before marriage then I say fair play to you.

IMHO that's what sexual liberation is all about. All too often people seem to mistake freedom to be all about the choice to do something. It's not. It's about the choice. Freedom should be about personal choice, not following the herd, whichever way it runs.

As I would not judge someone if they wanted to have sex with every manner of person in every manner of way to their hearts content so long as it wasn't unhealthy to the other person involved or self destructive, I would equally not judge someone, if they for whatever reason choose not to. It's all about choice. And just because at this moment in history the herd has decided sex before marriage is the "right" choice, doesn't mean it's correct for those who choose not to believe it's right. Indeed being a minority can be equally hard in seemingly liberal environments, as in seemingly oppressive ones.

I may have been a man whore in my time, it doesn't mean I expect others to feel that's the right way. It was both right and wrong for me. The "for me" is the important bit.

Now the OP's situation is where this choice breaks down. The choice is only on one side, her partners. In which case the problem arises. You're simply not singing off the same hymn sheet.

How do you fix this? I truly don't know. If he has made this choice to wait and will not be moved or compromise on this, well then you've oly two real choices after sitting down and working through it; go along with this or leave. No matter which way you cut this they seem to be the choices.

My 2 cents anyway.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

If you can't respect your boyfriend's beliefs then I don't think you are suited, OP. And hoping he would 'cop on' seems to show a real lack of respect for something that is obviously very important to him. (I am sometimes amazed at how little respect for religion some Irish people have these days. I'd go so far as to say downright intolerant, even. This too will change in time to a more tolerant attitude. ) Also, if you do stay with him, I would discuss the sex after marriage options as someone suggested above so you know exactly what is ahead. No offence, but I don't think you have the maturity for this relationship. Do you even want to marry him? But you're still young and have a lot of mistakes to make and lessons to learn yet so best of luck either way.

The OP hasnt stated that the BFs views are based in religion - however if they are there are more issues at stake than him just not wanting sex before marriage. If he is extremely religious how would he react in the future if (for example) his teenage daughter became pregnant - would he throw her out because of his beliefs? And how would the OP feel about that? What about birth control? Would he be willing to allow his wife to use it? There are many questions the OP needs to ask.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

oisindoyle wrote: »
    Maybe he doesnt want to have sex because hes nervous ? Perhaps hes worried about performance ,,or maybe hes confused about his sexuality ,he could be gay ,,its quite possible you know ..
    Orrrrr *Gasp*:eek: he believes sex before marriage is not for him. Its' not that long ago when a pretty big section of this society felt the same. When one talks about moral equality, that knife cuts both ways.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

And hoping he would 'cop on' seems to show a real lack of respect for something that is obviously very important to him.
    He should cop on by not expecting her to just comply with his wishes. I love how his way has to be the one that's followed, not hers.
    I am sometimes amazed at how little respect for religion some Irish people have these days.
    Oh so you respect religion, therefore everyone else has to? Sorry, the days of it being the onus on all corners of society to embrace religion unquestioningly are long gone. Now it's the individual's choice.
    I'd go so far as to say downright intolerant, even. This too will change in time to a more tolerant attitude.
    Will it? How so?
    No offence, but I don't think you have the maturity for this relationship.
    How the **** does she not have the maturity for this relationship? She has sexual needs, like most people, and would rather not repress them. Good for her.
    Do you even want to marry him?
    She's 21 - why should marriage even be entering her head?
    But you're still young and have a lot of mistakes to make and lessons to learn yet
    How patronising - and irrelevant.
    Incidentally, her boyfriend is also still young with a lot of mistakes to make and lessons to learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,517 ✭✭✭axer

It is about the OP, who is not happy with being lead on by her b/f for 3 months before he dropped this bombshell on her.
    I think this is wrong. How did the bf lead the girl in question for 3 months before telling her? Did the OP tell the boyfriend that she wanted sex within x months? He did tell the OP 3 months into the relationship and she chose to stay with him for another 12? Do you expect a talk on sex and when to have it straight away into a relationship?

What if the bf in question does not want sex before marraige because he doesn't want the chance of pregnancy. Would people still think that is crazy?

Each side of this has a RIGHT to their beliefs and nobody can say either belief is correct or incorrect.

OP: you must decide whether you can put up with that because if the boyfriend is unwilling to change his mind.

You have 3 choices here:
    1. You break up with him

2. You put it to him that you cannot wait as long as marraige to have sex and let him decide if he is willing to compromise.

3. You agree to wait until marraige.

BTW: I do not believe in the "no sex before marraige" thing but I believe that people are entitled to hold that belief if they so choose without being ridiculed as people have been doing here.

axer wrote: »

What if the bf in question does not want sex before marraige because he doesn't want the chance of pregnancy. Would people still think that is crazy?
    Yes. I'd think it's even more crazy. The idea that marriage at any age magically prepares you for an unwanted pregnancy (unless you think all pregnancies in marriage are wanted/planned, in which case lol), the idea that... oh I give up.
    Just, even more crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

..and assumed that in time he'd 'cop on' - that obviously hasnt happened!!

Also take offence to that. He has no reason to 'cop on'. Basically he told you 3 months in and you had the chance to walk away then. Why didn't you? I know - because you thought about yourself first, not the relationship and not him.

Why are you taking offence? You must have big issues with this stuff if you are taking offence at random internet posts from anonymous people.

As for 'you thought about yourself first' - I can't believe your double standards here. The guy led her on for three months so she would like him too much to leave "He said he waited that long to tell me cos didnt want to lose me." This is not 1950's Ireland where people are repressed with catholic guilt, sex is the norm and expected in relationships these days. He should've told her his views at the very start of the relationship not 3 months in when she was probably in love with him...the only reason he didn't is because as you say he was thinking about "himself first, not the relationship and not her".

Beruthiel's analogy was spot on and you are making yourself look stupid trying to undermine it. It's the same way I would view it, I would not marry someone (if i was interested in marriage, which Im not) and commit the rest of my years on earth to them if I hadn't even slept with them yet. That is just crazy. Obviously if both parties are of the opinion that they want to wait till marriage, there will be no problem, but if one of the parties isn't happy with that arrangement it is a huge problem as in their eyes no sex before marriage is a completely ludicrous proposition for the reason in Beruthiel's analogy.

Agreed. However it took two of them to make it this way. If he doesn't want to fair play to him. If she does fair play to her. It's the fault of neither. However it I have to add that it's up to her now what she wants more, sex or her bf.
    Great, throw a guilt trip on her. She is not a bad person because she wants a sexual relationship. In the vast majority of peoples eyes it is essential for an adult relationship. It mightn't have been in 1950 but it is in Ireland in 2009. I dont know any friends of mine who would agree to no sex before marriage. This guy should've told her from the start, not slyly waiting until she had fallen for him especially as she knew him for 2 years beforehand. He as good as admitted that he was deceitful when he said he'd knew she'd leave if he told her from the start. She should've been given that option.

Without sex, they are basically just having a close friends relationship where she can't sleep with anyone else.

He needs defending seeing as how the knives are out to get him immediately without people taking a proper balanced view.

(a) I already said he should have made it clear from day 1.......he didn't.

(b) She could have dumped him when he did tell her his views...she didn't.

(c) Since he did tell her it has been 15 months.... over a YEAR.....and the OP has stayed with him.I ask why, because she wanted to give him time to 'cop on' as she put it? That's not very nice thing to say about the partner you love and it's equally unfair to him.He wasted 3 months of her time, she has wasted a lot more of his, and now she thinks it's her right t give him an ultimatum?

I'd like to know if she agreed to the no sex thing all along during the last 15 months since he told her.If she did, and now she's changing her mind.... again unfair on him.

I'm just looking at it from all sides here. Yes they are obviously incompatible if she wants to have sex, so they can break up. Problem solved.I'm just not as quick to paint people with the blame brush.

The OP hasnt stated that the BFs views are based in religion - however if they are there are more issues at stake than him just not wanting sex before marriage. If he is extremely religious how would he react in the future if (for example) his teenage daughter became pregnant - would he throw her out because of his beliefs? And how would the OP feel about that? What about birth control? Would he be willing to allow his wife to use it? There are many questions the OP needs to ask.
    Good points there. A partnership needs to set certain agreements to have any chance of flourishing.

Pub07 wrote: »
    Without sex, they are basically just having a close friends relationship where she can't sleep with anyone else.

AFAIK that's a bannable offence on this forum. I should know, I've been banned for an identical comment to the one above. Funny the thing about double standards and all that.

How does waiting equate with loving someone enough. Do you love someone slightly less if you have sex with them?
    This stuff is veering dangerously in the direction of "sex is dirty", "sex is a violation of women" etc...

As I said waiting was intially her wish, I love her, so I respect her wishes and I agreed that we wait. It wasn't about who loves who more.

And as for the 'sex is dirty' rubbish, you don't know what you're talking about. Some people feel it is so beautiful and special and to be valued so much that it should be kept for one person... it has NOTHING to do with sex being dirty or a violation of women.

Nobody who posted on this thread has been anti-sex, just have differing opinions on the when and the how.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

(c) Since he did tell her it has been 15 months.... over a YEAR.....and the OP has stayed with him.I ask why, because she wanted to give him time to 'cop on' as she put it? That's not very nice thing to say about the partner you love and it's equally unfair to him.He wasted 3 months of her time, she has wasted a lot more of his, and now she thinks it's her right t give him an ultimatum?

I'd like to know if she agreed to the no sex thing all along during the last 15 months since he told her.If she did, and now she's changing her mind.... again unfair on him.

I'm just looking at it from all sides here. Yes they are obviously incompatible if she wants to have sex, so they can break up. Problem solved.I'm just not as quick to paint people with the blame brush.

I can agree with this, she should've left him sooner, waiting 15 months was a bit dumb. I can understand how she thought maybe he'd change his mind but after a few weeks/months it was prob obvious it wasn't going to happen and she should have left.