Jade Goody has died (Condolence thread)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭goodolegill

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

to all those who do not like her, her craving for media attention and the way she lived out the last weeks of her life - what have you done today, who have you inspired, who have you educated?

the publicity generated about her fight has led to an increased number of women taking tests. theres an irony that someone labelled as ignorant could have educated so many as to the dangers of cancer.

rest in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,458 ✭✭✭Dartz

In Finglas, car's are being burned in memoriam....,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

omerin wrote: »
    to all those who do not like her, her craving for media attention and the way she lived out the last weeks of her life - what have you done today, who have you inspired, who have you educated?
    Why should they have done anything/inspired/educated?
    the publicity generated about her fight has led to an increased number of women taking tests. theres an irony that someone labelled as ignorant could have educated so many as to the dangers of cancer.
    Huh?! She succumbed to the disease (quite possibly due to stupidly and irresponsibly having unprotected sex from a very young age) and stupidly and irresponsibly didn't go for smears so it wasn't caught early enough.
    She didn't "educate so many" - doctors and nurses and other campaigners are the ones who are trying to educate. Her case just happened to create more awareness.
    In a way, it's kinda sick that cancer experts can't get through to young women, but an irresponsible person who's famous for being famous can.
    It's kinda like saying George Best educated people on the consequences of alcoholism by allowing pictures of him as he lay dying to be published.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Dudess wrote: »
    Huh?! She succumbed to the disease (quite possibly due to stupidly and irresponsibly having unprotected sex from a very young age) and stupidly and irresponsibly didn't go for smears so it wasn't caught early enough.
    She didn't "educate so many" - doctors and nurses and other campaigners are the ones who are trying to educate. Her case just happened to create more awareness.
    In a way, it's kinda sick that cancer experts can't get through to young women, but a person who's famous for being famous can.
    It's kinda like saying George Best educated people on the consequences of alcoholism by allowing pictures of him as he lay dying to be published.

That's exactly the point. She set a bad example. She's a famous person that people can point to and say "Don't end up like Jade Goody. Take precautions." That will hit home with many young kids far better than statistics.

Basically she's made a mistake that others may learn from. She didn't explicitly educate anybody of course but by simply dying and being famous, potentially some girl may avoid going down the same road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

In a way, it's kinda sick that cancer experts can't get through to young women, but a person who's famous for being famous can.

Amen to that. Kinda shows the power of the tabloids, and the way the masses are completely brainwashed by them. :(

javaboy wrote: »
    That's exactly the point. She set a bad example. She's a famous person that people can point to and say "Don't end up like Jade Goody. Take precautions." That will hit home with many young kids far better than statistics.

Basically she's made a mistake that others may learn from. She didn't explicitly educate anybody of course but by simply dying and being famous, potentially some girl may avoid going down the same road.
    Yeah, I realise that's the point - but she doesn't deserve praise for it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

Probably quite sad and upset and miles away from the internet.

I'd probably update my twitter to let everyone know and set my facebook status to "Mourning"

That is possible the worst post on this thread in my opinion.

Anyway....RIP Jade. She was so young.

I really feel for the kids. I lost my Dad to cancer less than a month ago. Its been so hard to watch the media circus surrounding the life and death of Jade. I do think she was extrmely brave throughout her illness. She has done a lot.

Maz Clifford is an a** who Im convinced was only after the publicity.

People who are posting such hateful things, need to grow up and realise that a young mother has died.

'Course he is! That's what his career is based on - publicity! :)
    And by god is he gonna make money out of this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

God Boardsies are so (rightly) cynical! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

apparently not. was just told that he is only taking his flat fee and not his normal %......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 nolo77

R.I.P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

In a way, it's kinda sick that cancer experts can't get through to young women, but an irresponsible person who's famous for being famous can.

Well, it is unfortunately the case that people a lot of the time do not pay significant attention to the "formal" messages and campaigns raising awareness for cancer. Rather, people are struck by things that they can see, and the destruction that such diseases can actually cause. In a way, Jade did educate a lot of people as her story struck fear into a number of women, terrified at the thought of suffering such an awful death and leaving friends and family behind. George Best also in a way educated people in regards to the destruction alcoholism can cause because it was something people could actually see, something that they could feel. What I'm saying is that 9/10 the general public are going to influenced by things and tragedys that they can see rather than formal findings written in a medical journal.

Also, I may be wrong, but didn't Jade initially get the all clear? I think she went for a smear test and was told she hadn't got cancer, only to find out some time later that she actually did have the disease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭iDontReallyCare

May she be the star her children can see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭mollybird

can't believe jade died on mothers day of all days:( rest in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

Meh.

I'm just disappointed there was no thread like this for Natasha Richardson, someone who is at least worthy of praise, and an actual loss to people besides her family.

There was, I set it up. It's on page 6.

Meh.

I'm just disappointed there was no thread like this for Natasha Richardson, someone who is at least worthy of praise, and an actual loss to people besides her family.
    In my opinion, just because she was an actress and Jade wasn't, doesn't make her any more special. But I do think her death was particularly noteworthy because it was such a freak accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,006 ✭✭✭Ann22

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    Well, it is unfortunately the case that people a lot of the time do not pay significant attention to the "formal" messages and campaigns raising awareness for cancer. Rather, people are struck by things that they can see, and the destruction that such diseases can actually cause. In a way, Jade did educate a lot of people as her story struck fear into a number of women, terrified at the thought of suffering such an awful death and leaving friends and family behind. George Best also in a way educated people in regards to the destruction alcoholism can cause because it was something people could actually see, something that they could feel. What I'm saying is that 9/10 the general public are going to influenced by things and tragedys that they can see rather than formal findings written in a medical journal.

Also, I may be wrong, but didn't Jade initially get the all clear? I think she went for a smear test and was told she hadn't got cancer, only to find out some time later that she actually did have the disease.

Jade said in the Living tv programme that she'd had cells burned off her cervix a few times and they kept coming back. This scared me as I had a Lletz procedure(where they burn off a layer of cervical cells) done last August and thought I was home and dry..Thank God I got word since that the tissue they removed was totally clear of anything sinister. I don't know if Jade actually had treatment like that or if she thought that's what was happening when she was having her smears. To listen to her talking it was clear that she didn't know much about her insides...I'd be curious to know what check ups she actually had. All women can do is go for regular smears and hope for the best. Horrible that this young woman is gone now in this day and age due to a cancer that should have been easily detected. My heart went out to her in the programmes, she should a zest for life and a spirit that was inspirational.

Condoms DO NOT protect against the HPV virus. It is transmitted via skin-to-skin contact and not via bodily fluids.
    So even protected sex is risky.

The misinformation and myths about a virus most sexually active people have been exposed to is staggering in this day and age.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭carlybabe1

I never really liked her, but I'm forced to admire her devotion to her kids. She basically prostituted her own death ("selling it" to the media) to make sure her kids were going to be ok. That more than anything else makes me admire her.

Rest in peace

I think I know the point you are makin, and Id just like to throw an idea out there. She knew how the media worked, and she knew how to play the game, its how she became famous in the first place. Can you imagine the media circus that her life would have become if she hadn't sold the rights exclusively to living, in other words, because they had the rights, the rest of the papparazi were kept at bay (reasonably) so she was sheltered from harrasment as much as she could have been, she was a very clever woman, and I admired her greatly. RIP Jade, and I hope your boys will be ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Acoustic

she's dead get over it

sick of the fooking media circus

she was a nobody

and thousands die everyday and dont see this sort of coverage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Lockstep

RIP Jade.

I was no fan of yours and do not really care about you or your life. Maybe your death will do some good in hi lighting smear tests etc but out from that, well whats all the fuss about?? You did not cure cancer, bring peace to the middle east or anything else of any actual significance.

I am personally sickened too by the media scrum to fawn over you right now and proclaim your perceived greatness. These are the same people and organisations who if i remember correctly branded you a pig, stupid and dumb (which maybe true) when you first appeared in BB and the a racist and all other sorts of names in the second BB. Now they all proclaim your greatness with one voice. Hypocrits and liers.

I am reminded of the death of Mother Teresa. A woman who gave her life to helping the poor, destitute and sick. Who remembers the wall to wall blanket coverage of her passing and funeral? An actual modern day living saint. Millions of people mourned her death but there was no media scrum for her. Why? Because another perceived media celebrity happened to die the same week as her. This celebrity was famous for marrying and divorcing a high profile man. Shagging a former England rugby captain, a heart surgeon and a number of other men, the last of whom was a muslim heir to a fortune. Who was she? Princess Diana.

All i can do is shake my head and wonder how we can elevate people like Jade to near hero status while those who deserve our admiration go unheeded. This world truely is f*cked up.

This pretty much sums up my attitude.
    I've lost a few family members to cancer. Jade Goody never struck me as anyone special and seemed an all out unpleasant person. People die from cancer all the time, Jade Goody did nothing important.

I feel sorry for her kids but that's about it.
    carlybabe1 wrote: »
    I think I know the point you are makin, and Id just like to throw an idea out there. She knew how the media worked, and she knew how to play the game, its how she became famous in the first place.
    Acting the twat on TV?
    Can you imagine the media circus that her life would have become if she hadn't sold the rights exclusively to living, in other words, because they had the rights,
    She sold the rights to get money.
    the rest of the papparazi were kept at bay (reasonably) so she was sheltered from harrasment as much as she could have been, she was a very clever woman, and I admired her greatly. RIP Jade, and I hope your boys will be ok
    She was not "sheltered" from harassment. Her entire final days were a media frenzy.

Acoustic wrote: »
    she's dead get over it

sick of the fooking media circus

she was a nobody

and thousands die everyday and dont see this sort of coverage

Eh why didnt you read the thread title :confused: It specifically says CONDOLENCE thread....here I'll print it for ye cause theres obviously somethin wrong with your head eyesight CONDOLENCE THREAD......... there, is that better :rolleyes:

theres always an asshole waiting to jump in

Acting the twat on TV?

As opposed to actin the twat on boards?????

Jesus does no-one read anymore, have a look at my previous post :rolleyes:

Well it seems it's taken a turn to become a thread where it's ok to criticise her, just not to be cruel and tasteless - and rightly so, in my opinion. An entire thread devoted to outpourings of "grief" for this person we don't know and will forget very quickly... would be farcical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

.....so, who else has died of cancer today?
    Plenty of people.
    My mother died of cancer 26 years ago. I'm just glad that there were no keyboard warriors gloating over it. I had enough crap from kids at school.

At the end of the day, this is a public forum, and everyone is entitled to their opinion, however i feel that some people here are hiding behind the anonymity of their usernames and posting nasty comments to create controversy.
    It's actually not a public forum. It's privately owned.
    I have followed Jade's story in the press for the last 7 years and yes, was shocked at the Celebrity Big Brother incident, not for the "racism" but for the bullying that Jade, Danielle and Jo subjected Shilpa to. Shilpa herself said she wasn't insulted by the "Poppadom" reference, but by the way they ganged up on her. I think that racism was brought up purely because Shilpa was Indian. Jade herself is a quarter black from her father's side.
    Black people can be racist too. Not that I think she was racist. I just wanted to point that out.

SRFC90 wrote: »
    Whats the craic with this mass mourning trend?

It's awful what happened to her, and I wouldn't wish it upon anyone, but I can't mourn someone I don't actually know.
    Then don't post in this thread.

theTinker wrote: »
    As a fellow human being, I respect that she was as flawed as we all are. Actually probably more. However I would never have wished anything like her sickness on anyone for simply being so annoying and intolerable. I hope her kids do well and wish her all the peace in whatever comes next.

ps: I really didnt like her when she was alive.
    There you go. Someone can actually say that they didn't like her without being a complete dick.
    Kudos to you.
    Dartz wrote: »
    In Finglas, car's are being burned in memoriam....,
    Why would you say that?
    Is it because people in Finglas are working class and Jade was a working class person who manage to make more money in her 27 years than most here will make in a lifetime?

Why should they have done anything/inspired/educated?

So because she had sex at an early age, it's her fault that she got cancer?
    That's a new one.
    How many people here can say that they knew, when they were teenagers, that having sex at a young age could cause cancer?
    That is possible the worst post on this thread in my opinion.

Anyway....RIP Jade. She was so young.

I really feel for the kids. I lost my Dad to cancer less than a month ago. Its been so hard to watch the media circus surrounding the life and death of Jade. I do think she was extrmely brave throughout her illness. She has done a lot.

People who are posting such hateful things, need to grow up and realise that a young mother has died.
    Don't worry about him. He'll be sitebanned again in a short while.

As opposed to actin the twat on boards?????
    You're right.
    Questioning what Jade has done is acting the twat.

Jesus does no-one read anymore, have a look at my previous post :rolleyes:
    Ah yes, the rolleyes smily. A surefire bolster to any argument.

What is your point? That noone should discuss Jade because this is a condolence thread? She's dead, I doubt her family will be reading this.
    Why post condolences?
    Also, if you check the timestamps, you'd see that I posted after yours. It would be extremely hard for me to read it.

Well it seems it's taken a turn to become a thread where it's ok to criticise her, just not to be cruel and tasteless - and rightly so, in my opinion. An entire thread devoted to outpourings of "grief" for this person we don't know and will forget very quickly... would be farcical.

Completely agree.

Jade made a career out of being in the limelight and this is AH.

Debating her achievements (not posting jokes) is what I'd view as fair enough.

+1 on the "grief" bit especially.

Terry wrote: »
    So because she had sex at an early age, it's her fault that she got cancer?
    That's a new one.
    There are links between becoming sexually active at an early stage, when the cervix is still developing, and cervical cancer - that's what I was referring to, but yet again, you pretend I'm throwing crazed, unsubstantiated crap out there.

You're right.
    Questioning what Jade has done is acting the twat.

You werent questioning anything, you were making gratuitiously nasty posts
    Ah yes, the rolleyes smily. A surefire bolster to any argument
    . :rolleyes:
    What is your point? That noone should discuss Jade because this is a condolence thread?

Well done you, your a sharp one ;) thats exactly my point. Its a condolence thread, would you like me to explain what condolence means, cause Id be happy to. If you want to debate the morals and wisdom of her selling her story then set up another thread, and stop irritating people like myself who just want to extend our condolences. I personally am not interested in what you have to say, cant speak for anyone else. Not one for negativity, me.
    She's dead, I doubt her family will be reading this.
    Why post condolences?

Its what nice people do