Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Jade Goody has died (Condolence thread)

• 22-03-2009 7:32am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭

died last night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭lods

Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 607 ✭✭✭MrsMcSteamy

Its all across Sky News. God help her and her family, such a horrible day to die, Mother's Day. RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭GeturGun

Max Clifford on Sky News now

I was never her biggest fan but rest in peace Jade

I hope her boys will be ok.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Its all across Sky News. God help her and her family, such a horrible day to die, Mother's Day. RIP.

Urgh, hadn't even thought of that (and I'm after writing out cards!)

She did trojan work over the last few months to make sure her kids were taken care of for life.

RIP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 458 ✭✭ohanloj3

Rest in Peace, Jade. God bless her little boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭maxwell smart

Never paid much attention to her as she always irritated me. But having watched the TV show she did over the last few months of her life, I realised how brave she was, always making sure her kids were going to be OK.
    And if al this publicity can raise awareness of cervical cancer screening for young girls, her death won't have been in vain.

Rest in Peace Jade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭smallBiscuit

I never really liked her, but I'm forced to admire her devotion to her kids. She basically prostituted her own death ("selling it" to the media) to make sure her kids were going to be ok. That more than anything else makes me admire her.

Rest in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,951 ✭✭✭dixiefly

Verry sorry to hear that, I had always reckoned she was a bit off the wall but she has had a bad turn of fortune.

I think she handled herself with dignity in recent weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 upthewalls

Poor Jade only 27 and now she's gone. Sad she died on Mothers Day, May she rest in peace.

so she wasn't lying.. rip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭Rented Mule

dixiefly wrote: »
    I think she handled herself with dignity in recent weeks.

It's a shame she didn't live the rest of her life that way.

My thoughts go out to her children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

It's a shame she didn't live the rest of her life that way.

In in so writing you've displayed similar qualities - weldone :rolleyes:

I was no fan of Jades, and even thought at the start of it all (the cancer diagnosis) that it was probably a publicity stunt - sadly it wasn't.

Sure she was a flawed figure, but scratch the surface and most of us are.

But I believe through her death that countless other's will live & I wish her a peaceful rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I hate the cult of celebrity , but it is a sad occasion. RIP Jade.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

In a way it's better that the whole unpleasant, exploitative farrago is at an end. Perspective was becoming hard to come by. She seemed to be a deeply unpleasant, easily-manipulated individual, but hardly a figure deserving of real hatred.

I hope her kids will be OK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 freezer502

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Pity it's not Max Clifford in her place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Meh.

I'm just disappointed there was no thread like this for Natasha Richardson, someone who is at least worthy of praise, and an actual loss to people besides her family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Nothingcompares

I don't know what to say. It's sad, death from cancer usually is. There's something unnerving about seeing the life and death of this woman through the media. It's like the Truman show but completely different. My sympathy to those that loved her. RIP> :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Meh.

I'm just disappointed there was no thread like this for Natasha Richardson, someone who is at least worthy of praise, and an actual loss to people besides her family.

Celebrity Forum.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

since i was the op i suppose i should give my tuppence worth.the only reason i opened the thread was because no -body else did.im fairly apathetic towards her death. i thought she was an eejit . but i am shocked at how aggresive cancer can be (ive never lost any one to it),and any one of the people posting on here(myself included) could be diagnosed tomorrow and dead within 6 months .thats the scary part

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭lady_j

testicle wrote: »
    What a fantastic weekend!

First the Grand Slam, then Bernard Dunne, and now Jade.

Yeah she chose live her life in the public, yes she sold her death, yes plenty of young people are dying similar battles without the attention, but none the less a 27 year old woman died leaving 2 young children motherless. That just is not funny.

Have some respect for the dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

galwayrush wrote: »
    I hate the cult of celebrity , but it is a sad occasion. RIP Jade.

I agree with this. The whole celebrity thing is bollix...total bollix.
    May she rest in peace now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭dragona

Pity it's not Max Clifford in her place

That is mean. RIP Jade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

lady_j wrote: »
    Yeah she chose live her life in the public, yes she sold her death, yes plenty of young people are dying similar battles without the attention, but none the less a 27 year old woman died leaving 2 young children motherless. That just is not funny.

Have some respect for the dead

Respect is earned. Personnally I just don't care. I am apathetic to her death. It has no effect on me in anyway, so I just don't care. But people who try to talk to me about it and say "It's sooooo Sad" Will just get shot down.

Mairt, thanks for the Link, I didn't even know there was a Celebrity forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

I was deeply upset to hear the news, as I would be of anyone who has died from cancer, especially someone so young. People think that cancer mainly affects the old and if you do not fit certain criteria but are ill you will find it a lot harder to get a diagnosis - something to think about, unfortunatly it could be any one of us here that could soon be facing a cancer diagnosis. I have seen too many young people with the disease, not all of them made it, they are always in my thoughts.

I found the media circus hard as there was no escaping "cancer world" and sometimes you just like to be normal, whatever that is, I dont know, once it enters your life it changes you, it is up to you what you make of it. Having said that, a lot more women are now getting smears due to public awareness, helped in no small way by Jade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭An Capall Dubh

it just highlights how hypocritical the british media are. they love her now all of a sudden. the new Diana!!!

Today Ireland celebrates sporting heros.

Britain celebrates the life of a nobody.

Lets just hope we don't ever end up like that as a nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Munster_Gal

RIP Jade

I was never a fan of her's but any 27 year old woman with 2 young children dying from such an awful disease is upsetting. Everything she has done in the last 12 months have been for her children to ensure that they have a better life than she had. fair play to her for keeping the media interested. I think if it had been anyone else doing the things she did the media wouldn't have been bothered.

I think people need to show some respect her. If not for Jade, then for the two boys that have lost their mother on Mothers Day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

rip

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭lady_j

Respect is earned. Personnally I just don't care. I am apathetic to her death. It has no effect on me in anyway, so I just don't care. But people who try to talk to me about it and say "It's sooooo Sad" Will just get shot down.

Mairt, thanks for the Link, I didn't even know there was a Celebrity forum.

lol, your apathetic but you still felt the need to comment on it?

Mairt wrote: »
    In in so writing you've displayed similar qualities - weldone :rolleyes:

I was no fan of Jades, and even thought at the start of it all (the cancer diagnosis) that it was probably a publicity stunt - sadly it wasn't.

Sure she was a flawed figure, but scratch the surface and most of us are.

But I believe through her death that countless other's will live & I wish her a peaceful rest.

Why, thank you.

Please don't buy into the revisionist history because she has passed away. I am always amazed how people try to cast people in a different light just because of tragedy.

At the end of the day, she was nothing more than a loudmouth, racist chav who hit the lotto in reality television.

The only thing that matters at this moment is the welfare of her children.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Rosedale6

R.I.P Jade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,026 ✭✭✭Amalgam

RIP, an awful way to go.

Jade's ex-husband seems to have been a nice person, stuck around and did his duty of looking after the (his) kids and providing support, but keeping away from the media.

---
    My point exactly!!

I wonder does Jack Tweedy get half now that they're married???

The marriage.. the true colours of various characters in this will come out, money does odd things to folks way of thinking.. unfortunately for us, as media by-standers, the Jade saga is far from over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

it just highlights how hypocritical the british media are. they love her now all of a sudden. the new Diana!!!

Today Ireland celebrates sporting heros.

Britain celebrates the life of a nobody.

Lets just hope we don't ever end up like that as a nation.

You must of been out of the country when Kathy French died :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Mr.Lizard

Ah yes! The queen of our nostrils. Taken far too soon. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭An Capall Dubh

Fair point!!

Small point, could a moderator capitalise her name on the thread title. It is all lower case.

Venom wrote: »

You forget that she died because of all of that bad 'foreign' cocaine.

who??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

RIP, I didnt like the way she carried on but I think its time people show some bit of respect. The woman has died now. Were Living tv covering it?

tech2 wrote: »
    Were Living tv covering it?

bit ironic, the name of that channel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

You forget that she died because of all of that bad 'foreign' cocaine.

So did two other people around the same time yet the papers hardly mentioned them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Amalgam wrote: »
    Small point, could a moderator capitalise her name on the thread title. It is all lower case.
    who gives a ****? when you read it did it say kerry katona? no it said jade goody and you understood it....clown

tech2 wrote: »
    RIP, I didnt like the way she carried on but I think its time people show some bit of respect. The woman has died now. Were Living tv covering it?

yea.. but the Biography Channel has taken over full coverage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭m83

Jade Goody, a moron who made me laugh when she first came on to our screens.

Jade Goody, a moron who made me cringe during the racism scandal.

Jade Goody, a moron who waited far too long for a smear test and then disregarded her results.

Jade Goody, a moron who got a life threatening illness that nobody except horrid murdering type people deserve.

Jade goody, a moron who kept journalists in jobs and money in the bank for her kids.

Jade Goody, a moron like the rest of us, may she rest in peace.

who gives a ****? when you read it did it say kerry katona? no it said jade goody and you understood it....clown

Ooh, you're so hard.

It is a basic sign of respect for someone, whether you know them or not.

So did two other people around the same time yet the papers hardly mentioned them.

People die every day you know;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

m83 wrote: »

Jade Goody, a moron who waited far too long for a smear test and then disregarded her results.

sadly, i'm pretty sure she had several over the last few years and got the all clear.

RIP

personal insults thread :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭mags16

As far as I'm aware, she had symptoms but was misdiagnosed over the last couple of years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

mags16 wrote: »
    As far as I'm aware, she had symptoms but was misdiagnosed over the last couple of years.
    Probably because she did not fit the "profile", younger people find it harder to get a diagnosis for just that reason...if nothing else, it might make a few doctors take young people with symptoms more seriously...