Garda Recruitment - Applying to join An Garda Siochana

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 trickysituation

lucygoosy wrote: »
    What website

Am i allowed to say it? Career services.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 900 ✭✭✭Dr_MaSoN

hows it goin in here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Geri Boyle

That depends what kind of a doctor you are.. Theres a few in here goin a bit doolally that could use some men in white coats alright... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭jypo

Blue Belle wrote: »
    That depends what kind of a doctor you are.. Theres a few in here goin a bit doolally that could use some men in white coats alright... :)
    Ha believe it or not i was training to be a psych nurse up to a couple of years ago. I can recomend a good shrink! Messing aside it can be a bit annoying wit all the waiting. Its a test of patience.

Blue Belle wrote: »

ah right im no use to ya so :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭lucygoosy

Am i allowed to say it? Career services.

So mean!!!!! I was talking to a Sgt today he reckons they wont recriit for a while because there are people on a list who have done their aptitude and interviews etc!! I dunno tho I reckon they will have to. there is a new intake going down to the college in May

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Galway1987

Hi, new to this.... il be finishing up in college may 2011.... from what im reading it could be safe to apply whenever the next intake date is and maybe with 1 deferal i might be safe to join after college, that is if i get it... would i be right?

Cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DK47

So mean!!!!! I was talking to a Sgt today he reckons they wont recriit for a while because there are people on a list who have done their aptitude and interviews etc!! I dunno tho I reckon they will have to. there is a new intake going down to the college in May

a friend of my brothers is a garda and he says that gardi on the ground have no idea of when the next drive is, numbers on waiting lists ect. what he did say is most people are surprised when they find out the numbers involved, because they tend to be smaller than one thinks, after talking to local gardi, they dont seem to know what is involved in the post templemore stages of recruitment never mind what decision are been made a government and commissioner level regarding recruitment and intake levels. the only thing we know for sure is that there will be recruitment, when, well it is the waiting game we are playing...:p

Galway1987 wrote: »
    Hi, new to this.... il be finishing up in college may 2011.... from what im reading it could be safe to apply whenever the next intake date is and maybe with 1 deferal i might be safe to join after college, that is if i get it... would i be right?

Cheers

welcome aboard Galway1987, i would say it would be safe to apply for the experience if anything. when a drive does start it probably will be very slow moving if thing are going to return to the old pace. i may be wrong but i think i read on the old thread that it was taking 2 to 3 years to start in trmplemore!

dkhill47 wrote: »
    a friend of my brothers is a garda and he says that gardi on the ground have no idea of when the next drive is, numbers on waiting lists ect. what he did say is most people are surprised when they find out the numbers involved, because they tend to be smaller than one thinks, after talking to local gardi, they dont seem to know what is involved in the post templemore stages of recruitment never mind what decision are been made a government and commissioner level regarding recruitment and intake levels. the only thing we know for sure is that there will be recruitment, when, well it is the waiting game we are playing...:p

Yup deffo at least there is a new class of 100 going down in May it means things are moving!

Galway1987 wrote: »

Cheers

heya youd be right in saying that cos it takes ages to process the applictaion so finish college anyway!!! Cmon the Wesht:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Nick85

I was looking through the 08 familiarisation booklet, and in the analytical reasoning part the questions are are all based on a sequence.
    When i google analytical reasoning the ones im finding are text based ie differert situations. So i suppose my question is, is this section in the Test always based on sequences? And dose anybody know of a book/website which is appropriate too what want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Nick85 wrote: »
    ...So i suppose my question is, is this section in the Test always based on sequences? And dose anybody know of a book/website which is appropriate too what want?

Well it was always sequences up to the last aptitude test in May'08 but I can't say for the next time round with their proposed changes, any aspect could be changed.
    I have yet to find a good website with practice questions but have borrowed a few books from my local library in the past on various aptitude tests and they would have had only about 2-3pages of the type.
    The courses, both day & home study will get you more then enough though if you wanted to go down that route.

I was looking through the 08 familiarisation booklet, and in the analytical reasoning part the questions are are all based on a sequence.
    When i google analytical reasoning the ones im finding are text based ie differert situations. So i suppose my question is, is this section in the Test always based on sequences? And dose anybody know of a book/website which is appropriate too what want?

Yea the analytical reasoning is always based on sequences, i couldn't find any books or websites relevant but i can recommend a home study course, pm me and i give you the web address.:)

It is a was of cutting major costs, but wouldnt it be difficult for them to regulate and supervise. I teach different Fetac courses, and even people who do the online courses must still come into a test centre to sit exams. Id struggle to see how it would work

I thought the same myself but that's the way it is ... sit at home and do the stage1 aptitude test online :confused: . Their is no way to regulate or supervise this way but then at the interview stage a fair amount of people will be told 'sorry' i'd imagine. If someone done your aptitude with/for you, it would show through varying questions they would throw your way in the interview.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Nick85

kerry4sam wrote: »
    I thought the same myself but that's the way it is ... sit at home and do the stage1 aptitude test online :confused: . Their is no way to regulate or supervise this way but then at the interview stage a fair amount of people will be told 'sorry' i'd imagine. If someone done your aptitude with/for you, it would show through varying questions they would throw your way in the interview.

Ok ya thats fair enough, but it might not "civ" out as many people.. or the right people, but i c where your coming from. All we can do is sit and wait to c what happens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

An Garda Siochana recruit often.

LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 105 ✭✭aido112

I cant see them letting you take tests at home on a web based situation, it would be too hard to control and organise.:rolleyes:

Maybe all this waiting is causing me to lose my mind a bit but does anyone agree with my point as follows. From reading your comments and having talked to people on this it would be fair to say that vast majority have always wanted to join the guards and it is a lifelong dream for them. What about the guy who criticised the guards for years made his big money every week and laughed at "the pigs" workin for nothin in comparison to their big money. Now that theres no work any joe soap is going to apply and it means that genuine people who have always wanted to do it may find it much harder to be selected. Am I uneccessarily angry or does anyone else agree with my point on this???

yeah well its only gonna get more difficult to get a spot down in templemore with the way the country is going. Unfair but thats just how it is.

eroo wrote: »
    LOL

where did u see that ha ha!!

Dr_MaSoN wrote: »
    yeah well its only gonna get more difficult to get a spot down in templemore with the way the country is going. Unfair but thats just how it is.

:(

Dr_MaSoN wrote: »

I completely agree Doc, the competition is just going to be massive as each year now passes on and all anyone can do is apply also and give it the best as they can. Lucygoosy that was actually always the way but will be more so now over the next few years I would say.

Yup but thats life I guess

ah sur once you keep practicing the auld aptitude tests and just ensure you reach the interview stage yourself and take it one step at a time, that's all one can do

Ah ya I know its just frustrating!!!! Roll on recruitment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭keith101

I agree with lucygoosy, but i also truly believe these people will be weeded out. It is only human nature to want to have job security and a steady income so yes there will be people applying motivated solely by the above reasons, but where these people will be caught is the interview THEY WILL stick out like a sore thumb. I do believe that if your application is motivated by a love for the work, wanting to help others, if your community orientated ect that is the person that will shine..also AGS will know this so they will be scrutinising in the interview. They will know which of us are applying for right reasons.

keith101 wrote: »
    I agree with lucygoosy, but i also truly believe these people will be weeded out. It is only human nature to want to have job security and a steady income so yes there will be people applying motivated solely by the above reasons, but where these people will be caught is the interview THEY WILL stick out like a sore thumb. I do believe that if your application is motivated by a love for the work, wanting to help others, if your community orientated ect that is the person that will shine..also AGS will know this so they will be scrutinising in the interview. They will know which of us are applying for right reasons.

One can only hope Keith. I like to live in hope.

keith101 wrote: »

Cheers Keith I am just fed up cos Ive always wanted to join didnt get it last time applied and am now doing garda reserve so I feel that I deserve to be selected in comparison to a lad who is just doing it as there is no ther alternative option!!! But ya you are right it will be clear at the interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭keith101

The aptitude is the main thing lads, just keep on practicing ..like i said its the interview where you get to convince them lucygoosy and express your reasons. An awful lot of these people which will be applying will not be prepared, and it will just be a...ah ill give it a shot attitude. Its not easy to pass the stages it does require ambition determination and dedication... these people will not have these characteristics, therfore have very little chance. It is certainly one thing you cannot bluff your way through..

just my 2cents...:)