Learn Gaelic

stovelid wrote: »
    I'm not sure about this. It starts with the language, but before you know it, you're busking and wearing ethnic knitwear. And you end up like Liam O Maonlai.

Hope not! I'll just stick to learning to speak it rather then diving into the old cultural thing and avoiding the politics like the plague!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

It is used for communication, therefore it is very useful.

Wrong!

AH has never been used for communication. Not to my knowledge anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Stollaire

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Am i mad or what....

I want to learn Gaelic(Irish)...

Serious about this.... I often wonder why most people don't use it

Forgot to mention, classes must be free as too broke to pay for anything

If you're in Dublin there's a learners night this Sunday in Club Chonradh na Gaeilge, 8.30pm. You can see where to go from there.

http://www.anclub.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

stovelid wrote: »
    I'm not sure about this. It starts with the language, but before you know it, you're busking and wearing ethnic knitwear. And you end up like Liam O Maonlai.

Learn French or Spanish. Less risky.

There's nothing like having a bit of an auld dance at the crossroads as well..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Learn a language you can actually use in this country, start with Polish and work you way down, finally when you master klingon then learn Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,073 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Fair play, Min and best of luck.
    Take a trip to Connemara if you get a chance. Plenty of native speakers there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Fair play to ye. I wonder is it taught better post-school than how it was taught in school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,728 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

the_syco wrote: »
    Fair play to ye. I wonder is it taught better post-school than how it was taught in school?

Well it would be better in the sense that everyone attending is there because they want to learn. Or the vast majority anyway. Though that doesn't mean it's taught any better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Min, if you're in Dublin, go for the Gael Linn classes - relatively expensive and quite intensive, but they have the best teachers and method by a long, long way.

Then try a holiday in Oideas Gael or one of the Connemara Gaeltacht areas, where you'll have total immersion and also a chance to swim, sing, hill-walk and dance.

Thank you for wanting to learn Irish :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Only gay people speak Irish.

Yeah coming from a guy with arse biscuit in his sig:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Yeah coming from a guy with arse biscuit in his sig:rolleyes:

This would suggest authority on the issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

I like the way people always say learn a useful language yet as I discovered in certain ways it can be more usefil. For example, when I went to Sun Diego on a J1 me and all my mates would talk (albeit in our intermediate standard) as Gaeilge when we didn't want our boss etc. to know what we were talking about.

Regardless of usefulness the language is part of our heritage and who we are and I'm impressed all the more that you want to learn it even though you're not Irish yourself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Irish is essential for certain jobs here.
    Primary school teaching...and apart from second/third level Irish teaching, sweet fup all else.
    Who communicates it? Quite a lot, mainly on the west coast.
    Gaeltacht areas. Outside of there, you're better off with English. Everyone understands it...
    Do you need it to live every day life here? More than you need french or italian here...

So...not at all, then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Beat of luck with it. I started studying it 2 years ago and organised a conversational group in my city. It's seachtain na gaeilge this week, so more the reason to start.

Pay no attention to the "Why not learn a useful language, like French?" If you truly want to learn Irish, go for it - and don't let people who didn't have the balls to learn it themselves, so they downplay it out of spite - dictate what you can or can't learn.

And as far as the French thing goes - Fúck French. I'll never live anywhere that requires me to speak French. France is too expensive, and if I ever wanted to move to Canada, which I don't - I'd move to an English speaking area.

All these people who tell you to learn something useful like French or Spanish will probably never have to use it, outside of ordering a pint in a tourist resort, which could be ordered in English.

Fact of the matter is, I live in Ireland.. Gaeilge is much more useful to me than Spanish or French. The fact that I'm focusing on gaeilge will allow me to get a job in the Irish multimedia market, as there are not many skilled multimedia workers who can also speak Gaeilge. So for me, it's both practical and functional.

If you already speak English, then you already understand the most useful language in the world - So learning a second language as a hobby, with which you could put to use in the Gaeltacht, or with a few friends like I do is something you should be happy of doing, and you should be encouraged.

Go forth! Enjoy. Feck the haters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

piby wrote: »
    I like the way people always say learn a useful language yet as I discovered in certain ways it can be more usefil. For example, when I went to Sun Diego on a J1 me and all my mates would talk (albeit in our intermediate standard) as Gaeilge when we didn't want our boss etc. to know what we were talking about.

If you all spoke French you'd get the same result with the added bonus of knowing the native language of several world countries. :D

dlofnep wrote: »
    Up the ra

fyp.

lol. scoundrel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I'll never live anywhere that requires me to speak French.

You'll never live anywhere that requires you to speak irish either.....

I disagree. I'm planning on moving to a Gaeltacht after college. Anything else?

Are you legally obliged to speak only Irish there? :confused:

humanji wrote: »
    Are you legally obliged to speak only Irish there? :confused:

No, neither am I obliged to speak English outside of it. But gaeilge being the functional working language there, would require you to use it..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

Only gay people speak Irish.
    oh be nice!:pac:

Ah right. For a second I thought you meant that you'd no choice. Bit of a stupid thing to think, so let's move on. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

well your required to speak irish if you want to live in most gaeltachtai. They come in and access your irish every year in the An Rinn one anyway.

I never got this whole, irish is dead, its not useful bullsh1t.. at the end of the day , if we all spoke the same language the world would be a pretty dull place. I love going to other countries where i cant speak the language, great fun, and i also love seeing the amazement of yanks seeing ppl speaking irish lol.. quite funny but i kinda get it.

If irish is not spoken to will disappear altogether and while some people clearly dont give a crap about their culture, most people do. Learn irish!

Is beatha teanga i a labhairt..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

neil_hosey wrote: »
    Learn irish!

Only if you agree to learn klingon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭acontadino

Beat of luck with it. I started studying it 2 years ago and organised a conversational group in my city. It's seachtain na gaeilge this week, so more the reason to start.

Pay no attention to the "Why not learn a useful language, like French?" If you truly want to learn Irish, go for it - and don't let people who didn't have the balls to learn it themselves, so they downplay it out of spite - dictate what you can or can't learn.

And as far as the French thing goes - Fúck French. I'll never live anywhere that requires me to speak French. France is too expensive, and if I ever wanted to move to Canada, which I don't - I'd move to an English speaking area.

All these people who tell you to learn something useful like French or Spanish will probably never have to use it, outside of ordering a pint in a tourist resort, which could be ordered in English.

Fact of the matter is, I live in Ireland.. Gaeilge is much more useful to me than Spanish or French. The fact that I'm focusing on gaeilge will allow me to get a job in the Irish multimedia market, as there are not many skilled multimedia workers who can also speak Gaeilge. So for me, it's both practical and functional.

If you already speak English, then you already understand the most useful language in the world - So learning a second language as a hobby, with which you could put to use in the Gaeltacht, or with a few friends like I do is something you should be happy of doing, and you should be encouraged.

Go forth! Enjoy. Feck the haters.

have to say i disagree with some of this.

ok perhaps spanish isn't that important seeing as their economy always appears to be a basket case, but france has a large economy, as does germany, learning these languages allows you to be more flexible and broaden your horizon. since we have free movement in the eu, it makes much sense in my opinion to learn these languages, but thats not to say that the op should not learn irish. its a great language, and i use it whenever possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Adiboo wrote: »
    Unfortunately.
    LOL. Anyone who moans - in English - about English being an official language of this country should be made, under threat of torture, study Irish until they're fluent (such people generally have a bare pass in ordinary level Leaving Cert Irish) and should only use English when absolutely necessary (i.e. not on a web forum to complain about English).
    Bricriu wrote: »
    It is generally recognised by sociolinguists that people who call it 'Gaelic' usually have an anti-Irish language or anti-Irish agenda, or don't know much about it historically.
    I'd be extremely surprised if everyone who referred to it as "Gaelic" had an anti Irish/Irish language agenda. It's just considered the correct word outside of this country, that's all. There's nothing sinister. The Gaelic language of Scotland is not called "Scottish", it's called Gaelic or Scots Gaelic, so presumably something vaguely similar is applied to Irish. In other languages, it's referred to as "Gaelic" - e.g. in French, it's "le Gaelique". Calling it "l'irlandais" would just make no sense to French people. I did so once when I was in France and was met with bewilderment.
    It is used for communication, therefore it is very useful.
    Not really - said "communication" is not essential.
    Thirdfox wrote: »
    It does help in your application to join the public sector - bonus points for being interviewed in Irish.

Until recently, lawyers had to know Irish before being allowed to practise. University lecturers too. People working in consulates - our ambassadors are all fluent in the language it seems. Though "knowing" Irish is quite different for job requirements than being able to speak it from what I've seen.

May not be a practical "application" but certainly a requirement that some need to be aware of depending on what jobs people have/want to have.
    Agreed. But just saying "it's used for communication, therefore it's very useful" is not accurate.
    Irish is essential for certain jobs here. Who communicates it? Quite a lot, mainly on the west coast.
    Yeah, but they also have English.
    Do you need it to live every day life here? More than you need french or italian here...
    I'd disagree. If a fluent Irish speaker runs into medical difficulty, they'll have English to ask for help. If a French or Italian person without English finds themselves in a similar situation, someone with French or Italian willing to act as interpreter could prove a life-saver.

Go for it MIN. It doesn't matter whether it's useful or not - sometimes it's nice to learn a language simply for the sake of learning it. Someone here on Boards who's Chinese has a half-brother who speaks it fluently. And it's not dead - you will have some opportunities to use it. It's true that it's a bonus for getting into certain industries also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Primary school teaching...and apart from second/third level Irish teaching, sweet fup all else.

Gardai? Military? Just two of many jobs that require you to have basic irish at the very least.
    Gaeltacht areas. Outside of there, you're better off with English. Everyone understands it...

Taking a wild stab here, but something tells me that the OP already speaks English, I might be wrong though.
    So...not at all, then.

Same way it is not essential to know any language to live day to day life. Think people who don't know english come here and die off? It's not essential in most areas but it can come in handy. Most ignorant people won't see this though.

Thread is full of "I hate ireland because... well no real reason, I just do" therefore everything to do with Ireland. It's laughable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Dudess wrote: »
    LOL. Anyone who moans - in English - about English being an official language of this country should be made, under threat of torture, study Irish until they're fluent (such people generally have a bare pass in ordinary level Leaving Cert Irish) and should only use English when absolutely necessary (i.e. not on a web forum to complain about English).

Bit harsh there. Some people don't have a flair for languages so they'll probably only really be fluent with the one they learn from childhood. When they grow up and become old enough to form opinions on things like the colonial oppression of Ireland et cetera, why shouldn't they be allowed rue the fact that English is one of our official languages? Why do they need to be fluent in Irish?