Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Learn Gaelic

• 04-03-2009 12:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭

Am i mad or what....

I want to learn Gaelic(Irish)...

Serious about this.... I often wonder why most people don't use it

Forgot to mention, classes must be free as too broke to pay for anything
    Tagged:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 406 ✭✭Disease Ridden

I'l say it first! :D

The language more commonly called Irish or the sport of Gaelic Football!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

Lesson 1: The only people who say Gaelic are Americans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

I forgot to mentione i am not Irish :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

I wish I had the head for irish, always feel so ashamed not knowing my countrys language =\

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Aren't there free lectures/classes in Trinity or UCD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Am i mad or what....

I want to learn Gaelic...

You are allowed pick the ball up, catch, kick, batter your opponent. Gaelic Football is a great sport. Its easy to learn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭Shaniev

Am i mad or what....

I want to learn Gaelic...

All you need is a round ball and a side of a house its free. Also you will have a local team that train id say you will have to pay membership in but it should be ok!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,110 ✭✭✭Thirdfox

R0ot wrote:
    I wish I had the head for irish, always feel so ashamed not knowing my countrys language =\

English is an official language of this country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Thirdfox wrote: »
    English is an official language of this country.

Unfortunately.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Only gay people speak Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Check out the classes in Arus na nGael on Dominic Street

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 underflowers

This might be something to aim towards http://www.teg.ie/index.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

Why not learn a useful language like French or Klingon?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I say fair play to you(and my take on gov spending on the language and the languages itself is clear in the other thread hereabouts). Jeez the "it's not gaelic" types. :rolleyes: Says it all.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭acontadino

you definetly should.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

http://www.gael-linn.ie/glinn/LearnIrish.aspx

https://cnag.ie/index.php?action=dublin&page=course

Either of the above links should get you the classes you're looking for - not free though.

And Min2511, you're not unusual in wanting to learn Irish. 90% of the people who ask me about language classes in Irish for adults are not Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭Bricriu

Wibbs wrote: »
    Jeez the "it's not gaelic" types. :rolleyes: Says it all.

Well, Wibbs, in fact 'it does say it all' and you can roll your eyes all you like at the bits of reality you don't like.

As a general rule, linguists call the native language of Ireland 'Irish'. It is generally recognised by sociolinguists that people who call it 'Gaelic' usually have an anti-Irish language or anti-Irish agenda, or don't know much about it historically.

As said before here, 'Gaelic' is used for native Irish culture and traditions, and (now) for native sports.

Adiboo wrote: »
    Unfortunately.

I'd argue fortunately actually, being a small open economy and all that...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Bricriu wrote: »
    Well, Wibbs, in fact 'it does say it all' and you can roll your eyes all you like at the bits of reality you don't like.
    Reality? Muhahahhah Jesus.:rolleyes:
    As a general rule, linguists call the native language of Ireland 'Irish'. It is generally recognised by sociolinguists that people who call it 'Gaelic' usually have an anti-Irish language or anti-Irish agenda, or don't know much about it historically.

As said before here, 'Gaelic' is used for native Irish culture and traditions, and (now) for native sports.
    No shít sherlock. But, if for just a moment, people engaged whatever grey matter they possess and looked at the "reality" that a non Irish person wanted to learn the language and not put said person off with narrow minded and frankly stupid responses, they might find that more would try to learn the language.

The OP, a non native Irish person(who for all you know doesn't have English as their first language), comes here looking for help with a genuine interest in learning the language. Cool and fair play. But to be met with somewhat belligerent responses over her semantics, is hardly a good reflection on the respondies, or indeed the attitude to the language.

The well worn chestnut of "I don't mind Christianity, its Christians I take issue with" springs to mind here. I have a similar problem with Irish. It's not the language I have any issue with, more the types of people it can attract and their oft moronic, insular and defensive attitudes. If that is truly a reflection of my culture, it can go take a flying leap.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

because it's pretty damn useless. But i suppose it's more useful than whittling away the hours on AH, if only just.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭onemorechance

because it's pretty damn useless. But i suppose it's more useful than whittling away the hours on AH, if only just.

It is used for communication, therefore it is very useful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭acontadino

Reality? Muhahahhah Jesus.:rolleyes:

The well worn chestnut of "I don't mind Christianity, its Christians I take issue with" springs to mind here. I have a similar problem with Irish. It's not the language I have any issue with, more the types of people it can attract and their oft moronic, insular and defensive attitudes. If that is truly a reflection of my culture, it can go take a flying leap.

madness. when you see the begrudgery that people have for the language its not really their fault we may be defensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

i thought that too before i started learning it... you're right to say "the sort of people it can attract" but they're still only a small subset of the people it does attract! (fortunately!)

With whom?
    And more to the point how many people can only communicate via irish.

It's a curiosity, nothing more. Learn it if you want to, just don't expect to find a pratical application for it.

I have been doing a lot of self teaching of Irish recently, but there are of course huge gaps in my knowledge of gaeilge (book Irish).

Unfortunately, I have found it difficult to stay motivated as there are many who "put down" my attempts to learn as a waste of time.

Don't give up!

There are a couple of links in my sig that may be useful..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Sútalún

I say fair play to you(and my take on gov spending on the language and the languages itself is clear in the other thread hereabouts). Jeez the "it's not gaelic" types. :rolleyes: Says it all.

But it's nooooot! :p
    Fair play OP, even though they all seem to be hidden away there are a good few resources out there for people wanting to learn Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

well i only started learning it after i was offered a slot on an irish language radio station so it was highly practical for me; granted i don't use it much in a social context apart from murmuring sweet nothings to my girlfriend whose fluency far eclipses mine, but i do think that no irish man is a true irish man save that he at least be able to mutter the occasional mystical invocation in highly broken irish...

With whom?
    And more to the point how many people can only communicate via irish.

It's a curiosity, nothing more. Learn it if you want to, just don't expect to find a pratical application for it.

It does help in your application to join the public sector - bonus points for being interviewed in Irish.

Until recently, lawyers had to know Irish before being allowed to practise. University lecturers too. People working in consulates - our ambassadors are all fluent in the language it seems. Though "knowing" Irish is quite different for job requirements than being able to speak it from what I've seen.

May not be a practical "application" but certainly a requirement that some need to be aware of depending on what jobs people have/want to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Irish is essential for certain jobs here. Who communicates it? Quite a lot, mainly on the west coast. Do you need it to live every day life here? More than you need french or italian here...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm not sure about this. It starts with the language, but before you know it, you're busking and wearing ethnic knitwear. And you end up like Liam O Maonlai.

Learn French or Spanish. Less risky.

stovelid wrote: »
    I'm not sure about this. It starts with the language, but before you know it, you're busking and wearing ethnic knitwear. And you end up like Liam O Maonlai.

Hope not! I'll just stick to learning to speak it rather then diving into the old cultural thing and avoiding the politics like the plague!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Wrong!

AH has never been used for communication. Not to my knowledge anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Stollaire

Am i mad or what....

I want to learn Gaelic(Irish)...

If you're in Dublin there's a learners night this Sunday in Club Chonradh na Gaeilge, 8.30pm. You can see where to go from there.

http://www.anclub.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,227 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

stovelid wrote: »

Learn French or Spanish. Less risky.

There's nothing like having a bit of an auld dance at the crossroads as well..:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Learn a language you can actually use in this country, start with Polish and work you way down, finally when you master klingon then learn Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Fair play, Min and best of luck.
    Take a trip to Connemara if you get a chance. Plenty of native speakers there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Fair play to ye. I wonder is it taught better post-school than how it was taught in school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,716 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

the_syco wrote: »
    Fair play to ye. I wonder is it taught better post-school than how it was taught in school?

Well it would be better in the sense that everyone attending is there because they want to learn. Or the vast majority anyway. Though that doesn't mean it's taught any better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Min, if you're in Dublin, go for the Gael Linn classes - relatively expensive and quite intensive, but they have the best teachers and method by a long, long way.

Then try a holiday in Oideas Gael or one of the Connemara Gaeltacht areas, where you'll have total immersion and also a chance to swim, sing, hill-walk and dance.

Thank you for wanting to learn Irish :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,604 ✭✭✭Kev_ps3

Only gay people speak Irish.

Yeah coming from a guy with arse biscuit in his sig:rolleyes:

Kev_ps3 wrote: »
    Yeah coming from a guy with arse biscuit in his sig:rolleyes:

This would suggest authority on the issue?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 539 ✭✭✭piby

I like the way people always say learn a useful language yet as I discovered in certain ways it can be more usefil. For example, when I went to Sun Diego on a J1 me and all my mates would talk (albeit in our intermediate standard) as Gaeilge when we didn't want our boss etc. to know what we were talking about.

Regardless of usefulness the language is part of our heritage and who we are and I'm impressed all the more that you want to learn it even though you're not Irish yourself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Irish is essential for certain jobs here.
    Primary school teaching...and apart from second/third level Irish teaching, sweet fup all else.
    Who communicates it? Quite a lot, mainly on the west coast.
    Gaeltacht areas. Outside of there, you're better off with English. Everyone understands it...
    Do you need it to live every day life here? More than you need french or italian here...

So...not at all, then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Beat of luck with it. I started studying it 2 years ago and organised a conversational group in my city. It's seachtain na gaeilge this week, so more the reason to start.

Pay no attention to the "Why not learn a useful language, like French?" If you truly want to learn Irish, go for it - and don't let people who didn't have the balls to learn it themselves, so they downplay it out of spite - dictate what you can or can't learn.

And as far as the French thing goes - Fúck French. I'll never live anywhere that requires me to speak French. France is too expensive, and if I ever wanted to move to Canada, which I don't - I'd move to an English speaking area.

All these people who tell you to learn something useful like French or Spanish will probably never have to use it, outside of ordering a pint in a tourist resort, which could be ordered in English.

Fact of the matter is, I live in Ireland.. Gaeilge is much more useful to me than Spanish or French. The fact that I'm focusing on gaeilge will allow me to get a job in the Irish multimedia market, as there are not many skilled multimedia workers who can also speak Gaeilge. So for me, it's both practical and functional.

If you already speak English, then you already understand the most useful language in the world - So learning a second language as a hobby, with which you could put to use in the Gaeltacht, or with a few friends like I do is something you should be happy of doing, and you should be encouraged.

Go forth! Enjoy. Feck the haters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

piby wrote: »
    I like the way people always say learn a useful language yet as I discovered in certain ways it can be more usefil. For example, when I went to Sun Diego on a J1 me and all my mates would talk (albeit in our intermediate standard) as Gaeilge when we didn't want our boss etc. to know what we were talking about.

If you all spoke French you'd get the same result with the added bonus of knowing the native language of several world countries. :D

dlofnep wrote: »
    Up the ra

fyp.

lol. scoundrel.

I'll never live anywhere that requires me to speak French.

You'll never live anywhere that requires you to speak irish either.....

I disagree. I'm planning on moving to a Gaeltacht after college. Anything else?