Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Biggest Sh1thole In The Country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

I feel really sorry for all the crew of RTE's Nationwide.

Imagine spending all your time going from one provincial sh*t-hole to another and having to listen to Mary Kennedy and whats-his-name Sh*te on about whatever provincial sh*thole they're in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

leerdun46 wrote: »
    what about newcastle west?

Not far off, same goes for abbeyfeale and castleisland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Bray is fine, there are pockets of sh!tholes like all towns/Villages, but that adds to the mix of people.

Theres actually a good sense of community in Bray, and the people are not pretentious. Its a lot better than some of the more affluent sh1thole areas in Dublin, where children cant even walk to school...and having money buys you a pardon from jail..

• Registered Users Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

I lived in Clonsilla for a while and its a kip, but moved to Sandymount and it was great, so can't really pick Dublin.
    Bray is infinitely worse.

I'll go along with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 leerdun46

tech2 wrote: »
    Not far off, same goes for abbeyfeale and castleisland.
    ah its not that bad,plenty of decent enough pubs.(ish)thats ncw.the others are sh1tholes and am a louth man!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Rory123

Lads let's just face the fact that Ireland is 70% kip, 30% ok. There are parts of every province, county, city, town, and village that have their bad spots. Just like most places in the developed world. If you go to Australia, Canada, France, South Africa the locals will tell you how much of a kip places within that country are.

Basically we live in a country where the majority of it is a kip. I'm ok with that. I don't hate Ireland. There's way worse places to be born like Lesotho or Haiti. But it's still generally a kip.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Yeah but the kipness ratio is shifting to a growing number of ****holes

• Registered Users Posts: 864 ✭✭✭stainluss

J.S. Pill wrote: »
    I feel really sorry for all the crew of RTE's Nationwide.

Imagine spending all your time going from one provincial sh*t-hole to another and having to listen to Mary Kennedy and whats-his-name Sh*te on about whatever provincial sh*thole they're in.
    I honestly believe that if you got 10 people in a room and told them to come up with a more depressing programme about absolutely nothing important they wouldnt even get close to nationwide. The last one i seen they spent 20minutes talking about some eejit in Kildare whose father made horseshoes thirty odd years ago:p

stainluss wrote: »
    I honestly believe that if you got 10 people in a room and told them to come up with a more depressing programme about absolutely nothing important they wouldnt even get close to nationwide. The last one i seen they spent 20minutes talking about some eejit in Kildare whose father made horseshoes thirty odd years ago:p

Sad thing is they're never going to run out of sh*t-holes to visit

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Temple Bar

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

'Dublin' is a faily large place to lump together. Various places in Dublin make the list though. I lived in Kimmage for a year and it's up there. It was £60 on the monopoly board for a reason.

Main Street, Bundoran in Donegal in mid July can be an unpleasant place.

Urlingford gets my vote though. It's just pointless in too many ways.
    Senna wrote: »
    I can see there's plenty of Dublin posters here, 18 post and no one says Dublin?

Hate the fecking place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

I never liked Sligo town. The county is lovely, but town is awful. I was never a fan of Offaly either.

There's plenty of places in Dublin - that'd need it's own thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 fabman

Enniscorthy :eek:

fabman wrote: »
    Enniscorthy :eek:

Heres Enniscorthy!

Wexford isn't bad for he most part but Enniscorthy is a law unto itself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 fabman

J.S. Pill wrote: »
    Heres Enniscorthy!

Wexford isn't bad for he most part but Enniscorthy is a law unto itself

Imagine that place if they ever bypass it haha

• Registered Users Posts: 484 ✭✭flanree

rosslare, makes me wanna puke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Overblood

CARRICK ON SUIR, Co. TIPPERARY without a DOUBT!

I like to call it Carrick on Sewer, or just plain 'ol Carrick on Shite. Horrible town. No jobs. No decent shops. No book shop! No nothing.

Constant grey cloud looms over the place.

Rabid dogs wander the streets in search of babies dumped by their junkie mothers.

The schools are shyte, delapitated, rusting, for Playstation fans imagine the school in silent hill.

Yokes are like 1.50e in the town so everybody is always off their faces.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,343 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Rory123 wrote: »
    Lads let's just face the fact that Ireland is 70% kip, 30% ok. There are parts of every province, county, city, town, and village that have their bad spots.

ireland is nowhere close to 70% kip or even 30% kip; where in ireland can you compare to the favelas in rio of which there are hundreds, there are some bad parts of this country no doubt but many many wonderful parts too

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭falipo

rossie1977 wrote: »
    ireland is nowhere close to 70% kip or even 30% kip; where in ireland can you compare to the favelas in rio of which there are hundreds

Some of the estates in Dundalk...

yeah , dundalk has an air of depression. the industrial estates give it that 'just keep driving' charm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭ha-ya-said-what

enniscorthy (you'd want a paddy wagon to feel comfortable driving through)
    Moate (it's like ten sh**holes crammed into one town at weekends)
    Athlone (oohh if you've been there you'll know why!!)
    Ferbane (whats right there)
    Maynooth (horrible to walk the paths, covered in broken glass, knickers & thongs, leave the rest to your imagination)
    Longford (nothing but 13yr olds girls upwards offering lads 60+ sexual favours for 10 quid or 20 smokes or bottle of wkd)

Kilkenny I don't like find it very very boxy & overcrowded... same with ennis
    I could go on!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭Conbro

Heres a comprehensive list of our nations biggest ****holes :

Mountrath, Co. Laois
    Ferbane, Co. Offaly
    Athy, Co. Kildare
    Longford Town
    Mullingar, Co. Westmeath
    Tullow, Co. Carlow
    Gorey, Co. Wexford
    Dundalk, Co Louth
    Dunshaughlin, Co Meath
    Urlingford, Co Kilkenny
    Ballymun, Dublin
    Callan, Co. Tipperary
    Kilrush, Co. Clare
    Mayfair, Cork city
    Moyross, Limerick city
    Tramore, Co Waterford
    Tuam, Co Galway Overall Winner
    Ballinrobe, Co Mayo
    Virginia, Co. Cavan

I really think, to define somewhere in Ireland that is truely not a sh**hole, would be alot harder :D

And no flying in a plane, helicopter or private jet in the sky over Ireland doesn't count!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,343 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

I really think, to define somewhere in Ireland that is truely not a sh**hole, would be alot harder :D

And no flying in a plane, helicopter or private jet in the sky over Ireland doesn't count!!!

you need to go to parts of africa to see what real-sh*tholes look like :D

rossie1977 wrote: »
    you need to go to parts of africa to see what real-sh*tholes look like :D

Nah Mc Intyre saved me the fight cost on that one!! Gave me summit to watch for the night too!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 maximus_

Conbro wrote: »
    Heres a comprehensive list of our nations biggest ****holes :

Mountrath, Co. Laois
    Ferbane, Co. Offaly
    Athy, Co. Kildare
    Longford Town
    Mullingar, Co. Westmeath
    Tullow, Co. Carlow
    Gorey, Co. Wexford
    Dundalk, Co Louth
    Dunshaughlin, Co Meath
    Urlingford, Co Kilkenny
    Ballymun, Dublin
    Callan, Co. Tipperary
    Kilrush, Co. Clare
    Mayfair, Cork city
    Moyross, Limerick cityTramore, Co Waterford
    Tuam, Co Galway Overall Winner
    Ballinrobe, Co Mayo
    Virginia, Co. Cavan

I do believe Callan is a s***hole in Kilkenny!

bluebell is a bleedin kip!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭Piriz

Clones Co.Monaghan