Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Biggest Sh1thole In The Country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Ballina,Co.Mayo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Borris-in-Ossory, Co. Laois

Honourable mention to Tipp Town, it's lucky it gets little attention being so close to Limerick city
    Well apart from that infamous episode on Primetime in 2005. Nothing has changed....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,842 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Wicklow

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭One Cold Hand

Cork. It's more the people than the place though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Offaly FTW ! Even the name hints at how bad it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Rathkeale, Co. Limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

LONGFORD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

donmeister wrote: »
    Ballina,Co.Mayo!
    mikemac wrote: »
    Borris-in-Ossory, Co. Louth

Those are fine choices guys but my vote goes to Urlingford Co. Kilkenny.

Its entire economy is dependent on Bus Eireann buses passing through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Limerick.

Horrible, horrible place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Rory123

Fundalk, Co. Louth.
    Mullagh, Co. Cavan.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

J.S. Pill wrote: »
    Its entire economy is dependent on Bus Eireann buses passing through.

So is Borris-in-Ossory

Borris-in-Misery as they say

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭falipo

Athlone! I hate that place..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 276 ✭✭badabinbadaboom

Rory123 wrote: »
    Fundalk, Co. Louth.
    Mullagh, Co. Cavan.

Theres nothing fun about the place!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 722 ✭✭✭busted flush

tech2 wrote: »
    Rathkeale, Co. Limerick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,440 ✭✭✭GirlInterrupted

callaway92 wrote: »
    Wicklow

/thread

Bray is infinitely worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

What about Nigeria?

• Registered Users Posts: 16 leerdun46

Rathkeale, Co. Limerick
    whats wrong with rathkeale?!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I can see there's plenty of Dublin posters here, 18 post and no one says Dublin?

Hate the fecking place.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,213 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

leerdun46 wrote: »

yep definitely Rathkeale, a sh1thole of the highest level.

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭Melange

Carrick-on-Suir, Co. Tipperary.

It's essentially a bunch of rough-as-f*** pubs surrounded by council housing. A deeply depressing place.

Whats right with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Shannon..

jesus, what a depressing place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

MONASTEREVEN

Senna wrote: »
    I can see there's plenty of Dublin posters here, 18 post and no one says Dublin?

Hate the fecking place.
    I can see why people wouldn't like Dublin. I personally live in the complete in the far north on the border with meath. The nearest anything is about 3 miles away. I love living here.
    But in fairness since there's plenty of dublin posters here there's going to be very few people saying that their hometown is a ****hole.

Whats right with it
    ok you win!!!

Mrmoe wrote: »
    yep definitely Rathkeale, a sh1thole of the highest level.
    what about newcastle west?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭thehamo

Balinrobe Co. Mayo/Galway. Awful dump

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭Soldie

Tossup between Munster and Connacht. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭n1ck

Biggest sh1thole In The Country?

Yore ma's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

IMO Dublin City. Can't stand it.

I feel really sorry for all the crew of RTE's Nationwide.

Imagine spending all your time going from one provincial sh*t-hole to another and having to listen to Mary Kennedy and whats-his-name Sh*te on about whatever provincial sh*thole they're in.

what about newcastle west?

Not far off, same goes for abbeyfeale and castleisland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,413 ✭✭✭HashSlinging

Bray is fine, there are pockets of sh!tholes like all towns/Villages, but that adds to the mix of people.

Theres actually a good sense of community in Bray, and the people are not pretentious. Its a lot better than some of the more affluent sh1thole areas in Dublin, where children cant even walk to school...and having money buys you a pardon from jail..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭Duiske

I lived in Clonsilla for a while and its a kip, but moved to Sandymount and it was great, so can't really pick Dublin.
    Bray is infinitely worse.

I'll go along with that.

Not far off, same goes for abbeyfeale and castleisland.
    ah its not that bad,plenty of decent enough pubs.(ish)thats ncw.the others are sh1tholes and am a louth man!!!

Lads let's just face the fact that Ireland is 70% kip, 30% ok. There are parts of every province, county, city, town, and village that have their bad spots. Just like most places in the developed world. If you go to Australia, Canada, France, South Africa the locals will tell you how much of a kip places within that country are.

Basically we live in a country where the majority of it is a kip. I'm ok with that. I don't hate Ireland. There's way worse places to be born like Lesotho or Haiti. But it's still generally a kip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Yeah but the kipness ratio is shifting to a growing number of ****holes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭stainluss

I feel really sorry for all the crew of RTE's Nationwide.

Imagine spending all your time going from one provincial sh*t-hole to another and having to listen to Mary Kennedy and whats-his-name Sh*te on about whatever provincial sh*thole they're in.
    I honestly believe that if you got 10 people in a room and told them to come up with a more depressing programme about absolutely nothing important they wouldnt even get close to nationwide. The last one i seen they spent 20minutes talking about some eejit in Kildare whose father made horseshoes thirty odd years ago:p

stainluss wrote: »
    I honestly believe that if you got 10 people in a room and told them to come up with a more depressing programme about absolutely nothing important they wouldnt even get close to nationwide. The last one i seen they spent 20minutes talking about some eejit in Kildare whose father made horseshoes thirty odd years ago:p

Sad thing is they're never going to run out of sh*t-holes to visit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Temple Bar

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

'Dublin' is a faily large place to lump together. Various places in Dublin make the list though. I lived in Kimmage for a year and it's up there. It was £60 on the monopoly board for a reason.

Main Street, Bundoran in Donegal in mid July can be an unpleasant place.

Urlingford gets my vote though. It's just pointless in too many ways.
    Senna wrote: »

Hate the fecking place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭Tom65

I never liked Sligo town. The county is lovely, but town is awful. I was never a fan of Offaly either.

There's plenty of places in Dublin - that'd need it's own thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 fabman

Enniscorthy :eek:

fabman wrote: »
    Enniscorthy :eek:

Heres Enniscorthy!

Wexford isn't bad for he most part but Enniscorthy is a law unto itself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 fabman

Heres Enniscorthy!

Wexford isn't bad for he most part but Enniscorthy is a law unto itself

Imagine that place if they ever bypass it haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭flanree

rosslare, makes me wanna puke!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,359 ✭✭✭Overblood

CARRICK ON SUIR, Co. TIPPERARY without a DOUBT!

I like to call it Carrick on Sewer, or just plain 'ol Carrick on Shite. Horrible town. No jobs. No decent shops. No book shop! No nothing.

Constant grey cloud looms over the place.

Rabid dogs wander the streets in search of babies dumped by their junkie mothers.

The schools are shyte, delapitated, rusting, for Playstation fans imagine the school in silent hill.

Yokes are like 1.50e in the town so everybody is always off their faces.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,365 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

Rory123 wrote: »
    Lads let's just face the fact that Ireland is 70% kip, 30% ok. There are parts of every province, county, city, town, and village that have their bad spots.

ireland is nowhere close to 70% kip or even 30% kip; where in ireland can you compare to the favelas in rio of which there are hundreds, there are some bad parts of this country no doubt but many many wonderful parts too

• Registered Users Posts: 281 ✭✭falipo

rossie1977 wrote: »
    ireland is nowhere close to 70% kip or even 30% kip; where in ireland can you compare to the favelas in rio of which there are hundreds

Some of the estates in Dundalk...