Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,709 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

kida wrote: »
    I think you will find that it was only pool fans that disproved it by making up their own figures, the truth I would guess lies somewhere in between.

Question for you how many signing has he actually made ?

a ****e load including youth, whats your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,871 ✭✭✭Karmafaerie

Fine If ye insist!:rolleyes:
    48 IN, 49 OUT: The truth about Benitez and his £150m Liverpool spending spree!

Money spent by the Spaniard has been recouped either by winnings from European and domestic competitions or selling players, and he still hasn't been given full use of the money he's brought in.

by Alan Breen on 30 March 2008

There seems to be some misconstrued notion going around that Rafa Benitez has nothing to show for spending about £150m of Liverpool's money.

Actually, Rafa's net spend before Champions League earnings, Premier League finishes of fifth, third and third again, coupled with an FA Cup win in 2006 and Carling Cup runners-up in 2005, comes to £80.091m, and that is still discounting the new kit deal with Adidas.

Now that, divided by his four seasons in charge, amounts to £23.1m per season. If we discount the recent transfers of Fernando Torres, Javier Mascherano, Ryan Babel and Skrtel this would be a lot lower, even more so then if we looked at the money earned during this time, which could possibly equate to £50m-plus, considering that the two Champions League campaigns brought in £40m at least.

So let's take those two runs to the finals of the Champions League. Winning one brings the net spend of Benitez to £52.74m at the most before domestic earnings, which brings us to £10m a season spent on average during his nearly four seasons in charge.

In truth, £10m will not win you a League title in the current climate in English football let alone try and keep your status as a top four team.

I give credit to Benitez. To work within that budget and help re-establish the club as a European force has been remarkable, but domestically he needs more support, both in the financial sense from the board, and the fans.

No one can win the title with that budget and get past two managers who, together, have been at their particular clubs for a combined three decades or more, and moneybags Chelsea FC would be hard to beat by any manager.

Therefore, I say: Mr. Benitez, we know Rome wasn't built in a day, but we are behind you all the way as you try to repair the misery of almost 20 years of struggle and strife at Anfield.

Rafa Benitez's transfer history:

TRANSFERS IN:

Josemi Rey Malaga £2,000,000 26.07.2004
    Antonio Nunez Real Madrid £1,500,000* 17.08.2004
    Xabi Alonso Real Sociedad £10,700,000 20.08.2004
    Luis Garcia Barcelona £6,000,000 20.08.2004
    Mauricio Pellegrino Valencia Free 05.01.2005
    Fernando Morientes Real Madrid £6,300,000 13.01.2005
    Scott Carson Leeds United £1,000,000 21.01.2005
    Josh Mimms Rotherham United £50,000 16.06.2005
    Antonio Barragan Sevilla £240,000 04.07.2005
    Boudewijn Zenden Free Transfer Free* 04.07.2005
    Jose Reina Villareal £6,000,000 04.07.2005
    Mohamed Sissoko Valencia £5,600,000 14.07.2005
    Peter Crouch Southampton £7,000,000 20.07.2005
    Godwin Antwi Real Zaragoza Unknown 15.08.2005
    Miki Roque Lleida Unknown 15.08.2005
    Jack Hobbs Lincoln City £150,000* 18.08.2005
    Besian Idrizaj LASK Linz £190,000* 22.08.2005
    Ramon Calliste Free Transfer Free* 29.08.2005
    Mark Gonzalez Albacete £1,500,000* 20.10.2005
    Paul Anderson Hull City Player Exchange* 01.01.2006
    Jan Kromkamp Villareal Player Exchange* 04.01.2006
    Daniel Agger Brøndby £5,800,000 12.01.2006
    David Martin MK Dons £250,000* 12.01.2006
    Robbie Fowler Man City Free 27.01.2006
    Craig Bellamy Blackburn £6,000,000 01.07.2006
    Gabriel Paletta Club Atlético Banfield £2,000,000 04.07.2006
    Fábio Aurélio Valencia Free 05.07.2006
    Jermaine Pennant Birmingham £6,700,000 26.07.2006
    Dirk Kuyt Feyenoord £9,000,000 18.08.2006
    Nabil El Zhar St Etienne £200,000 21.08.2006
    Astrit Ajdarevic Falkenberg £750,000* 11.01.2007
    Daniele Padelli Sampdoria On Loan* 12.01.2007
    Jordy Brouwer Ajax Undisclosed* 24.01.2007
    Francisco Durán Malaga £66,000* 30.01.2007
    Ronald Huth Tacuary FC Undisclosed 31.01.2007
    Álvaro Arbeloa Deportivo £2,500,000 31.01.2007
    Javier Mascherano West Ham On Loan 20.02.2007
    Lucas Pezzini Leiva Gremio £5,000,000 11.05.2007
    Mikel San José Domínguez Athletic Bilbao £270,000 28.06.2007
    Sebastian Leto Club Atlético Lanús £1,800,000 01.07.2007
    Fernando Torres Atletico Madrid £20,200,000 04.07.2007
    Andriy Voronin Leverkusen Free* 06.07.2007
    Yossi Benayoun West Ham £5,000,000 12.07.2007
    Ryan Babel Ajax £11,500,000 13.07.2007
    Charles Itandje Lens Undisclosed 09.08.2007
    Emiliano Insúa Boca Juniors £1,300,000* 26.08.2007
    Martin Skrtel Zenit St Petersburg £6,500,000 11.01.2008
    Javier Mascherano Media Sports Investment £17,000,000 29.02.2008

Rafael Benítez bought 48 players for £151,666,000.

TRANSFERS OUT:

Markus Babbel VfB Stuttgart Free 16.07.2004
    Danny Murphy Charlton £2,500,000 10.08.2004
    Michael Owen Real Madrid £8,500,000* 14.08.2004
    Stephane Henchoz Celtic Free 28.01.2005
    Vladimir Smicer Bordeaux Free 13.06.2005
    El Hadji Diouf Bolton £3,500,000 15.06.2005
    Mauricio Pellegrino Alaves Free* 17.06.2005
    Alou Diarra Lens £2,000,000 23.06.2005
    Mark Smyth Unknown Free* 01.07.2005
    Paul Harrison Unknown Free* 01.07.2005
    Richie Partridge Unknown Free* 01.07.2005
    Gregory Vignal Portsmouth Free* 01.07.2005
    Igor Biscan Panathinaikos Free* 01.07.2005
    Jon Otsemobor Rotherham United Free* 01.07.2005
    Patrice Luzi Unknown Free* 01.07.2005
    Antonio Nunez Celta Vigo £2,000,000* 29.07.2005
    Milan Baros Aston Villa £6,500,000 23.08.2005
    John Welsh Hull City Player Exchange* 01.01.2006
    Josemi Rey Villareal Player Exchange* 02.01.2006
    Zak Whitbread Millwall £200,000 13.06.2006
    Bruno Cheyrou Rennes Undisclosed 29.06.2006
    Ramon Calliste Unknown Free* 01.07.2006
    Robbie Foy Unknown Free* 01.07.2006
    David Raven Carlisle £0* 03.07.2006
    Fernando Morientes Valencia £3,000,000 05.07.2006
    Dietmar Hamann Bolton Free 11.07.2006
    Antonio Barragan Deportivo £675,000 03.08.2006
    Djimi Traore Charlton £2,000,000 09.08.2006
    Carl Medjani Lorient Free 12.08.2006
    Neil Mellor Preston £500,000 30.08.2006
    Jan Kromkamp PSV Eindhoven £1,750,000 31.08.2006
    Chris Kirkland Wigan Ath. £3,500,000* 27.10.2006
    Darren Potter Wolves £250,000* 18.01.2007
    Stephen Warnock Blackburn £1,500,000 22.01.2007
    Salif Diao Stoke Free 25.01.2007
    Florent S Pongolle Recreativo de Huelva £2,700,000 04.05.2007
    Daniele Padelli Sampdoria Returns from loan 08.06.2007
    Danny O' Donnell Crewe £100,000 13.06.2007
    Jerzy Dudek Real Madrid Free* 01.07.2007
    Robbie Fowler Cardiff Free* 01.07.2007
    Boudewijn Zenden Marseille Free* 01.07.2007
    Luis Garcia Atletico Madrid £4,000,000 03.07.2007
    Djibril Cissé Marseille £6,000,000 09.07.2007
    Craig Bellamy West Ham £7,500,000 10.07.2007
    Mark Gonzalez Real Betis £3,500,000 17.07.2007
    Gabriel Paletta Boca Juniors £1,200,000* 26.08.2007
    James Smith Stockport Cou. Free 28.12.2007
    Mohamed Sissoko Juventus £8,200,000 28.01.2008
    Lee Peltier Yeovil Free* 31.01.2008

Rafael Benítez sold 49 players for £71,575,000.

Source of most of the figures above are from LFCHistory.net - http://www.lfchistory.net/transfers.asp

List compiled in March 08, so basically you can add Ngog and Riera to it. and a couple of mill wasted on Keane (estimated at around £3,500,000)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

This is bordering on the ridiculous lads.

Seriously.

Des wrote: »

Seriously.

It's been ridiculous for a long time Des.;)
    If Agger goes certain people will be on here

a. defending Rafa
    b. blaming everyone but Rafa, even though Rafa had not publically stated that he wants to keep Agger, in either deeds or words
    c. slating Agger

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

At last! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

Seriously.

I agree. There are some people trying to make reasoned arguments against overly simplistic statements. Those making the overly simplistic arguments are then basically completely ignoring the arguments that disprove what they have said and then go on to repeat the exact same simplistic arguments a day later..

Take your response to the series of posts that I made today.. Then takes boggles response. Now, I am not saying that I my posts are necessarily correct and the point my not have been made as effectively as I would like but ye are intelligent lads.

Also look at your post regarding Agger Des. You were proven wrong but didn't acknowledge it in the slightest. If ye are all going to make statements that are obviously going to start a debate or discussion, ye might as well participate fully. As it stands, I am seeing half arsed posts being given credence by Liverpool supporters who are attempting a reasoned discussion but are continually getting **** thrown back at them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

There are some people trying to make reasoned arguments against overly simplistic statements. Those making the overly simplistic arguments are then basically completely ignoring the arguments that disprove what they have said and then go on to repeat the exact same simplistic arguments a day later..

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 5,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭spockety

Holy Freakin' Sh1tballs!. I have to say I am amazed that in all the five years Rafa has been here, we have never had a debate or argument about his transfer record. Hallelujiah praise Jesus that someone finally brought it up so we can discuss it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

Having not taking part in the Rafa/Transfer posts i just want to say that in general i have been very happy with his signings and the ones that havent worked out he ships out.
    He doesnt buy as many players anymore and thats because we are not as **** as we were when he took over.He had to overhaul an entire squad and that could have been done by two big signings every year or 5/6 squad players to supplement the decent ones we had.
    For every Nunez there is a Skertl.
    For very Robbie Keane there is a torres/masch.

Im delighted to be in this position at this time,im glad the league is more of a prioroity and its great we are back where we belong in Europe.

I like the fact the Rafa is a control freak and id prefer to see him in total charge than anyone else.

I believe we are getting better every year and have no divine right to win it,20 years is a long time.Rafa will win the league with Liverpool and im pretty happy with him

Just my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,095 ✭✭✭zing

From Balague this evening
    As we reported here at the weekend, Rafa Benitez had returned the latest contract offer from the Americans, in order that the club`s owners formalise, in writing, elements of the contract that had been agreed verbally.

The main points that had caused the delay in the contract being signed have been settled and sources close to the negotiaions have told me that all parties are now completely satisfied with the deal. All that now remains is for the lawyers to work out some of the finer legal poins in the wording of the document – literally dotting the i’s and crossing the t’s – and once that has been done, according to the same sources “Rafa Benitez will sign the new contract within the next 2-3 days.”

An alternative source has also backed up this claim, insistsing that: “Rafa Benitez and the Americans have finally sorted everything out and we are hopeful that the new contract will be signed by the weekend.”
    So his contract could potentially be sorted by the weekend. Hopefully Agger's will be sorted soon afterwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,636 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I agree. There are some people trying to make reasoned arguments against overly simplistic statements. Those making the overly simplistic arguments are then basically completely ignoring the arguments that disprove what they have said and then go on to repeat the exact same simplistic arguments a day later..

Take your response to the series of posts that I made today.. Then takes boggles response. Now, I am not saying that I my posts are necessarily correct and the point my not have been made as effectively as I would like but ye are intelligent lads.

Also look at your post regarding Agger Des. You were proven wrong but didn't acknowledge it in the slightest. If ye are all going to make statements that are obviously going to start a debate or discussion, ye might as well participate fully. As it stands, I am seeing half arsed posts being given credence by Liverpool supporters who are attempting a reasoned discussion but are continually getting **** thrown back at them.
    If this bit is aimed my way let me explain. I had a chat in here with a guy called Pie and in his reply he makes a childish comment and then seems intent on insulting my knowledge of football by insinuating that I took my beliefs of Morientes' role at Liverpool from Wiki. I went and checked Wiki and sure enough there is something similar to what I said there. I'm not going to respect someone who is disrespectful towards me by honouring him with a reply.

After that, if you want to discuss the rest of it. I personally don't believe that Rafa should be sacked, I think he is a very good manager. I believe he has a problem with how to deal with very defensive teams. I believe that he can beat them, as Liverpool have often shown that they can come from behind to win a game, but when they are level late in a game, it seems to me that the same urgency and attacking threat is not shown as when they fall a goal behind. I've said this many times.

Now this guy Pie mentioned the Keane argument and I just pointed out that there seems to be a trend of attacking players not getting a fair shout at Liverpool, and I just pointed out some of the short term signings who did not succeed for one reason or another at Liverpool.
    I've made it clear many times previously that I do think Rafa is the right man for the Liverpool hot seat.
    I just get annoyed sometimes with his style of play against weaker teams that they should be beating easily. Until he gets this right Liverpool will not win a League.

On those players that had a short time at the club, it is pretty clear that he looks for players to play different roles at Liverpool than what they had played at their previous clubs. I would argue that the wrong players have been bought to fit into the Benitez system. Maybe it was not wholly Rafa's decision to bring all these players to Liverpool but there has been a huge turnover of attacking players. I never said anything about Rafa's tranfers as in how much he has spent, this thing mushroomed after my post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,442 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

eagle eye wrote: »
    If this bit is aimed my way let me explain.

Nope, not aimed at you at all. I disagree with quite a bit of what you say but at least you back your statements up with some carefully considered reasoning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭ratinakeg

Did anyone watch the Reserves tonight in the 1-1 draw versus Everton. Good game, I must say we were lucky to get a draw with the Toffee's hitting the woodwork twice although they were lucky to go ahead through one of weirdest goals you will ever see. What happened was that an Everton player knocked the ball back to Pool keeper Martin Hansen as a mark of fair play but the ball actually goes through his legs of Hansen somehow to find the back of the net.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,463 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

You sort of have it but there is something about the tone of your post that suggests I am jumping up and down shouting "it's not fair".

Oh I know, but, just as Utd will never win a european competition with Ronaldo, neither will I be able to comment on Liverpool without getting a few digs in ;)

The world is more interesting this way.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Irishkop would like to announce a funraiser in aid of the HJC

Hillsborough Justice Campaign to mark the 20th Anniversary, of the death's of 96 liverpool fans

LEGENDS NIGHT on 16th APRIL

Venue ;- The Cuckoo's Nest - Tallaght
    This will be an over 18's only event
    Guest's on the night are JAN MOLBY & BRUCE GROBBELAAR
    Tickets are 20 Euro

I am asking all supporters clubs, and all members to support this event, as all the proceeds go to HJC

There will be music after by a Local liverpool supporter Peter Casey.
    and a late bar extension

This night is supported by Louis Fitzgerald hotel,
    They are offering very special rates for us room rate for two sharing is €65.00
    Thats 32,50 each
    Bed & Breafast is €88.00 for 2 sharing.
    This can be booked through Pam or jc23/Gerry

Tickets for the event, will be availabe at the cuckoos nest, or any of the moderators, they can be paid by pay pal, cash, bank transfer.

We are expecting to sell 500 tickets, and its strictly on a first come first served basis. All are welcome,

If any one would like to Buy a non attendance ticket or make any other donation, for raffle or just simply a donation, I would be hapy to hear from you,

The Tickets will be available next week, or from 23rd ..in cuckoo's nest, if you want to start sending your money now thats fine, as soon as they are back from printers you will have them

Anybody with no Irishkop account can PM me for more info.I will have posters done up by tomorrow if anybody wants me to email them one to put up in there workplace etc it would be appreciated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,267 ✭✭✭opr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

eagle eye wrote: »
    If this bit is aimed my way let me explain. I had a chat in here with a guy called Pie and in his reply he makes a childish comment and then seems intent on insulting my knowledge of football by insinuating that I took my beliefs of Morientes' role at Liverpool from Wiki. I went and checked Wiki and sure enough there is something similar to what I said there. I'm not going to respect someone who is disrespectful towards me by honouring him with a reply.
    No, I checked Wikipedia myself as I was looking for stats to back up your deep-lying striker comment because I personally didn't believe that. And still don't; he had a free-ish role up front. Somebody wrongly accused me of getting my Milan knowledge from Wikipedia a while ago - why would I accuse someone else of it now?
    Now this guy Pie mentioned the Keane argument and I just pointed out that there seems to be a trend of attacking players not getting a fair shout at Liverpool, and I just pointed out some of the short term signings who did not succeed for one reason or another at Liverpool.
    Pardon? You're the one who blew in with "How about maybe giving players more than 6 months or one season to settle in and see how they do after that..."

Myself and several others pointed out that this was rubbish and that most Liverpool players get, by your own stats, over 12 months to prove themselves - leaving the logical conclusion that you let the Keane saga cloud your opinion. So instead of responding to those points you go quiet and now say you won't reply because I'm being childish? Amazing. Utterly amazing.

Anyway whatever. Here's some good/bad news - depending on how much money we might have to spend in the summer:

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_4938163,00.html
    David Villa's agent has confirmed the Spaniard is unlikely to be coming to England, hinting he has already shunned Manchester City.

The Valencia front-man is one of the most feared forwards in world football and he has been a target for a host of clubs, but he has thus far stayed put.

The likes of Liverpool, Chelsea, Inter Milan and La Liga giants Real Madrid and Barcelona have been tracking him - but it is Manchester City who looked to use their new financial muscle to sign him.

But Villa's agent insists his charge does not want to move to England and he would have no interest in joining City.

"David has rejected the chance to play in England," Jose Luis Tamargo told the Daily Mirror.

"It would be a nonsense to negotiate with Manchester City and Chelsea aren't interested.

"If Valencia do decide to sell him he wants to stay in Spain."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭lint316

I dont think Torres is as good when he plays alongside Villa with Spain. He's at his best when he's a lone striker playing for us. Not sure if Villa would be the great signing for us that everybody thinks

ratinakeg wrote: »
    Did anyone watch the Reserves tonight in the 1-1 draw versus Everton. Good game, I must say we were lucky to get a draw with the Toffee's hitting the woodwork twice although they were lucky to go ahead through one of weirdest goals you will ever see. What happened was that an Everton player knocked the ball back to Pool keeper Martin Hansen as a mark of fair play but the ball actually goes through his legs of Hansen somehow to find the back of the net.:eek:

Yeah, I was watching that.
    Couldn't believe it when it went in, shocking in every sense of the word!
    It was as if Hansen didn't know that he could handle a backpass when it comes from an opposing player!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11095_4938330,00.html
    Liverpool skipper Steven Gerrard could make a surprise return to action against Manchester City this weekend.

Gerrard is making good progress in his recovery from the hamstring problem he sustained in the FA Cup replay defeat to Everton earlier this month.

It was expected Gerrard would be ruled out for three weeks, with the UEFA Champions League clash with Real Madrid on 25th February pencilled in as his possible return date.

However, Reds boss Rafa Benitez is refusing to rule the England star out of Sunday's Premier League clash with Manchester City at Anfield.
    Improving

"He is improving. In these situations each day is important," Benitez told the club's official website.

"He is working with the medical staff and is progressing.

"Normally he is a player who recovers quickly. He needs less time than other players.

"I was surprised because the Spanish press said he'd play some minutes this weekend and then play against Real Madrid, but the truth is we don't know yet.

"Maybe he could be on the bench against City but we don't know.

"He wants to play every single game. He knows the game against City will be very important, and also the Real Madrid one too."
    Who saw that coming eh? Still, rather he wasn't risked if there's a big chance it could put him out of the Madrid game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

Missed the game, but apparently Pacheco was immense and Bruna gave his first good performance since he's arrived?

I'd hardly say his first good performance, but he did give his best.
    He looked confident for the first time, nad the fact that he's starting to physically fill out is helping i'd say.

Pacheco waws brilliant however.
    Everything wen't through him, and he seemed very commited.
    He really wants to impress.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Another fundraiser we are doing.

Win 2 Tickets for Liverpool v Real Madrid

For the next 2 Weeks Irishkop will be running a reverse auction with the money raised going to the hillsborough justice campaign

You will be Bidding for 2 kop Tkts to the Liverpool V real madrid Champions League last 16 game at Anfield on Tuesday march 10th.the Lowest Unique Bid will Win,its 5 euro per bid.

To Submit a Bid(s) you need to PM me and i will give you a Reference Number and the Sort Code and Number of an Account where you can Lodge the Money.make sure you include the Reference Number when Lodging the Money or i will not know who the Money is from.i will get back to people as soon as possible.

On Receipt of your Money you will then be Contacted to Submit your Bid(s).
    to give the successful Bidder Time to organise Travel and Accomodation i will Close the Auction at 2.30 pm on Tuesday march 3rd and the winner will be announced shortly after that,that's a full Week before the Game.

I have set up an email address for new members to get around the 30 post problem.if any new members wish to take part in the reverse auction they can send an email to sirbob@live.co.uk.

They will need to be members though,it's not open to non members.when they send the email they need to include their username on irishkop.
    if people wish to pay by paypal they can pm me or email sirbob@live.co.uk with their paypal details and i will request payment from them.
    just to let everyone know,there is a small fee that paypal charges for each transaction.one of the drawbacks of using it.bit of a bummer but not really much that can be done about it.i'll leave it up to the individual as to whether they want to add a little extra to cover the charge.

I don't know the exact figure but it's seems to be around the 5% mark....
    i have decided to limit the number of entries to 10 per member,i had a few problems with multiple entries last time and i don't want to go through that again.
    5 euro per bid.
    best of luck to everyone that enters....

For more info see This thread

Gerrard could be on the bench for Citeh. Hope he stays there tbh.

I'd have him on the bench, if he's fit, but only coming on in a real emergency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

mike65 wrote: »
    Gerrard could be on the bench for Citeh. Hope he stays there tbh.

The only thing to consider is that Alonso is suspended for this game which would mean Lucas Masch CM presuambly.

Hopefully Man City have one of their off days combined with a post European hangover as I can really see three points in the game being vital as I would be massively surprised if Utd drop any points against Fulham or Blackburn.

Even two points dropped by Utd in these two games would be a major plus for us and even this would leave us six points behind albeit with the Man City game a game in hand so to speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 325 ✭✭lint316

The only thing to consider is that Alonso is suspended for this game which would mean Lucas Masch CM presuambly.
    Hopefully Aurelio in the middle with Masch and Isnua at left back. Id love to see Aurelio play more in centre mid and more of Insua at left back. Take Lucas out of the equation altogether to be honest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,077 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Aurelio could also be considered for centre-mid couldn't he?

Anyway, never mind Gerrard, I want to know if Danny Murphy is fit for tonight's game :P Another one of these would be nice...

To be honest I'd forgotten that Alonso was suspended, that does make Lucas a near certainty unfortunatly - Aurelio did a pretty good job the other week and he is familair with that role from Valencia (under Rafa). Is Insua back?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

To be honest given Rafa's statements in support of Lucas I'd be very surprised if Aurelio was played there, but I suppose he is an option.

Afaik Insua is back from his travels so I would expect him to be on the bench ahead of Dossena at the very least.

Apart from Gerrard don't think we have any other injuries so apart from himself and Alonso with the suspension, Rafa has a full squad to pick from.

Hopefully this little mini-break will prove to be an advantage nearer the end of the season when some of our rivals might be tiring.