March Start date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭carlty888

I know, for that price I would want my name on the back of this fleece in Diamonds.

Can't wait to learn everyones real name, I think you sound like a John.

It's unlikely we'll get any bling on the PE kit.

Is that John, as in the name, or the American term for toilet? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭PC Inwaiting

Either would work really.

I am really not allowed on the internet in work, but what are they gonna do, Fire me ahahah the power!!!!:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭DownMTBer

I do indeed have a good sense of humour and nothing else, no common sense, no personality and my parents didn't even manage to make it accross a border so I wasn't English for goodness sake!

Hehe serisouly though, I might be English, but I am one of the rare kind that can laugh at himself and sometimes even with myself and usually at my own jokes too, helps having several personalities all as boring as the last :D

Seriously though, I never take banter seriously and I do admire a quick reply like PC Inwaiting's :p

It's OK tho, I can tell I'm going to have to overcome you all hating me cos I'm English - *sobs* I'm gonna be Blue Squad's reject who has to sit on his own at lunch cos I can't sit at the cool people's table! :D

carlty888 wrote: »
    I'm only kiddin about the joke. :D

You can keep me company as we stagger behind everyone else then. :D

The pack was a good read. Enjoyed the "Course Details". £120's really steep for the PE kit though, but I doubt that's negotiable. :(

Never mind staggering, yous two will be friggin carrying me lol :D

Serisouly, i'm bricking it about my fitness level. If anyone happens to live in/near north down and wanna do some training to get me off my fat arse let me know! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭pb999

you'd be surprised how many english and southern irish are on the course, we have at least 2 english guys in our squad (greens), but sure you can join the association for minority officers! :p

the PE kit is quite smart looking, however its only gonna be any good to you for 5 months as the t-shirts and fleece have a great big psni badge on them!

kelso69 wrote: »
    I suppose another month is no biggie considering all the waiting we've done so far. It'll give me time to sort out a few things before my life contains a mega work-load! :D

If I were you (if you haven't done already) I would just phone and explain that similar background but worse merit number than yours have gone in and could they check if there is a problem with your application. That's what I did and it seemed to work.

I was speaking with someone in PSNI the other day and she said that it happened to one of her colleagues too and when he phoned he was told it was impossible for worse numbers to go in before better merit numbers (with everything completed), but clearly it does happen and sometimes things don't go as planned. I spose they're only human and make mistakes so I would just be real polite and ask them just to make sure everything is fine or if they need anything further from you.

Or you could do what he did and threaten to go to your MLA lol, but i think that's a bit heavy handed if they just made a mistake and given a chance they were pretty decent at sorting mine out :)

pb999 wrote: »
    you'd be surprised how many english and southern irish are on the course, we have at least 2 english guys in our squad (greens), but sure you can join the association for minority officers! :p

the PE kit is quite smart looking, however its only gonna be any good to you for 5 months as the t-shirts and fleece have a great big psni badge on them!

I was hoping to use mine to go for a jog around belfast!

And yeah, i guess I am an ethnic minority now! That means you have to all be uber sensitive to my feelings and make sure everything you say around me is politically correct :D HAHA

reminds me of when I first moved here, was working in a reception office and the lady who was the permanent person was on the phone with an English girl from another office, and forgot I was English too, when she got off the phone she turned to me and said 'bloody English they're useless!' hehe I actually laughed myself clean off my chair at her trying to apologise for it... :D:p

squirrel81 wrote: »
    im doing the ******** tonight, so if you see anyone collapsed along the grassy verge, just look away. Rubberneckin's very rude.

I would be running anywhere around Bangor, Ards, Comber and Cartly is around that area too so maybe we should meet up a couple nights a week and get cracking on this fitness malarky... :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Big Mac Addict

DownMTBer wrote: »
    I would be running anywhere around Bangor, Ards, Comber and Cartly is around that area too so maybe we should meet up a couple nights a week and get cracking on this fitness malarky... :)

Shall I drive behind and pick up any who collapse? Or I could shout encouragement...."push past da max..." etc! My footy training keeps me fit(ish) though still need to get road running practice in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 cooper1980

ooooooo...i could well be up for that...fitness is shocking at the moment.... but laid up with a bit of a chest infection at the minute....

how rude am i......if invited that is.lol.

cooper1980 wrote: »
    ooooooo...i could well be up for that...fitness is shocking at the moment.... but laid up with a bit of a chest infection at the minute....

Looks like the beginnings of the North Down Boardies Running Club.

All in favour say 'Aye, dead on mate'. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭MustBeCrazy

Gotta stop reading this thread - I'm going to burst with envy :(:D

Sigh....someday, just maybe it'll be little old me

It'll come soon enough girl. Fingers crossed for ya. :D

Thanks Carlty - you sound like you're going to be a great squad :(. I'll probably be left with Smyff or something. :D:D:D Sorry Smyff, just kidding - It'd be a pleasure to get on an intake with you!!!

Hahaha. Poor Smyff. :D

Put a banging donk on it big lad!

Hahaha. Poor Smyff. :D

Put a banging donk on it big lad!

See that's what frightens me - I don't even understand the language he speaks. Oh to be young again....

Looks like the beginnings of the North Down Boardies Running Club.

All in favour say 'Aye, dead on mate'. :D

Aye, dead on mate!! :eek:

Haha seriously though... anyone in North Down wants to catch up for a run now and then prior to our start send me a PM and I'll organise the first meet up, and the rest we can change our meeting location each time or something.

See that's what frightens me - I don't even understand the language he speaks. Oh to be young again....

Smyff speaks a language all of his own. :D

He confuses all of us.

We love him anyway. :pac:

Smyff speaks a language all of his own. :D

He confuses all of us.

We love him anyway. :pac:

Aye, he's good craic so he is - would certainly be entertaining in the hotel :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Penis Eye

or u could be in the greatest squad of all time. mine!!! penis eye squad is gonna be legendary. so ill get onto recruitment and start organising who i want in my squad. any takers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭kelso69

If I were you (if you haven't done already) I would just phone and explain that similar background but worse merit number than yours have gone in and could they check if there is a problem with your application. That's what I did and it seemed to work.

I was speaking with someone in PSNI the other day and she said that it happened to one of her colleagues too and when he phoned he was told it was impossible for worse numbers to go in before better merit numbers (with everything completed), but clearly it does happen and sometimes things don't go as planned. I spose they're only human and make mistakes so I would just be real polite and ask them just to make sure everything is fine or if they need anything further from you.

Or you could do what he did and threaten to go to your MLA lol, but i think that's a bit heavy handed if they just made a mistake and given a chance they were pretty decent at sorting mine out :)

Tried that. They didn't seem best pleased with me! Looks like I'm waiting...

kelso69 wrote: »
    Tried that. They didn't seem best pleased with me! Looks like I'm waiting...

Sorry to hear that buddy. :( April it is then! :D

I know how that feels....but when you do get the good news it will just make it all the more sweeter!

Penis Eye wrote: »
    or u could be in the greatest squad of all time. mine!!! penis eye squad is gonna be legendary. so ill get onto recruitment and start organising who i want in my squad. any takers?

Yes indeed, you can let them know that I would be happy to join your squad. Or any squad really if I'm honest :D

I know how that feels....but when you do get the good news it will just make it all the more sweeter!

Amen to that.

I had three years of the ol' "One day that'll be me." <sigh> :(

Amen to that.

I had three years of the ol' "One day that'll be me." <sigh> :(

Full respect for that carlty man, you certainly tick the resiliance box alright! I don't know if I could have coped! But if you want something enough then you can't give up I guess.

What's that?? :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭PapaYankeeGirl

If C15 comes around in March this'll be my 3rd time and im still only 19!!!!!!!

That is also highly impressive! are you getting closer each time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭PapaYankeeGirl

That is also highly impressive! are you getting closer each time?

Well yeah I guess.

C13- failed IST by 4 marks
    C14- passed everything so far (no medical tho) and have a merit score in the 350's.

I hope C14 gets me as close as I need.

Congrats to you though

PYG