Return of poll/home tax...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭Darragh29

Devious wrote: »
    Shocking, absolutely shocking. This will be the final nail in the coffin for the government, enough is enough. Instead of dealing with the obvious (insane public spending that needs to be slashed) they are going after the taxpayer again. Income tax rates will be increased next by the looks of it.

This government are so removed from reality that they will probably try to bring in poll tax, thinking that people will just bend over for them. It would be as a previous poster said, Love Ulster * 100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

"We've fecked it all up, now the population won't spend in case they end up on the dole, so we're not taking in as much tax as we hoped. What can we do?"

"Tax what they've already bought - the roof over their heads"

Abso-feckin-lutely inspired :rolleyes:

You know when you start hearing Junior Ministers saying that they will forfeit their ministries for "the sake of the country", that there is something seriously ****ty coming down the wire for Joe Public...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Darragh29 wrote: »
    You know when you start hearing Junior Ministers saying that they will forfeit their ministries for "the sake of the country", that there is something seriously ****ty coming down the wire for Joe Public...

That, I suspect can because of a number of things.

1. They suspect what's coming and don't want to be seen as part of a government that is going create havoc!

2. Covering their ass for the future. "O' we stepped down and played no part then... elect me now instead - I'm an alternative solution"

3. Doing the decent thing and giving up a good waged job and perks for the sake of the country.

I'd like to think its the third option - but I suspect its the first two.

One of these Junior Ministers was on RTE 1 radio earlier and said a TD actually earns more than a Junior Minister, whatever way expenses are worked out!

So if they jack in the ministry, they end up being better off financially!

I couldn't believe Enda Kenny's words on TV3 News.
    He said "any government rep' up to getting €100,000 a year in wages, shouldn't be forced to take a cut" (words to that effect)

- but its ok to force cuts on those earning from 0 to €30,000 a year, a bracket which most of us find ourselves in, is it?

Its goes to further show that even in opposition, that all TD's are still looking first, after their own ass and pockets!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 964 ✭✭✭Boggle

Agreed, except that the alternatives don't inspire much confidence either. It's a pretty intractable problem really, the type of people that we need don't seem to venture into politics.

I'm not saying that politicians of vision don't exist, but they either never rise to the top or those that do have their idealism leeched out of them.

In this country at least, the attainment and retention of power have become ends in themselves. Servants of the people indeed. :rolleyes:
    You just demonstrated in a single post the biggest problem with this country: Irish people do not have the first clue how to run a succesful democracy.

FFS, it should really be thought in schools next to basic cop on (another feature sorely lacking from many Irish) - seriously, you'd swear it was a county football team you were following!!:rolleyes:

If you want a better class of politician, you have to elect one. Here's how. FF made a dogs b0ll0x of the country over the past ten years and nobody would listen - thinking that the magic fairy on Berties shoulder would ruin the country if we let another party into power - even though they were an objective disgrace. So what you should do, now that any idiot can see it, is give no vote to anybody in a FF shirt and hopefully watch them get wiped out at the polls. Next time an election comes up, select a candidate and party who might benefit the country. If that party messes up you wipe them out and so on until the parties get the message that if they fail they're gone.
    Eventually the only thing that will matter in politics is ability - as opposed to who's son or daughter you are.

As for local politics and the pothole brigade - if a country does well then it stands to reason that a county will prosper also.

End rant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

There will be plenty of loopholes for the rich and the cronies:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Biggins wrote: »
    [/I]Now, there is nothing by ANY side of the political fence, mentioning the cutting of their perks, wages, etc.
    We have a leader who is getting paid €70,000 more than his British counterpart (according to a union rep on "Primetime").
    Cutting a TD's wages won't solve our growing debt problem but by god, they could lead by example.

Spot on

I would love to know if this is true re biffos salary, I did here something on those lines some years ago, if this is true it is an absolute disgrace that a PM of a small country like ours is earning more than the PM of the UK

I won't pay it.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Mister Robinson

Latest exchequer figures show the Government will have to borrow €55m a day just to balance its books.

Maybe if they didn't spend all that money making stupid big poles in the middle of O'Connel street and on themselves then they wouldnt be in the state the are now.

Only themselves to blame yet they put the taxes on us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

At this stage I'm getting pretty close to the edge, I think this will put me crawling on my hands and knee's..

This and all the other fvcking bullsh*t taxes and LEVY's imposed on us. I've two children approaching third level in the next few years, that and I'm a public servent so I'm gonna be arse raped with a 5% levy.

Fvck this sh*t, I thought I'd left the 80's back in the dark & distant past.

Sorry, I know this isn't the most articulate post I've ever made, but I'm really worried at the moment and trying to keep my fear's from the kids, its fvcking hard.

:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Spot on

I would love to know if this is true re biffos salary, I did here something on those lines some years ago, if this is true it is an absolute disgrace that a PM of a small country like ours is earning more than the PM of the UK

Now, do you promise to keep calm when you read this? :D
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-2055217842-p-4.html
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/archive/index.php/t-2055171676.html

President of USA $400,000 = €281,452
    Prime Minister of UK £187,611 = €269,324

Cowen - €310,000

gurramok wrote: »
    Cowen - €310,000
    That's only a fraction of what he costs us.:rolleyes:
    I don't imagine he put his hands in his own pockets for anything going to Japan this week.

Cowen - €310,000

Shocking and I assume that this is only his salary,he gets to claim expenses also?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

now they are saying that due to the fall in retail prices the dole can be cut as the cost of living is going down, the cut in the carers allowence is only a smoke screen and mirrors job

old boy wrote: »
    , the cut in the carers allowence is only a smoke screen and mirrors job

The amount of money carers save this state, it is an absolute disgrace :mad:

He said "any government rep' up to getting €100,000 a year in wages, shouldn't be forced to take a cut" (words to that effect)

- but its ok to force cuts on those earning from 0 to €30,000 a year, a bracket which most of us find ourselves in, is it?

Its goes to further show that even in opposition, that all TD's are still looking first, after their own ass and pockets!

so you have copped on

They live in a completely different world to the rest of us.

OPENROAD wrote: »
    They live in a completely different world to the rest of us.

It's up to us to give them a dose of reality at election time.

old boy wrote: »
    so you have copped on

O' I copped on a long time ago.

On the wages issue alone, Cowan, Kenny - the whole frakin' lot are a national disgrace - but the stupid ignorant blind muppets of this country will vote for them yet again.

Ireland truly deserves the government it gets!

You elect crap - ye get crap!

I don't have the figures, but didn't Bertie give a massive increase to the pension payable to former Ministrs and even proportionally more to former Taoiseachs? :(Also, didn't he bring in golden parachutes for Ministers / senior advisers who might loose their high ranking jobs for any reason. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭trout

Cowen - €310,000

It's not about money. Politics is truly a noble calling ... those called disregard their own personal gain and work selflessly, completely and totally on behalf of the public they serve.

If you believe that ... I've got a bridge I could sell you.

I don't blame or begrudge the policitians ... I blame the people who vote them into power, time and again.

Property tax is looking inevitable, as is a return to water rates and any other opportunity that arises to redress the current situation.

We've only ourselves to blame.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Sounds like we are indeed going to get hammered by property tax.
    The government can need cash and can justify it (in their eyes not mine) on many counts:
    -stamp duty on property sales down

-increases in tax on goods and services will only increase the Northern Ireland shopping trips and so called "Newry Effect"

- further income tax increases are not really possible due to increasing unemployment and those keeping their jobs are already looking at no or low pay increases this year. Decreasing take home pay can for certain
    unemployed people make looking for work less attractive.

-if the tax is based on property size the Greens can say it's 'environmental'.

- EU is looking for everyone to pay for water and refuse if the Govt can include these as part of the tax they can blame the EU for part of it as well as fulfilling the EU directive. (Probably happen after Lisbon II ;) )

All we need are some leg warmers and dodgy hair cuts and we're back in the '80s :(

i am an invilaid so the celtic tiger passed me by put i survived, so i nominate the old girl to be minister for finance as we haave survived with a roof over our heads, not a great one i admit put it is not leaking, it is on the house 130 years all origional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Different account here: Hopefully, it'd apply to everyone earning less than 100k
    “We also believe that, in the event of the Government introducing pay cuts, they should only affect people earning more than €100,000,” Mr Kenny added.

This sounds like it was a good prediction.
    Fine Gael claimed at its national conference in November that the Exchequer could not afford the current national wage agreement which promises 6% in staggered pay rises.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhsneyojcwgb/

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

If my account of his words is wrong, I apologise unreservedly.
    That still won't change my absolute disgust over their wages issue alone though.
    Its a disgusting disgrace.

The amount of hammering we are going to get shorty on our bank accounts, wallets and cash in our pockets will be unbelievable.

And while this happening, remember to watch the changes it will also have on our elected officials - BUGGER ALL!!!
    They will try to make themselves immune as much as possible.

For those that haven't read this thread back, here is soon some of the probable changes coming ...and this is only the tip of the iceberg about to hit us all:
    Coming Soon: Possible Government Changes

They are seriously considering cutting school buses.
    See: http://www.herald.ie/national-news/call-to-scrap-school-buses-just-daft-tds-1598038.html

All civil service unionised wages will be cut from 2% to 5%.
    This includes by the way, Fire-persons, Nurses, Gardi, Teachers, Bus/Train drivers, etc.
    (I suspect major trouble with this one and the country come to a grinding halt in protest)
    See: http://www.independent.ie/national-news/lenihan-can-alter-contracts-of-civil-servants-in-public-interest-1600626.html
    and
    http://www.independent.ie/national-news/unions-warn-of-crippling-strikes-if-pay-cuts-imposed-1600625.html

A new re-vamped tax on home that you already might have heavy mortgage payments on!

Another €1.5bn thrown at Anglo Irish Bank!
    I mean - COME ON!!! We are 8 Billion a year now in debt - how much more are we going to throw down this bottomless pit?

100 Dublin Bus routes scrapped
    See: http://www.herald.ie/breaking-news/national-news/politics/labour-concerned-about-cuts-in-public-bus-services-1601628.html

Carers Allowance to go
    See: http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/national-news/age-action-carers-allowance-must-be-exempt-from-cuts-1599486.html

Cuts in school activities
    See: http://www.sligochampion.ie/sport/gaelic-football/official-slams-education-cutbacks-as-ludicrous-1581641.html

and a lot more to come...