Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

MKV, DIVX, HD player Where?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭viv.ie

Shamo wrote: »
    Firmware update has been released. Embedded .mkv subtitles now work and various other stuff.
    Just done the firmware upgrade and it seems to have sorted out a lot of issues I was concerned about.Firstly 1080p seems to play flawlessly now before there was a lot of pixelation,secondly ts files are now recognised,thirdly if you press next when in FF the files moves forward by 10 minutes this is great for moving through long movies.Loads more upgrades regarding subtitles etc.All in all very happy obviously Western Digital put a lot of time into this upgrade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,477 ✭✭✭newbie2

Orderd mine off komplett just before christmas - realy looking forward to getting it. Glad to hear some of the little problems have been fixed with the latest firmware.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

I have a good few MKV file films on my computer and cant watch them on my TV unless I plug a laptop into the TV.

How would one set up the WD player . Would it work by connecting it to an external hard drive?

Can I stream movies via my router from my laptop to the WD player?

My theater system does not have an Optical input. Would I need a new Theater system for this?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭MediaTank

gsxr1 wrote: »
    I have a good few MKV file films on my computer and cant watch them on my TV unless I plug a laptop into the TV.

How would one set up the WD player . Would it work by connecting it to an external hard drive?

Can I stream movies via my router from my laptop to the WD player?

My theater system does not have an Optical input. Would I need a new Theater system for this?

thanks

The WD player requires an external USB drive for media. So your movies should be stored on this. It doesn't have any network capability so connecting to a router is out. If you want to stream over the network you need a networked player e.g. NMT or TViX.

If you have HDMI rather than optical you'll be good to go.

MT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭wiseolsham

Folks, Ive tried nosing around the web, avforums, avsforums, here and cant seem to find how to embed a jpg into the avi / mkv / mp4 for the library view on the WD TV. Say, using the film poster as the jpeg as opposed to an actual frame from the file.
    Surely theres a simple method, or is there?

wiseolsham wrote: »
    Folks, Ive tried nosing around the web, avforums, avsforums, here and cant seem to find how to embed a jpg into the avi / mkv / mp4 for the library view on the WD TV. Say, using the film poster as the jpeg as opposed to an actual frame from the file.
    Surely theres a simple method, or is there?

Given the capabilities of the player, I doubt that it can be accomplished. FWIW, the NMT players can display a web page with the details of file including a film poster, fan art or the DVD cover for example.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭GigaByte

MediaTank wrote: »
    Given the capabilities of the player, I doubt that it can be accomplished. FWIW, the NMT players can display a web page with the details of file including a film poster, fan art or the DVD cover for example.

It can already display embedded album art and thumb nailed jpg pictures so I would think it’s certainly capable. Hopefully with the next firmware update it will be a simple case of having a jpg filename with the same title as the movie. A lot of people seem to be requesting this feature.
    Fingers crossed! :)

GigaByte wrote: »
    It can already display embedded album art and thumb nailed jpg pictures so I would think it’s certainly capable. Hopefully with the next firmware update it will be a simple case of having a jpg filename with the same title as the movie. A lot of people seem to be requesting this feature.
    Fingers crossed! :)

Fair enough. Fingers crossed too :) This is what I was referring to http://code.google.com/p/moviejukebox/wiki/MovieJukebox

Cheers, wasnt looking for anything advanced. The jukebox looks great, but for now, if anyone can help, I just want to embed a jpeg (ie movie poster)into an avi / mp4. Any suggestions? :)

Embedding into an mp4 is very simple if you use mediamonkey as for avi's you'll have to wait for a firmware fix.

Here's 3 movies I embedded movie art into using mediamonkey. If you right click on the movie in mediamonkey and select properties. You can add the movie art into the file there, see the screen shot below

1.jpg

Then when you hook your usb drive/key or what every you use, you should see something like this: (sorry for the bad pic)

CIMG1843-1024.jpg

Brilliant! Thanks a million for that! Nice setup BTW :):):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

@gigabyte does imbedding the pic work with a .mkv container?

No, hopefully in the next firmware they will support embedded MKV's and folder.jpg or movie_name.jpg.

There's lots of information and help on the AVSForum, here a link to the WD HD TV Player thread.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1080840&page=1

There's over 120 pages to go through!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,449 ✭✭✭livEwirE

Is there any delay in playback of full 1080p MKV files over a USB drive connected to this machine?

The only way you can play any files is through the USB connection. I'm not having any delays with any 1080p MKV files. All play perfectly but I think there was alot of problems before the first firmware came out. I updated the firmware before I played any files.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 1,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭karltimber

nice bit of kit alright.

just to re-cap - :D

Use the WD HD player with an external hard drive (by usb) to play 720 ac3 encoded mkv's - correct ?
    Mkv's with dts sound can be encoded to ac3 - as per auvers link-correct ?

what size type of external hd's are ye using - WD mybook 1tb ?
    can the ext drive be in ntfs to support 5gb+ mkv files ?

side question - what software can I use to encode 25gb m2ts files down to 5gb mkv's.

I have a popcorn but a friend wants to play hd mkv's along with avi's

thanks
    k

karltimber wrote:
    Use the WD HD player with an external hard drive (by usb) to play 720 ac3 encoded mkv's - correct ?k

Yes.

karltimber wrote:
    Mkv's with dts sound can be encoded to ac3 - as per auvers link-correct ?k

Yes, you can keep the dts audio track as well or remove it
    karltimber wrote:
    what size type of external hd's are ye using - WD mybook 1tb ?k

I'm using a 1TB My Book and a 500GB My Passport
    karltimber wrote:
    can the ext drive be in ntfs to support 5gb+ mkv files ?

Yes
    karltimber wrote:
    side question - what software can I use to encode 25gb m2ts files down to 5gb mkv's.k

There's alot of good tutorials out there which you can find on google.
    karltimber wrote:
    thanks
    Your welcome :D

karltimber wrote: »

side question - what software can I use to encode 25gb m2ts files down to 5gb mkv's.

tsmuxer or RipBot64 will do it. Conversion can take a couple of days though depending on you computer.

grand will try it out - have a quad-ex so that may help :D

should be a good upgrade from a standard media hard drive for playing avi's, now mkv's too.

thx lads

k

grand will try it out - have a quad-ex so that may help :D

Should cut it down to 24 hours or so :D

Just got this WD TV media player and a WD myBook 1 TB Drive in the post. I'm looking forward to setting it up and giving it a good aul test. I'll post up results/problems/fixes either later tonight or tomorrow.

did you get them both off pixmania ?

k

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 dpsj

Hi Guys,

I'm looking for some advice, I saw a multimedia drive at Christmas that my brother in law got from iBOOD, it was an argosys one. I liked the idea but thought there might be better ones out there, I assumed that all I'd have to do was take a quick look through the reviews and place an order.
    Boy was I wrong, I'm going blind from Googling, and getting more confused every day.

My requirements:
    I have no DVD rips on my PC, so I'll only save to whatever format the player can play.
    I have some Mini DV footage that would be nice to watch on the TV. I think its .AVI.
    The main reason I want this is to burn the kids DVD's on to it as they are destroying them as fast as I can buy them. (Bob the Builders latest adventure €15, destroyed by a teething 12 month old. Do that a few times and this thing would pay for itself.

I think I've ruled out all the fancy network drives and the likes as I don't really need all the bells and whistles (this is the recesion hitting, I normally get the B&W and justify it by saying I'll need it sometime in the future)
    I've been reading this thread and I think this WD HD TV is good enough for my needs, if coupled with a tidy external Hard Drive.

My Questions

Why should I opt for this instead of the Iomega Screenplay one that comes with a built in hard drive?

What hard drive 500g to 1tb <€100 would people recommend?

Anything else I should look at Max €200?

MY TV

Sony CRT, but might upgrade next year so HD connection important
    Sony Home Cinema, with very poor selection of connections

Thanks for any help.

did you get them both off pixmania ?

k
    yep - -after komplett fXXked me around a bit with availability. Ordered on Friday night - Delivered today ( thursday)

dpsj wrote: »
    Hi Guys.....

.......My Questions

Why should I opt for this instead of the Iomega Screenplay one that comes with a built in hard drive?

What hard drive 500g to 1tb <€100 would people recommend?

Anything else I should look at Max €200?

MY TV

Sony CRT, but might upgrade next year so HD connection important
    Sony Home Cinema, with very poor selection of connections

Thanks for any help.

dpsj,
    haven't used this yet so cannot give you a definitive reason why you should use the WD TV instead of the IOmega. Waht I can tell from the product description on pixmania is that the IOmega doesn't support .mkv files. While this may not be any use to you as .mkv files are HD, if you do eventually get a HD telly, you'll be futureproofed. Also Hard Drive's have a habit of failing at a remarkablly frequent rate (3 years or so is the expected lifetime for a Hard Drive) so getting an external HD will mean if it does fail you wont have to buy another media player.

You can get a 1TB external hard drive for less than 100 on both komplett and pixmania ( lots of makes - have a search)

Both the WD TV and the Western Digital external 1 TB hard drive cost me €251 (inc VAT and delivery) from pixmania. The same deal on komplett cost me €242 (inc VAT and delivery). you could reduce this cost by getting a cheaper/smaller hard drive.

I'll post my findings on the WD TV later tonight or tomorrow ( the weekend at the latest) and I'll be very critical if needs be, so don't rush out and buy anything until you've done the homework.
    Also don't forget that you'll need to get software to rip the DVD's to the hard drive. there's plenty available both free and that cost money. Again homework needs to be done.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 dpsj

Thanks Newbie2, I'll await your findings with great anticipation. I have to get something soon, came home to find a few dvd's posted out the letter box to the driveway by the 2y.o!!

newbie2 wrote: »
    d Waht I can tell from the product description on pixmania is that the IOmega doesn't support .mkv files. While this may not be any use to you as .mkv files are HD, if you do eventually get a HD telly, you'll be futureproofed.

MKV is just a container, it can hold SD as well as HD content. But you're right it is a big disadvantage.

howdy,

this is what it supports

Video: MPEG1/2/4, WMV9, AVI, Xvid, AVX, H.264, MKV, MOV

I have full blue-ray rips at 25gb each. I renamed some of them from *.m2ts to *.mpeg and they play fine.
    Does this unti support Mpeg-hd or am I as well to encode these m2ts files down to mkv, at least to save on space.

-whats avx ?
    K

hey 1000 post aswell :D:D

-whats avx ?

Are you sure it's not a typo? could be AVC another codec.

this is from the WD site

Video -MPEG1/2/4, WMV9, AVI (MPEG4, Xvid, AVC), H.264, MKV, MOV (MPEG4, H.264),
    MTS, TP, TS

edit - just realized that the updated version supports .mts files - full blue-ray rips (*.m2ts) so happy days.
    No real need to encode to mkv unless for file size.

do they supply a hdmi cable ?