They're leaving :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Nodin wrote: »
    'nom de guerre'

Is what exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Is what exactly?

Name of war.

Mercenaries used to take fake ones. And lads in the FFL. Think that's where it comes from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

"nick" in french

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭Tchaikovsky

There are quite a few Lithuanians and Latvians here; but very few Estonians. Why so? I guess they all went to Finland.

Exactly. Lithuanian, Latvians and Estonians are called Baltic States, but Estonians are very different. I can understand what Latvians are talking (not much, but still), but not Estonians. Finns are much the same as Estonians, but I have met few of them here

I worked with more estonians than latvians though... damn they are some pretty sexy women... :)

What do you think about polish women?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 jan_kowalski

PeterLT wrote: »

They are nice from far but far from nice :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

O yes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Unaton

Nodin wrote: »
    Well, if its like that then, shag off back to the Baltic. And take the fried rice and peking duck with yez.
    Ha, nice try :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,596 ✭✭✭ewj1978

I wonder what the polish for "would you like butter with that" is....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,104 ✭✭✭✭djpbarry

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    I have yet to see you offer any constructive or balanced arguement to this debate.
    The fact that you felt the need to reply to one of my posts suggests otherwise.
    What I mean is, it is simply lucky that the Polish economy is on the up, meaning they would leave when it went downhill here. If the Polish economy had stayed stagnant, they likely would have stayed here on benefits waiting for the recession to end.
    And if my aunty had balls she’d be my uncle.

Is that not the whole point of having a common labour market? The larger the common economic area, the more likely it is that certain areas (e.g. Poland) will experience economic growth while other areas (e.g. Ireland) experience recessions.
    It happened in France, Germany, UK, Spain, countries that went into economic decline after allowing near unlimited migration, but where the migrants didnt return during this period as a bad developed economy is still better than a bad developing one.
    Are we still talking about EU nationals?

Would you agree that if 100,000 polish left over the next year, that the chances of unemployed Irish getting work would increase? I think it would.
    Why? Are we talking about employed Polish people? How do you know there are people on the dole who would be capable of filling the vacancies that would be created?
    I don't mind, a job is a job at the end of the day, in this situation my BA and experience is not worth sh!t.
    When was a BA ever worth anything? ;)
    Ass Face wrote: »
    Hopefully they'll take the Romanians with them.
    One of the technicians I work with is Romanian. I’d be pretty stuck without him, so forgive me if I don’t share your sentiment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

For the eleventy millionth time, Romanian =/= Roma.

To the Polish/Lithuanian/Latvian posters, thank you all for presenting your side of the story. I would have 100,000 of you over 1,000 of our home grown scroungers.

On the topic of saving money, I maintain that one of the reasons the economy in PL is booming is because, while Poles are frugal here and watch every penny*, many of their fellows spend like drunken sailors back home. I have been a regular visitor there, so have seen such behaviour personally. Nothing cheap there either, when it comes to good clothes or electronic goods.

*I shop in Lidl, have done for years because I disagree with Tesco and their policy of fla'ing the Irish consumer. We are often the only paddies in the store. There is a growing problem with illegal dumping, due to certain individuals not paying bin charges-most likely an isolated, yet irritating problem. A friend inadvertently left a wireless access point in his home unencrypted, and it took him a month to figure out why the foreign reg vehicles habitually parked outside in the evenings. Vehicles are driven here for years, and not VRT'ed, as well as being insured in the home country *if at all* (I have actual evidence of this, as have dealt with a number of claims due third party damage to our company plant-which is on every street in Ireland-from foreign registered vehicles. Gardai who post here may back up this anecdotal evidence as they are generally on the scene before we are).

djpbarry wrote: »
    How do you know there are people on the dole who would be capable of filling the vacancies that would be created?

This is actually very good point mate.
    Replacing 100 thousands deli makers would not probably be a big hassle as everyone would be trained up within 2 days time, but try to replace number of skilled professionals within this group? How can you train up guy with no clues whatsoever to high-level job in no time?

The reason why Ireland invited EU immigrants in 2004 was indeed because of shortage of skilled workforce in the first place!
    Shortage of IT people, finances people, construction engineers, etc. etc.
    There was also need for non-skilled workers to fill up unwanted vacancies in low-paid industries like bars, hotels, etc. as booming Irish economy pushed Irish people up the ladder and there was scarcely anyone willing to do 8 per hour job.

There is one more point to this discussion.
    Ireland is part of EU. Ireland took massive money out from EU and used it to boom and grow over past years.
    One of the basic prinicples and ideas of EU is free flow of goods, services and money. Now, since 2004 Poland is EU member as well. Poland takes more money now than pays to EU but that will change in next 5 or 10 years and there will be another turn to support another developing EU country like maybe Turkey if they ever join in... (let's assume so just for the example).

Therefore you just can't simply block workforce or anything of that sort.
    If you want to block everyone and live on your own you would need sign out from EU and possibly pay billions of Euros back that was given you by Germany, France, Holland, Belgium etc. etc. How does it sound huh?
    This is just nonsense I know it and you know it. Sadly I'm afraid people like Sam06 hardly understand any of those...

For the eleventy millionth time, Romanian =/= Roma.
    In fairness, it's a pretty complex concept to grasp. These stereotypes take years of unchallenged ignorance to develop; we cannot expect them to be dispelled with mere facts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭RoundyMooney

In fairness, it's a pretty complex concept to grasp. These stereotypes take years of unchallenged ignorance to develop; we cannot expect them to be dispelled with mere facts.

I know a couple of Romanians, and this pisses them off greatly.

Even worse, I've heard cops make the same mistake, and they're the ones who have to source interpreters to deal with those Roma criminal scum who end up down the nick on a daily basis.

PeterLT wrote: »

Nice, we don't get much of them skinny women here no more, polish women are fit too :)
    Why? Are we talking about employed Polish people? How do you know there are people on the dole who would be capable of filling the vacancies that would be created?

Chances are, if 100,000 people are leaving there will be positions, and them positions will be filled. Not talking about just the dole too, but those on lower waged jobs with higher skills that simply cannot get jobs. It is possible that some jobs may not be filled. Would be nice to have some statistics to look at, what jobs these people have if they have one.
    When was a BA ever worth anything? ;)

Watch it you, it's pretty good for giving paper cuts. :P Anyway I think you are mixing every other BA up with the Arts BA :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

I doubt if there will be a lot of people going for a job all of a sudden once the Polish are moving out of Ireland.
    A Polish person in a well paid, more or less secure office job isnt the one that leaves.
    I reckon it will be the constructors, the deli workes, cleaners and the likes that will go first.

I already read one "i am not going to work in a deli" reaction here and i guess there will be a lot of Irish people thinking that.
    I also can not really imagine seeing 20 year old Irish girls doing the cleaning in the office where i work.

Construction... those jobs just seem to evaporate. Building an economy on building houses..... erm.. right.

The foreigners came here because there were jobs. At the same time, before the foreigners came in, there were already people out of a job. It wasnt the foreigners who took those people's jobs. The couldnt be arsed then and now the foreigners leave they still cant be arsed.

Chances are, if 100,000 people are leaving there will be positions, and them positions will be filled.
    That's a very simplistic analysis. I work with quite a lot of non-Irish people and I would be very suprised if you could find people on the dole to do their (highly specialised) jobs. Besides, I don't see why an Irish person should be more entitled to a job in this country than a non-Irish person. The most suitable candidate gets the job, regardless of nationality.
    Not talking about just the dole too, but those on lower waged jobs with higher skills that simply cannot get jobs.
    So you think we should get rid of the skilled people, who are apparently more suited to the job seeing as how they managed to secure it in the first place, to make way for people who, for whatever reason, were beaten to said jobs? That makes little sense, economic or otherwise. You're essentially advocating that we replace people in skilled positions with (presumably) inferior employees.
    It is possible that some jobs may not be filled.
    I would say it would be highly probable that a large number of jobs would not be filled. Further, I would say it would be quite likely that a large number of jobs would also be made redundant due to the loss of all those skilled workers and the subsequent impact on the economy.
    Would be nice to have some statistics to look at, what jobs these people have if they have one.
    The last census is the best we have. Approximately 48% of Poles in this country were either "manual skilled" or "semi-skilled" and a further 9% were classed as working at "employer/manager" level or as a "professional". More than 25% of Poles in Ireland have third level qualifications, a large number of which are in the field of engineering (source).

Nice, we don't get much of them skinny women here no more, polish women are fit too :)

Well, recently I spoke with Polish chap, he was complaining that it's getting hard to find a Polish girls for themselves as vast majority are looking for Irish guys... You get the idea, so do what ever it takes to stop them from leaving :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

In fairness, you can't actually regulate for EU citizens moving in or out of your country. If they want to come and live here they can.

We can, and we should have.

Anyway, sod the EU, Lisbon showed that our government should grow a pair.

The fact that you felt the need to reply to one of my posts suggests otherwise.

Lol. Pathetic.
    And if my aunty had balls she’d be my uncle.

By that logic the government should make cutbacks by sacking all prison officers and operating jails on a basis of trust that the lads will stay in their cells 23 hours a day and not do a runner.

Really, why are you bothering commenting on issues you dont have a half clue about?
    Is that not the whole point of having a common labour market? The larger the common economic area, the more likely it is that certain areas (e.g. Poland) will experience economic growth while other areas (e.g. Ireland) experience recessions.

No. It isnt.
    Are we still talking about EU nationals?

Mainly North African and Asian, but if you want to be pissy about it yes, Im sure France was left stuck with a good few unemployed Portuguese during hard times.

Im not one for internetizmz, but pwnd tbh.

One of the technicians I work with is Romanian. I’d be pretty stuck without him, so forgive me if I don’t share your sentiment.

Im going to assume you knew full well who he was referring to.

Im also going to go out on a limb and suggest that you have a fairly low opinion of most or all Roma you have had experience with. Whether you will concede this here is a different matter entirely.

You got it wrong mate.
    You can not regulate immigration from another EU country.
    You only can regulate from outside EU. Read EU Enlargement Policy and accession notes.

The only option provided by EU law is to give 7 years long transition period to new EU countries.

This transition period is in use now by Germany for example and had been used by France until 2008.

What does it mean?
    It means that since 2004 (EU accession for Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, etc.) "old" EU Countries can block their job market for another 7 years.
    This is maximum period allowed.
    So Germany liked to use this option and they are blocking Poles and the other new countries until 2011. However, Poles can still travel there, stay there, etc. - it's only in accordance to taking up jobs.
    At the moment if Poles want to work in Germany they need Permit but this is going to change in 2011 - at latest.

Ireland did not use this optional tranistion period and opened up in 2004 immediately - likewise was for example Sweden and United Kingdom.

That is why those countries host most of immigrants - as everyone who felt like going abroad had quite narrow selection back then in 2004 (as far as I can remember only 3 or 4 old EU countries opened up their job markets for us immediately) - hope this explains a few bits to some people here wondering why Ireland :D:D
    And we like you by the way - this is second why :D:D

And for example France opened up only now in 2008, so they have been using job protection for 4 years until dropped.
    Also, once you open up there is no going back.
    So this means, Ireland cannnot say now, ok, get out and we will let you back in again in 2 years time in 2011.
    This is impossible now.

You see there are tight EU regulations and by being part of EU you showed your consent with them - many people probably never understand what it means to join EU. It's not only funny 2 letter word, it's political and economical bond.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Anyway, sod the EU, Lisbon showed that our government should grow a pair.

The immigration being what fueled our economic growth? That would have been great. :rolleyes:

That's a very simplistic analysis. I work with quite a lot of non-Irish people and I would be very suprised if you could find people on the dole to do their (highly specialised) jobs. Besides, I don't see why an Irish person should be more entitled to a job in this country than a non-Irish person. The most suitable candidate gets the job, regardless of nationality.

Are you suggesting that people on the dole are unskilled and uneducated? I hope not. There are many people on social welfare that are skilled and educated. I am not saying that all 100,000 jobs will be filled by people on the dole. There are also a lot of skilled people working in jobs that undermime their capabilities. A lot of skilled people are taking on unskilled jobs just to work. I did not say that anybody is entitled to a job based on nationality.
    So you think we should get rid of the skilled people, who are apparently more suited to the job seeing as how they managed to secure it in the first place, to make way for people who, for whatever reason, were beaten to said jobs? That makes little sense, economic or otherwise. You're essentially advocating that we replace people in skilled positions with (presumably) inferior employees.

Simple answer? No. I do not think that we should "get rid" of skilled workers. I never said we should get rid of skilled workers and replace them with "inferior" workers. I said that there are skilled workers working in unskilled jobs, like I stated above. There are people in skilled labour being made redundant or simply let off, those people are now working in unskilled positions (Tradesmen working in the service sector).
    I would say it would be highly probable that a large number of jobs would not be filled. Further, I would say it would be quite likely that a large number of jobs would also be made redundant due to the loss of all those skilled workers and the subsequent impact on the economy.

I agree that SOME may be made redundant, those who work for foreigners that have their own company, I do not think that is a LOT though. There are a lot of polish that are in managment, it's not impossible to replace these people, in fact it would not be difficult at all.

The last census is the best we have. Approximately 48% of Poles in this country were either "manual skilled" or "semi-skilled" and a further 9% were classed as working at "employer/manager" level or as a "professional". More than 25% of Poles in Ireland have third level qualifications, a large number of which are in the field of engineering (source).

Considering the fact that so many Irish "manual skilled" and "semi skilled" workers are unemployed here will help my argument. 9% spread over managment and professional? Well we will miss the professionals, no doubt, but we will not miss the managment as we can fill that gap. We may even be able to fill some of the professional gaps, depending on what profession they have. As for the third level educated. We have an abundance of higher educated people in this country, we really don't need any more.

Like I have said a million times, I do not want to get "rid" of any nationality, but the fact that they are leaving will reduce competition in the job market here in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

Ross_Mahon wrote: »
    Lets go back to Poland with them!

man i'm with this guy all the way guaranteed a job. they owe us a favour or two i feel

Present tense, past tense?
    By that logic the government should make cutbacks by sacking all prison officers and operating jails on a basis of trust that the lads will stay in their cells 23 hours a day and not do a runner.
    Sorry, what? You’re saying that allowing the free movement of workers is analogous to opening a prison?
    No. It isnt.
    Isn’t it? What’s the reason for it then? No economic benefit at all, no?
    Mainly North African and Asian…
    So your point is irrelevant as far as this thread is concerned.
    Im going to assume you knew full well who he was referring to.
    Yes I do, hence why I pointed out the error.

A lot of skilled people are taking on unskilled jobs just to work.
    And why is that?
    I agree that SOME may be made redundant, those who work for foreigners that have their own company, I do not think that is a LOT though.
    So the only jobs that will be lost will be those that were created by foreign employers? There won’t be any knock-on effect in the service sector? Or retail? Or rental market?
    There are a lot of polish that are in managment, it's not impossible to replace these people, in fact it would not be difficult at all.
    Really? How can you be so sure?
    Considering the fact that so many Irish "manual skilled" and "semi skilled" workers are unemployed here will help my argument.
    How many?
    We have an abundance of higher educated people in this country, we really don't need any more.
    That is, quite frankly, an unbelievable statement. We don’t need engineers? You think we have enough already? All the BA graduates are going to kick-start the economy, are they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

I hope they stay as much as possible..Ireland has become remarkably better looking since it became more mixed. It'd be an awful shame to go back to a smaller pool of Irish-only again :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,276 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

I like meeting diffrent ppl and learning about there home countrys and I will miss the ones I know leaving but right now this country isn't able to handle the employment need for them and our own I'll miss the Polish (Great craic, very friendly) I just wish we could get rid of all the Roma beggers that are flooding our streets.