They're leaving :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭SheroN

PeterLT wrote: »
    At least it's hot there... :)

That is true. It's much easier be on the dole when the weather is good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭el_bandita

The (minor) issue was not whether or not Polish people had any culture, it was their cultural contribution to Ireland, which has been fairly conclusively proven to be negligible.
    Tommy Tiernan latest dvd Bovinity includes Irish and Polish subtitles. If that not Polish influence I don't know what is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 231 ✭✭PeterLT

SheroN wrote: »
    That is true. It's much easier be on the dole when the weather is good.

yes and you can save on clothes and beer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

el_bandita wrote: »
    Tommy Tiernan latest dvd Bovinity includes Irish and Polish subtitles. If that not Polish influence I don't know what is...

I wish Tommy Tiernan would Fcuk off to Poland himself tbh. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

el_bandita wrote: »
    Tommy Tiernan latest dvd Bovinity includes Irish and Polish subtitles.

The fact most of a transcripted Tiernan set would have to be in upper case might explain why they are pissed off with Ireland.

djpbarry wrote: »
    :confused: The government should have regulated the self-regulating migration?

I have yet to see you offer any constructive or balanced arguement to this debate. What I mean is, it is simply lucky that the Polish economy is on the up, meaning they would leave when it went downhill here. If the Polish economy had stayed stagnant, they likely would have stayed here on benefits waiting for the recession to end. It happened in France, Germany, UK, Spain, countries that went into economic decline after allowing near unlimited migration, but where the migrants didnt return during this period as a bad developed economy is still better than a bad developing one.

Pretending not to know what I meant to score points is puerile tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

In fairness, you can't actually regulate for EU citizens moving in or out of your country. If they want to come and live here they can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 39 jan_kowalski

Their contributions to the economic well being of the country were as small as they could make them in the vast majority of cases (and even then they would buy a lot of their goods at a Polish shop, the proprietor of which was, you guessed it, sendign the money home), they didn't mingle with the local Irish, and they shunned Polish people who did. The generally miserable attitude and constant complaining didn't help either.

No offence mate, but I especially registered here to reply to your wrongful statements. :eek:
    Let's say there are like 300 thousands of Poles in Ireland and we are pure workforce (granpas, grandmas, sick people, etc. - don't come here please notice). Let's make rough assumption that on average each person pays 100 euros a month to Irish Taxman. It gives 12 hundred a year.
    Multiply 300 thousands by 1200 euros, what sum is coming up?
    Yes it is 360 Millions of EUR paid in taxes to Irish Government each year by Poles itself. Now take out from it some money some people take for their welfare benefits payments, but you still end up with great credit balance.
    Poles are nowhere near to reaching treshold when they actually take more from government than paying to.

I am myself on well paid professional job and I pay on average 6 grand of tax a year to your taxman pocket. I have been here for 3 years so simple calculation will tell you I have paid 18 grand worth taxes so far.
    And know what? I have not taken out a penny from the state.
    I havent received even 1 euro benefit whatsoever, I'm not allowed to take any of them even if I wanted to, because I'm getting too much for their scale - they don't offer me anything what a pitty :D.

There's more people like me if you could not realize...

You must be completely ignorant if you reckon this is very little contribution to the economy....

The country was wealthy long before the the Polish were allowed in. As with all wealthy countries, first comes the money, then the immigrants who want the money.

Yeah, your country was especially wealth in '70s... wasn't it? :)
    Do you recall any Poles being here in '70s?
    Do you see any link then inbetween or you just like to talk rubbish as I cannot see your point at all?

With Poles here or without them - it won't help the recession.
    Simply when there are no jobs there are not, just like that and regardless... full stop.

Stop thinking economics like 6 years old for heaven's sake :)
    They add nothing to the country socially, economically, any way, and they take a significant amount out of it. Lock the door behind them, please.

I wonder what you are adding for the sake of this country, maybe you can tell us more about it?
    I have volunteered on many occasions since I came here in 2005, I was voluntary involved in small IT project for northside schools, I used to be voluntary campaigner for animals group in Ireland. I always offer helping hand to whoever it is regardless nationality. I think you should stop thinking stereotypes.

No, since they don't use the services of most businesses in the country. Ther larger food chains already have such hefty price margins that they could easily absorb the loss of a few tens of thousands that weren't buying much anyway. The Polish could dry up tomorrow and we'd hardly even notice, except having more jobs to fill, at the start of a recession.

This is another rubbish IMHO.
    OK, maybe we are not overspending and we are less careless about our spendings as many people come here to save some money for their better future. And there won't be much better future if all is spent for luxurious holidays, plazma screens and 18 inch alloys, am I right?

But in opposition to that there is massive number of Poles living normal live here.
    Paying for gym, paying for sessions in the pubs, going out to restaurants, paying for various education, buying many different goods, from computers to cars, I could keep going on like that forever...

We are using more services in Ireland that you could ever imagine, even if not directly. Just think about renting house. Because Poles are renting there is a guy summoned by irish landlord who will drop over to fix the locks, windows, maybe repaint the living room or to clean up the carpets!

You simply cannot see all the money being put into the market but they are there!
    They paid less of the above than anyone else. If you're worried about money being lost, they represent leakage in the Keynesian injection-leakage economic model, and you may be guaranteed it was more than they ever brought in.

Dude, you have some issues, seriously. I'm sure you are the first one to drive up North to Newry doing your Christmas Shopping looking to save few pounds, giving out your grief on internet forums same time.
    Is this your irish patriotism to boost up ROI sales? Or maybe pure hypocracy?

Exactly. For all their whining about Ireland, its still a vastly superior place to work than Poland. There won't be any shortage of them coming over any time soon.

I have never heard anybody from Poland complaining about Ireland.
    I don't know where did you hear this from?
    All Poles I know including myself are greatly thankful we could come and live here this better country of opportunities and 'normal' live.
    I appreciate every single bit Irishmen have done to me so far and I will be delighted if could host you in my place one day.

Thanks god I've met dozens of one of the best people in the world so far - Irish people - and haven't met you mate.
    You could disturb my opinion heavily.

In the meantime maybe you just relax and read through www.itookyourjobs.com if there any sense of humour in you left :D

Thanks for reading this and sorry if I sounded too harsh on few lines but you have really boiled me up :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 422 ✭✭Ckal

And that's never happened to you with an irish/other nationality Dunnes worker? Have you ever shopped in Dunnes on north earl street? Absolutely useless.

+1.

From the Polish/Latvians/Lithuanians I have talked to, they are really nice and they love their jobs and their new lifestyle. They are grateful for being accepted, and I am grateful to have them here. They are probably the nicest people you could meet. Yes, there are a few "rotten apples", but we have those too - just walk down Abbey Street or get the NiteLink and you'll see. ;)

The Polish economy is growing fast, they're going back. If you lived in a country which is in recession and your home country's economy is booming, would you stick around? I know I wouldn't. And they have contributed plenty to the economy, a lot more than some Irish ever will.

I'd like to move to another country. Canada looks promising. My French is good, so Quebec or Montreal would be on the top of my list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I am sure there are polish on social welfare, but I don't think they would get it unless they contributed to the taxman previously. You know? Anyway, they would only make up a small precentage of the total amount of people on social welfare, anyway so what? It's like you see one polish on welfare and it's really bad. Like when you see a yellow reg speeding on our roads ;)

I wouldn't have a bad thing to say about any polish or latvian I have met, but I am happy to see most of them go. Only for the reason that competition for jobs will be reduced.

I am sure there are polish on social welfare, but I don't think they would get it unless they contributed to the taxman previously. You know?
    This one good point and also another one is there are few Poles on Welfare just because it does not add up.
    I hardly believe there is any Pole on dole - because he does not want to work. Dole will get you around 800 eur a month, even worst job will get you 1400 a month. As far as Poles are concerned they came here to earn some money, and Dole is not an option. Maybe only temp. solution between jobs.

I wouldn't have a bad thing to say about any polish or latvian I have met, but I am happy to see most of them go. Only for the reason that competition for jobs will be reduced.

I can see and understand your point. But think of this rather than larger EU country not ireland only. Those times are by gone.
    Now in Poland many Asians doing construction and IT and I don't mind. This is sign of changing Europe and World, you cannot beat it just get used to it. peace, I'm gonna have my cup'o'coffee now, cheers :)

This one good point and also another one is there are few Poles on Welfare just because it does not add up.
    I hardly believe there is any Pole on dole - because he does not want to work. Dole will get you around 800 eur a month, even worst job will get you 1400 a month. As far as Poles are concerned they came here to earn some money, and Dole is not an option. Maybe only temp. solution between jobs.

Well of course, like most people on dole, it is not a permenant thing. There are people who abuse it and will always be sponges. 95% of which are probably irish :)

I can see and understand your point. But think of this rather than larger EU country not ireland only. Those times are by gone.
    Now in Poland many Asians doing construction and IT and I don't mind. This is sign of changing Europe and World, you cannot beat it just get used to it. peace, I'm gonna have my cup'o'coffee now, cheers :)

Would you agree that if 100,000 polish left over the next year, that the chances of unemployed Irish getting work would increase? I think it would.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Unaton

Would you agree that if 100,000 polish left over the next year, that the chances of unemployed Irish getting work would increase? I think it would.
    If 100 000 Polish left, the chances for anyone unemployed (Irish, Polish, Slovakian) finding a job would increase. This ain't rocket science.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

Unaton wrote: »
    If 100 000 Polish left, the chances for anyone unemployed (Irish, Polish, Slovakian) finding a job would increase. This ain't rocket science.

But i don't want to work in a petrol station, or a spar or in the chipper?:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Apologies, Terry :) Got carried away a wee bit. No more heathen Latvian! Promise!

Heathen Latvian = makes good Metal.
    If 100 000 Polish left, the chances for anyone unemployed (Irish, Polish, Slovakian) finding a job would increase. !

We would miss them, their dark haired women, the fried rice, the strange alphabet....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭noel farrell

before the poles ever came there were lots of irish on the dole even though there were lots of jobs i have many friends who have never worked a day and never will most are work shy or dogers and a fair few moon lighters . the poles were very good workers .i hope the stay and prosper cheers ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 160 ✭✭Unaton

But i don't want to work in a petrol station, or a spar or in the chipper?:confused:
    Is anyone forcing you to work in your local chinese?:confused: Find a job somewhere else. Jaysis...

Nodin, I wouldn't be that partial to our pagan metal....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Any chance of encouraging our own scumbags to emigrate?:rolleyes:

galwayrush wrote: »
    Any chance of encouraging our own scumbags to emigrate?:rolleyes:

Unfortunately, not. :(

I don't want the Polish or Latvians or whoever to leave. They're really nice people. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,816 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Ckal wrote: »
    Unfortunately, not. :(

I don't want the Polish or Latvians or whoever to leave. They're really nice people. :(

Same here. Can we force the scumbags to leave, like make them believe that other countries have better social welfare and even better free legal aid?

galwayrush wrote: »
    Same here. Can we force the scumbags to leave, like make them believe that other countries have better social welfare and even better free legal aid?

I think we need a referendum.

"Are you in favor of sending all scum abroad?"

YES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

well, its gonna give the knackers something to feel good about.

Though we'll also finally find out if those lazy ass bugger's jobs were really taken away from the immigrants...

"They're taking away all of our jobs!!!!!.... Wait, what? they're gone?! Crap, we've gotta work now!!!"

Yes and no. If that happens there would be obviously instant need to cover up empty places but it would be only temporary need. For how long?
    100K people out means less business in certain areas, also if economy continue to slide down - you would need to get rid of another 100K next year to facilitate the others, and another 100K in 2010 and yet another 100K maybe 200K in 2011... and finally you would end up in place where there is no foreigners left and you would need to get rid now of 100K of Irish to give job to remaining Irish. Hopefully you get the drift - that is how economy works more or less.
    When it's in a good shape and growing, there is place for everyone, if it's on drop then it's matter of time before it swallows everyone.

It's actually amazing how many people think that getting rid of Poles, or whoever else will sort this country out... You know it's not going to happen and only way is to keep low taxes, create as many high skilled jobs as possible, invest money into academics and research, encourage big companies to stay here by favourable and simple legal rules and keep growing and so on and so on...

Fingers crossed all will be fine here and situation will clear out soon. :)

Oh? It's not? Your right, it's not, then it would be called rocket science ;) It was actually a question I asked Jan, to see what his opinion was on the matter. Personally I believe it will help somewhat but not a lot, I will explain later.

I don't mind, a job is a job at the end of the day, in this situation my BA and experience is not worth sh!t. I might find it difficult to get a job in spar, in a chipper or a petrol station.
    before the poles ever came there were lots of irish on the dole even though there were lots of jobs i have many friends who have never worked a day and never will most are work shy or dogers and a fair few moon lighters . the poles were very good workers .i hope the stay and prosper cheers ;)

True that, there will always be wasters that are happy to stay where they are going nowhere. Unfortunately this is not the case for us all.
    Yes and no. If that happens there would be obviously instant need to cover up empty places but it would be only temporary need. For how long?
    100K people out means less business in certain areas, also if economy continue to slide down - you would need to get rid of another 100K next year to facilitate the others, and another 100K in 2010 and yet another 100K maybe 200K in 2011... and finally you would end up in place where there is no foreigners left and you would need to get rid now of 100K of Irish to give job to remaining Irish. Hopefully you get the drift - that is how economy works more or less.
    When it's in a good shape and growing, there is place for everyone, if it's on drop then it's matter of time before it swallows everyone.

It's actually amazing how many people think that getting rid of Poles, or whoever else will sort this country out... You know it's not going to happen and only way is to keep low taxes, create as many high skilled jobs as possible, invest money into academics and research, encourage big companies to stay here by favourable and simple legal rules and keep growing and so on and so on...

Fingers crossed all will be fine here and situation will clear out soon. :)

Well, I think that people moving home will create more jobs here. Remember the jobs that are left by the poles and such will be taken by us Irish :) It may reduce the problem. Irish will have more cash to spend too. Oh, if all the poles went home? We would still be in a pretty sticky situation, it will not help the economy much but it will put more Irish in jobs, that is what I am getting at.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

My statements were not based on assumptions but on experiences. Both with working with them and being served by them.

My statement was based on experience also. I wasn't aiming that statement at anyone in particular. It's just the type of thing I've read around AH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,102 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Welcome Mr Kowalski.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭cbreeze

I like the people from Poland, Lithuania, Latvia, Croatia, Slovenia, Russia that I come across in the workplace. My heart usually sinks when I am greeted, no, that's not the word, barely acknowledged more like, by an uncivil, gum-chewing local specimen in a shop whose first word is 'yok?' and whose manner is completely indifferent (and these are the samples that have had some training!). The dole is their natural habitat but if any are watching, here's a quick lesson:

Assistant: Good morning/afternoon/evening, may I help you (smile, make eye contact, lose the gum, switch off phone)

Customer: May I have xxxx, please (customer needs to smile too!)

Assistant: Yes, sir/madam (this bit is optional, but it helps) that will be xxx/I'm sorry, we havn't got it today, but it's due on --,

Customer: Thank you, etc
    :):)

Nodin, I wouldn't be that partial to our pagan metal....

Well, if its like that then, shag off back to the Baltic. And take the fried rice and peking duck with yez.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 995 ✭✭✭Ass

Hopefully they'll take the Romanians with them.

Ass Face wrote: »

It's annoying seeing an (admittedly poor) attempt at humour hijacked for a stupid, ignorant remark.

On the bright side, its interesting to see how apt some 'nom de guerre' are......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

Ass Face wrote: »

Hopefully all you hear on the streets is buy a rose! buy a rose! buy a rose! They keep going into the pubs as well doing it.