Why can girls hit guys and guys can't hit girls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Terodil wrote: »
    What is it that makes the difference? The little annex between the legs? ... come on.

You talk dirtier than a two dollar whore! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭daveharnett

At a logical level, I completely agree with Javaboy. In practice however, the old fashioned, chauvinistic voodoo would win every time. It's ingrained too deep for any amount of logic to penetrate.
    me: you DO NOT hit a woman.
    you: why?
    me: just ****ing because.

Good thread. I think I now understand how intelligent people can be religious.
    Fizman wrote: »
    a long story about skangers
    I don't think anybody is going to argue with that, your story is pure self defence - force continuum goes out the window with three attackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭TontoMurphy

Read the title of thread and thought of this.... Still chuckle when i see it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TnDmxI5Cm5E

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭daveharnett

Something of a theme with that lad. Seen intermission? Best film intro I've seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Ross_Mahon

Terodil wrote: »
    ... but it's okay (= more acceptable) to harm a man?

What is it that makes the difference? The little annex between the legs? ... come on.

I never said its okay to hit a man, I'm not the type to hit people for no reason, Its something everyone did in school, Whats the point...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

How do you learn how to give good deadners if not on your OH?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

Neither is right. But if a girl hit me, I don't think I'd hit her back. If a guy hit me, I'd roundhouse kick his mutha****in head off! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 136 ✭✭Laurs_civic

if you can do it , you can take it in my opinion.. might not always be the way..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

If Calista Flockhart hit you in the face, could you bring yourself to hit her back? She'd break in half from a handshake...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

If Calista Flockhart hit you in the face, could you bring yourself to hit her back? She'd break in half from a handshake...

I would hit that.

javaboy wrote: »
    I would hit that.

everyone would hit that. maybe a calista flockhart thread would be more fun..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭DD

Something of a theme with that lad. Seen intermission? Best film intro I've seen.

Oh yes, In Bruges, :)) good post.

edited tags in appreciation of in bruges post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Fizman wrote: »
    Ok then, allow me to put forward an exception to your rule!

About 18 months ago, myself and a fine lady friend of mine were strolling out of the city after a night out. Both of us were well juiced as we strolled out the Ennis Road toward home. It was a fine summers night. That was until three 'girls' aged 18/19 came into my vision and were walking in our direction. Being nicely sauced, I thought nothing of them approaching (respectable area-not known for trouble). That was until they were yards away, and one of them decided to throw her lit cigarette off my chest.

They had walked a few yards past, and I turned and was like 'WTF'? Now to say that these three fine ladies were anything less than skangbots would be untrue, and one of them walked up to me and threatened to do everything to me. Then she turned to my female friend and swung an open handed swipe at her, catching her on the very top of her head. She wound up, ready to swing at her again, so I leaned in to get her away from her. This is where it got 'interesting'.

With me now in the way, skanger #1 decides to swing her arm in my direction, landing it, and scratching the sh1t out of my neck with four of her nails. I warn her and say do not fcuking do that again. She did. Caught me right on the mouth this time. At this point skanger #2 and #3 were directly behind her, roaring and screaming. What made it worse was that one of them was still trying to swing at the girl I was with, so I wasn't just dealing with one. Then skangbot # 1 decides to start throwing kicks, and lands a few knees directly on my thigh muscle. I was not enjoying this experience, and it was pretty fcuking new to me! Being 6'2" and fairly broad n all! Then the switch was flicked. She pressed the red button! No, she didn't land a kick to my balls.

"She starting spitting directly into my face"! Four times.

Now before this, I had realised I was a little bloodied.She had also ripped the sh1t out of my favourite shirt (RIP). But when the spitting started......ding fcuking dong!!!

I turned to my lady friend and said "Sorry about this" and smashed yer one straight into the side of her face. Yep, I did what had to be done. I could not have connected any better! I went over to the other two and grabbed them both by the neck, and told em to "fcuk off or I could possibly beat the life out of the three of ye".

They fcuked right off. It looked as if they continued into the city centre to look for more. My mate was in town the following day and said that he saw two knackers, one of which had the left side of her all bandaged up. Could have been her, who knows.

I remember the following morning there was an international rugby match on early and some uncles had come over to watch it. I walked in with different clothes on (went back to hers and she gave some of her brothers stuff to put on seeing as 'the' shirt was in tatters), told em all the story, and they all thought that what I did had to be done.

Moral of the story: If you want to get laid by a hot girl, protect her from 3 skangers, whilst proceeding to almost knocking the head off one of them.
    Ha ha yes that is the post of the decade. Actually its the post of the interweb and all telegraphs and messenger pigeons ever. You man are a legend.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Because if a girl hits you it should turn you on with a lol in your heart but if you hit a girl she should be wakng up in a few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

ha ha funny tags on this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

MIN2511 wrote: »
    Same way women don't rape men!
    thats not entirely true. while we're normally wired to want it more :) the same way a woman can still be physically aroused during the act of rape does not make it any less traumatizing for her. likewise show me a pair of boobs and stick a vag' on my dongle and it will be very unlikely i'll be soft.

Its a terrible stigma to carry around when you consider how easy some of these women teachers are getting off for sexually abusing their underage male students.

lucky fcuking bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,346 ✭✭✭KTRIC

I'm all for equal rights. If some woman punched me (with a closed fist), I'd lay her out cold. If it was a slap (with an open hand) and I deserved it, maybe she'd be let away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

My brother was a victim of domestic abuse, and the amount of people who bursted out laughing when told this was shocking.
    But if it had been the other way around....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭alexandros

Why can girls hit guys and guys can't hit girls?

Lorena Bobbitt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

I was in a shopping centre recently and as I walked around I noticed the size of people. It is obvious that we have become a fatter nation in a short space of time. There were a lot of woman much larger than me who looked like they would kill me if they landed on me and I wouldn't fancy myself in a fight against them.

I worked in a night club once and it was not uncommon to see a woman slap a man over a variety of reasons. The biggest reason was a woman taking offence to being turned down. Generally the guy would do nothing but occasionally he would and the woman was generally defended by somebody completely unaware of what went on before. I have also seen girlfriends suddenly appear and beat the hell out of the woman involved.

It still offends me to see woman hitting men as acceptable on TV. That includes the classic throwing a drink on a man. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,876 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I'm gonna go with Chris Rock on this one, I'd never hit a woman but I'd shake the s*** out of her! You can't hit someone with a closed fist and not expect any kind of repercussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭Blitzkrieger

Acacia wrote: »
    MizzLolly's story reminds me of when my bf accidentally hit me in the face, then used the opportunity to peek down my top, while I was still stunned by his smack.

lol - win. Must try this in the pub tonight.

Total man's pub though - probably only be moobs on offer :(

"In Bruges" gives the classic answer. If she's thowing a slap, while it's not in any way acceptable, I'd probably not retaliate. If she comes at me with a bottle or I feel otherwise threatened, she's going down.

Got a random shove off a girl last time I was in a night club and without thinking the old right arm started taking a swing at her. I have a temper :o I did, of course, control myself. Hatchet faced bitch.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,235 ✭✭✭iregk

Whilst not in the hitting arena something that caused an argument in my house recently.

We were watching some tripe, boozed up abroad or ibiza 2008 or something like that. There was a hens do in San Antonio and their object was to get the bride to be as many pairs of lads boxers. It started off asking the guys, some guys took them off there and then and gave them, some didn't. Later in the night they hadn't reached their target of 30 pairs and as the drink flowed I was quite shocked.

The started grabbing guys, pulling down their shorts and ripping the boxers off them. Now some of the guys were having none of it and one in particular was held down by 4 of the women while two pulled his shorts and boxers off. I said to the wife thats a disgrace, thats abuse and boarder line rape. She got the hump saying they were only having a laugh they are on a hens leave it etc...

When I said what if that was the other way around and it was guys doing it to a girl. Her response was "ah don't be silly your thinking too much about it" This is a problem out there. If its a girl its fun, its expected but if its a guy its another story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

Whether it's man versus man, woman versus woman or man versus woman, anyone with a clear strength/skill advantage should not go much beyond what their natural self defensive reaction would be. Of course it's easy to get a bit carried away in the heat of the moment, but if they continue the aggression much beyond the point where they are no longer under threat, then it's not cool.

how the fek did this thread get dragged up?! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Well now. A womans slap will never be as strong as a mans, but a woman should not provoke it in the first place. If she goes slapping or punching people she should expect to get bitten back. If a man gets slapped by a woman and uses unnessessary or more powerful force back at her, then shame on him. If he is being attacked, the best thing for him to do is to restrain her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 687 ✭✭✭Zadkiel

WindSock wrote: »

Well now. A womans slap will never be as strong as a mans, but a woman should not provoke it in the first place. If she goes slapping or punching people she should expect to get bitten back. If a man gets slapped by a woman and uses unnessessary or more powerful force back at her, then shame on him. If he is being attacked, the best thing for him to do is to restrain her.

Johnny Logan had the right Idea imo:D

http://www.irishelection.com/02/johnny-logan-to-become-election-issue/

"The Green Party’s General Election candidate for Dublin South West Elizabeth Davidson has called on restaurant chain McDonald’s to remove Johnny Logan from its advertising campaign following a foul-mouthed misogynistic tirade published in a weekend newspaper interview. Johnny Logan told a journalist writing for the Sunday Independent’s Life magazine that another female journalist needed, “a good kick up the gee.”

still laugh when I think about that

I do not condone the use of violence :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭Kipperhell

WindSock wrote: »

Well now. A womans slap will never be as strong as a mans,

I know of many a woman bigger and stronger than your average man let alone a small guy. It is time to wake up to the reality that domestic abuse is perpetrated by woman and they use other people to reinforce their control. The clip there shows what men tend to do if they see a woman being slapped. I have seen similar happen loads of times.

I once saw a guy get put in hospital for throwing his drink on a girl after she slapped him a few times and tried to knee him. She started the whole thing by laughing at him for being short and didn't like his comment about her size.

The main reason a man should not hit a woman is because of what others will do. Three teenage girls tried to mug me in Spain and I defended myself but had to run because a group of guys ran for me. My wife was with me and couldn't believe how things happened. She is really nervous around beggars now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

I see that, and raise you this