Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

X Factor 2008

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Just reading the text comments scrolling across the screen.

My God, X-Factor viewers are dumb. REALLY dumb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭Sizzler

LZ5by5 wrote: »
    It's a popularity contest. Two things saved JLS tonight; the little one looking like he was about to cry when they were slated and Simon's ridiculously over-the-top praise for their second performance.

His comments mean nothing though, its down to the public vote my friend, you're not suggesting the voting is rigged are you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

between 4 and 5 years old i say

Sizzler wrote: »
    His comments mean nothing though, its down to the public vote my friend, you're not suggesting the voting is rigged are you :D

Rigged voting? On a show made by ITV??

NEVER! :eek:

That's the most ridiculous thing I've heard since Chinafoot implied Simon Cowell cared more about publicity than music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭Rineanna

Hey! :mad: We're x-factor viewers! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,905 ✭✭✭✭Handsome Bob

I'm suggesting the public, at least the X Factor voters, are easily lead.:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,064 ✭✭✭✭Basq

James Corden is excellent..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

He's an ignoramus. Comments about Britney uncalled for.

Rineanna wrote: »
    Hey! :mad: We're x-factor viewers! :pac:

Yeah, but we can form coherent sentences. ;)
    And most of us actually know the difference between talent and popularity, hence you will notice a distinct lack of comments like "OMG Egoahn's AMZIN' hes so cute nd gorge lol im lyk totaly gona marry him Egohan 2 win xXx"

What about Dermot, does he escape the criticism :confused: The driest shoite on TV, zero personality and looks his mammy dressed him. Its hard work watching the show with him hosting :(
    Dermot O Leary is one of the more talented presenters around to be honest..

Very personable, witty, seems down-to-earth and easily watchable.

Of course different strokes..
    What exactly was uncalled for? He's speaking the truth.. she was woeful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭OrangeDaisy

basquille wrote: »
    trying to be controversial with the britney comments though he is dead right!!! Britney should be ashamed of herself!!!

Jaysus, Daniel's really let himself go in the last 2 weeks. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

Ignore the troll, Is anyone else actually just gobsmacked and speechless!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,064 ✭✭✭minxie

trying to be controversial with the britney comments though he is dead right!!! Britney should be ashamed of herself!!!
    well compared to this time last year she did great there....
    fair play to her i say, gotta start back somewhere , dont ya think.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭OrangeDaisy

:p

FAIR FCUKS to him !! EXCELLENT!!! Alexandra seemed shocked that he was saying all of this, WTF? He told it like it is. Dont have a fcuking clue who he is but he earned my respect!
    Why? What was so offensive? He was 100% on the money.
    Dermot O Leary is one of the more talented presenters around to be honest..

Very personable, witty, seems down-to-earth
    Down to earth & personable, yes. Comes across as very wooden and doesnt really bring a whole lot to the party. Then again who else is there :o

What exactly was uncalled for? He's speaking the truth.. she was woeful!

When he's as successful as Britney, maybe then he can judge. Until then he should just keep scoffin the pies

FAIR FCUKS to him !! EXCELLENT!!! Alexandra seemed shocked that he was saying all of this, WTF? He told it like it is. Dont have a fcuking clue who he is but he earned my respect!
    Award winning writer and star of BBC comedy 'Gavin & Stacey'
    When he's as successful as Britney, maybe then he can judge. Until then he should just keep scoffin the pies
    Ironic as you were quick off the mark by judging him as overweight.

James Corden is the voice of the common people.. he says what most of those sheep on there are too scared to. And fair fecks for him for doing so. It was a welcome change among all the ass-licking and applause at her shoddy attempt at miming!

LOL. Poor chap though, pure exploitation, someone put a call into Amnesty, the chap doesnt have the full quota and someone should be looking out for him..

Award winning writer and star of BBC comedy 'Gavin & Stacey'

:rolleyes: The only thing comedic about that guy is his appearance

Ironic as you were quick off the mark by judging him as overweight.

Ehhh I'm not overweight so I don't see how you're judging like with like tbh

:rolleyes: The only thing comedic about that guy is his appearance
    Again with the judging...

When you're as successful as him, maybe then you can judge him!

Ehhh I'm not overweight so I don't see how you're judging like with like tbh
    I have no idea what that means.. I never said you were overweight! :confused:

PS - Holly: "The Panel evrrybodeeeee!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Fair balls to James Corden, said what we were all thinking.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭Resi12

Ohh What did he say?

Resi12 wrote: »
    Ignore the troll, Is anyone else actually just gobsmacked and speechless!?

Genuine Lol! :D If you think I'm a troll then you don't know what the word means.

I wasn't calling anyone here dumb, I was referring to the stupid comments that people were texting in. I thought that was obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭coffey-16

Aidric wrote: »
    Fair balls to James Corden, said what we were all thinking.

totally agree fair play to him

Again with the judging...

When you're as successful as him, maybe then you can judge him!

I have no idea what that means.. I never said you were overweight! :confused:

Im not CLAIMING to be anybody successful though am I. Unlike that guy on TV. He's a "celebrity" criticising a much more successful celebrity on live TV in order to boost his own profile. Im a mere mortal offering my opinion on Boards like yourself. Geddit? :confused:

Fair enuff.. I'm not gonna get into it with you. But what he was giving was his opinion - there's absolutely nothing wrong with that!

He's a comedian.. and he was there to give us 2 cents. What should he have done? Raved about how wonderful she was, and she was a pleasure to hear (almost) live.

What's the difference between a celebrity giving his opinion and a mere Boards.ie user? I fail to see any. Why shouldn't he be allowed to give a frank and honest opinion?

PS - he loves Keira Knightley too:

PPS - back to 'X Factor' chat now I suppose..

Fair enuff.. I'm not gonna get into it with you. But what he was giving was his opinion - there's absolutely nothing wrong with that!

He's a comedian.. and he was there to give us 2 cents. What should he have done? Raved about how wonderful she was, and she was a pleasure to hear (almost) live.

What's the difference between a celebrity giving his opinion and a mere Boards.ie user? I fail to see any. Why shouldn't he be allowed to give a frank and honest opinion?

<deep breath> Of course he's allowed. And I disagreed with it. What's the problem?

Now you're just confusing me. You say he's allowed to.. yet you were the one who said he'd no right to judge her...

If you merely disagreed with him, that's fair enough. But you said (and I quote):