Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Reserve Training

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭ZoneAlarm

Great stuff that is great god to know there is some people that are in the GR and are willing to help the people that are coming behind

As all the help and advice is appreciated not just by me but i would say others as well who dont post and just read the posts :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

ZoneAlarm wrote: »
    Great stuff that is great god to know there is some people that are in the GR and are willing to help the people that are coming behind

As all the help and advice is appreciated not just by me but i would say others as well who dont post and just read the posts :)

I'm looking in here every day while i wait for the call for the medical.

Very interested to know what it's like out there for real, pity so many have come through here and dissapear into the ether once they're in.

I've heard it's supposed to be really good craic, even the Super said that to me at our meeting..

well, is it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 The almighty me

Good to see so many questions on here, I have been through all the training now and although it is along time from start to finish it needs to be taken on as a project for you, dont try to rush it because you cant anyway, enjoy each process as it happens, it is well worth all the effort and I can only compliment all I have met so far in every way, the college is very well run too, please also be aware that some people including Myself have stopped saying too much as staff in the Gardai college read this too, and it is not wise to disclose axact details, so dont be offended if certain things are not answered. But it is not too good to have everything on a public thread. Remember if you say something silly on any forum the ip address can be traced very easily. Best of luck to anyone applying at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Transit1

lehanemore wrote: »
    I'm looking in here every day while i wait for the call for the medical.

Very interested to know what it's like out there for real, pity so many have come through here and dissapear into the ether once they're in.

I've heard it's supposed to be really good craic, even the Super said that to me at our meeting..

well, is it?

just to let you know that you will be comfronted with all kinds of situations...... you will handle most of them and you will consider panic for the rest of them..... just expect the unexpected......you get to meet alot of people some very nice :D and then on the other hand abuse will be hurled at you... but not you but the uniform you are wearing:mad: as it stands i cant complain as of yet i am thoroughly enjoying the job...... i would highly reccommed going for it .......its like any job if you like it you will stay there and if you dont you will leave:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭ZoneAlarm

Well hopefully the training we are given and the experience of the regular Garda that will be accompanying us GR will guide us in the correct manor to deal with most events :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭scullersky

donal1234 wrote: »
    You should contact the Garda reserve office and ask them what the delay is,sometimes it takes a while but I think this is a bit long:cool:donal1234

I took your advice all i was told was : Your application is ongoing and we will be in contact in due course.... Thanks for the advice anyway donal1234:D;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 donal1234

I took your advice all i was told was : Your application is ongoing and we will be in contact in due course.... Thanks for the advice anyway donal1234:D;)
    I am sorry that it didnt work for you ,donal1234:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭scullersky

I am sorry that it didnt work for you ,donal1234:cool:

Ah thanks for the advice... Im waiting a good while alrite so the call didnt do nay harm.....:D;) Can i ask what stage are you @, or are you in the reserves ??:rolleyes::D

i am going to templemore next month for attestation and passing out parade.... looking forward to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭freddiew

Transit1 wrote: »
    i am going to templemore next month for attestation and passing out parade.... looking forward to that

Yes so am I, I wonder are you in same group as me?

How did it go in Templemore,donal1234:cool:

Just got word on tuesday,I go to Templemore on 29 nov to start my training,donal1234:cool:

wonder will gr use this ?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Jeanxx

Yeah I was thinking that myself...

I don't see why we wouldn't as we have most of the equipment that the fulltimers carry but then again it might be a while before we get it if they plan to give it to the reserves.

It will be very interesting to see!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Jeanxx wrote: »
    Yeah I was thinking that myself...

I don't see why we wouldn't as we have most of the equipment that the fulltimers carry but then again it might be a while before we get it if they plan to give it to the reserves.

It will be very interesting to see!

They'll say we will but we won't. At least not for a few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Jeanxx

Yeah I guessed as much Murphy!

It will be interesting to see how the situation will evolve anyway.

I do think it's a good idea for the Guards to have pepper spray especially these days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

hi im wondering

is phase 2/4 conducted in templemore or locally and are the classes are fixed or flexible to suit reservists?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭tashamc

shakin wrote: »
    hi im wondering

is phase 2/4 conducted in templemore or locally and are the classes are fixed or flexible to suit reservists?

Hi there Shakin,
    Phase 2 & 4 are not conducted in Templemore, it's in your local station BUT that even depends on where your local station is.. I have phase 2 in Naas & phase 4 in Carlow.. in relation to the hours, phase 2 & 4 hours is about compromise, it all depends on your class size & what hours are possiable for everyone.. Hope this helps & best of luck..

Is anyone going to Templemore at the end of this month to start training ?:cool: donal1234

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 thebigfella71

Hello all,

just thought i would post this so anyone starting out could see how it operates,
    1. First I appled online through public appointments in mid June
    2. A week later i recieved the application form by email
    3. Sent it back 1 day later
    4. A week later, asked to attend an interview (by letter and email) in the Public appointments building in town with retired inspector? and civil servant, and to sit "exam" this consists of a simple report writing exercise, and obviously the usual interview format, "how will you be a positive member, what will you bring etc" all quite simple and straight forward
    5. A week later recieved notification that i was successful in the excercise and that if i still interested i would recieve a vetting form from the GR office in the Phoenix park, i replied that i was and 2 days later recieved the GR" (Garda Reserve vetting form) with notes on how to fill in etc.
    6. Got to work on this form, it is quite complex but use common sense when filling it in, according to a lot of full time friends on the force, only closest family really matters and giving lasdt know adresses is fine.
    7. one month later i recieved a call from the Sergeant in the loical station asking me to drop in that friday morning for a "chat"
    8. Went along, met the female officer, she was very nice and asked the general questions about my interests, why i wanted to serve, etc etc. took around 30 mnins and she toold me thay would be in touch.
    9. 3 days later i recieved a call from the inspector of the local station (a bigger district with overall command over my local station) he wanted me to pop in for a chat about my application, i went along, again, very straght forward, no problems and i asked as many questions as him.
    10. He told me to expect to hear from them beofre christmas and that was last saturday evening!!
    The next step i presume is a medical, and the return of my vetting forms, im 37 and pretty fit now (running around 3 miles every second day and watching my diet) according to the inspector fitness is one odf the key issues. but im confident.

I will keep you all posted on my progress. but as you can see.. so far its not taken me that long!!

Big Fella
    You seem a very organised guy. I just graduated last Thursday and it is all worth while. Any questions just ask or Private me.

i was there too on the same day... i have to say i thoroughly enjoyed the day too......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

i was there too on the same day... i have to say i thoroughly enjoyed the day too......

congrats lads, i was one of the 2 lads on the door for your attestation in the rec hall :cool:

Pvt joker are u ex army by any chance ?

Hi Thanks for that PVT Joker, are you a Student yourself are you from Dublin, where did you do your training

no i am not ex army just a hugh big fella,,, if you remember how we were put in line for marching i was second biggest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

Given the amount of paperwork that regulars have to wade through, can a reserve help with any of this, would a reserve have a similar amount of paperwork to do during a shift?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 93 ✭✭doingmybit

lehanemore wrote: »
    Given the amount of paperwork that regulars have to wade through, can a reserve help with any of this, would a reserve have an similar amount of paperwork to do during a shift?

Simply put, nope. The paper work is usually court stuff and we wouldn't have the knowledge or experience to input to this for the regulars. As for us and the paper work side of things, we wouldn't have any paper work as we don't go to court or make arrests.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Elvis 08

Is there anyone going to templemore on the 29th of Novemeber for training??;):)

Elvis 08 wrote: »
    Is there anyone going to templemore on the 29th of Novemeber for training??;):)
    Yes I am,have you been told anything about it,where we are staying,I might have to travel on the Friday as I am travelling from Donegal.:cool:donal1234