Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Engineering Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

1) You are not anonymous, it would take me all of two minutes to find your real name, your student number and your contact details. It would take a lecturer even less time.

2) Why do you think its acceptable to say things here which you wouldn't say in real life to the lecturers face? Is it due to the illusion of being anonymous? This isn't you talking to your mates, this is you posting a comment on the most active website in Ireland. Nothing slanderous has been posted, but plenty which is insulting and offensive.

3) Theres this concept of have a bit of class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭devinejay

I do accept what your saying, anyone with the class list for first year eng would cop it in a few seconds!

There's a mix up though, the anonymous thing was a joke referring specifically to the nerd line of conversation and I do not get a buzz talking about people while hiding behind a wall of anonymity, I just think that at times forum moderation can be a little severe. I admitted when I said it that what I said was somewhat hypocritical, I'm just against ending the discussion altogether because there is a risk posed by the occasional throw away remark.

So I continue to defend the discussion of lecturers, and I hold my hands up for saying some inappropriate things.

The moderators on this forum have a softly softly approach. Think of it this away, you can either follow the request laid out to reframe from posting insulting comments about lecturers, or you can continue until a lecturer makes a complaint to the site owners, at which point you'll have Smods and Admins watching the forum and these guys simply ban you from the site if you break a rule.

By all means talks about a course, even talk about how badly its being thought if you like, but "X is a dick"? Surely that's crossing a line. If you posted a comment like that about a user you would be reprimanded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,203 ✭✭✭✭Crash

I'd have banned all of you by now for not posting how great I am. Daily.

These new mods are way too soft.

Ok in fairness moderator input is fairly gentle alright, pretty on the money in fact considering the few minor infractions in an otherwise acceptable conversation but what can I say, I reacted. Paranoia I guess, too zealous in my defense of the open forum. But in fairness he did say this was not the place for the discussion of lecturers, and I still think that's not on.

Btw a no point did I advocate slanderous or insulting messages like "He's a dick"

I'd have banned all of you by now for not posting how great I am. Daily.

These new mods are way too soft.

You banned me once for talking about your foreskin!.
    devinejay wrote: »
    Btw a no point did I advocate slanderous or insulting messages like "He's a dick"

I think that's the type of comment being made reference to.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

How do you print a line of fill characters?
    I tried cout << setfill('-') << "\t [and \n]";
    But still got a line of blanks.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

Baza210 wrote: »
    How do you print a kind of fill characters?
    I tried cout<<setfill('-')<<"\t [and \n]";
    But still got a kind of blanks.

What are you trying to do?

The assignment for week five involves printing a line like so:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Boston wrote: »
    The assignment for week five involves printing a line like so:

Dont be giving him the answer. He needs to figure it out himself!

I've already done the assignment. I just did cout<<"
    ";
    as did everyone else. I was just trying to figure it out for my own curiousity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

In fairness I think so far everyone has been fairly responsible and it's all been opinions and discussion rather than anything slanderous. Yes I did make some gay jokes about Schvets but that was meant in the most light-hearted way! (Damn you hypocrisy, why do you consume me so!!)

We should all own up;
    "We are anonymous, we are one, we are nerds"

I was referring the point at which a lecturer was called a dick. I consulted the SMod, and there is to be no bullying on boards.ie. Calling someone a dick is a fairly malicious action. You have no idea whether or not that person posts on boards.
    Ok in fairness moderator input is fairly gentle alright, pretty on the money in fact considering the few minor infractions in an otherwise acceptable conversation but what can I say, I reacted. Paranoia I guess, too zealous in my defense of the open forum.

I reread my post, and I see how it could have been unclear. So lets put it this way incitement to lecturer or student hatred is not allowed here and I will delete posts that do that. You can say you disagree with a lecture style or you feel a course is moving too fast/too slow, but you cannot call a lecturer a ****/bitch/asshole etc, the same way that you cannot come on here and say student x is a horribly, wretched excuse for a human being and I think we should all shun them. (This may be slightly less strict during the SU elections) So that was what I was referring to. And I only deleted one post.
    But in fairness he did say this was not the place for the discussion of lecturers, and I still think that's not on.

And finally for the love of all that is boardsie, where have you been? I'm a she.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I'm a she

Thats a bold statement to make!

I did manage to have user variable printout widths though : )

Awayindahils thanks, your post cleared up everything for me. I think the "He's a dick" post may have been deleted before I viewed the thread, or it didn't register with me. Either way I hope we can drop it all now and I can see you're a very reasonable person so I'm sorry if it came across that I thought otherwise of you.

I'm a she

You gratify my concerns then turn right around expose me for the newb I am, it seems I'm destined to leave with my spirit broken!:(:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭Awayindahils

You gratify my concerns then turn right around expose me for the newb I am, it seems I'm destined to leave with my spirit broken!:(:P

I'm sure you'll manage to stick around if you're prepared to say the mod unreasonable this early on.;)

How does one edit an ad on adverts.ie? I seem to have overpriced one of my items somewhat...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

Ye TCD heads really are a waste of space! What a useless shower of stupid geeks!

Bah, good enough to help you with your assignment boyo!

AdBlock whoops

>_>

<_<

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,302 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

Feck ya anyways baza.. i would have taken that hd off you for 20..

How do you print a line of fill characters?
    I tried cout << setfill('-') << "\t [and \n]";
    But still got a line of blanks.
    setfill() requires iomanip i think..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

What help are you talkin about you clown! You were about as useful as a chocolate teapot!

Mmmm...Chocolate

As this is an engineering thread and off-topicness is the order of the day, here's bit of a curve ball;

Fellow engineers might appreciate how addictive this bridge building game can be. Prepare to waste some time (Although it's time well spent if you haven't done 1e9 - C1 yet, good prep!)

Mmmm...Chocolate

As this is an engineering thread and off-topicness is the order of the day, here's bit of a curve ball;

Fellow engineers might appreciate how addictive this bridge building game can be. Prepare to waste some time (Although it's time well spent if you haven't done 1e9 - C1 yet, good prep!)
    This is more phun.

jmccrohan wrote: »
    Feck ya anyways baza.. i would have taken that hd off you for 20..

Jayz I mentioned it yesterday. Do you want my DraftN Wifi card?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mathew

Assuming you've had your lab Baza.. heres how to output that line of -
    #include <iostream>
    #include <iomanip>
    using namespace std;

int main() {
    	cout << setw(10) << setfill('-') << "\n";
    	return 0;
    }

That will only print out 9 of the -
    the width is set to 10.. \n is counted as a character so the output reads
    \n
    the \n is displayed in the console window as a carriage return.

the 10 in the setw(10) can be a variable.

If you want to allow a user to output x number of -, you have to either set the with to setw(x+1) to allow for the \n.
    If you use endl, or try cout << setw(10) << setfill('-') << setw(1) << "\n";
    it wont work... if you dont put in any characters at all, nothing will be printed out.. not even the fill. (hope that makes sense)

you can also do fancy stuff such as print out 1
    1, using setfill(), left and right..

Have you tested that yourself? I had iomanip declared, and that code looks identical to mine.. :/

I was using
    int width
    setw(width)

but that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mathew

Have you tested that yourself? I had iomanip declared, and that code looks identical to mine.. :/

I was using
    int width
    setw(width)

but that's it.

I did test it... I couldnt remember how to write it so I had to guess and test it..
    Your setw has to come before your setfill()

jmccrohan wrote: »
    This is more phun.

Looks class alright, I've played a few similar physics sims like that before but that looks to be the most comprehensive I've seen. Alas I won't download it for fear I'll never get any sleep!

mathew - I have that lab tomorrow, I've been studying the book and I was hoping the tab function would do the job. I've yet to get editing and compiling at home so I'd rather not spend the whole lab trying out each function to see what happens. Would I just set (n) to whichever value suits each particular line e.g.

(Variable Name) (Variable Value)
    I want each variablevalue to start directly below the one above, but the variable names are different lengths. Exploit the fact that they are constant lengths no matter what the input?

Also, to get it looking really neat you'd need to have the variable values aligned to the left, but when you use setw it works back from the right. Really wish I could actually try some of this out now!