Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being overtaken when doing the speed limit

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,705 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

Actually darkjager somebody came very close to killing me by doing that - it's not cool it's like the lowest form of scum and it says a whole lot about you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭stringy

what bothers me is when people arent driving near the speed limit, like last night, car in front doin 55 in an 80 then has the cheek to flash their warning lights at me as I arrived behind, i was like hurry the f:ck up!!

dont mind bein overtaken when doin speed limit, in many cases I often hope the car ends up in a ditch...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

check out http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=57618064
    and no i dont drive a BMW :)

Wait until you stuck behind some ^**! doing 140kph in a 120kph zone !
    like if your breaking the law then do it in style or get out of the way of the people who want to hit 160 or 180 !!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Mark200 wrote: »
    Does anyone else hate this? When I was learning to drive and had my L-plates up, I was overtaken once or twice a day on a 60kph road where I was doing exactly 60kph.

Since I've passed my test and taken down the plates it happens less often, but it still happens. Sooo annoying.
    It's usually the ones in new BMWs who do it, as if they're too good to drive the same speed as the rest of us.

In fact at one stage I could look in my mirror and the car behind me and predict whether they'd overtake me or not

i hate you more than i hate them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,062 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

Most road speeds in Ireland are a joke, i know plenty of places where speed limits are either way too high or way too low

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

Most road speeds in Ireland are a joke, i know plenty of places where speed limits are either way too high or way too low

I agree, not really a fan of getting penalty points though. My insurance is expensive enough already

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Does anyone else hate this? When I was learning to drive and had my L-plates up, I was overtaken once or twice a day on a 60kph road where I was doing exactly 60kph.

Since I've passed my test and taken down the plates it happens less often, but it still happens. Sooo annoying.
    It's usually the ones in new BMWs who do it, as if they're too good to drive the same speed as the rest of us.

In fact at one stage I could look in my mirror and the car behind me and predict whether they'd overtake me or not

Look after your own driving. And mind your own fv<king business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

mayordenis wrote: »
    Actually darkjager somebody came very close to killing me by doing that - it's not cool it's like the lowest form of scum and it says a whole lot about you :)

I refer to it as "Attempted Murder", or "Murder" if the joker actually succeeds in causing a head-on. There are some people who see driving as a power struggle, and think that they should be ones at the front, no matter how fast they're going. They think it's a huge laugh, trying to stop someone getting back in again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

mayordenis wrote: »

Its say a lot about you that you still haven't figured out, 3 pages into the thread, that I was taking the piss.....

My general opinion of mind is that If they are imcompentant enough to do something stupid then i would much prefer them in front of me where i can give them all the room they like to do what ever they want. you can control how far behind them you are, not the other way around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

bet you're one of these people who thinks cruising at the speed limit on the outside lane on a mototway is just grand too.

If someone wants to overtake you, let them, not your problem , you clearly have a speed envy issue and a fear of "high" speeds

growler wrote: »
    bet you're one of these people who thinks cruising at the speed limit on the outside lane on a mototway is just grand too.

If someone wants to overtake you, let them, not your problem , you clearly have a speed envy issue and a fear of "high" speeds

No, well I haven't driven on the motorway yet (got my licence just over a week ago :p) but I have a fair bit of driving experience and always drove in the left lane on the N something something (the one that goes to ratoath (?)) where the speed limit is 120 kph (I was doing 120 kph :P). I only went into the other lane to overtake someone twice (1 was a truck going extremely slow, another was another learner going 100kph).

I just really don't see what the rush is that they have to break the speed limit to overtake me so that they can be sitting a metre or two ahead of me when I end up stopped behind them at the next traffic lights anyway...?

On another note, what is wrong with "cruising at the speed limit on the outside lane"?. You're not supposed to go over the speed limit overtaking someone anyway, so I don't see why you'd give someone grief for it? I know you're supposed to "cruise" in the inner most lane, but as I said....what's the big rush that you need to go over the speed limit anyway.

It's there for a reason (although as said....some roads are stupidly marked, but that's something that has to be put up with and you should't blame the driver in front for obeying it)

errr mate there isnt a road that goes to Ratoath thats 120kph :)
    the new N2 goes to ashbourne which is 120k, and you can take an R road which is like 80k all the way ! :)
    the N3 is only 100k to the best of my memory.

taking the mick :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,280 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Rabble rabble rabble.

Drive at your own speed OP, let everyone else get on with their own business. Just don't be an arse and intentionally get in the way.

notsamhail wrote: »
    errr mate there isnt a road that goes to Ratoath thats 120kph :)
    the new N2 goes to ashbourne which is 120k, and you can take an R road which is like 80k all the way ! :)
    the N3 is only 100k to the best of my memory.

taking the mick :)

The N2, that's the one (sorry if I didn't give geo-perfect directions), I just said Ratoath because that was my destination whenever I was driving on it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,188 ✭✭✭growler

No, well I haven't driven on the motorway yet (got my licence just over a week ago :p) but I have a fair bit of driving experience and always drove in the left lane on the N something something (the one that goes to ratoath (?)) where the speed limit is 120 kph (I was doing 120 kph :P). I only went into the other lane to overtake someone twice (1 was a truck going extremely slow, another was another learner going 100kph).

I just really don't see what the rush is that they have to break the speed limit to overtake me so that they can be sitting a metre or two ahead of me when I end up stopped behind them at the next traffic lights anyway...?

On another note, what is wrong with "cruising at the speed limit on the outside lane"?. You're not supposed to go over the speed limit overtaking someone anyway, so I don't see why you'd give someone grief for it? I know you're supposed to "cruise" in the inner most lane, but as I said....what's the big rush that you need to go over the speed limit anyway.

It's there for a reason (although as said....some roads are stupidly marked, but that's something that has to be put up with and you should't blame the driver in front for obeying it)

I'll quite happily pass you at whatever speed i feel comfortable with if i think its safe to do so regardless of how fast you are going.

I like to get places as quickly as I safely can , on a long clear stretch of road someone travelling at 100 kph is perfectly entitled to do so, when i'm in the same situation and not in a rush i'll move over to let others get past me as easily as possible .. common courtesy .. and if someone is driving recklessly i'll happily get out of their way so they won't be near me when / if they do crash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

On another note, what is wrong with "cruising at the speed limit on the outside lane"?.

You're hindering the progress of following drivers...what speed limit they choose to travel at is none of your concern, particularly if they're overtaking or attempting to overtake you (it may be of some concern if they're the type of asshole that likes to sit 2 metres from your rear bumper).
    This attitude of "Oh I'm doing 120kmph and all those naughty people behind me flashing their lights can just ease up on the juice and stick to the limit" is going to cause accidents on the motorways and DCs...blocking the overtaking lane by not clearing it once you're past the vehicle(s) on the inside leads to tailgating, frustration and undertaking in the inside lane.
    If I or anyone else decide to break the limit then it's not for anyone else (except the gardaí) to take us to task. Doing 140 or 150kmph when conditions are safe and the traffic is right (ie no-one sitting in the outside lane) isn't dangerous...it's dickheads merging at half the speed limit, those who fail to indicate whilst changing lanes and lorry drivers with their limiters switched off who are a lot more likely to cause an incident (like the one on the M1 at Dunleer on wed morning which more or less closed the road for 2 hours).
    Yopu mention you just passed your test recently, hence you're now allowed out on the mway legally...even though you've never driven on it before and haven't been coached in how to do so...it's best that you follow the RotR and obey lane etiquette, instead of worrying abot what other drivers choose to do with their cars...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

bigkev49 wrote: »
    Rabble rabble rabble.

Drive at your own speed OP, let everyone else get on with their own business. Just don't be an arse and intentionally get in the way.

^ Rock of sense.
    Man, if only every driver on our roads thought like this, my driving experience would be so much freer.

stringy wrote: »
    what bothers me is when people arent driving near the speed limit, like last night, car in front doin 55 in an 80 then has the cheek to flash their warning lights at me as I arrived behind, i was like hurry the f:ck up!!

dont mind bein overtaken when doin speed limit, in many cases I often hope the car ends up in a ditch...

At lease he had the sense to realize that he was a slow moving hazard, if more did the same, there would be fewer rear ended.

Wertz wrote: »
    Yopu mention you just passed your test recently, hence you're now allowed out on the mway legally...even though you've never driven on it before and haven't been coached in how to do so...it's best that you follow the RotR and obey lane etiquette, instead of worrying abot what other drivers choose to do with their cars...

I was planning to....

I mentioned how I do what I'm supposed to do on the N2, which is more or less a motorway for all intents and purposes.

I started this topic to say how I find it annoying when someone (usually in a BMW) finds it necessary to overtake me when I'm doing the speed limit on a two-laned road (one in each direction) and when we always just meet eachother at the next traffic lights anyway

I don't particularly care that they are breaking the speed limit. I wouldn't particularly care if the fact that they decided to go so fast to overtake me (I got the sense people felt it more necessary to overtake me because of the L plates and not because of my driving) caused their nice new BMW to skid off the road into a brick wall allowing me to continue on my merry way.

I didn't aim my post at those who occasionally break the speed limit on the M50 when it is perfectly safe to do so, I was aiming it at those who go out of their way to break the speed limit on a road where there are bends every 200 metres to simply say that I FIND IT A LITTLE BIT ANNOYING

And you can't deny that there are drivers out there who do do that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭tech77

OP, are you sure you're actually doing the speed limit?
    Oftentimes, your speedo will read over your actual speed, in which case you may only be doing 90-95 kph (e.g check with a satnav to be sure).

However if you are indeed doing the limit, i agree that it can be fcuking annoying having some unmitigated pr1ck tailgate (endangering you) and not observe the limit.
    Just move in though if you can and let him off.

The worst thing though is after overtaking you they invariably get stuck behind another vehicle up the road, afraid to overtake them, meaning you gotta overtake 2 slow-moving cars instead of one- making your (speed-limit-observing) progress that little bit more difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭chickenhawk

On another note, what is wrong with "cruising at the speed limit on the outside lane"?.

The outside lane is the overtaking lane not the fast lane. Unless you are overtaking someone you should be in the inside lane.

As I said in the same post two lines underneath
    I know you're supposed to "cruise" in the inner most lane

growler wrote: »

1890 28 28 20

Please tell my insurance company that :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 legend1981

cani be so bold as to ask anyone a question about my saab 93 2.2tid... i have noticed that once of twice the turbo has just cut off and the car lagges... this has happened once or twice and i turned off the engine and the problem was gone.. the car still runs but theres no power in it.. and it wont drive over three thousand revs.. any ideas thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

I was planning to....

I mentioned how I do what I'm supposed to do on the N2, which is more or less a motorway for all intents and purposes.

I started this topic to say how I find it annoying when someone (usually in a BMW) finds it necessary to overtake me when I'm doing the speed limit on a two-laned road (one in each direction) and when we always just meet eachother at the next traffic lights anyway

I don't particularly care that they are breaking the speed limit. I wouldn't particularly care if the fact that they decided to go so fast to overtake me (I got the sense people felt it more necessary to overtake me because of the L plates and not because of my driving) caused their nice new BMW to skid off the road into a brick wall allowing me to continue on my merry way.

I didn't aim my post at those who occasionally break the speed limit on the M50 when it is perfectly safe to do so, I was aiming it at those who go out of their way to break the speed limit on a road where there are bends every 200 metres to simply say that I FIND IT A LITTLE BIT ANNOYING

And you can't deny that there are drivers out there who do do that.

Okay fair enough. I don't like people who speed on back roads either and overtaking on the majority of roads is best avoided given the state of repair, width and overgrowth from hedgerows.
    Does the make of car really matter though? I don't drive a BM (too common) but I do have a reasonably quick car and I don't like being hidered getting to where I'm going...if everyone did the limit then things would run a lot smoother. Unfortunately we have a lot of older/more nervous/incompetent/overly cautious/all of the above drivers, especially on rural backroads. The amount of time that must be lost to people who end up caught behind someone dawdling along at 70-80% of the posted limit is huge...in our country we're mostly all faced with commutes, time commitments and work to get to....inevitably some of the more "important" people in their shiny saloons and SUVs will feel that they have to overtake and speed to get to their destintaion. I'm not saying that that's right, I'm just saying that it's a fact. It's also a fact that there is an elemnet amongst this et of people who feel they own the roads just because their vehicle is faster, more expensive, newer or simply because they'r the typical selfish Irish prick/prickess. TBH I have as little time for them as anyone. It's possible on occasiont aht I'm perceived as one of these pople...but in all honesty I just want to gett o where I'm going as quiockly and as safely as possible.

I was an L plater for just over a year. I suffered the same way as you and many other learners have...ie the red L being like a red rag to some drivers...you jsut have to get on with it, learn from it and eventually become what you hate.

[edit] Legend1981, the Motors forum is probably a better place to post your question...http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=47

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 legend1981

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭mumhaabu

I drive a BMW and a 2008 too, I often over take people doing the speedlimit and those going faster too. To the OP, may I enquire as to what model of Car you drive?

I automatically overtake certain models as I know that they are associated with certain stereotypes of drivers and thus may have the ability to slow things down up ahead. I find VAG TDi Drivers to be quite sensible and quick drivers however if a hitch is attached it is some farmer who will farting along at about 60km/h in a 100km/h zone.

What gets me the most is drivers who on motorways and dualcarriageways drive slow in the outside overtaking lane. Last week I drove the Ennis - Limerick Dualcarriageway and traffic was moving slower in the inside lane than the outside and I had to undertake several cars before getting up to speed in the outside lane in which I passed 11 cars, 4 vans and 3 lorries doing 155Km/h.

What is the generalisation of BMW drivers, Those giving out would have a BMW if they could afford it and the percentage of BMW drivers killed is very low due to several factors,

• BMW's are safe strong cars built with precision German engineering.
    • Rich successful people buy BMW's these people are more successful in life by taking risks which are doable and risk management.
    • BMW's are fast cars and have the power to accelerate away fast than say a Nissan Micra.
    • BMW Drivers are often quite good drivers which is earned from the pedigree of the person involved, Rich people do things right more often.
    • Those people who do things wrong in BMW's are usually people who bought second hand and got the Badge without the financial effort involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,141 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

I find it funny when there is someone trying to overtake you for ages in single lane traffic and then when they eventually do a few miles up the road you stop right behind them at the next traffic lights. Great progress there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,280 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

mumhaabu wrote: »
    I drive a BMW and a 2008 too.....got the Badge without the financial effort involved.
    [/LIST]

My god, that is a terrible post.

It started out pretty well but then you just got distracted by your shiny BM keyring.

May I ask what model you drive?

I have far more respect for someone in a 1999 328 or 2000 530 or something similar than a brand obsessed 2008 316i driver.