Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Reserve Training

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Jeanxx

marymulr wrote: »
    HAPPY DAYS ..... BC arrived so I'll be heading down at the weekend :D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

:D Delighted!!!

Ooo I can't wait, feels like Christmas :P

Anyway gonna go get an early night, up at half 6 for college... :(

Looking forward to seeing everyone tomorrow evening & Saturday morning!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭pvt.joker

I hear ye are staying in the college this weekend for this...

Stay out of my room ok! Hope there's still some beer left for ye in Pollys, we've been hitting it hard this week!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭lightyear

Is there a garda reserve graduation next weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 booms mcd

Heard word of the minister coming down next week is there a garda reserve grad on or something else?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Trebor35

Hey how did everyone get on at the weekend down in Temlemore. Hope it all went well. Was it hard or what ye expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 marymulr

Trebor35 wrote: »
    Hey how did everyone get on at the weekend down in Temlemore. Hope it all went well. Was it hard or what ye expected.

T35, it was a great weekend. There were 37 of us there – a great bunch of people and the training staff were excellent.

We had a few scoops in Polly’s Sat night, nothing too heavy to have a clear head for the next day’s training. Was fairly wrecked going to work Monday morning so am looking forward to a lie in this weekend, also with the self defence classes I found a fair few muscles I didn’t realise I had !!!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Trebor35

Hi Mary. Ah lm glad it all went well for you. I got my GR2 form by email yesterday so hope to get that back asap and hope for the best after that. When is the next phase for ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 marymulr

Trebor35 wrote: »
    Hi Mary. Ah lm glad it all went well for you. I got my GR2 form by email yesterday so hope to get that back asap and hope for the best after that. When is the next phase for ye.

Hi T35. Good luck with your application. Phase 2 starts this week, we'll be starting our 56 hours of lectures over the next 7/8 weeks.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 donal1234

does anyone know whenthe next intake of garda reserves for training in Templemore is?
    donal1234

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Bored-Stupid

Got my letter back from the GR stating I passed the interview and written report so how long will it be until the next stage?

Did anyone see the piece on Ireland AM on the GR on Friday? What did you reckon? Is there really hatred of the reserves by the full time lads and lassies?

Also when do you do the training? Is it all in Templemore and a the weekend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭lehanemore

Did anyone see the piece on Ireland AM on the GR on Friday? What did you reckon? Is there really hatred of the reserves by the full time lads and lassies?

didn't see it, what was said?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 267 ✭✭Bored-Stupid

lehanemore wrote: »
    didn't see it, what was said?

They were just saying they are looking for more recruits. They had 2 reserves, one female trained and a male in training. They were saying that the full time guards were very helpful and they get into the thick of the action more than what would usually be thought. They are always supported by 2 guards and they were singing the praises of the self defence courses and the training in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 532 ✭✭✭scullersky

Hey .... ive applied for the GR in Oct 2007..... I handed in my Gr2 in @ the end of march.... Im still waitin on backround checks & to be called for my medical... Does anyone know when the next intake is for the Garda Reserve?:D:rolleyes:

They were just saying they are looking for more recruits. They had 2 reserves, one female trained and a male in training. They were saying that the full time guards were very helpful and they get into the thick of the action more than what would usually be thought. They are always supported by 2 guards and they were singing the praises of the self defence courses and the training in general.

thanks for that.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 wetgarden

I haven't been on for a while.
    Just wondering was there any negative comments at all or was it all positive feedback and where are these Reserves stationed at the moment if you know?

Also I'm wondering apart from this forum and Public Jobs (which are very good), is there any other really good website where one could get loads of info on the Garda Reserves (expectations, training, public opinion, allowances etc.)

Thanks Guys:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 The Big E

[HI , The ASP is the new baton that the Gardai wear on their belt, we done the course with the regular Gardai, a lot of physical activity, You get paid after you have completed your year. i.e From the date you first go down to Templemore. (must have your 208 hours done) mates don't really care, one way or another.. Good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 scanner man

hi does anyone know when the next intake for training is

29 and 30Nov is the next date,donal1234

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 scanner man

hi donal 1234 are those dates for phase 1

I think so,I called the Garda reserve office and they said that this was the next intake date:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 Transit1

To any body who is interested in joining the garda reserve ..... i am in phase 4 at the moment and i would have to say yes it is well worth the wait..... it took me exactly two years to date to get to this point....my first day on the beat was very nerve racking in the sense that i did not know what re-action i would recieve from the full-time members... but i have to say it was great it could not have been better.... they are a great bunch of lads...... you are made very welcome .....
    as you may know that all the over-time has been cut for the full-timers so if someone goes on sick leave they are not replaced so therefore you are an added bonus....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 780 ✭✭✭munster4868

Hi all... i was in the intake in March of this year and completed my phase 4 training.. Does anyone know when the graduation (phase 5) is going to be held?? I know it was penciled in for late september but that was hit on the head... so any talk out there to when it is on??? Thanks

i believe the date has been set for the 6th of november there will be two groups of 40 fourthy with cut backs it makes more sense to do that:D

Transit1 wrote: »
    as you may know that all the over-time has been cut for the full-timers so if someone goes on sick leave they are not replaced so therefore you are an added bonus....

Hi Transit,

can you do 8 hour shifts or are you restricted to 4 hours?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 The Big E

No, the minimum you can do is four hours and anything from four to eight hours.. if you start at ten o clock on a friday or saturday night and leave at two am, the "fun" doesn't start untill around three ..

lehanemore wrote: »
    Hi Transit,

can you do 8 hour shifts or are you restricted to 4 hours?
    two weeks ago on a saturday night i started at 8 pm and as they were short staffed i offered to stay on and finished at 7am the next morning.... the choice is basicially yours weekends are the best time to work plenty to do ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭ZoneAlarm

Do you have to give them a list of times you are available or what happens on this

Like if you say want to work 8 hrs or 4 hrs and you decide to either work longer than the 4 hrs or shorter than the 8 hrs you had said you would do would that be a problem :confused:

Transit1 wrote: »
    two weeks ago on a saturday night i started at 8 pm and as they were short staffed i offered to stay on and finished at 7am the next morning.... the choice is basicially yours weekends are the best time to work plenty to do ......
    Hi can you tell me what type of medical health cover if any you have while on duty also if injured while on duty and unable to work in the day job for a few days is there any cover,donal1234:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭tucker1971

To all attested reserves or those on phase 4...Can anyone tell me apart from passports are their any other forms that you sign? e.g, when someone calls to the station with your typical form that requires a signature?
    Anyone??:(

ZoneAlarm wrote: »
    Do you have to give them a list of times you are available or what happens on this

Like if you say want to work 8 hrs or 4 hrs and you decide to either work longer than the 4 hrs or shorter than the 8 hrs you had said you would do would that be a problem :confused:
    i think it will depend on the sargant you maybe required to work longer or shorter hours..... i work in a big station and they are happy to let me work what i want .... i was working last friday night i was not supposed to work i just felt like going in they were not expecting me but glad of the extra help