Lads Holiday - Did he cheat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Rosita

1) It also doesn't change that my definition of "tearing it up" might include 100 different things and yet you will still focus on "sex".

2) No. The OP was already suspicious of her OH, based on her own thoughts about the OH during his week away. This tainted her opinion when she read the message. Had she trusted the OH completely, I reckon she would have not had suspicious thoughts when reading that message (though, she would never have been on Bebo to begin with). This is a self-fulfilling prophecy on the part of the OP.

3)I'm not saying that. I'm saying that if the OP wants to tackle her OH about this (as she's said herself) based on the flimsiest of reasons, that's her call. If someone were to accuse me of cheating (or anything else, really), I'd want them to have something more than paranoia and a throwaway comment on a social networking site. Depending on the OH, this could easily result in the end of their relationship even if the OH hasn't been cheating.

1) I focus on sex because that what the OP is concerned about. The ice-lolly eating theory is fine in so far as it goes but it is off-topic.

2) No she wasn't suspicious. What she wrote in the initial post was "I was
    a little apprehensive about him going, [to Marbella with 9 other males - come on let's get real here!:rolleyes:] not too much, just a little". That is quite distinct from a suspicion that he will probably get up to something.

The idea that she is not entitled to be on a public forum like bebo is laughable! Anyone who has such a public profile divests themselves of any right to have it considered private. The idea that it should not have been seen is just nuts. And the idea that it is a self-fulfilling prophesy does not stand up either. The fact is if the other adolescent imbecile had not been boasting like a juvenile because he scored, there would be no evidence of anything whatsoever. But he did and it is reasonable to consider the possibility that her OH is not exactly out of step with comments (I have no way of knowing if they were 'throwaway', and even if that means whether they are true or not) specifically aimed at his bebo site.

3) I assume the OP will be more subtle than you would expect someone to be. The evidence of potential cheating is slight - though still there - and presumably the matter would be raised in a way that reflects that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Fat Pie Lot

Rosita wrote: »
    1) I focus on sex because that what the OP is concerned about. The ice-lolly eating theory is fine in so far as it goes but it is off-topic.

Not really. Ice cream eating is something that could happen on holiday, but doesn't have to. Just like the OP's OH having sex.

a little apprehensive about him going, [to Marbella with 9 other males - come on let's get real here!:rolleyes:] not too much, just a little". That is quite distinct from a suspicion that he will probably get up to something.

LOL. You're willing to take that message on Bebo as evidence that the OH is cheating, but ignore the stuff from the OP herself that strongly suggests that she has trust issues with him. There's no evidence of anything, other than the OH's friend claiming he got laid. What about the other eight (or so) people that went? How many of those are in relationships? Out of that number, how many of those cheated on their girlfriends? You have no idea what the group mentality was. It's entirely possible that half of them are in committed relationships and there was no peer pressure to go off and screw around. If only you'd analyse the rest of the original post as much as you have done that Bebo message.

The idea that she is not entitled to be on a public forum like bebo is laughable! Anyone who has such a public profile divests themselves of any right to have it considered private. The idea that it should not have been seen is just nuts. And the idea that it is a self-fulfilling prophesy does not stand up either. The fact is if the other adolescent imbecile had not been boasting like a juvenile because he scored, there would be no evidence of anything whatsoever. But he did and it is reasonable to consider the possibility that her OH is not exactly out of step with comments (I have no way of knowing if they were 'throwaway', and even if that means whether they are true or not) specifically aimed at his bebo site.

Utter rubbish. She can be on Bebo all she wants. I never suggested otherwise. However, she admitted she was uneasy about her OH going away, she pictured him on beaches surrounded by beautiful women, in strip clubs etc. and then happens to find herself on Bebo, a site that she admits she finds “silly”, typing on her OH's surname and jumps to conclusions when she reads a rather vague message from a friend. That's self-fulfilling prophecy. She went looking for trouble and found it.

Again, I'm not saying the OH is guilty or innocent, but there's not enough information to say one way or the other despite your best attempts to prove otherwise.

The evidence of potential cheating is slight - though still there

There is no evidence, just hearsay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

iblamebebo wrote: »
    I'm 28 and he's 30 so we're a bit old for the whole Bebo malarky but I was bored in work yesterday and was looking through it. I'm not on it and as far as I knew he isn't either. We've often talked about how silly Bebo is (no offence to those who are on it!). I put his surname in, it's an unusual name, and I found his younger sisters page. He was in her friends list. He has a profile afterall. There was very little on it but I was annoyed that he had one and didn't tell me. Anyway, there was a comment left from one of the lads he was away with that read:

'How's it going man, I'm still in a heap from the hoilday, must be from all the riding!Told you
    we'd tear it up over there no bother. Girls just wanna have fun! See ya over the weekend'

Now. I was sick to my stomach. He clearly cheated on me when he was over there.Also, the guy who left the comment I have only met once and I didn't particularly like him. He's a real jack-the-lad and a real Dub if you know what I mean. I don't like him hanging out with guys like that cause it always leads to trouble.

Am I jumping to conclusions here or do you think he cheated? If he cheated it is over, no second chances, no crappy explanations. How can I find out for sure and how will I approach him? I knwo he'll deny it cause that's naturally what people do when they get caught out..

Please help

3) I assume the OP will be more subtle than you would expect someone to be. The evidence of potential cheating is slight - though still there - and presumably the matter would be raised in a way that reflects that.

Unfortunately the OP doesn't think it's slight!

Also, so what if he has a Bebo page, it isn't a crime either, though it seems to be to the OP!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

1) Not really. Ice cream eating is something that could happen on holiday, but doesn't have to. Just like the OP's OH having sex.

2) LOL. You're willing to take that message on Bebo as evidence that the OH is cheating, but ignore the stuff from the OP herself that strongly suggests that she has trust issues with him. There's no evidence of anything, other than the OH's friend claiming he got laid. What about the other eight (or so) people that went? How many of those are in relationships? Out of that number, how many of those cheated on their girlfriends? You have no idea what the group mentality was. It's entirely possible that half of them are in committed relationships and there was no peer pressure to go off and screw around. If only you'd analyse the rest of the original post as much as you have done that Bebo message.

3) Again, I'm not saying the OH is guilty or innocent, but there's not enough information to say one way or the other despite your best attempts to prove otherwise.

4) There is no evidence, just hearsay.

1) You asked why I focussed on sex, and I told you.

2) I have no inner knowledge of their relationship. I am going merely on what was on the bebo site. It is not for me to draw inferences about the level of trust, though I suspect if she does not truct him it is possible there's a good reason for that. Who knows?

As for the rest of the group, their relationships etc. - I'm not sure the OP is terribly interested in them. Who cares about them? That's for them and their partners to worry about. I simply comment on what was posted here.

But it is entirely possible that half of them are in committed relationships and there was no peer pressure to go off and screw around. It is of course entirely possible that the opposite is the case too. So what?

3) My best efforts? You should try reading my posts. I never said there was proof of anything, and I certainly did not try to prove anything. All I said was that there was genuine reason for soem level of suspicion. which there is.

4) Hearsay is enough evidence to ask the question. Every investigation begins with what can be dismissed as hearsay. And this is not any old hearsay. It is a report of one of the group members which is not exactly your run of the mill hearsay.

2) I have no inner knowledge of their relationship. I am going merely on what was on the bebo site. It is not for me to draw inferences about the level of trust, though I suspect if she does not truct him it is possible there's a good reason for that. Who knows?

As for the rest of the group, their relationships etc. - I'm not sure the OP is terribly interested in them. Who cares about them? That's for them and their partners to worry about. I simply comment on what was posted here.

But it is entirely possible that half of them are in committed relationships and there was no peer pressure to go off and screw around. It is of course entirely possible that the opposite is the case too. So what?

Context. You're jumping to conclusions based on three sentences or so posted by a friend on Bebo, but ignoring all the other available information given by the OP. That includes her own mistrust of her OH and the fact that she only appears to know one of her OH's travelling companions but is quite prepared to tar the whole lot with the same brush, as have you in numerous posts above. The OP should be interested in her boyfriend's friends, should she not, especially if she has such a low opinion of them.

There's no evidence that the OH cheated previously. The OP would (should) have posted this vital piece of information if that were the case. In fact there's lots of info the OP should have given, but hasn't. As it stands, with what we're given in the original message, it is impossible to say that the OH misbehaved and IMO, that means it's inadvisable to be throwing accusations around based on the Bebo post.
    3) My best efforts? You should try reading my posts. I never said there was proof of anything, and I certainly did not try to prove anything. All I said was that there was genuine reason for soem level of suspicion. which there is.

I have read them... you've picked apart the friend's message almost to the letter, yet you ignore gaps in information given by the OP or the fact the OP seems to have trust issues with her OH, instead re-iterating that there's evidence of wrongdoing or claiming that the OP's mistrust is justified and therefore not important in the accusation: “though I suspect if she does not truct [sic] him it is possible there's a good reason for that”. In fact, the mistrust is the sole cause of the accusation.

The most obvious and reasonable explanation is often the correct one and in this case, the most obvious explanation is that the OH's friend got his leg over on holiday and the Bebo post does not incriminate the OH in any way.
    4) Hearsay is enough evidence to ask the question. Every investigation begins with what can be dismissed as hearsay. And this is not any old hearsay. It is a report of one of the group members which is not exactly your run of the mill hearsay.

A report where this third party incriminates himself for having sex, but no-one else? *strokes chin*

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 11,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

It's worth pointing out that, having lived on the Costa Del Sol for about 15 years, it is quite possible to go on holiday there for a week without the entire trip being about pouncing on members of your gender of choice. Quite aside from the possibility that the guy in question was just playing wingman for the other single guys in the group. But then again since we're playing Wild Speculation (a game for all the family) why not suggest that the whole trip was an elaborate cover story for a week-long homosexual orgy with a Cindy Lauper soundtrack? There's as much concrete proof for it as anything else...

(And for the record, "being apprehensive about him going" means she either didn't trust him or had insecurities - because if she did trust him and wasn't insecure, she wouldn't be terrified that he'd do the dog on her within seconds of seeing another woman.)

1)Context. You're jumping to conclusions based on three sentences or so posted by a friend on Bebo, but ignoring all the other available information given by the OP. That includes her own mistrust of her OH and the fact that she only appears to know one of her OH's travelling companions but is quite prepared to tar the whole lot with the same brush, as have you in numerous posts above. The OP should be interested in her boyfriend's friends, should she not, especially if she has such a low opinion of them.

2) There's no evidence that the OH cheated previously. The OP would (should) have posted this vital piece of information if that were the case. In fact there's lots of info the OP should have given, but hasn't. As it stands, with what we're given in the original message, it is impossible to say that the OH misbehaved and IMO, that means it's inadvisable to be throwing accusations around based on the Bebo post.

3) I have read them... you've picked apart the friend's message almost to the letter, yet you ignore gaps in information given by the OP or the fact the OP seems to have trust issues with her OH, instead re-iterating that there's evidence of wrongdoing or claiming that the OP's mistrust is justified and therefore not important in the accusation: “though I suspect if she does not truct [sic] him it is possible there's a good reason for that”. In fact, the mistrust is the sole cause of the accusation.

4) The most obvious and reasonable explanation is often the correct one and in this case, the most obvious explanation is that the OH's friend got his leg over on holiday and the Bebo post does not incriminate the OH in any way.

5) A report where this third party incriminates himself for having sex, but no-one else? *strokes chin*

1) But I don't know enough details of the relationship to comment. The question was objectively asked if the bebo message raised suspicion. I think it does for reasons I have explained numerous times already. What the OP thinks or should think, in your view, of her boyfriend's friends is another matter.

2) Now if I cited a previous indiscretion as some kind of evidence of cheating is this case you'd dismiss it! All we can go on is the information given and I think there is a question to answer, that's all.

3) I can't comment on gaps in information, because they are...........er........gaps in information. I can go only on what's put in front of me. Ultimately it's up to the OP to complete the jigsaw.

4) I agree that the most obvious and reasonable explanation is often the correct one. That is why my suspicion would be raised by a "we'd tear it up" kind of message. You are interpreting the message to the exact letter so that if it doesn't expressly state something then it cannnot have happened. But life is more nuanced than that. It says nothing about eating ice-lollies either and that might have happened too as you have been at pains to point out. I never said the message incriminates the guy, all I said was that it is suggestive, and it certainly is that.

5) That misrepresents it. There is a clear implication in there that the other chap was involved in joint activity of some sort, that as you accepted yourself, might include sex. How you can on the one hand say that while on the other not even countenance the possibly that he may have done something beats me.

Fysh wrote: »

1) It's worth pointing out that, having lived on the Costa Del Sol for about 15 years, it is quite possible to go on holiday there for a week without the entire trip being about pouncing on members of your gender of choice. Quite aside from the possibility that the guy in question was just playing wingman for the other single guys in the group.

2) But then again since we're playing Wild Speculation (a game for all the family) why not suggest that the whole trip was an elaborate cover story for a week-long homosexual orgy with a Cindy Lauper soundtrack? There's as much concrete proof for it as anything else...

3) (And for the record, "being apprehensive about him going" means she either didn't trust him or had insecurities - because if she did trust him and wasn't insecure, she wouldn't be terrified that he'd do the dog on her within seconds of seeing another woman.)

1) Indeed that is true. Even if we didn't have someone who lived there for 15 years we'd have worked that out. Of course this does not tell us one iota about this chap so its relevance to the discussion is not clear.

2) You are playing wild speculation, not me. All I am playing is "is this a reasonable suspicion to consider based on the context and information available". (A game restricted to rational members of the family)

3) Again we have someone trying to impute innocence to the guy based on a supposition regarding the OP's alleged state of mind. But it should be borne in mind that just because you can call the OP insecure does not give us any indication as to your man's behaviour in Spain. It is an attempt to undermine the OP but tells us nothing about her OH.

You seem to be operating under the fallacy that if you are insecure then you cannot possibly have any reason to be. Maybe she has, maybe she hasn't. We don't know the full picture.

But has she prima facie reason for concern here? Yes, in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Clearly the bebo message does imply that he cheated.

The friend's message says:

"I'm still in a heap from the hoilday, must be from all the riding!" - But this does not expressly say that "the riding" was done exclusively by this guy. The only exclusive information claimed is that he is wrecked.

More tellingly perhaps and this has been largely ignored is when he writes:
    "Told you we'd tear it up over there no bother. Girls just wanna have fun!"

Why does the "tearing it up" and girls wanting to have fun suddenly become plural?

Only the chap's lawyer could seriously argue that that the message is not deeply suggestive.
    AHAHAHAHAHA. Seriously, do you think his mate is Shakespeare? Or perhaps has a doctorate in English?
    All we know is:
    1) we don't know anything
    2) she doesn't trust her OH
    3) she doesn't trust his friends

Zulu wrote: »

1) AHAHAHAHAHA. Seriously, do you think his mate is Shakespeare?

2) Or perhaps has a doctorate in English?

3) All we know is:
    1) we don't know anything
    2) she doesn't trust her OH
    3) she doesn't trust his friends

1) No. Shakespeare died nearly 400 years ago. I think we can rule that one out.

2) Maybe he has. I have no idea. But on my planet being able to go from the singular "I" to plural "we" doesn't require a doctorate in English. All I have done is assume that he can write basic second class standard English which means roughly what it says.

3) You are contradicting yourself. If 1) was accurate, there's wouldn't be a 2) and 3). Indeed there might not even be a thread.

1) No. Shakespeare died nearly 400 years ago. I think we can rule that one out.
    Good.
    2) Maybe he has. I have no idea.
    I'm guessing he hasn't.
    But on my planet being able to go from the singular "I" to plural "we" doesn't require a doctorate in English.
    Tell me, do people on your planet who go on lads weekends away to "tear the place up", use the perfect from of English when writing informal messages to their peers on internet social networking sites?
    All I have done is assume that he can write basic second class standard
    And that is exactly what your mistake was.
    English which means roughly what it says.
    Well, we know he didn't physically tear the country up, so I wouldn't scrutinise the rest of his statement from a literal point of view.
    3) You are contradicting yourself.
    No. I'm not.
    If 1) was accurate, there's wouldn't be a 2) and 3). Indeed there might not even be a thread.
    Which 2) & 3) are you talking about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

All I have done is assume that he can write basic second class standard English which means roughly what it says.

Do you spend much time on the internet?:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

Dragan wrote: »
    I disagree. Or maybe it's just the way a secure naieve human mind works. When i am in a relationship with someone it would never enter my head that they would cheat on me.

FYP

Well, sorry to break it to you chief, but tons and tons of relationships end with someone cheating. There are new threads here on personal issues every other day along the lines of 'How could they??? I never ever thought my bf/gf could cheat on me'. Just because you have the morals and strength of will of Jesus Christ himself doesn't mean that the rest of the human population do. To think that there 100% no chance someone you're going out with will cheat on you is plain foolish - there is always a possiblity.
    This is based on the simple fact that there is not a single circumstance in the world that would make ME cheat on a girlfriend. It's called trust.
    So you are saying you base your views on what your gf would do on the fact that you would never ever cheat? That's some logic there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭Pub07

Oh yeah, that message she found on bebo doesn't say the OP's bf cheated and 'tear it up' generally means to have a laugh but the tone of the overall message is open to interpretation. He could be saying that he had a great time and shagged a few girls or it could mean they both had a great time and shagged a few girls. I can't see why the OP got some stick at the start of the thread for being concerned at this message.

Pub07 wrote: »
    FYP

Well, sorry to break it to you chief, but tons and tons of relationships end with someone cheating. There are new threads here on personal issues every other day along the lines of 'How could they??? I never ever thought my bf/gf could cheat on me'. Just because you have the morals and strength of will of Jesus Christ himself doesn't mean that the rest of the human population do. To think that there 100% no chance someone you're going out with will cheat on you is plain foolish - there is always a possiblity.

So you are saying you base your views on what your gf would do on the fact that you would never ever cheat? That's some logic there.

Sorry, i just have a pet peeve when anyone who isn't my Dad calls me chief. It always seems very much a put down.

Indeed there as new threads on AH every day about people cheating, alternatively millions of relationships go on all over the world where people do not cheat. I know. It's shocking.

I could not comment on the morals or strength of will of Jesus Christ, i've never met him. As for me, i believe in loyalty and fidelity, almost to a romantic level i guess. Shame on me. :)

And yes, of course i base my views on what my GF would do on the fact that i would never cheat. It's about trust, and openly displaying that trust. Why would my girlfriend be at all inclined to be in a relationship with me if she had any reason to doubt my loyalty?

Perhaps that is something a lot more people should consider?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Pub07 wrote: »
    This is the only part where I would not agree with Dragan's posts on the subject. We all judge others on our own actions and feelings. It's a good thing to step out of that from time to time, but I will admit I stil do it, even when I know it's not the wisest.

I have never cheated on someone. I have however been cheated on. From that I could conclude that based on past experience the chances of me cheating on someone are small, not impossible but small. I can also conclude that while I have had women cheat on me before, I've also known women who didn't, so I can't jump to the conclusion that a woman in the future will, even if as was the case in my life there were more that cheated than didn't. Given a choice in concerning myself that my partner may cheat or ignoring that in the face of little evidence I would come right back to Dragan's point about trust and go with that.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

1) But I don't know enough details of the relationship to comment. The question was objectively asked if the bebo message raised suspicion. I think it does for reasons I have explained numerous times already. What the OP thinks or should think, in your view, of her boyfriend's friends is another matter.

The question wasn't objectively asked, though. The OP has already made up her mind before posting and the question was loaded based on what she'd written and in her own words, her OH has CLEARLY cheated. Had the message been posted without all the preamble about the holiday, her insecurities and her mistrust of the OH's friend, I'm pretty sure no-one would be suggesting that there was evidence of cheating.

2) Now if I cited a previous indiscretion as some kind of evidence of cheating is this case you'd dismiss it! All we can go on is the information given and I think there is a question to answer, that's all.

Of course I would. It's up to the OP to post any relevant history. However, the fact that none has been posted suggests he's behaved himself. In fact the start of the post makes the OH out to be a decent boyfriend.

3) I can't comment on gaps in information, because they are...........er........gaps in information. I can go only on what's put in front of me. Ultimately it's up to the OP to complete the jigsaw.

I disagree. Gaps in information are just as important as what's left in front of you. In this case, we have no idea what the group mentality of the travellers was, so tarring them all with a “they're all on holiday, so they're all bound to be rutting” comment as the OP and yourself have done is inaccurate. If you're going to offer advice or comment on the original post, then ignoring everything apart from the Bebo post surely makes your comments flawed.

So, to answer the OP's question: it's impossible to say if he was cheating. Objectively speaking, there's not even any level of reasonable doubt, however, the OP's interpretation of the Bebo message is tainted because of her insecurities/lack of trust and a lack of knowledge.

4) I agree that the most obvious and reasonable explanation is often the correct one. That is why my suspicion would be raised by a "we'd tear it up" kind of message. You are interpreting the message to the exact letter so that if it doesn't expressly state something then it cannnot have happened. But life is more nuanced than that. It says nothing about eating ice-lollies either and that might have happened too as you have been at pains to point out. I never said the message incriminates the guy, all I said was that it is suggestive, and it certainly is that.

You won't comment on gaps in information in the rest of the post, but you will comment on what a message doesn't say? As I've said, the only thing it suggests to me is that the OH's friend got some on holiday. Reading anything else into that message is making HUGE assumptions because there's nothing else in the entire post to suggest to me I have to look beyond the comment at face value.

If you were to come to me with that comment as your evidence and accuse me of cheating when we've only been dating a few months and you'll find yourself in Dumpsville pretty damned quickly. The message might be suggestive in your opinion. In mine it is not, which is why you'd be taking a risk to accuse me based on that message alone. See also post #80.

5) That misrepresents it. There is a clear implication in there that the other chap was involved in joint activity of some sort, that as you accepted yourself, might include sex. How you can on the one hand say that while on the other not even countenance the possibly that he may have done something beats me.

Yes, he was on holiday with his mates. That's your joint activity and hence the 'we'. As I've said, all of my comments are based on the OP's entire post, not just the Bebo message because the rest of the post tells us a great deal about the OP which DOES (and did) have an effect on how she interprets the Bebo message. It's subjective, which is why if she chooses to act on her gut feeling, she would have to at least consider that most of the people on this thread do not see things the way she does, so there is a real possibility that her OH will not.

Do you spend much time on the internet?:)

What's it to you?:confused:

Oh it was just in relation to the fact that you would expect the friend who posted the message to be able to make some kind of sense is all. The majority of stuff that is posted on the internet is done in a relatively poor level of English from what i can see. Throw in Bebo and the fact that friends are talking to friends, messages can be rushed and you don't really post them while worrying about outside interpretation and you can get all kinds of rubbish going on tbh.

Good.

1) I'm guessing he hasn't. Tell me, do people on your planet who go on lads weekends away to "tear the place up", use the perfect from of English when writing informal messages to their peers on internet social networking sites?

2) And that is exactly what your mistake was. Well, we know he didn't physically tear the country up, so I wouldn't scrutinise the rest of his statement from a literal point of view.

3) No. I'm not.
    Which 2) & 3) are you talking about?

1) I have no idea to be honest as I don't check these things out but people I know, above 2 years old anyway, are able to differentiate between singular and plural.

2)You can interpret the statement any way you like. That's doesn't mean that the rest of us have to pretend that what is written down is not in fact there at all.

3) The 2) and 3) you mentioned in your post. I didn't know there was a choice!

Oh it was just in relation to the fact that you would expect the friend who posted the message to be able to make some kind of sense is all. The majority of stuff that is posted on the internet is done in a relatively poor level of English from what i can see. Throw in Bebo and the fact that friends are talking to friends, messages can be rushed and you don't really post them while worrying about outside interpretation and you can get all kinds of rubbish going on tbh.

Let's look at the message then:

How's it going man, I'm still in a heap from the hoilday, must be from all the riding! Told you we'd tear it up over there no bother. Girls just wanna have fun! See ya over the weekend

It's actually quite well and accurately written - even the vernacular. Not one misspelling if we assume 'hoilday' to be just a typo. Not one inaccurately used apostrophe.

The idea that this person cannot differentiate between "I" and "we" or is too careless in his writing to bother, while a gallant attempt to muster an increasingly desperate and unlikely defence, doesn't hold water I'm afraid.

Or alternatively we could assume the "we" applies to the group, as it was a group holiday?

Or , alternatively, as we are giving the chap a bit of credit for his intelligence could we assume that he is NOT stupid enough to hang his friend our to dry on a publically viewable social networking site?

Personally, when a mate of mine cheats the first thing i do is pop a post up somewhere.

1) The question wasn't objectively asked, though. The OP has already made up her mind before posting and the question was loaded based on what she'd written and in her own words, her OH has CLEARLY cheated. Had the message been posted without all the preamble about the holiday, her insecurities and her mistrust of the OH's friend, I'm pretty sure no-one would be suggesting that there was evidence of cheating.

2) However, the fact that none has been posted suggests he's behaved himself.

3) I disagree. Gaps in information are just as important as what's left in front of you. In this case, we have no idea what the group mentality of the travellers was, so tarring them all with a “they're all on holiday, so they're all bound to be rutting” comment as the OP and yourself have done is inaccurate. If you're going to offer advice or comment on the original post, then ignoring everything apart from the Bebo post surely makes your comments flawed.

4) So, to answer the OP's question: it's impossible to say if he was cheating. Objectively speaking, there's not even any level of reasonable doubt, however, the OP's interpretation of the Bebo message is tainted because of her insecurities/lack of trust and a lack of knowledge.

5) You won't comment on gaps in information in the rest of the post, but you will comment on what a message doesn't say? As I've said, the only thing it suggests to me is that the OH's friend got some on holiday. Reading anything else into that message is making HUGE assumptions because there's nothing else in the entire post to suggest to me I have to look beyond the comment at face value.

6) If you were to come to me with that comment as your evidence and accuse me of cheating when we've only been dating a few months and you'll find yourself in Dumpsville pretty damned quickly. The message might be suggestive in your opinion. In mine it is not, which is why you'd be taking a risk to accuse me based on that message alone. See also post #80.

7) Yes, he was on holiday with his mates. That's your joint activity and hence the 'we'. As I've said, all of my comments are based on the OP's entire post, not just the Bebo message because the rest of the post tells us a great deal about the OP which DOES (and did) have an effect on how she interprets the Bebo message. It's subjective, which is why if she chooses to act on her gut feeling, she would have to at least consider that most of the people on this thread do not see things the way she does, so there is a real possibility that her OH will not.

1) I am outside of the situation. I can answer the question objectively only.

2) But this is irrelevant to me. All I have commented on is the bebo message.
    If I comment on anything else I am forced to look at it through the OP's opinions and I have no way of knowing how reasonable or fair they are. The bebo comments are there in black and white, undistorted.

3) Gaps in information may be important in the abstract. But I commented on the bebo message. It is not for me to make assumptions about the gaps in information. The OP asked for opinions and I gave one, that's all. It is up to her to consider all the finer detail which I have little interest in.

4) It is impossible to say if he was cheating - I never suggested otherwise. It raises a suspicion, that's all I have ever said.

5) Once you comment on what a message does say, you are implicitly commenting on what it doesn't say anyway. Occasionally of course it is necessary to be explicit about this which is all I did.

Reading other stuff into the message is not making a "huge" assumption. You are again falling into the trap of thinking that I am accusing the guy of cheating. I'm not. All I am saying is that the bebo message leaves grounds for some suspicion.

6) Yeah, whatever. We'd best not get it together then.

7) How the OP reacts is a matter for herself and I assume she is capable of dealing with this situation without my (or your) advice. I just commented objectively on the bebo message which in my view would raise the suspicions of any reasonable and fair-minded person. It goes without saying (or at least it should) that this is a long way from an accusation or a claim of guilt.

1) Or alternatively we could assume the "we" applies to the group, as it was a group holiday?

2) Or , alternatively, as we are giving the chap a bit of credit for his intelligence could we assume that he is NOT stupid enough to hang his friend our to dry on a publically viewable social networking site?

1) Of course we could. I presume that's what he meant. Either way, whether it's just the two of them or the entire group, her OH is clearly included.

2) Well, he did write an ambiguous message so I wouldn't credit him with too much judgement.

There also is the small matter that the girlfriend was kept in the dark about the bebo site. So you could assume it was thought she would not see it. We can assume lots of things. Not all are equally plausible though.

2) But this is irrelevant to me. All I have commented on is the bebo message.
    If I comment on anything else I am forced to look at it through the OP's opinions and I have no way of knowing ho wreasonable or fair they are. The bebo comments are there in black and white, undistorted.

But they're clearly not in black and white, are they? If they were, there'd be no interpretation and there quite obviously is. And it's hardly irrelevant if you're making sweeping statements about ten men going on holiday and screwing all round them, which you've done in more than one post in this thread.

4) It is impossible to say if he was cheating - I never suggested otherwise. It raises a suspicion, that'll all I have ever said.

It only raises a suspicion if you are being unreasonable and looking for more from the message than is actually there. There is absolutely nothing posted anywhere else to suggest that something other than the face value of the message should be considered.

5) Once you comment on what a message does say, you are implicitly commenting on what it doesn't say anyway. Occasionally of course it is necessary to be explicit about this which is all I did.

Reading other stuff into the message in not making a "huge" assumption. You are again falling into the trap of thinking that I am accussing the guy of cheating. I'm not. All I am saying is that the bebo message leaves grounds for some suspicion.

Of course it is. You're stepping outside of what the message says and instead putting your faith into what it's not saying and by your own admission, this is all based on that one message, not anything else that was said. That's a huge assumption in my opinion. Why are you looking for alternative meanings to the message when there is clearly no reason for you to do so if you're only taking the message into consideration?

There also is the small matter that the girlfriend was kept in the dark about the bebo site. So you could assume it was thought she would not see it.
    You'd assume that the friend knew the GF didn't know about the Bebo site, or was happy to risk it? Interesting.

Look the facts are:
    1) a friend posted an ambitious comment on a web site
    ...that all folks.

OP, you can decide what you like, and there are enough comments to support what ever position you take. However, for your own benefit, I'd suggest what you should spend your time and effort considering are the following:

1) why you have a bad week when your BF was away.
    If your happiness is dependant on your OH, you are in trouble. While everyone enjoys their partners company, and can be made happy from that, for someone to require a partner to be happy is unhealthy. I'm not saying this is true of you, but if it is...

2) why you don't trust your OH. Clearly you don't trust him, yet for the 6 months you have been together, has he let you down? If not, how long will it take him to gain your trust? Will he ever?

3) why you are so quick to condemn him and destroy your relationship on the back of a flippant internet comment. The longer you go out with someone, you'll experience more and more instances where mistakes are made. What happens when he calls you by a different name some day? Will he have had an affair, or will it be a simple slip of the toungue (pardon the pun).
    Only trust will get you through these. Only trust will get you through a relationship.

4) your issues with men. It appears from your post that "boys will be boys" means men are unfaithful. This is untrue. People can be unfaithful, that is a truth. Do you really have that little respect for men? If so, why bother with a relationship???

You're stepping outside of what the message says and instead putting your faith into what it's not saying

Where did I do that? As far as I can see youare one of the people trying to inflate my views into a full-scale accusation. All I said was that it gives grounds for some suspicion. I'd like you to show where I said otherwise.

You'd assume that the friend knew the GF didn't know about the Bebo site, or was happy to risk it? Interesting.

Look the facts are:
    1) a friend posted an ambitious comment on a web site
    ...that all folks.

OP, you can decide what you like, and there are enough comments to support what ever position you take. However, for your own benefit, I'd suggest what you should spend your time and effort considering are the following:

1) why you have a bad week when your BF was away.
    If your happiness is dependant on your OH, you are in trouble. While everyone enjoys their partners company, and can be made happy from that, for someone to require a partner to be happy is unhealthy. I'm not saying this is true of you, but if it is...

2) why you don't trust your OH. Clearly you don't trust him, yet for the 6 months you have been together, has he let you down? If not, how long will it take him to gain your trust? Will he ever?

3) why you are so quick to condemn him and destroy your relationship on the back of a flippant internet comment. The longer you go out with someone, you'll experience more and more instances where mistakes are made. What happens when he calls you by a different name some day? Will he have had an affair, or will it be a simple slip of the toungue (pardon the pun).
    Only trust will get you through these. Only trust will get you through a relationship.

4) your issues with men. It appears from your post that "boys will be boys" means men are unfaithful. This is untrue. People can be unfaithful, that is a truth. Do you really have that little respect for men? If so, why bother with a relationship???

I have no idea why he would choose to keep schtum about the bebo site. Maybve he felt like many here do that somehow a public forum like that should have the same privileges as private ones? It's amazing hoiw silly and irrational some people are. But keep sctum he did.

As for 'boys will be boys' - that's the OP's comment, not mine. I never said 'men are unfaiithful' - that's your comment.

But as you say 'people can be unfaithful'. I agree. So why not countenance even a remote possibility of that in this instance?

...just so we are clear: you don't believe he cheated, you just think it's suspicious? Is that correct?

As for 'boys will be boys' - that's the OP's comment, not mine. I never said 'men are unfaiithful' - that's your comment.
    Thanks for pointing that out, although I don't know how necessary it really was - noone credited you with that quote.
    But as you say 'people can be unfaithful'. I agree. So why not countenance even a remote possibility of that in this instance?
    Why not assume that someone is guilty because of a flippant ambiguous comment from one of their mates?

Do you really want me to answer that??