Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lads Holiday - Did he cheat?

• 21-08-2008 7:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Morning All,

I have been with my boyfriend for 6 months and things are (were) going great. He told me he
    loved me about 3 months and I happily told him I feel the same way.

Last week he went over to Marbella for a lads holiday, about 10 of them went in total. I was
    a little apprehensive about him going, not too much, just a little. I trust him but boys will be boys on these trips and the old 'what happens on the road, stays on the road' rule usually applies. Anyway, off he went and I really missed him. It wasn't a great week for me, I tend to worry a fair bit and I kept picturing him on beaches surrounded by beautiful women, in strip clubs etc. Like I said I do trust him but I will admit I felt uneasy.

He came home on Sunday and I was thrilled to see him. He was wrecked from all the drinking and late nights so I haven't seen much of him this week. He suggested dinner tomorrow night.

I'm 28 and he's 30 so we're a bit old for the whole Bebo malarky but I was bored in work yesterday and was looking through it. I'm not on it and as far as I knew he isn't either. We've often talked about how silly Bebo is (no offence to those who are on it!). I put his surname in, it's an unusual name, and I found his younger sisters page. He was in her friends list. He has a profile afterall. There was very little on it but I was annoyed that he had one and didn't tell me. Anyway, there was a comment left from one of the lads he was away with that read:

'How's it going man, I'm still in a heap from the hoilday, must be from all the riding!Told you
    we'd tear it up over there no bother. Girls just wanna have fun! See ya over the weekend'

Now. I was sick to my stomach. He clearly cheated on me when he was over there. Also, the guy who left the comment I have only met once and I didn't particularly like him. He's a real jack-the-lad and a real Dub if you know what I mean. I don't like him hanging out with guys like that cause it always leads to trouble.

Am I jumping to conclusions here or do you think he cheated? If he cheated it is over, no second chances, no crappy explanations. How can I find out for sure and how will I approach him? I knwo he'll deny it cause that's naturally what people do when they get caught out..

Please help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

The fact that he has a Bebo profile doesn't matter, as you said yourself there wasn't much on it, so he clearly doesn't use it too often.

As for the friend's comment - you're reading too much into it. All it says to me is that the friend got laid. It doesn't make any explicit reference to your boyfriend.

Take a deep breath, you need to relax a little before you go and do anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

iblamebebo wrote: »
    'How's it going man, I'm still in a heap from the hoilday, must be from all the riding!Told you
    we'd tear it up over there no bother. Girls just wanna have fun! See ya over the weekend'

Now based on that comment his friend was shagging, so what makes you automatically jump to conclusions that your fella was ? Thats a bit of a leap of logic right there.

Also even though you state you trust him, you clearly don't otherwise you wouldn't be picturing him with other women and worrying etc.

Approach him if you like, it may put your mind at rest

Not say he didn'tcheat just that the shred of evidence you have doesn't mean a whole lot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭Suzyq

Personally I wouldn't read too much into it - the guy who left the message was blowing his own trumpet if you ask me... He sounds like a loser.

It depends on how much you're into him and how much you want to rock the boat with him. Decide whether or not you trust him and take it from there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

That's what I call a load of "cock and balls". Men being Men for men's sake.

I have done the long distance relationship/holidays thing and sure you'd be worried but trust is such massive thing - you either have it or you dont.

If it was me and the other way around, not that girls would leave that sort of message ;), I wouldn't think too much of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

I was
    a little apprehensive about him going, not too much, just a little. I trust him but boys will be boys on these trips and the old 'what happens on the road, stays on the road' rule usually applies. Anyway, off he went and I really missed him. It wasn't a great week for me, I tend to worry a fair bit and I kept picturing him on beaches surrounded by beautiful women, in strip clubs etc. Like I said I do trust him but I will admit I felt uneasy.

Nope you don't trust him really. You were half expecting something to happen and were worrying about it
    Anyway, there was a comment left from one of the lads he was away with that read:

So this fits into your assumptions above, validating your suspicions.
    . I was sick to my stomach. He clearly cheated on me when he was over there.

2+2= 5.

You know the history of the other guy, it was a group. "we" could refer to the group easy enough.
    Nothing clear in that statement apart from your insecurity and suspicion
    Am I jumping to conclusions here or do you think he cheated? If he cheated it is over, no second chances, no crappy explanations. How can I find out for sure and how will I approach him? I knwo he'll deny it cause that's naturally what people do when they get caught out..

I dont think anything one way or another on this. If you worry you should talk to him about it.
    But already you have him in a corner as the well he would say no wouldn't he attitude.

He could very well say no because nothing happened and not because he was caught out.

Catch22.

Your mind is, it appears, already made up. The suspicions are reality with the flimsiest of evidence.
    At 28 you be looking to your own beahviour first :).
    Then find the truth of the matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Sounds like his friend got laid. When he said "i told ya we'd tear it up over there", going on the tear just means drinking.

I wouldn't worry about it to much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Your fella goes away and you spent the whole week thinking about him on a beach or in a strip club?

Yeah, sounds like you trust him alright!

The only thing i see happening here is you validating your own fears that he cheated from a stupid Bebo message.

Ask him did he cheat on you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I agree with above posters, you obviously have trust issues anyway. When my girlfriend went away with her friends the thought of her cheating while she was away didn't even enter my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭neosmaster

I think you might be jumping to conclusions a small bit...

From the sound of your BF's buddy it looks like he got some action ( Or none and is saying it to make it out to the lads he did )

I'd never use the phrase " tear it up " to make out I got laid....To me "tear it up " means I drank till I dropped....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,610 ✭✭✭Karen_*

In fairness to the OP he went on a lads holiday where the aim was to tear the place up and get women. Also I assume there would be large amounts of drink taken. So obviously its going to enter her head that something might happen. If it didn't enter her head and she wasn't a tiny bit apprehensive that would be quite unusual.

Karen_* wrote: »
    In fairness to the OP he went on a lads holiday where the aim was to tear the place up and get women. Also I assume there would be large amounts of drink taken. So obviously its going to enter her head that something might happen. If it didn't enter her head and she wasn't a tiny bit apprehensive that would be quite unusual.

I disagree. Or maybe it's just the way a secure human mind works. When i am in a relationship with someone it would never enter my head that they would cheat on me.

This is based on the simple fact that there is not a single circumstance in the world that would make ME cheat on a girlfriend. It's called trust.

If i stand in a room with 9 rapist i'm not there to rape someone.
    If i stand in a room with 9 accountants i still won't get the columns to make any sense.
    If i stand in a room with 9 drunk lads looking to get laid it sure as **** doesn't mean i am.

Guilty by association i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭smileysurfer

Sounds to me like you were doubting him way before you even saw the bebo comment! and also no offense but you sound incredibly insecure, that comment made no indication that your boyfriend played away so i think your reading too mmuch into it. if your doubting him that much confront him but im pretty sure he wont be pleased with the lack of trust. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Okay, well you've all put my mind at ease to a degree.

I'm not sure I'll be able to let it go without confronting him though. I'm not gonna accuse him of anything, I'm just gonna ask him straight out if he cheated over there.

If his friend was referring to just drinking and the fact that he got laid, why would leave a message for my bf saying...I told ya we'd tear it up over there, girls just wanna have fun.

It says to me that my bf was worried that he night not score and his friend is saying...told you we would easily!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,252 ✭✭✭✭Madame Razz

I have to agree with the majority of posters here.

Just cos his friend got laid doesn't mean your boyf went at it like a rabbit aswell.

This guy has told you that he loves you, thats pretty big deal for most guys to say, and you have reciprocated.

But I have to say its a funny kind of love you're expressing if you dont even remotely trust your OH.

Just my tuppence worth...

MH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

His mate got laid! Not him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭05D

You could be jumping the gun a bit.

If I were u, I would set up a page -say a friend roped you into it and leave him a message.

So then he'll know you seen what his friend wrote.

The ball will be in his court then

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Dragan wrote: »
    I disagree. Or maybe it's just the way a secure human mind works. When i am in a relationship with someone it would never enter my head that they would cheat on me.

This is based on the simple fact that there is not a single circumstance in the world that would make ME cheat on a girlfriend. It's called trust.

If i stand in a room with 9 accountants i still won't get the columns to make any sense.
    If i stand in a room with 9 drunk lads looking to get laid it sure as **** doesn't mean i am.

I agree with this, though I will say I've never cheated on a girlfriend, but I have been cheated on. So I can also understand the OP's misgivings, though I think like the rest of the posters she should just trust the guy. As I say I've been cheated on(very badly let down on two occasions), so it would not be unnatural to be wary in my case, but I would never make the assumption that the next person I'm with would repeat that pattern.

Trust is everything.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

05D wrote: »
    You could be jumping the gun a bit.

If I were u, I would set up a page -say a friend roped you into it and leave him a message.

So then he'll know you seen what his friend wrote.

The ball will be in his court then
    I wouldn't do that IMHO. That just escalates the whole thing and will do no good at all. Let it go.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Burial

Morning All,

I have been with my boyfriend for 6 months and things are (were) going great. He told me he

Last week he went over to Marbella for a lads holiday, about 10 of them went in total. I was

He came home on Sunday and I was thrilled to see him. He was wrecked from all the drinking and late nights so I haven't seen much of him this week. He suggested dinner tomorrow night.

I'm 28 and he's 30 so we're a bit old for the whole Bebo malarky but I was bored in work yesterday and was looking through it. I'm not on it and as far as I knew he isn't either. We've often talked about how silly Bebo is (no offence to those who are on it!). I put his surname in, it's an unusual name, and I found his younger sisters page. He was in her friends list. He has a profile afterall. There was very little on it but I was annoyed that he had one and didn't tell me. Anyway, there was a comment left from one of the lads he was away with that read:

Now. I was sick to my stomach. He clearly cheated on me when he was over there. Also, the guy who left the comment I have only met once and I didn't particularly like him. He's a real jack-the-lad and a real Dub if you know what I mean. I don't like him hanging out with guys like that cause it always leads to trouble.

Please help

Your jumping to conclusions. A huge conclusion. My friend posts this on my bebo page quite often. ("The Girls just want to have fun" bit) If he wants me to do something, he'd say "c'mon! Girls just want to have fun" or "Us girls need to have our fun". Unless you get more proof or anything else that could lead you to the conclusion, your sounding like a crazy GF.

My friends "doesn't" use myspace. He has one, but rarely if ever logs on. He tells people he doesn't have a myspace yet he does have one. Your seriously jumping to conclusions.

*EDIT*

I think I've struck a new low... I missed the "must be from all the riding!" part.... Ok, still sounds to me like his friend got laid, because if your BF got laid there, who'd be that retarded to post it on a bebo for all to see?? Seriously, your jumping to conclusions. Ask him about the trip if your that worried...

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

This has already been mentioned but really you need to admit that you were checking up on him. You didnt 'happen' to put his name in bebo, you were looking for him, looking for evidence of what went on on holiday. And now youve found something to make you more worried. What did you think youd find, a pic of him at church? He was on a lads holiday, and whether he cheated or not he was going to behave as lads do, which wouldnt be reassuring to you no matter what.

The way I see it, youll never really know whether he cheated on you or not. Marksie went into that above, he can say he didnt, will you believe him though? So. That leaves you with a choice. To trust what he says and examine why you feel insecure, or harangue him till your mistrust causes major hassle between you. Suck up your doubt and move on, or pick away at your relationship till you damage it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭paperclip2

Hi OP.

I think that this is one of those times where you can choose what to believe, rather than going on an indepth fact finding mission. If you trust your boyfriend and you have no incontrovertible proof he did the bad thing with someone else, unless he comes out and says yes, he did get up to all sorts, then whats wrong with choosing to believe he didn't?

At this moment in time whats the alternative, driving yourself mad with suspicion. That is really not a nice way to live. I dunno, but I see this as one of those things that you let go because holding onto it is just going to cause you grief. I'd disregard what the mate said on bebo. From your post you don't have a very high opinion of him anyway so why would you let his comment dictate to your relationship with your bf?

Good luck OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭professorpete

Marksie wrote: »
    Nope you don't trust him really. You were half expecting something to happen and were worrying about it

So this fits into your assumptions above, validating your suspicions.

2+2= 5.

You know the history of the other guy, it was a group. "we" could refer to the group easy enough.
    Nothing clear in that statement apart from your insecurity and suspicion

I dont think anything one way or another on this. If you worry you should talk to him about it.
    But already you have him in a corner as the well he would say no wouldn't he attitude.

He could very well say no because nothing happened and not because he was caught out.

Catch22.

Your mind is, it appears, already made up. The suspicions are reality with the flimsiest of evidence.
    At 28 you be looking to your own beahviour first :).
    Then find the truth of the matter

Cheers Marksie this is exactly what I was gonna say! She's already made her mind up (before he went away in the first place)

OP you sound incredibly insecure and uptght - have you been cheated on before? Your OH doesn't deserve that kind of suspicion - people go away on lads' holidays all the time, all over the world and don't cheat, it's just one facet of sun holidays that you're worried about, unneccesarily IMO.

About the cryptic comment on the BEBO, maybe the song they heard the most over there was girls just wana have fun - who knows it might be something innocent like that..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭i71jskz5xu42pb

About the cryptic comment on the BEBO, maybe the song they heard the most over there was girls just wana have fun - who knows it might be something innocent like that..

They went on a lads holiday not a gay holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭shellie11

Okay, well you've all put my mind at ease to a degree.

I'm not sure I'll be able to let it go without confronting him though. I'm not gonna accuse him of anything, I'm just gonna ask him straight out if he cheated over there.

If his friend was referring to just drinking and the fact that he got laid, why would leave a message for my bf saying...I told ya we'd tear it up over there, girls just wanna have fun.

It says to me that my bf was worried that he night not score and his friend is saying...told you we would easily!

i think you need to chillax a bit! ye arent together that long so he should be allowed to go on a boys holiday if he wants AND without having to face confrontation about cheating on you as soon as he returns! i dont think he would be worried if it was the other way around and you went on a girly holiday.

if everything was going well up to this and you had no reason before to not trust him then let this one go, it could ruin things for your relationship if you confront him, as he will obviously get mad that you even need to ask this question.

I really think his friend was referring to himself, and bragging about it on bebo for everyone to see, he wouldnt annouce on bebo that your bf cheated on you...

Good luck with everything, and stop worrying :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Morning All,

Please help

listen, im gonna be straight with ya. YEA he probably did cheat on ya. if he didnt tell ya he had a bebo profile, theres probably tons more stuff he didnt tell you. i bet 100% he cheated. a lads holiday, and yer only going out 6 months. fact is-im a man,and plenty of us cheat, not saying i would but............ temptation oon a holiday is too much for some to take. 6 months hes thinkin, 'sure fck it',' tell nobody lads'. maybe he didnt ride anyone,but i dunno if ud be ok with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Maggie Simpson

Tread carefully OP. If my BF 'asked me straight out' whether I'd cheated on him just because I'd been away on a girls holiday - I'd be very pissed off.

Trust in paramount in any relationship & you clearly don't trust him. You either need to learn to trust him, or move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Magicmatilda

Hi OP.

The way you say 'it wasn't a great week for me' is something you should look at. You must be insecure, you boyfriend went away on hols and you had a bad week. Why did it impact so much? Why were you so worried? That was time you could have been enjoying yourself. Now I am not saying it is a bad thing to be insecure but it usually equates with unhappiness, particularly with yourself. You need to start making yourself happy in whatever way you can. Long walks, massages, chats with friends all that stuff. Until you are really happy with yourself you will not be secure. The issue here is your insecurity because think about it, if you come straight out and ask him 'Did you cheat?' and he says 'No' which he probably will say either way, are you just going to be able to say 'OK grand then' and move on or are you going to say 'are you sure?'.

listen, im gonna be straight with ya. YEA he probably did cheat on ya. if he didnt tell ya he had a bebo profile, theres probably tons more stuff he didnt tell you. i bet 100% he cheated. a lads holiday, and yer only going out 6 months. fact is-im a man,and plenty of us cheat, not saying i would but............ temptation oon a holiday is too much for some to take. 6 months hes thinkin, 'sure fck it',' tell nobody lads'. maybe he didnt ride anyone,but i dunno if ud be ok with that.

The strength of that logic just cannot be argued with.

Oh, hang on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Your not going to come out of it happy either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,008 ✭✭✭not yet

Only you can know him well enough to say......

My opinion would be yeah he got nasty.

I've been on enough ''trips'' to tell you even the most loved up guy can be tempted.

Now would all the naive loved up ladies please not jump on me ''pardon the pun'' this is a simple fact of life in todays world. IF THERE WERE NO BAD WOMAN ETC ETC.

Being tempted is very different to giving in to temptation.

True.........but in my honsest opinion most lads will stray at some stage.....sad I know but there you go.

Bye the way I also think woman are just as bad.

Well I have to say I disagree with you. I don't think the majority of people do stray and that includes men. There's nothing to suggest that the Op's boyfriend did anything on the holiday and she's most likely worrying about nothing.

But if she's looking for something hard enough then she'll eventually find something even if what she finds is not how it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

not yet wrote: »
    True.........but in my honsest opinion most lads will stray at some stage.....sad I know but there you go.

God I really hope you're wrong. Why do people bother to stay in relationships if they clearly want other people. It boogles the mind!

I for one have never stayed in a relationship if I have been tempted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Well I have to say I disagree with you. I don't think the majority of people do stray and that includes men. There's nothing to suggest that the Op's boyfriend did anything on the holiday and she's most likely worrying about nothing.

But if she's looking for something hard enough then she'll eventually find something even if what she finds is not how it seems.

So what you are saying it that if you look hard enough at your partner you will automatically find them cheating on you? You have some serious trust issues.

No Cuddlesworth I'm saying that if you're obsessed that your partner might be cheating and you're constantly checking up on them and worrying then eventually you'll find something that causes you concern whether it be a remark by a friend on their bebo site or a text message or whatever. You'll get all upset over such a thing like a remark and it won't necessarily mean they are cheating at all. Go looking hard enough and you'll find something. But you'll probably be wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

Hah

Dragan every one of your posts makes me wet myself laughing.

I've never come across such a perfectly centered and all round solid guy. Kudos.

OP when you're talking to the lad tonight, why don't you just come out and ask him.
    If he says no, you go with that, and get on with it.

Goodluck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

Well, maybe a lot of younger men would, but the OP's boyfriend is 30. At 30, most men have got the whole "sowing their wild oats/sleeping around regardless" out of their systems and are a lot more trustworthy than, say, a young guy around 22/23 who hasn't experienced a lot of the world and can't control himself.

OP, stop spying on your boyf and learn to trust him. Until you have an actual admission of guilt, you have to assume innocence. Tbh, at 28, you should know this already.

chump wrote: »
    I've never come across such a perfectly centered and all round solid guy. Kudos.

Cheers! Sadly it all falls apart when you meet me!

In all honesty i have simply made a lot of mistakes, i've thought silly things and have had my jealouse moments. The thing is, i learned from them as i grew older and now i'm a reasonably balanced person.

None of us can hope to be infallable but we can ALL hope to learn from our experiences, even the bad ones and even when they are our own doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,398 ✭✭✭MIN2511

ASK HIM...

Dont assume anything

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

MIN2511 wrote: »
    ASK HIM...

Dont assume anything

I don't understand why people are giving the OP this advice.

By asking him, OP, you are admitting that you do not trust him. If everything is innocent, then you may destroy your relationship as he will always feel that he can't do anything without you always thinking he's up to something bad.

My advice would be to assume he did not do anything, based on the fact that you do not have any evidence, and forget about the whole thing.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

....I was a little apprehensive about him going, not too much, just a little. I trust him but boys will be boys on these trips and the old 'what happens on the road, stays on the road' rule usually applies. Anyway, off he went and I really missed him. It wasn't a great week for me, I tend to worry a fair bit and I kept picturing him on beaches surrounded by beautiful women, in strip clubs etc. Like I said I do trust him but I will admit I felt uneasy.

Why the apprehension OP? Why the worry? Why the mental images?

We've no idea whether he cheated or not, but your preconceived worries mean that he might as well have regardless.

The strength of that logic just cannot be argued with.

Oh, hang on.

you dont think he cheated? ur a bigger fool.

tell him you caught an std off him!!! that'l **** him up!!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

newballsplease
    Banned for a week.
    B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Big Knox

He clearly cheated on me when he was over there.

Unless theres ALOT more to the story I can't see where you worked that one out OP. Thinking too much into it.

Firstly may I ask why newballsplease was or should be banned..................
    You see I'm kinda new to this and dont really get the reason.

Back to the bf doing the nasty...... If he did or didn't just forget about it or you'll drive yourself mad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Firstly may I ask why newballsplease was or should be banned..................
    You see I'm kinda new to this and dont really get the reason.

Back to the bf doing the nasty...... If he did or didn't just forget about it or you'll drive yourself mad.

Breaching the charter in so many aspects. Off topic posting, trolling, abuse.
    Take time to have alook at the charter in PI as you are new.

Now back on topic folks

Marksie wrote: »
    Breaching the charter in so many aspects. Off topic posting, trolling, abuse.
    Take time to have alook at the charter in PI as you are new.

Now back on topic folks

Cool........that'll do me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,021 ✭✭✭LadyE

The bebo message doesn’t imply that he cheated..It says that he got drunk and his friend got laid.

The real issue here, imo, is why were you looking for a bebo page for him and why do you not trust him? Insecure or because he gives you reason (beyond the message) that he has?