Posh schools

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Most sport is gay.

Soccer- 22 over-hyped men running after a ball for 90 minutes
    Rugby- a bunch of burly men who stuff their heads into each other's asses every few minutes.

This is coming from the mod in charge of ''Zombie Survival'' :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Dragan wrote: »
    I was always suprised by the attitude of people towards Rugby in Dublin.

Dublin must be the only county in the country where rugby is considered the posh mans game. When i played at home and in Limerick rugby was the preserve of the angry and the unemployed, the bitter and the criminally minded.
    It's a posho game in Cork too - the preserve of the private school etc. Hurling in the public schools.
    Yeah I believe rugby transcends class boundaries in Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

The reason rugby isn't played in public schools is because deep down all the tough lads are afraid of having their tough rep tarnished by being completely killed by a 17stone prop from Dalkey.

Anto claims he would kill those poshie rugger buggers if he had the chance though and his friends agree as they sit down to watch Cristiano Ronaldo play in what they consider a real man's game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,329 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Why is it that posh schools get tv coverage when it comes to rugby?

It's equality - kids from 'skanger schools' will get plenty of coverage on
    Crimeline when they grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Most sport is gay.

Rugby- a bunch of burly men who stuff their heads into each other's asses every few minutes.

Getting picked last for teams is terrible I know. But it was years ago, boney.

You have to let go of the bitterness. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Dudess wrote: »
    It's a posho game in Cork too - the preserve of the private school etc. Hurling in the public schools.

Amen to that! You only have to go to a Munster match in Musgrave to see the wannabe D4 girls strutting their stuff.

BrightEyes wrote: »
    This is coming from the mod in charge of ''Zombie Survival'' :p

I'm sorry but I just have to ask:

What on Earth does this have to do with sport being gay?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,160 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Xavi6 is too thin to come to the rugby forum for a week :P

Not at all. I was only in there over the weekend lending my support to the Wallabies! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Rugby is just a sport for those who are too uncoordinated or too fat to play soccer.

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭ibh

I'm pretty sure that schools GAA gets some coverage for the national competitions latter stages so it's really only Soccer that misses out.
    TBH i would imagine the ineptitude of the FAI would have something to do with it.

In both schools rugby and top quality schools GAA I would imagine there are quite a few players who progress to International / Interprovincial prominence within a few years of playing in the school competition.
    Rob Kearney, Luke Fitzgerald etc and in GAA i know quite a few county players who came from the successful Dungannon Academy in Ulster and are now county footballers or off playing AFL in Oz.

In Soccer most good young players have been snapped up by the time they are 16 and carted off to England. Therefore out of the Senior students in a national schools competition, very few would go on to become household names.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭seamus-2k7

The reason rugby isn't played in public schools is because deep down all the tough lads are afraid of having their tough rep tarnished by being completely killed by a 17stone prop from Dalkey.

Anto claims he would kill those poshie rugger buggers if he had the chance though and his friends agree as they sit down to watch Cristiano Ronaldo play in what they consider a real man's game

When i played for my public school all the 'posh school' players were scared of the tight hair cuts and scanger accents. Ile never forget two d4 heads hiding in the showers during a match:p

+1 to the Soccor is gay movement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

keen wrote: »
    Agreed.

Disagree. Having played soccer, rguby, both national sports and even ultimate frisbee i can happily say that any such attributes will all be purely positional in nature. Lots of fast and agile and highly co-ordinated guys on a rugby pitch...to say other wise is blanket statement rubbish.

Much like the whole "soccer players are pussies" thing. Sure, some of them spend a lot of time seeking free kicks/penalities and can't seem to take a tackle but for everyone of these is a guy sticking in a tackle. :)

I simply lost interest in soccer because i couldn't really make live games....and that is where it's at for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Most sport is gay.

You could make anything sound boring if you simplify what you don't dislike in this way.

Rally driving a load of men driving around in the muck.
    Golf a load of men hitting a ball around a field.
    Kick boxing two men kicking each other in a ring.
    Watching a film a load of men staring at a screen for two hours.

And so on, it seems boring to you because you don't like it, if you did like it it would seem a lot more interesting

Mr.S wrote: »
    When i was in school, people would actually be scared of crossing the liffey :rolleyes:

I don't think ill ever forgive my parents for wasting 6 and a half grand a year on sending me to school =/

oh, and they where ****e at Rugby:D

north or south:D my school was sh1te at rugby too:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

soccer is the "beautiful game"

rugby is a game for homos from the southside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Mr.S wrote: »
    When i was in school, people would actually be scared of crossing the liffey :rolleyes:

I don't think ill ever forgive my parents for wasting 6 and a half grand a year on sending me to school =/

oh, and they where ****e at Rugby:D

KH?

edit:just saw its north.

copeyhagen wrote: »
    soccer is the "beautiful game"

rugby is a game for homos from the southside.

It used to be the "beautiful game". Now it's just about some metrosexual males getting paid far too much for doing so little.

And I agree that if I had an interest in it I would like it, but I just don't, so I don't like it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

i think rugby is on;y really played in 'posh' schools, is the fact a soccer ball is what...10euro, a rugby ball costs alot more and the public schools ust dont have the funding, that and they wouldnt get into old wes for the matches without their dubes :p

Any school can afford a few balls. My school is public and is fully sponsered with kits tracksuits etc. Money helps but does not make a team good.

seamus-2k7 wrote: »
    Any school can afford a few balls. My school is public and is fully sponsered with kits tracksuits etc. Money helps but does not make a team good.

I agree. It's like when people keep saying they need the best equiptment for sports; good soccer shoes, good racing bike, etc etc. These help, but it wont make you good. It's like me painting racing strips on my shoes to make me run faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭hunter164

I agree. It's like when people keep saying they need the best equiptment for sports; good soccer shoes, good racing bike, etc etc. These help, but it wont make you good. It's like me painting racing strips on my shoes to make me run faster.

You never know they just might...........

hunter164 wrote: »
    You never know they just might...........

Really? Awesome

/gets white paint

Watch out, Linford Christy.

Really? Awesome

/gets white paint

Watch out, Linford Christy.

Sure i thought Linford stopped running a few years ago?

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,505 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i think rugby is on;y really played in 'posh' schools, is the fact a soccer ball is what...10euro, a rugby ball costs alot more and the public schools ust dont have the funding, that and they wouldnt get into old wes for the matches without their dubes :p

finally! the voice of reason!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

Hilarious,

However to be fair a decent hurling player, from a knacker school, lets call him anto, is probably fairly handy when it comes to killing people......

That said there are few untrained people out there that would have a chance against a 17 stone lad, thats just physics nothing to do with the sport he plays :D

I'd have a great amount of respect for a lad that can take a hit from a 17 stone fella and get up and walk away from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭gabgab

yeh actually, I wonder is there anything on the net about some distinctly slimmer fella in a real situation winning a row,

I guess a fella with the skill could give it a good go, but 17stone is a lot of weight,

Also the school I was in played alot of hurling and soccer, the hurlers were always held in that kind of awe regard to the ones that did not play. I mean lets be fair, they kick the **** out of one another...... While playing an immensely quick and skillful game,

Do you mean hurling?

seamus-2k7 wrote: »
    When i played for my public school all the 'posh school' players were scared of the tight hair cuts and scanger accents. Ile never forget two d4 heads hiding in the showers during a match:p

I'm a posh school player and I am not afraid of tight hair cuts and scanger accents neither was anyone on my team we just generally tried to avoid people with them because they smelt really bad and their general grammer and foul language was atrocious also there was always the fear of being stabbed with a syringe filled with aids and poverty when in the vicinity of someone with a 'Dub' accent.

Your tough though well done you rough public schoolers with your tight haircuts and accents are truly the unsung heroes of society.

now if you excuse me Fiontan has invited me for a round of golf at the K club

gabgab wrote: »
    yeh actually, I wonder is there anything on the net about some distinctly slimmer fella in a real situation winning a row,

I guess a fella with the skill could give it a good go, but 17stone is a lot of weight,

Also the school I was in played alot of hurling and soccer, the hurlers were always held in that kind of awe regard to the ones that did not play. I mean lets be fair, they kick the **** out of one another...... While playing an immensely quick and skillful game,

Your seeing 17 stone as fat though

I'm 6'1 16stone and lean as in 6-pack and everything, my BMI says I am obese but one look in the mirror and you will see I am just very muscular (Muscle weighs twice as much as fat)

Again, a lad on my team was 19stone but at 6'7 or something.

Then there was absolute beast of a prop at 5'10 18stone from Crumlin, tough ****er and I would winch if anyone ever called him a soft, poshie player.

The days of fat, overweight players are gone even props these days whilst looking heavy will be more fit than a lot of people here anyone who has played rugby and realises the amount of work a forward has to do will realize just how fit anyone in the pack is.