Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Posh schools

• 16-06-2008 1:41am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭

Why is it that posh schools get tv coverage when it comes to rugby?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Because it's coverage of the rugby cup and not of the schools teams themselves?

Also, why not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Cos the Senior Cup is like sooooo the biggest focking event of the year. Hello?!?!?!

Not to mention - poor schools have all the ugly kids and trouble makers, god knows what they'd do given the opportunity to be infront of a camera.

I think those muppets uploading videos of themselves joyriding is a good indication though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭geurrp the yard

Rb wrote: »
    Because it's coverage of the rugby cup and not of the schools teams themselves?

Also, why not?

Yeah but its mainly the so called posh schools who participate in the schools cup. Im all for giving coverage to grassroots stuff but how come this doesnt happen with soccer, the most popular sport in the country. Must be a case of daddy been on the board of directors on setanta sports.

Because soccer is shíte?

To be honest no one gives a shite about schools soccer. The school doesn't get behind it or pump money into it like the egg chasers. Private schools build their whole year around the senior cup. It was great seeing Castleknock go out in the first round every year. They'd be like "Ehhhh so what do we do now seeing as we've done fuck all school work for the last 2 years?". :D
    Because soccer is shíte?

Rugby is just a sport for those who are too uncoordinated or too fat to play soccer.

Because soccer is shíte?

And rugby is gay.

http://ewrfc.ie/

Nuthing better than a good hard scrum for those creatine taking posh boyos :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,854 ✭✭✭Sinfonia

We're not a socialist country.
    Get over it or gtfo

SumGuy wrote: »
    Get over it or gtfo

Ooooh roid rage! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Because soccer is shíte?

OH NO HE DID NOT!

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Ooooh roid rage! :pac:

lol
    nah i'd be more like a slightly miffed couch potato

Get over it or gtfo

Ouch, must have touched a nerve there. Did ya not win
    the senior cup in your blackrock college playing days. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

It's shown on Setanta...not exactly TV coverage to be proud of!

Rugby is just a sport for those who are too uncoordinated or too fat to play soccer.
    At least it's not full of guys who throw themselves onto the ground clutching their leg and crying for a penalty:p

And rugby is gay.

http://ewrfc.ie/

Nuthing better than a good hard scrum for those creatine taking posh boyos :D
    So you're a homophobe?

Ouch, must have touched a nerve there. Did ya not win
    the senior cup in your blackrock college playing days. :pac:

I don't know what gave you the idea that I have any interest in rugby :confused: but I just think bitterness regarding people who have money (and I was referring to this comment:Must be a case of daddy been on the board of directors on setanta sports) is kind of stupid.

I don't get why posh schools on setanta sports bothers you though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

At least football isn't played by rugby players!

btw I just realised I imagine you AS chris crocker rb, I picture chris crocker in a mansion on the south side :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

The popularity of rugby has rocketed in the last few years, it's no longer the preserve of The Rock and Belvo.
    I absolutely despise the stereotypical ruggerbugger but there aren't too many of them about as they grow out of gang raping underaged girls in old wesley and other ruggerbugger activities before they hit the real world.

I don't know what gave you the idea that I have any interest in rugby :confused: but I just think bitterness regarding people who have money (and I was referring to this comment:Must be a case of daddy been on the board of directors on setanta sports) is kind of stupid.

Well can you answer me the question with regards to leinster schools rugby been televised and not soccer.

No idea, don't really care...
    But if it were a case of somebody's daddy being on the board of directors, it wouldn't bother me...If I had a ****load of money and/or some important position I'd probably use it to wangle stuff for my kids (if I also had kids).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,366 ✭✭✭luckat

Believe me, if some poor school starts rocketing up the league the journalists will be all over them. Nothing the newspapers (and their readers) love more than an underdog-triumphs story.

A question I don't know the answer to - how many public schools offer rugby as a sport?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

Because soccer is shíte?

Myth wrote: »
    A question I don't know the answer to - how many public schools offer rugby as a sport?

In my experience very few. Most public schools would be GAA/Soccer orientated. As a kid if any of my friends wanted to play rugby then they went to private schools. My gf's brothers were moved from a public school to a private just to play rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

I went to a public school, we won Connaught/Connacht Schools Cup 3 times in my 6 years there (You had to do transition year hence the 6 years)

Defo not a posh school (hence public) and we got media coverage in the sense of newspaper/radio (Obviously not nationwide, but local). Infact, it was known as a very 'liberated' school in Galway City - Anyone from Galway will know the school i'm on about.... bongs in the jacks FTW :p

This was before Setanta started airing it, but I doubt they'd have any interest in Connaught/Connacht rugby... anything west of the Shannon is probably no good to them. Not bothered tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭Steve_o

kmart6 wrote: »
    It's shown on Setanta...not exactly TV coverage to be proud of!

Aye, if it were sky sports you would have something more to complain about!!! Also football (soccer:rolleyes:) is the beautiful game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,417 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

1)most young players who represent Ireland or major rugby clubs can be seen at an early age in this competition and travel through the excellent development system that the IRFU has in place.

2)Most people in positions of power in the major businesses and organises in Ireland went to one of the schools that participate and this competition appeals to them regardless of when they were in that school, this is because of the 'old school tie' mentality etc.

3)Most of these schools are massive compared to the schools that don't participate, so the potential audience that can be reached is far greater than what the OP would dub 'non-posh' schools.

4)School soccer and GAA is watered done somewhat by the participation of the lads playing it in clubs as well, and the clubs seems to be what is considered really important at underage level in those sports, and in fairness, Setanta show underage club (gaelic) football and hurling. In the rugby world, at least at that age, playing for your school is usually paramount with playing for a club an afterthought.

They're just some reasons off the top of my head, but i'm sure there's others.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,504 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

Soccer is the sport of gentlemen, played by savages
    rugby is the sport of savages, played by gentlemen.

Xavi6 is too thin to come to the rugby forum for a week :P

Most sport is gay.

Soccer- 22 over-hyped men running after a ball for 90 minutes
    Rugby- a bunch of burly men who stuff their heads into each other's asses every few minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

kowloon wrote: »
    The popularity of rugby has rocketed in the last few years, it's no longer the preserve of The Rock and Belvo.
    I absolutely despise the stereotypical ruggerbugger but there aren't too many of them about as they grow out of gang raping underaged girls in old wesley and other ruggerbugger activities before they hit the real world.

I was always suprised by the attitude of people towards Rugby in Dublin.

Dublin must be the only county in the country where rugby is considered the posh mans game. When i played at home and in Limerick rugby was the preserve of the angry and the unemployed, the bitter and the criminally minded.

Well...it was Limerick after all! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

Most sport is gay.

Rugby- a bunch of burly men who stuff their heads into each other's asses every few minutes.

This is coming from the mod in charge of ''Zombie Survival'' :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Dragan wrote: »
    I was always suprised by the attitude of people towards Rugby in Dublin.

Dublin must be the only county in the country where rugby is considered the posh mans game. When i played at home and in Limerick rugby was the preserve of the angry and the unemployed, the bitter and the criminally minded.
    It's a posho game in Cork too - the preserve of the private school etc. Hurling in the public schools.
    Yeah I believe rugby transcends class boundaries in Limerick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

The reason rugby isn't played in public schools is because deep down all the tough lads are afraid of having their tough rep tarnished by being completely killed by a 17stone prop from Dalkey.

Anto claims he would kill those poshie rugger buggers if he had the chance though and his friends agree as they sit down to watch Cristiano Ronaldo play in what they consider a real man's game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Why is it that posh schools get tv coverage when it comes to rugby?

It's equality - kids from 'skanger schools' will get plenty of coverage on
    Crimeline when they grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Most sport is gay.

Getting picked last for teams is terrible I know. But it was years ago, boney.

You have to let go of the bitterness. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

Dudess wrote: »
    It's a posho game in Cork too - the preserve of the private school etc. Hurling in the public schools.

Amen to that! You only have to go to a Munster match in Musgrave to see the wannabe D4 girls strutting their stuff.

BrightEyes wrote: »
    This is coming from the mod in charge of ''Zombie Survival'' :p

I'm sorry but I just have to ask:

What on Earth does this have to do with sport being gay?

Xavi6 is too thin to come to the rugby forum for a week :P

Not at all. I was only in there over the weekend lending my support to the Wallabies! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Agreed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭ibh

I'm pretty sure that schools GAA gets some coverage for the national competitions latter stages so it's really only Soccer that misses out.
    TBH i would imagine the ineptitude of the FAI would have something to do with it.

In both schools rugby and top quality schools GAA I would imagine there are quite a few players who progress to International / Interprovincial prominence within a few years of playing in the school competition.
    Rob Kearney, Luke Fitzgerald etc and in GAA i know quite a few county players who came from the successful Dungannon Academy in Ulster and are now county footballers or off playing AFL in Oz.

In Soccer most good young players have been snapped up by the time they are 16 and carted off to England. Therefore out of the Senior students in a national schools competition, very few would go on to become household names.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭seamus-2k7

The reason rugby isn't played in public schools is because deep down all the tough lads are afraid of having their tough rep tarnished by being completely killed by a 17stone prop from Dalkey.

Anto claims he would kill those poshie rugger buggers if he had the chance though and his friends agree as they sit down to watch Cristiano Ronaldo play in what they consider a real man's game

When i played for my public school all the 'posh school' players were scared of the tight hair cuts and scanger accents. Ile never forget two d4 heads hiding in the showers during a match:p

+1 to the Soccor is gay movement

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

keen wrote: »
    Agreed.

Disagree. Having played soccer, rguby, both national sports and even ultimate frisbee i can happily say that any such attributes will all be purely positional in nature. Lots of fast and agile and highly co-ordinated guys on a rugby pitch...to say other wise is blanket statement rubbish.

Much like the whole "soccer players are pussies" thing. Sure, some of them spend a lot of time seeking free kicks/penalities and can't seem to take a tackle but for everyone of these is a guy sticking in a tackle. :)

I simply lost interest in soccer because i couldn't really make live games....and that is where it's at for me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 987 ✭✭✭keen

Most sport is gay.

You could make anything sound boring if you simplify what you don't dislike in this way.

Rally driving a load of men driving around in the muck.
    Golf a load of men hitting a ball around a field.
    Kick boxing two men kicking each other in a ring.
    Watching a film a load of men staring at a screen for two hours.

And so on, it seems boring to you because you don't like it, if you did like it it would seem a lot more interesting

Mr.S wrote: »
    When i was in school, people would actually be scared of crossing the liffey :rolleyes:

I don't think ill ever forgive my parents for wasting 6 and a half grand a year on sending me to school =/

oh, and they where ****e at Rugby:D

north or south:D my school was sh1te at rugby too:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,528 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

soccer is the "beautiful game"

rugby is a game for homos from the southside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭Theresalwaysone

Mr.S wrote: »
    When i was in school, people would actually be scared of crossing the liffey :rolleyes:

I don't think ill ever forgive my parents for wasting 6 and a half grand a year on sending me to school =/

oh, and they where ****e at Rugby:D

KH?

edit:just saw its north.

copeyhagen wrote: »
    soccer is the "beautiful game"

rugby is a game for homos from the southside.

It used to be the "beautiful game". Now it's just about some metrosexual males getting paid far too much for doing so little.

And I agree that if I had an interest in it I would like it, but I just don't, so I don't like it.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

i think rugby is on;y really played in 'posh' schools, is the fact a soccer ball is what...10euro, a rugby ball costs alot more and the public schools ust dont have the funding, that and they wouldnt get into old wes for the matches without their dubes :p

Any school can afford a few balls. My school is public and is fully sponsered with kits tracksuits etc. Money helps but does not make a team good.

seamus-2k7 wrote: »
    Any school can afford a few balls. My school is public and is fully sponsered with kits tracksuits etc. Money helps but does not make a team good.

I agree. It's like when people keep saying they need the best equiptment for sports; good soccer shoes, good racing bike, etc etc. These help, but it wont make you good. It's like me painting racing strips on my shoes to make me run faster.