Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Offaly Qualifiers @ Ferbane

William Buckley Jnr Erry 85
    Larry Maher Jnr Erry 91
    Joe McGrath Jnr Erry 93
    Paul O'Gorman Tullamore 94
    Patsy Reams Ferbane 94
    Mick Byrne Tullamore 95 (OB18)
    Anthony Galvin Tullamore 95 (OB18)

Ferbane was quite soft, greens were decent. Personally I was delighted to qualify, as I'd a rough week, haven't hit a ball since the matchplay, and was dying with Hay Fever! Needed to sink a tasty l to r 6 footer for par, or else I was gone. :eek:

All credit to the Cork scoring, don'tknow what Mallow is like but jebus that was some scoring.
    Can't see the scoring being that good in Tullamore however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

Kingdom wrote: »

Larry Maher Jnr Erry 91
    Joe McGrath Jnr Erry 93
    Patsy Reams Ferbane 94

Ferbane was quite soft, greens were decent. Personally I was delighted to qualify, as I'd a rough week, haven't hit a ball since the matchplay, and was dying with Hay Fever! Needed to sink a tasty l to r 6 footer for par, or else I was gone. :eek:

All credit to the Cork scoring, don'tknow what Mallow is like but jebus that was some scoring.

Good scoring here Kingdom, delighted u qaulified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 191 ✭✭Tipperman

Larry Maher Jnr Erry 91
    Joe McGrath Jnr Erry 93
    Patsy Reams Ferbane 94

Kingdom

Well done on qual as I can only imagine the torment of not qual when you are due to play on your home course:o

Majestic is a nice course in Mallow where the Cork boys were playing.. I was fortunate to win the Scr Cup there last year but if you are not pitching well you won't score as you have to be on the right side of the greens.. It is small and tight (like a lot of courses in Cork) but there are some lovely shots there..-26 I have yet to manage myself but that is incredible scoring no matter what the course you are playing on...

Tullamore will be very interesting... -26 won there in 2004 and that was when William Buckley was to play the round of his life to prevail... I feel they will try and toughen up the course to keep the scoring down but the Scr Cup in 2 weeks time will be a nice dress rehearsal. I can't make the Scr Cup as it clashes with Hillview and that is a County Trial for us....

Eddie Carey didn't qual in Kildare so there is a big player gone from playing in Tullamore.. He has won the last 3 comps that have been held there but he didn't even turn up to the quals which is weird considering how well he plays Tullamore:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Dublin Inter Matchplay proved to be a valuable learning experience for me anyway, a serious beating was taken and I wont be making the same mistakes next year with regard to preparation.

In fairness my opponent played very well but I definitely let myself down. Great craic though, Erins Isle was in great condition and it was fantastic to see so many matches going on at once.

Draupnir wrote: »
    Dublin Inter Matchplay proved to be a valuable learning experience for me anyway, a serious beating was taken and I wont be making the same mistakes next year with regard to preparation.

In fairness my opponent played very well but I definitely let myself down. Great craic though, Erins Isle was in great condition and it was fantastic to see so many matches going on at once.

Sorry to hear u lost mate, all a learning experience, CPM was playing quite difficult yesterday, wind was blowing and hard greens and also some unfair pin positions, some of the top guns beaten as well

doylers08 wrote: »
    Here are the senior qualifiers from cork.

J Cahill (Fermoy) 82, 26 under par, course record;
    J Walsh (Collins) 84;
    N Collins (Majestic) 87;
    K Dunscombe (St Anne’s) 92;
    F Dineen (St.Annes) 93;
    B Delaney (ESB) 94;
    C Scannell (Collins) 94;
    E Walsh (Collins) 94;
    G O’Sullivan (Majestic) 94;
    R Donovan (Fermoy) 94;
    D Doyle (Elton, Cobh) 95;
    E Shannon (Collins) 95;
    F O’Donoghue (Templebreedy) 95;
    P O’Sullivan (Majestic) 95;
    P Curran (Majestic) 96.

Wekk done Mr Doyle, I;ll see you up in Tullamore for the finals. My advice would be to book somewhere now as there aren't many hotels in the town. The Days Hotel would be best. Middle of the town and cheap as chips.
    For anyone not driving, word of warning; its a fair walk out to the course from the town!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22 Jabba Da Putt

Only have time to do the seniors will post the inter and juniors late on

Second Round Ties

L Collins (cy) v F Ryan (RGSC)
    S Harkins RGSC v PJ McCluskey (Lucan)
    G Flanagan bye to the Quater Finals
    D Thornberry (CPM) v G Healy (Loughlinstown)
    A Gray (Glenville) v G Heffernan (Erins Isle)
    F Connolly (Glenville) v G Fitzpatrick (CPM)
    A Cuddihy (CPM) v A Lowe (OC)
    J McLaughlin (EI) v Paul Nolan (EI)

Howdi lads,
    Some good games last night only disappointing thing was a lot of walkovers, a whole section didn't turn up for Flanagan to get through to the 1/4's. Personally I dont think midweek comps work in Dublin anymore, league matches aside which is usually only once a week. Having to travel for up to 2 hours (erins Isle lads last night) after work 3 or 4 times a week is a bit too much too ask I feel. What do the country folk think? How do the midweek comps work down there?

Howdi lads,
    Some good games last night only disappointing thing was a lot of walkovers, a whole section didn't turn up for Flanagan to get through to the 1/4's. Personally I dont think midweek comps work in Dublin anymore, league matches aside which is usually only once a week. Having to travel for up to 2 hours (erins Isle lads last night) after work 3 or 4 times a week is a bit too much too ask I feel. What do the country folk think? How do the midweek comps work down there?

First of all what course u from mate - if u dont want to say its ok, we wanna see how many clubs are on boards.

Yes I totally agree with all ur comments jabba, there is nothin on this weekend, why could it not been then, it would make alot of sense and the numbers are rapidly declining, I say the numbers would double if we played it over the weekend, the all ireland matchplay has been a great success, why not give it a bash

doylers08 wrote: »
    Here are the senior qualifiers from cork.

J Cahill (Fermoy) 82, 26 under par, course record;
    J Walsh (Collins) 84;
    N Collins (Majestic) 87;
    K Dunscombe (St Anne’s) 92;
    F Dineen (St.Annes) 93;
    B Delaney (ESB) 94;
    C Scannell (Collins) 94;
    E Walsh (Collins) 94;
    G O’Sullivan (Majestic) 94;
    R Donovan (Fermoy) 94;
    D Doyle (Elton, Cobh) 95;
    E Shannon (Collins) 95;
    F O’Donoghue (Templebreedy) 95;
    P O’Sullivan (Majestic) 95;
    P Curran (Majestic) 96.

Thats unbelievable scoring, 82 is the lowest 36 score I've heard of, anyone else?

Howdi lads,

Jabba

In Tipp we only have 2 midweek Comps outside the National Matchplay Quals... We have Strokeplay quals before the Co Matchplay on the Wed before the finals which are on the Sunday.. I would have to say that numbers in general are always around the same which is about 24 etc... The Inters and Juniors have club quals and how many quals each club gets depends on entries etc.. The other mid week we play is just a County Trial so only those entered for the County Team are permitted to play in this...
    Something I was thinking from Dublin perpective would be.. Is it not easier to play 4 rounds of 18 holes on the Sat and then play 2 rounds of 36 holes on the Sunday.. It seems a little farcical that a lad can turn up and make the Quarter Final without playing a match... It should be run over two days. If the entry was very high let there be club quals and highest entry in each club gets more quals etc.... It would be a better competition in my view

Tipperman wrote: »
    Jabba

In Tipp we only have 2 midweek Comps outside the National Matchplay Quals... We have Strokeplay quals before the Co Matchplay on the Wed before the finals which are on the Sunday.. I would have to say that numbers in general are always around the same which is about 24 etc... The Inters and Juniors have club quals and how many quals each club gets depends on entries etc.. The other mid week we play is just a County Trial so only those entered for the County Team are permitted to play in this...
    Something I was thinking from Dublin perpective would be.. Is it not easier to play 4 rounds of 18 holes on the Sat and then play 2 rounds of 36 holes on the Sunday.. It seems a little farcical that a lad can turn up and make the Quarter Final without playing a match... It should be run over two days. If the entry was very high let there be club quals and highest entry in each club gets more quals etc.... It would be a better competition in my view

U could play 1 match on a Friday then 3 18 hole matches on a Saturday and 2 on a sunday that would work, with flanagan he played 2 matches a pre-lim and then first round match, he gets a bye in the second round to the quarters

Ok

I could literally guarantee though if you played this comp over a weekend you would have little or no BYES as lads would know months in advance that the comp is coming up and plan it out in due course....
    I would suggest to you Hitman to go to your Club AGM (if you are already not directly involved with your club, but I would say you are) and get a motion passed to change this comp and let it be passed and then brought up at the Dublin Convention next year... It is not good enough that lads really have to struggle to make the National Matchplay during the week and ask them to do the same for the Co Matchplay... I am sure a lot of players are unhappy with this format as if you have to travel to work etc it is an early start and then a very late evening travelling from work to play P&P and then head home...

If numbers continue to decline in these sort of Comps, the Co Board will be struggling for finances and they will should be open to change etc....

Jabba

Yeah, the general feeling is that it would work much better on the weekend, it was tried once AFAIK. Entries this year is the lowest for a few years, less then 50, wen you consider the Dulblin S/Play, All Ireland S/Play usually gets about 90 players, its low. Mainly the northside entry was poor because of the travelling I presume, if the latter stages werent in Erins Isle I'd say it would be worse.

Howdi lads,

I would agree with this, I had to drive from Dun Laoghaire to Erin's Isle last night. Leaving work at 5pm got me to Erin's Isle at 6:45 and that was only with some imaginative use of the bus lane on Pearse Street! My game got going at 6:55 so I got no warm up whatsoever.

The day of Midweek qualifying is over as far as I'm concerned. This was a point I was trying to make in regards to the National Scramble position at the start of the season. That was a full weekend where the national matchplay qualifiers could take place.
    Life isn't as simple as it was 20 yrs ago (although with they way the economy is going it soon could be again ;)) and people don't work or live on the doorstep of the Pitch and Putt club. Dublin city in particular is getting ridiculous for travel. I was at Heuston at 7.30 this morning and the queue up the quays was to the croppy acre.
    And while I'm at it, the whole northside southside thing is good in practice, but what if you're a member of Shandon and you work in Tallaght? You're poxed thats what.
    The Dublin Matchplay is definitely the tournament that should be converted to the weekend. Its a prime tournament, one that gets a lot of coverage and as someone said already its a big ask of players to travel for up to 2.5 hours for 4 nights in a week.

For me I work 50 miles away from where I live, 75 from my home course and 85 from where my qualifiers were for the Nat MPlay. I had to switch shifts so I could play first of all and to do this meant I was leaving the house at 5.30 am and not getting home till 10.30 pm. Thats an awful lot for P+P. Obviously thats my choice and thats fine. So its not just the city players either.

I agree with you Kingdom and your example is basically my situation, member of Shandon working in Dun Laoghaire! Loughlinstown qualifying would have been great for me but thats the choice we make.

That's one serious commute you have by the way!

Lads,
    Something I wanted to throw out.
    Do any of ye think its a bit silly to have the County and Provincial Matchplays after the national matchplay. I was a bit taken aback at the apathy (from what I read on the Dublin website) of the players to the Leinster Matchplay and I'm a bit stunned at the poor numbers at the Dublin matchplay.

What do people think of the calender as it stands.

I was very surprised by the order of how these competitions are played myself, surely it should be:

County championships > Provincial Championships > National Championships

Kingdom

Well done on qual as I can only imagine the torment of not qual when you are due to play on your home course:o

Majestic is a nice course in Mallow where the Cork boys were playing.. I was fortunate to win the Scr Cup there last year but if you are not pitching well you won't score as you have to be on the right side of the greens.. It is small and tight (like a lot of courses in Cork) but there are some lovely shots there..-26 I have yet to manage myself but that is incredible scoring no matter what the course you are playing on...

Tullamore will be very interesting... -26 won there in 2004 and that was when William Buckley was to play the round of his life to prevail... I feel they will try and toughen up the course to keep the scoring down but the Scr Cup in 2 weeks time will be a nice dress rehearsal. I can't make the Scr Cup as it clashes with Hillview and that is a County Trial for us....

Eddie Carey didn't qual in Kildare so there is a big player gone from playing in Tullamore.. He has won the last 3 comps that have been held there but he didn't even turn up to the quals which is weird considering how well he plays Tullamore:confused:

Yes Tipperman, I wasn't too worried about qualifying until about 9 holes from the end, I tried to imagine what it would be like to watch and decided it would be better to make it in :D
    Carey not being in is a boost to everyone as you confirmed what I was thinking , that he has won the last 3 scr cups there.
    I had heard that majestic was a typical cork course and a fellow P+P player thought I was belittling the score. Far from it 82 is an achievement, the closest I've seen is Geo McGreal hitting an 84 in Cloghogue the first time he played it. Even still scores don't carry so it doesn't matter whether it was 82 or 102 we're all back to 0 now!
    As for Tullamore, I don't see much being done to tighten the place up. The greens aren't being soaked which means they are firm but receptive, which is a novelty in this day and age, but it certainly won't be to anyone's advantage. I can assure you of the 3 tullamore men that qualified only 1 is a local and he will be a big threat on the day as he is living in the place this year.
    The Scr cup in two weeks will be interesing although I don't think I'll be there myself.

I was very surprised by the order of how these competitions are played myself, surely it should be:

That would be how I see it too Draupnir, it would mean moving the National Matchplay to the August weekend, which would not be popular as far as I can tell.

Lads,
    Something I wanted to throw out.
    Do any of ye think its a bit silly to have the County and Provincial Matchplays after the national matchplay. I was a bit taken aback at the apathy (from what I read on the Dublin website) of the players to the Leinster Matchplay and I'm a bit stunned at the poor numbers at the Dublin matchplay.

What do people think of the calender as it stands.

Kingdom, I dont see any relationship between the timing of the M/plays in relation to the National, it would just make the calender to top heavy to have them all in sequence. The calender is a loads of balls the way its set up to have the National M/Play finals, S/play Qual & Dublin M/play within 7 days of each other is a joke! It all stems from the PPUI structure, as there Scramble knocked the Dublin S/play out of sync which in turn knocked the M/play out of sync because the DCB wanted the Dublin S/play before the National S/Play

As for the Leinster, its always had a apathetic icon12.gif opinion in Dublin, putting the Qual in Ltown did it no favours, the last time it was on it had a S/PLay qualifier which worked well & personally I'd be in favour of that as it gives it its own character as a tournament.

Kingdom, I dont see any relationship between the timing of the M/plays in relation to the National, it would just make the calender to top heavy to have them all in sequence. The calender is a loads of balls the way its set up to have the National M/Play finals, S/play Qual & Dublin M/play within 7 days of each other is a joke! It all stems from the PPUI structure, as there Scramble knocked the Dublin S/play out of sync which in turn knocked the M/play out of sync because the DCB wanted the Dublin S/play before the National S/Play

As for the Leinster, its always had a apathetic icon12.gif opinion in Dublin, putting the Qual in Ltown did it no favours, the last time it was on it had a S/PLay qualifier which worked well & personally I'd be in favour of that as it gives it its own character as a tournament.

But is having the national comps before the county ones not a bit like the GAA having the All Ireland final before the Leinster final?

somthing I've never understood either Jabba! Its not as if there's lots of majors jangling about!
    I'll throw up a test Calendar and see what yis make of it.

Right the gloves are off so lets start swinging

If you hold the above comps in this order this in my opinion is what should happen.

If you win Co Matchplay, you are automatic to Prov Matchplay and National Matchplay. If you failed to win Co Matchplay but won Prov Match you are auto to National Matchplay. Take Munster for example, you are talking about 6 auto to Prov and 7 autos to National(provided the winner of Prov has not already won their County) You should get some sort of carrot for winning any of these comps. I believe this would be a great success as you are talking about 7 players from Munster being auto for the Matchplay and 12 approx from Leinster. This still leaves up to 44-46 quals to reach the finals....One positive thing to take from it is that you have all your Co Champions and Prov Champions in the National Comps

The Strokeplay would be run on the same basis but this time the Inter & Junior Grades would be included. In the Strokeplay from a Senior Perpective would mean that you have almost 20 auto quals and another 60 to make the finals.. I am not sure as to the total of Inters & Juniors that make these finals but the same principal applies.

If you hold the above comps in this order this in my opinion is what should happen.

If you win Co Matchplay, you are automatic to Prov Matchplay and National Matchplay. If you failed to win Co Matchplay but won Prov Match you are auto to National Matchplay. Take Munster for example, you are talking about 6 auto to Prov and 7 autos to National(provided the winner of Prov has not already won their County) You should get some sort of carrot for winning any of these comps. I believe this would be a great success as you are talking about 7 players from Munster being auto for the Matchplay and 12 approx from Leinster. This still leaves up to 44-46 quals to reach the finals....One positive thing to take from it is that you have all your Co Champions and Prov Champions in the National Comps

The Strokeplay would be run on the same basis but this time the Inter & Junior Grades would be included. In the Strokeplay from a Senior Perpective would mean that you have almost 20 auto quals and another 60 to make the finals.. I am not sure as to the total of Inters & Juniors that make these finals but the same principal applies.

Yeah something like this would make sense very GAA like, backdoor & everthing!! My opinion was just on the basis of having them in sequence for the sake of it isnt worth it but if there's a purpose to it its a good idea.

March:
    2nd Wk - Provincial Schools Finals
    Last Week - Club Qual Rounds Mixed Foursomes Championships

April :
    2nd Wk – Provincial Mixed Foursomes Championships. (Top 50% Qual for National)
    3rd Wk – Qual rounds Regional Splay Championships (Dublin + Cork)
    4th Wk – National Mixed Foursomes Championships

May:
    1st Week – Qual rounds Provincial Mplay
    2nd Wkend – Regional Splay Championships
    4th Wkend – Qual rounds Provincial Splay

June:

Bk Hol Wkend – Provincial Mplay finals
    2nd Wkend – Qual rounds National Splay
    4th Wkend – Provincial Splay Championships

July:
    1st Wkend – National Splay Championships
    2nd Week – Qual Rounds National Mplay
    4th Wkend – Regional Mplay Championships

Aug:
    Bk Hol Wkend – National Matchplay Championships
    3rd Wkend – Provincial Inter County Championships
    Last Wkend – National Inter County Championships

This would leave room for the Seniors Championships and National Scramble in Sept

Ok discussion this is good ! Tipperman, the scenario you present above is interesting. Would you be required to enter each competition individually or would you just enter a singular matchplay championship and then be sectioned off as each competition passes?
    What would happen if someone was able to compete in the Leinster Matchplay having won their county matchplay? Would the runner up go through automatically as a replacement?

I tihnk what Tipperman has described is the ideal way for the season to be run as it provides incentive to enter the earlier tournaments and prestige to those titles.

As he said, it also means that winning your county/province has a bigger reward. Winners of these competitions could also be seeded differently at national level, providing an even bigger incentive.

Ok discussion this is good ! Tipperman, the scenario you present above is interesting. Would you be required to enter each competition individually or would you just enter a singular matchplay championship and then be sectioned off as each competition passes?
    What would happen if someone was able to compete in the Leinster Matchplay having won their county matchplay? Would the runner up go through automatically as a replacement?

Kingdom

Firstly, the status quo remains the same. You have to enter each competition individually. If you fail to enter, your out and this it creates a new qual in the qual stages. Runner Up is a no goer in my opinion but could be looked at. Secondly, you have to play in all comps to be auto for the National as if you didn't you may then have fella's disregarding the Prov Match.. Playing in all three is still the same as what we are doing today!!

When you enter each comp and if you are auto you are sectioned off immediately like the Senior Stroke is at present...

I believe this is the way forward for all grades as it puts the merit and honour back into the County & Prov Championships which I feel has left these comps in recent years...

It would be hard to get across to the appropriate levels but players are being rewarded for their success at these championships which is positive

March:
    2nd Wk - Provincial Schools Finals
    Last Week - Club Qual Rounds Mixed Foursomes Championships

April :
    2nd Wk – Provincial Mixed Foursomes Championships. (Top 50% Qual for National)
    3rd Wk – Qual rounds Regional Splay Championships (Dublin + Cork)
    4th Wk – National Mixed Foursomes Championships

May:
    1st Week – Qual rounds Provincial Mplay
    2nd Wkend – Regional Splay Championships
    4th Wkend – Qual rounds Provincial Splay

June:

Bk Hol Wkend – Provincial Mplay finals
    2nd Wkend – Qual rounds National Splay
    4th Wkend – Provincial Splay Championships

July:
    1st Wkend – National Splay Championships
    2nd Week – Qual Rounds National Mplay
    4th Wkend – Regional Mplay Championships

Aug:
    Bk Hol Wkend – National Matchplay Championships
    3rd Wkend – Provincial Inter County Championships
    Last Wkend – National Inter County Championships

This would leave room for the Seniors Championships and National Scramble in Sept

Kingdom

You must have been thinking about this for a while..

I agree with certain aspects of it...

The County & Prov Matchplay should be held in April and Early May.. I would never take the National Matchplay away from the Bank Hol June Weekend.. That is my opinion

The County & Prov Stroke should be held in June & July and the National Stroke should be played over the Bank Hol August Weekend starting the Comp on the Sat and finishing on the Monday. Inters and Juniors play on Sat and Sunday. I would increase each grade by 20 players. I don't know how many qual in the Inter and Junior so I will focus on the Senior Grade. 100 Seniors to play on Sat. Top 64 qual to the Sunday. Top 32 to the Monday and then Top 20 play off to determine the winner.. Same principal would apply to the Inter and Junior grade...