Kingdom wrote: » Offaly Qualifiers @ Ferbane William Buckley Jnr Erry 85 Larry Maher Jnr Erry 91 Joe McGrath Jnr Erry 93 Paul O'Gorman Tullamore 94 Patsy Reams Ferbane 94 Mick Byrne Tullamore 95 (OB18) Anthony Galvin Tullamore 95 (OB18) Ferbane was quite soft, greens were decent. Personally I was delighted to qualify, as I'd a rough week, haven't hit a ball since the matchplay, and was dying with Hay Fever! Needed to sink a tasty l to r 6 footer for par, or else I was gone. :eek: All credit to the Cork scoring, don'tknow what Mallow is like but jebus that was some scoring. Can't see the scoring being that good in Tullamore however.
Draupnir wrote: » Dublin Inter Matchplay proved to be a valuable learning experience for me anyway, a serious beating was taken and I wont be making the same mistakes next year with regard to preparation. In fairness my opponent played very well but I definitely let myself down. Great craic though, Erins Isle was in great condition and it was fantastic to see so many matches going on at once.
doylers08 wrote: » Here are the senior qualifiers from cork.J Cahill (Fermoy) 82, 26 under par, course record;J Walsh (Collins) 84;N Collins (Majestic) 87;K Dunscombe (St Anne’s) 92; F Dineen (St.Annes) 93;B Delaney (ESB) 94;C Scannell (Collins) 94; E Walsh (Collins) 94; G O’Sullivan (Majestic) 94; R Donovan (Fermoy) 94;D Doyle (Elton, Cobh) 95; E Shannon (Collins) 95;F O’Donoghue (Templebreedy) 95;P O’Sullivan (Majestic) 95;P Curran (Majestic) 96.
HITMANHEALY wrote: » Only have time to do the seniors will post the inter and juniors late on Second Round Ties L Collins (cy) v F Ryan (RGSC) S Harkins RGSC v PJ McCluskey (Lucan) G Flanagan bye to the Quater Finals D Thornberry (CPM) v G Healy (Loughlinstown) A Gray (Glenville) v G Heffernan (Erins Isle) F Connolly (Glenville) v G Fitzpatrick (CPM) A Cuddihy (CPM) v A Lowe (OC) J McLaughlin (EI) v Paul Nolan (EI)
Jabba Da Putt wrote: » Howdi lads, Some good games last night only disappointing thing was a lot of walkovers, a whole section didn't turn up for Flanagan to get through to the 1/4's. Personally I dont think midweek comps work in Dublin anymore, league matches aside which is usually only once a week. Having to travel for up to 2 hours (erins Isle lads last night) after work 3 or 4 times a week is a bit too much too ask I feel. What do the country folk think? How do the midweek comps work down there?
Tipperman wrote: » Jabba In Tipp we only have 2 midweek Comps outside the National Matchplay Quals... We have Strokeplay quals before the Co Matchplay on the Wed before the finals which are on the Sunday.. I would have to say that numbers in general are always around the same which is about 24 etc... The Inters and Juniors have club quals and how many quals each club gets depends on entries etc.. The other mid week we play is just a County Trial so only those entered for the County Team are permitted to play in this... Something I was thinking from Dublin perpective would be.. Is it not easier to play 4 rounds of 18 holes on the Sat and then play 2 rounds of 36 holes on the Sunday.. It seems a little farcical that a lad can turn up and make the Quarter Final without playing a match... It should be run over two days. If the entry was very high let there be club quals and highest entry in each club gets more quals etc.... It would be a better competition in my view
HITMANHEALY wrote: » U could play 1 match on a Friday then 3 18 hole matches on a Saturday and 2 on a sunday that would work, with flanagan he played 2 matches a pre-lim and then first round match, he gets a bye in the second round to the quarters
Tipperman wrote: » Kingdom Well done on qual as I can only imagine the torment of not qual when you are due to play on your home course:o Majestic is a nice course in Mallow where the Cork boys were playing.. I was fortunate to win the Scr Cup there last year but if you are not pitching well you won't score as you have to be on the right side of the greens.. It is small and tight (like a lot of courses in Cork) but there are some lovely shots there..-26 I have yet to manage myself but that is incredible scoring no matter what the course you are playing on... Tullamore will be very interesting... -26 won there in 2004 and that was when William Buckley was to play the round of his life to prevail... I feel they will try and toughen up the course to keep the scoring down but the Scr Cup in 2 weeks time will be a nice dress rehearsal. I can't make the Scr Cup as it clashes with Hillview and that is a County Trial for us.... Eddie Carey didn't qual in Kildare so there is a big player gone from playing in Tullamore.. He has won the last 3 comps that have been held there but he didn't even turn up to the quals which is weird considering how well he plays Tullamore
Draupnir wrote: » I was very surprised by the order of how these competitions are played myself, surely it should be: County championships > Provincial Championships > National Championships
Kingdom wrote: » Lads, Something I wanted to throw out. Do any of ye think its a bit silly to have the County and Provincial Matchplays after the national matchplay. I was a bit taken aback at the apathy (from what I read on the Dublin website) of the players to the Leinster Matchplay and I'm a bit stunned at the poor numbers at the Dublin matchplay. What do people think of the calender as it stands.
Jabba Da Putt wrote: » Kingdom, I dont see any relationship between the timing of the M/plays in relation to the National, it would just make the calender to top heavy to have them all in sequence. The calender is a loads of balls the way its set up to have the National M/Play finals, S/play Qual & Dublin M/play within 7 days of each other is a joke! It all stems from the PPUI structure, as there Scramble knocked the Dublin S/play out of sync which in turn knocked the M/play out of sync because the DCB wanted the Dublin S/play before the National S/Play As for the Leinster, its always had a apathetic opinion in Dublin, putting the Qual in Ltown did it no favours, the last time it was on it had a S/PLay qualifier which worked well & personally I'd be in favour of that as it gives it its own character as a tournament.
Jabba Da Putt wrote: » Kingdom, I dont see any relationship between the timing of the M/plays in relation to the National, it would just make the calender to top heavy to have them all in sequence. The calender is a loads of balls the way its set up to have the National M/Play finals, S/play Qual & Dublin M/play within 7 days of each other is a joke! It all stems from the PPUI structure, as there Scramble knocked the Dublin S/play out of sync which in turn knocked the M/play out of sync because the DCB wanted the Dublin S/play before the National S/PlayAs for the Leinster, its always had a apathetic opinion in Dublin, putting the Qual in Ltown did it no favours, the last time it was on it had a S/PLay qualifier which worked well & personally I'd be in favour of that as it gives it its own character as a tournament.
Tipperman wrote: » Right the gloves are off so lets start swinging If you hold the above comps in this order this in my opinion is what should happen. If you win Co Matchplay, you are automatic to Prov Matchplay and National Matchplay. If you failed to win Co Matchplay but won Prov Match you are auto to National Matchplay. Take Munster for example, you are talking about 6 auto to Prov and 7 autos to National(provided the winner of Prov has not already won their County) You should get some sort of carrot for winning any of these comps. I believe this would be a great success as you are talking about 7 players from Munster being auto for the Matchplay and 12 approx from Leinster. This still leaves up to 44-46 quals to reach the finals....One positive thing to take from it is that you have all your Co Champions and Prov Champions in the National Comps The Strokeplay would be run on the same basis but this time the Inter & Junior Grades would be included. In the Strokeplay from a Senior Perpective would mean that you have almost 20 auto quals and another 60 to make the finals.. I am not sure as to the total of Inters & Juniors that make these finals but the same principal applies.
Kingdom wrote: » Ok discussion this is good ! Tipperman, the scenario you present above is interesting. Would you be required to enter each competition individually or would you just enter a singular matchplay championship and then be sectioned off as each competition passes? What would happen if someone was able to compete in the Leinster Matchplay having won their county matchplay? Would the runner up go through automatically as a replacement?
Kingdom wrote: » March: 2nd Wk - Provincial Schools Finals Last Week - Club Qual Rounds Mixed Foursomes Championships April : 2nd Wk – Provincial Mixed Foursomes Championships. (Top 50% Qual for National) 3rd Wk – Qual rounds Regional Splay Championships (Dublin + Cork) 4th Wk – National Mixed Foursomes Championships May: 1st Week – Qual rounds Provincial Mplay 2nd Wkend – Regional Splay Championships 4th Wkend – Qual rounds Provincial Splay June: Bk Hol Wkend – Provincial Mplay finals 2nd Wkend – Qual rounds National Splay 4th Wkend – Provincial Splay Championships July: 1st Wkend – National Splay Championships 2nd Week – Qual Rounds National Mplay 4th Wkend – Regional Mplay Championships Aug: Bk Hol Wkend – National Matchplay Championships 3rd Wkend – Provincial Inter County Championships Last Wkend – National Inter County Championships This would leave room for the Seniors Championships and National Scramble in Sept