Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

GerCPM wrote: »
    Its a big difference from the 8.5 to 0.5 hammering we gave them last year.There a great side, no weak links really.After that we are NOT looking forward to playing yous at home. lol

Ger what way did they line up? Did fred play?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭FlawedGenius

Kingdom wrote: »
    Ger what way did they line up? Did fred play?

It was as follows - Doubles - Keegan and Sweeney, Fred and Kane,Skinner and Gallacher.They won all 3. Disaster!! Then Fred v O Reilly in Singles, Fred won on 18 nd was only level r 1 under but O Reilly touched sand in practice swing on the 18th so was penalized, McMorrow beat Cuddihy,Thornberry beat Kane, Richard Darcy beat Sweeney,Fitzpatrick beat Keegan(blessed), and bit of a shock Healy beat Skinner on 12th.Skinner playing class at the mo.5 - 4 to Lucan. There was 7 hole in ones on the nite. 3 of em came in the space of 6 holes in our doubles match,O Reilly nd Fitzpatrick v Skinner nd Gallacher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

does anyone really know anymore, particularily after the poc/p rowe fiasco in Erins Isle!
    Wiger are you heading over to Glenville for the matchplay? If so catch a pint with you on the Sat. Or the Sun if I make it :cool:

Yeah I'll be over there for sure.Supporting the dubs(and the Ex dubs for that matter :D:D).I'll be available for drinking at any stage,unfortunately my clubs will be staying at home for this one.

I was told from the PPUI this morning that the dates will go ahead as planned full stop no changes at all will be made

That's what they told paddy for the national m/p qualifiers and he couldn't make it.Turns out other people re-arranged matches to suit themselves on the same night. he was well p****d about it and rightly so.

I meant to ask does the northside have a seperate draw for the leinster matchplay or is it all together id so D Monaghan and B o Shea are the only 2 playing which is poor - whats the reason behind that

No all entreis qualify in Loughlinstown.On a personal note I've already given my reasons for not entering earlier on this thread,but I can only assume that Loughlinstown is just too far a journey every night to qualify.It's not bad if you only have to go over one night and make arrangements with work and all but 3 or 4 consecutive nights may be just too much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Can't say I agree Mr Jingle, I think the scoring is going to be high enough. If it was 36 hole competition I'd agree with ya, but going back to 54 I'd say looking at the qualifiers there are maybe 5 players who have a chance, even more so if its anyway firm there.
    Its hard to look past Downes at the moment.

I'll agree with you kingdom about downes being the man to beat but i think this course could suit an awful lot of players and there is a lot of quality in the field all the way through so id be in no way surprised if someone outside that 5 goes close(hopefully me:D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Alri Mr Jiingle! Yea im happy with it.Good to be out with a homeplayer...i like the course, big greens i love putting ha.Only had 101 in scratch cup there tho, but playing better now.It does suit my game alri.Only realised tonight that theres a playoff.Thatl make tings alot more interesting.You qualified aswell didnt ya?

Yeah got through alri lookin forward to it, done well in scratch cup gettin to last 12 without really playin that well missed a lot of putts but was happy as it was first time playin the course but i think it may be a different story on sunday especially if its firm. Think downes is the 1 to catch but i aint goin down there to play for 2nd place but then again i dont think anyone is!

It was as follows - Doubles - Keegan and Sweeney, Fred and Kane,Skinner and Gallacher.They won all 3. Disaster!! Then Fred v O Reilly in Singles, Fred won on 18 nd was only level r 1 under but O Reilly touched sand in practice swing on the 18th so was penalized, McMorrow beat Cuddihy,Thornberry beat Kane, Richard Darcy beat Sweeney,Fitzpatrick beat Keegan(blessed), and bit of a shock Healy beat Skinner on 12th.Skinner playing class at the mo.5 - 4 to Lucan. There was 7 hole in ones on the nite. 3 of em came in the space of 6 holes in our doubles match,O Reilly nd Fitzpatrick v Skinner nd Gallacher.

That was a good result for Derek he must have been on fire. Was Darren pulled up over touching sand or did he admit to it himself. Tough one that.

mr.jingle wrote: »
    I'll agree with you kingdom about downes being the man to beat but i think this course could suit an awful lot of players and there is a lot of quality in the field all the way through so id be in no way surprised if someone outside that 5 goes close(hopefully me:D)

There's always one I suppose, just look at Anthony Browne last year and Philip Byrne the year before. I'd say the rain we're due to get on Fri evening and Sat will throw it open now.

Wigertoods wrote: »
    Yeah I'll be over there for sure.Supporting the dubs(and the Ex dubs for that matter :D:D).I'll be available for drinking at any stage,unfortunately my clubs will be staying at home for this one.

good stuff I'll see you over there so.

That was a good result for Derek he must have been on fire. Was Darren pulled up over touching sand or did he admit to it himself. Tough one that.

Yea he played well, was 6 for 12 which was good in the firm and windy conditions.Yea he admitted to it.Fred was 1 up playing it but was in the bunker aswell

good stuff I'll see you over there so.

Lads whod yiz get?will u post draw up plz?i heard my name was mentioned on PPUI tv r sumtin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

Lads whod yiz get?will u post draw up plz?i heard my name was mentioned on PPUI tv r sumtin

Alright Ger we taught it was u online dont worry ha ha

Haha.Was it u 'younggun' who called me ****e? lol.

I was lougho mate

Ist Half

Ray Murphy (Templebreedy) v Peter Dolan (Athboy)
    David Poole (Portmarnock) v Kieran Dunscombe (St.Anne's)
    Fred McMahon (Lucan) v Eddie Hennessy (Ashgrove)
    Mary Ryan (Bruff) v Stephen Bray (Collinstown)

Gavin Carty (Lucan) v Kenneth Kerin (Clare)
    Jim Foley (St Patrcik's) v Liam o Donovan (Bruff)
    Gus Hayes (Parteen) v John o Meara (Riverdale)
    John McGrath JNR (Erry) v Michael Herlihy (E.S.B)

Jason o Regan (Tralee) v Thomas Hanley (Bruff)
    Davy Morrissey (Lakeside) v Jason Larkin (Erins Isle)
    James Carrol (Castletown) v Noel Joyce (Hillview)
    Gary o Sulivan (Majestic) v Sean Harkins (R.G.S.C)

Brian Webster (Larkspur) v Damien Burke (Fermoy)
    Gerard Mc Guirk (Cement) v Paul o Gorman (Tullamore)
    John Hoey (Erins Isle) v Jimmy Quinn (Fermoy)
    Paul o Brien (Lakeside) v Anthony Malone (Lucan)

2nd Half of Draw

Sean Downes (Stakallen) v Darren Thonberry (CPM)
    Martin Dawe (ESB) v Eddie Carey (Athgarvan)
    Martin o Neill (St Patricks) v Patsy Farrell (Bruff)
    Paddy Lowry (Glenville) v Ed Hackett (Collins)

Danny Vaughan (Parteen) v Seanan Kavanagh (Bagnalstown)
    Darren Kane (Lucan) v Garreth o Mahony (Riverside)
    Liam McMahon (Cloghogue) v William Buckley Snr (Erry)
    Shane Hoare (Larkspur) v Frank o Donoghue (Templebreedy)

Michael Graham (Parteen) v Paul Nolan (Erins Isle)
    Tom o Reilly (RGSC) v Neil Kiely (Kilmicahel)
    John Fleming (Tullamroe) v Jim Judge jnr (Cement)
    Gary Healy (Loughlonstown) v Noel Comiskey (Granard)

Damien Fleming (Deerpark) v Brendan o Shea (Shandon)
    Anthony Browne (Custome) v Frank Dineen (St Anne's)
    John Walsh (Collins) v Finbarr Looney (Collins)
    William Bukcley Jnr (Erry) v Darren Goodall (Tralee)

Good Luck to all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Eegorbishcan

Best of luck buddys!! :)

I've a tough enough draw. Will have to see what happens. The 3rd group in the top half is hard to call, and the last group in the bottom half has 4 potential winners as far as I'm concerned.
    Hitman you have a nice draw with all due respect, taking into consideration you're previous form in Glenville :) you probably will meet your countyman.

Best of luck buddys!! :)

Eegor, if the National Scramble wasn't to your liking (in fairness it is more like a novelty competition) then you should get your ar$e over to Glenville in Kiltipper in Tallaght for these championships. Guarenteed to be a good display of pitch and putt. If the sun shines it has the prospect of a fantastic weekend.

I've a tough enough draw. Will have to see what happens. The 3rd group in the top half is hard to call, and the last group in the bottom half has 4 potential winners as far as I'm concerned.
    Hitman you have a nice draw with all due respect, taking into consideration you're previous form in Glenville :) you probably will meet your countyman.

Would have to agree Kingdom.No handy matches for anyone in this group.
    It's always nice to get a decent first match out of the way on sat without too much stress.Still though i'd gladly swap with you.

Have to say the draw on the web was quite a disaster.Crap video sound breaking up.The chat room was by far a better laugh.Reminded me of the old days when John manning used to moderate the ppui forum.

Eegor, if the National Scramble wasn't to your liking (in fairness it is more like a novelty competition) then you should get your ar$e over to Glenville in Kiltipper in Tallaght for these championships. Guarenteed to be a good display of pitch and putt. If the sun shines it has the prospect of a fantastic weekend.

Eegor i agree with Kingdom , if the weather is nice u will see a good crowd watching as the course is very popular and they get a good following

I dont know the first chap im playing, whats he like, john fleming from tullamore, whats he like, i expect Paul nolan to get to the last 16 so hopefully i can do the same

Would have to agree Kingdom.No handy matches for anyone in this group.
    It's always nice to get a decent first match out of the way on sat without too much stress.Still though i'd gladly swap with you.

Sorry pal, I'm here and hope to stay for a while (Sat at least:pac:)
    Seeing as you can be as impartial as anyone here, care to predict any outcomes of the matches?

Ladies draw was pretty unspectacular, Bar Ger Ward and Tara Dillon.

Have to say the draw on the web was quite a disaster.Crap video sound breaking up.The chat room was by far a better laugh.Reminded me of the old days when John manning used to moderate the ppui forum.

I had hoped to get down to the Webshop to have a google at it but wasn't able to.
    didn't realise that there was a forum on the tv website. good stuff.
    a lot of organisations that webcast in ireland seem to have had hassle, just look at the fai and the mess they make of things, but on a whole this is a good piece of innovation from the NEC and bringing in local tds is a smart move. having Dempsey do the draw last year was a magnificent coup and Charlie O'Connor is well respected in Tallaght so kudos once again to the nec. The idea will improve with time I'm sure.
    The next step for me would be the live scoreboard at the national championships. Don't know how practical it is but it would look very well.

I dont know the first chap im playing, whats he like, john fleming from tullamore, whats he like, i expect Paul nolan to get to the last 16 so hopefully i can do the same

I know it wouldn't be like you to get all cocky Hitman, but lets just say I'd back you with Cahill to qualify for rd2. Noel is steady but I don't think he'd beat you. John is a solid player. He's in my section next week for Leinster qual so I'll give you better analysis then.
    He can blow hot and cold. He bet Paul Nolan down in Fermoy, but was knocked out next game I think. Very hard to predict with John to be honest. He has a hard match in Jim, who is another player who can be hard when he gets on a roll.

I had hoped to get down to the Webshop to have a google at it but wasn't able to.
    didn't realise that there was a forum on the tv website. good stuff.
    a lot of organisations that webcast in ireland seem to have had hassle, just look at the fai and the mess they make of things, but on a whole this is a good piece of innovation from the NEC and bringing in local tds is a smart move. having Dempsey do the draw last year was a magnificent coup and Charlie O'Connor is well respected in Tallaght so kudos once again to the nec. The idea will improve with time I'm sure.
    The next step for me would be the live scoreboard at the national championships. Don't know how practical it is but it would look very well.

Have to agree.Whilst we did take the piss a bit on the webcast forum it was a big step in the right direction.
    with broadband widly available there's no reason why they can't have a live scoreboard updated instantanously.forget the walkie talkie crap.

He's quite hany hitman,but with it being in Dublin you might just have the edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

Been a while since I posted guys, our Open is on at the minute (Shandon), is anyone thinking of dropping over for a round or two through the weekend?

I must say, I am playing quite poorly at the minute, keep lifting my head and slicing off to the right horribly. Cant figure it out, so any advice would be hugely appreciated!

Got my handicap sorted, a 6, which I felt was a bit of a killer but its my own fault for posting a good score in my first comp. to win best 18 nett.

Not much movement on the P&P forum front here at boards.ie, have any of you guys ever thought about setting up our own P&P players website?

Also, I've entered the Dublin Matchplay at Inter level, any advice on how that is played? Or even how it works would be great too! Its in Erins Isle I believe, which I have played once in my life.

He's quite hany hitman,but with it being in Dublin you might just have the edge.

Thanks WIger and Kingdom, i expect all matches to be finals so thats the way ill approach it, i playing in the seniors 7 years now any advice on the day as its a national and my first time