Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pitch And Putt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭HITMANHEALY

Kingdom wrote: »
    Hitman is a multiple ex Dublin champion and Intercounty player so his scoring is decent. Obviously conditions play a psrt but if you were palying at a decent senior standard you'd be looking for the minimum of 96 (-12) for 36 holes.
    The standard at IC level depends on the county.
    Cork are by far the best around and if they could field a 2nd team they would probably be ahead too.
    There's a cluster then not far behind and then there are the stragglers (Waterford, Down, Armagh, Carlow, CLare)

Thanks kingdom - i had a lucky win in 2006 lol beating a good friend of ur's - but its an interesting year as the standard is getting better - the cut for the dublin championship final 12 was 98 so breaking 50 is essential

Good luck this year hope to catch a game with ye

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Kingdom

Thanks kingdom - i had a lucky win in 2006 lol beating a good friend of ur's - but its an interesting year as the standard is getting better - the cut for the dublin championship final 12 was 98 so breaking 50 is essential

Good luck this year hope to catch a game with ye

You're spot on hitman its going to be a good year I reckon. Last year was a great year for P+P in dublin, there was a real buzz throughout the year. Standard is rising all over Leinster, even our own county, Offaly, is going to be tight for an Inter County place. We've two championships this year, exciting times.

Any predicitons for the year?

See Fred McMahon's moved to Lucan, thats a bit odd. #

I'm sure I'll catch up with ya at some stage over the Summer Hitman.

You're spot on hitman its going to be a good year I reckon. Last year was a great year for P+P in dublin, there was a real buzz throughout the year. Standard is rising all over Leinster, even our own county, Offaly, is going to be tight for an Inter County place. We've two championships this year, exciting times.

Any predicitons for the year?

See Fred McMahon's moved to Lucan, thats a bit odd. #

I'm sure I'll catch up with ya at some stage over the Summer Hitman.

Thats a weird one alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Play P&P with my non golfing buddies during the summer in Skryne in Meath
    , great coarse and in to Mrs Os for the nicest pint of Guinness there is, It was on the guinness add acctually:cool:

Play P&P with my non golfing buddies during the summer in Skryne in Meath
    , great coarse and in to Mrs Os for the nicest pint of Guinness there is, It was on the guinness add acctually:cool:

Fair play BMB, but I think its stretching it to say Skryne is a great course, there are about 10 better than it in Meath alone!

If anyone knows the results of the Open Competitions and Scratch cups it might be no harm to post them here.

Westmeath Co Board Jack McCormack Classic:

Winner: Patsy Realmsbottom (Ferbane) 96
    Runner-up: Frank Ryan (RGSC) 97
    Third: Colm Somers (Royal Meath) 97

Inter Winner: D Reilly (Athboy) 102
    Junior Winner: Shane Coffey (Kilbeggan) 105

Ladies Grade 1: Tracy McGrath (Erry) 102
    Ladies Grade 2: Noeleen Coffey (Kilbeggan) 113

Team Prize: Erry - Mick Sullivan, Willie Buckley jnr, Larry Maher jnr, T McGrath

Offaly Co Board Scratch Cup Sunday 6th April @ Tullamore.
    10€ entry
    Last card 2pm

Tullamore hosts the All-Ireland Gents Strokeplay championships this year so hopefully it gets a good turn out. I believe the course is in good condition from what I've heard. A quality course and when in good condition its a good test.

Also on this weekend:

Sat 5th April Stackallen Scratch Cup, Pig Hill, Slane, Co.Meath.
    Fantastic course and always a competitive scratch cup.

Sun 6th April Ierne Scratch Cup, Grace Park Road, Drumcondra, D.9
    Another fine course and will be ultra-competitive being the first Dublin scratch cup of the year.

Not sure of times but I would imagine last card to be 2pm, price is 10€

Also on this weekend:

Sat 5th April Stackallen Scratch Cup, Pig Hill, Slane, Co.Meath.
    Fantastic course and always a competitive scratch cup.

Sun 6th April Ierne Scratch Cup, Grace Park Road, Drumcondra, D.9
    Another fine course and will be ultra-competitive being the first Dublin scratch cup of the year.

Not sure of times but I would imagine last card to be 2pm, price is 10€

Ierne last card is 2.30 i take it ur playing tullamore kingdom

yeah hitman, gonna play the ierne open tomorrow, a bit of practice after work on Sat and then Tullamore Sun. Its our first intercounty trial.
    Big crowd from cork playing as far as I know which says a lot when you consider there is a Cork Scratch cup on Sunday too.
    Heard from one of the iop ranked players thatTullamore is flying now that the greens have been cut all week. Lovely coat of grass thanks be to God!
    Good luck in Ierne hitman, its a big one to start with in Dublin. Good crowd I'd imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,548 ✭✭✭Draupnir

I was a Shandon member as a juvenile and would love to get back into it, am going to ring them Saturday when there is someone there to get details of membership, I will post here for anyone interested

Draupnir wrote: »
    I was a Shandon member as a juvenile and would love to get back into it, am going to ring them Saturday when there is someone there to get details of membership, I will post here for anyone interested

Good to hear draupnir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭Wigertoods

@Hitman
    nice to see another p&p man on the forum Gary.

CY open over the weekend was quite different to normal.conditions were tougher than normal and scoring was a little higher.
    Unfortuneatly was out injured and couln't play.
    Will also miss Ierne thos week too:(:(

Great name mate, kingdom told me who u were, any craic anyway, any new members to the seniors this year or any leaving

Same core as last year.Will have a few lads missing during the year so we have a few new faces to fill in.
    Not all back playing yet.A bit early for some of them.

What' the story witht the National scramble in your place ? details seem a bit sketchy at the minute.

Played Ierne on Friday, place was in poor enough condition. Greens quite bumpy, little grass on them. Can see a few angry heads on Sunday with the scr cup.

Was up in Shandon today, 100 euro for the year which is a bargain in fairness. Going to join next Saturday. If anyone else is thinking. Of it then wekends are the best to go up according to the guy I spoke to

@ draupnir

Yeah most clubs in dublin would have their comps on sat and/or sun.
    During the summer most clubs would also run some sort of fun comps
    midweek normally scrambles or scotch foursomes.

Cheers for that, I'm really looking forward to joining back up, lifetime best is a 7 under round Shandon, will be happy to get anywhere near that this side of the new year!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

i didnt know there was a pitch and putt thread as it should be a forum?
    Any way Hi i play for the fermoy pitch and putt for 5 years now.Still off 10 handicap.Im also the groundsman there(bloody hard work!)Things are picking up now,so lads get ye clubs and start bashing:D

davey180 wrote: »
    i didnt know there was a pitch and putt thread as it should be a forum?
    Any way Hi i play for the fermoy pitch and putt for 5 years now.Still off 10 handicap.Im also the groundsman there(bloody hard work!)Things are picking up now,so lads get ye clubs and start bashing:D

Fine course Davey.
    I'm part of the crew that make the trip every year for the open in August.
    How is the course at the moment.

Wigertoods wrote: »
    Fine course Davey.
    I'm part of the crew that make the trip every year for the open in August.
    How is the course at the moment.
    course is still going strong,we have new members comming in now.As for the open week hopefully the good weather shows.Practicing a lot more now for the open week,getting greedy for the prizes:D:D

This thread is now sticky thanks to RuggieBear:)

The season is just starting to get going, the national scramble to kick of the year in Loughlinstoiwn for the qualifying event, its going to be to hard out there to qualify as the course wouldnt be played much by outside players, the home course has 4 strong teams participating so be interesting to see who gets in.

Good luck to all

Also anyone else interested in pitch and putt let us know

Hey guys,

Just an update, joined Shandon last weekend and played my first three rounds in years there tonight.

Took a bit of getting back into but I really enjoyed it, looking forward to getting up there again this week and getting some decent scores on the board.

Does anyone know where Commando's can be bought? I've only got one left from my youth and hitting the odd Wilson tonight didnt give me great confidence in standard golf balls actually sticking to a green thats 5 feet in radius!

Hey guys,

Just an update, joined Shandon last weekend and played my first three rounds in years there tonight.

Took a bit of getting back into but I really enjoyed it, looking forward to getting up there again this week and getting some decent scores on the board.

Does anyone know where Commando's can be bought? I've only got one left from my youth and hitting the odd Wilson tonight didnt give me great confidence in standard golf balls actually sticking to a green thats 5 feet in radius!
    any golf shops should supply commandos,i get mine on ebay.commando+ balls they are good pitch and putt balls or titelists.

Good to hear you're back in it Draupnir. I think pitch and putt players are now more into the balata's and the like. I used to use Commando's but the backspin was killing me. The ProV are better.

Just an update on results.

Eddie Carey won the Offaly Co Board scr cup beating Billy Buckley into 2nd.

Darren Thornberry won the Ierne scr cup on the same day.

Hey guys,

Draupnir, what condition was the course in>? Hope to make their open this year, its a fine course when its in decent condition.

Hey guys,

Lifestyle sports have them for sale