Arsenal Transfer Rumours And General Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

OPENROAD wrote: »
    Theo will be some player for us next season.

Thierry would be proud...

That was incredible pace, skill, composure, power, went past them like Kaka on X...

He's going to be big, bigger than all those pretenders ( Agbonlahor, Ashley Young etc)

Still not ready to start, but Arsene must have him on evey game at 70min..

We need more guys like him, fellas with extreme pace and skill who will go for the throat, Vela is in that mould and we have been linked with Theo Mark II ( but better ) Yohan Gouffran for the last two summers now...

Never have I felt this sad after a defeat, I cant shake it :o

I am praying Thierry can do the job and knock out those P!cks and win the thing..

Cant face another Pool win or worse United or Chelski doing the double..

Damn you Senderos you donkey :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

jank wrote: »
    Its weird i always liked liverpool but the last few season have made me turn against them.

strange that.....since we've been better than you, you no longer like us as a club? lovely.

Lads have a bit of grace in defeat. played some good stuff, but team is not there yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

In terms of a potential final opponent, I'm happier to play Liverpool rather than Arsenal.
    Arsenal have an ability to create real chances through passes, Liverpool score because of defensive mistakes. I'd always prefer to play the team that relies on you to **** up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

keep going PHB, you're just making Skrtl angry...... he will hunt you down and make you cry

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

it's sad that too many of you need to grow up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Arsenal played football that was absolutely out of this world in the first half. Totally played us off the park, we didnt looked like we had a hope of getting through then Senderos struck. Every single Arsenal player besides him deserved to go through on their performance tonight, they were all excellent which i definitely didnt expect.

I think Flamini going off injured was a big factor in the result going our way because after that our midfield started to get the run of the game and started to dominate which made spaces for Stevie(after being put into the middle) and Babel.

Fair play to Arsenal, great side over 2 legs but just couldnt compete with the crowd at Anfield and the heart and attitude of the Liverpool players

mayordenis wrote: »
    it's sad that too many of you need to grow up.

Who?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 9,768 Mod ✭✭✭✭mayordenis

a few generally having a go at liverpool
    a few who gratiously wont except defeat
    and not so much you Sqaull20

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

BobbyD10 wrote: »
    Wenger never seems to learn with regard to actually spending some money.
    He had Cygan there as cover for a few years and he shipped goals and a rate of knots and now has Sendoras who may be actually worse.

Poor players are shown up in big matches like these, may get away with against Derby or Fulham.

Dissappointing night for us Gunners.

Oh jaysus, nobody is worse than Cygan.

a few generally having a go at liverpool
    a few who gratiously wont except defeat

Dont worry, this nightmare will be over tomorrow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Sqaull20 wrote: »
    I am praying Thierry can do the job and knock out those P!cks and win the thing..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭dc69

Sqaull20 wrote: »
    Me too, cant the stand the Pool

No way they are getting past the Drog, and if they do they better hope they dont meet United, they havent beat them in years...

do you reckon?we beat them twice when they had a good manager in the CL and they now have a clown of a manger.We have had the upper hand against them in the 2 games we played this season.

We will walk it,mark my words.If barca beat utd we will win the CL and if utd get through i dont think we will!

Id usually say something complimentary or offer condolences but seeing as your all so bitter,im gona laugh instead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭vorbis

I never thought a team would make me want Chelsea to win a match. Well after Liverpool completely f*cking fluked their way past us, I've changed my mind. The are unbelievably lucky. They got every decision in the Inter tie and they get the two penalty decisions again this time. Are they bribing refs or something?

I'm really pissed off. What a f*cking dodgy penalty to give at that time of the match. A complete joke! I hope Chelsea hammer the lucky c*nts.

dc69 wrote: »
    do you reckon?we beat them twice when they had a good manager in the CL and they now have a clown of a manger.We have had the upper hand against them in the 2 games we played this season.

We will walk it,mark my words.If barca beat utd we will win the CL and if utd get through i dont think we will!

Id usually say something complimentary or offer condolences but seeing as your all so bitter,im gona laugh instead!

lol...

Chelski will beat yee mark my words...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,079 ✭✭✭✭Malice

This is my first time posting in this thread so please be gentle :). I'm going to resist the temptation to get involved in the war of words and just say a thank you to Arsenal for a pulsating game of football that had my fingernails in shreds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭I-Bleed-White

Mr Alan wrote: »
    strange that.....since we've been better than you, you no longer like us as a club? lovely.

Lads have a bit of grace in defeat. played some good stuff, but team is not there yet.

Tongue in cheek comments like that one leave a bitter taste in my mouth. I'm a Spurs fan and hate the Arse.....BUT...I am absolutly sickened that the cheating pool won last night. Arsenal deserved it. Surely the champs league chiefs are pissed off to and asking themselves how such a **** badly organised team (by champions league standards) is reaching the latter stages of their competition by neither skill or tactics AGAIN. It really does lower the tone of the competition considering I can't even remember the last time Liverpool actually were domestic champions. It will come out in 10 years that the pool paid off referees over the last couple of years Juve style or Rafa has made a deal with the devil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,079 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Surely the champs league chiefs are pissed off to and asking themselves how such a **** badly organised team (by champions league standards) is reaching the latter stages of their competition by neither skill or tactics AGAIN.
    If you're talking about badly organised from the perspective of the boardroom goings-on, what does that have to do with results on the pitch? Liverpool won the tie by having the skill to score more goals than Arsenal. Watching the highlights again I agree that the Babel penalty was a little soft but after the Mascherano incident against Man Utd we were due the benefit of some refereeing inconsistency for a change :).

And as for the comment about tactics, do you seriously think Benitez just fluked his way past Inter Milan, AC Milan, Juventus, Chelsea (x 2), Bayer Leverkusen, Barcelona etc?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

Fair play to Arsenal, great side over 2 legs but just couldnt compete with the crowd at Anfield and the heart and attitude of the Liverpool players

TBH i think too much is made of the Anfield crowd, most of it by ex liverpool players in the media.

I love it aswell when liverpool fans come on here saying we are bitter when pretty most of the Arsenal fans have said congrats in other threads......

against Man Utd we were due the benefit of some refereeing inconsistency for a change

Which begs the question when the **** will Arsenal get some luck with these decision on europe! Been watching Arsenal in the CL since day one and they never get these breaks.

Maybe wenger will cash all these in next year with 6 dodgey calls going in his favour aganst united. liverpool and chelsea! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭yom 1

Tongue in cheek comments like that one leave a bitter taste in my mouth. I'm a Spurs fan and hate the Arse.....BUT...I am absolutly sickened that the cheating pool won last night. Arsenal deserved it. Surely the champs league chiefs are pissed off to and asking themselves how such a **** badly organised team (by champions league standards) is reaching the latter stages of their competition by neither skill or tactics AGAIN. It really does lower the tone of the competition considering I can't even remember the last time Liverpool actually were domestic champions. It will come out in 10 years that the pool paid off referees over the last couple of years Juve style or Rafa has made a deal with the devil.

I've been a member of Boards for a while now and have read some ridiculous statements, but that's in a whole other class of its own. Absolute nonsense.

"the cheating pool" - how the **** have Liverpool cheated there way through the Champions League over the last few years?:rolleyes:

"such a **** badly organised team (by champions league standards)" - Do you actually watch football. Liverpool are possibly the most organised team in Champions League football for the last few seasons. At times it aint the prettiest football but professional and organised it most certainly is

And as for the "chiefs are pissed" and "lowers the tone" oh yes im sure they are........ so much so that this cheating, badly organised, $hit team who paid the refs off, have been involved in some of the most memorable matches in the champions league over the last few years to include Ol ympiacos, Arsenal and whats widely regarded as the most memeorable final in 2005.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,483 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

This is practically a Liverpool forum. No point in even making the slightest suggestion that they didn't deserve to win 8-0. I would absolutely love to see the reaction on here if the roles were reversed and Pool went out in those circumstances. I think penalty decisions would be a little more important in that case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,725 ✭✭✭ibh

TBH i think too much is made of the Anfield crowd, most of it by ex liverpool players in the media.

I love it aswell when liverpool fans come on here saying we are bitter when pretty most of the Arsenal fans have said congrats in other threads......

Which begs the question when the **** will Arsenal get some luck with these decision on europe! Been watching Arsenal in the CL since day one and they never get these breaks.

Maybe wenger will cash all these in next year with 6 dodgey calls going in his favour aganst united. liverpool and chelsea! :)

In fairness, i've noted a lot of bitterness in this thread which i didn't expect to see. Makes me think that some posters are quite young and immature and don't accept the loss.

My best mate is Arsenal to the bone. He texted me about an hour after the game and said he was gutted, but he hoped we could go and stick it to Chelski now.

I do agree that Arsenal have been unlucky in Europe over the years, but why people are moaning about the '2 penalties' is beyond me. Last week the ref made a fcuk up and didn't award a peno. This week a different ref (in a totally different game) gave what was a penalty, albeit a much softer one than was missed at the Emirates. Would last nights ref have given Hleb a peno?? I'd say he would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

ibh wrote: »
    I do agree that Arsenal have been unlucky in Europe over the years, but why people are moaning about the '2 penalties' is beyond me. Last week the ref made a fcuk up and didn't award a peno. This week a different ref (in a totally different game) gave what was a penalty, albeit a much softer one than was missed at the Emirates. Would last nights ref have given Hleb a peno?? I'd say he would.

Firstly you make the point that why Arsenal fans are upset about the penalty decisions is beyond you, and then you say that babels penalty was soft and arsenal should have had one in the Emirates ?? I'm confused

If the penalty was dubious in the Emirates and a stone wall penalty in Anfield then that might give cause to your argument, but that was not the case

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Well I'm LFC to the core and have hated Arsenal with a passion since '89, George Graham, the offside trap and several seasons of 1-0 (Wright, 89mins) wins. All the hype in the media about Wengers football really annoyed me.

But last night Arsenal were superb in parts. Played us off teh park for 30 mins or so and scored a brilliant, brilliant goal. Lack of toughness or maturity (as Wenger put it) cost you with Senderos particularly poor but you deserve congrats for the way you played football.

Evil_Clown wrote: »
    Firstly you make the point that why Arsenal fans are upset about the penalty decisions is beyond you, and then you say that babels penalty was soft and arsenal should have had one in the Emirates ?? I'm confused

If the penalty was dubious in the Emirates and a stone wall penalty in Anfield then that might give cause to your argument, but that was not the case

Sorry, i didn't make it clear. I'm highlighting that it's not as if the 2 penalty incidents came in the same game, given by the same ref. Once the second game is on there should be no mention of decisions that did or didn't go for you in the first leg.

Don't twist my words either, by saying i called Babel's peno a soft one. I said it was 'softer' than the Hleb one. There is a big difference. I didn't for one second question that Hlebs was a penalty. It was a refereeing mistake.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭jank

In fairness, i've noted a lot of bitterness in this thread which i didn't expect to see. Makes me think that some posters are quite young and immature and don't accept the loss.

My best mate is Arsenal to the bone. He texted me about an hour after the game and said he was gutted, but he hoped we could go and stick it to Chelski now.

Well first off this is an Arsenal thread where most of the frustation will be vented out at the by these fans.
    2 of the major calls over the tie went against Arsenal. Nobody can deny that. Is that the sole reason that Arsenal are out, certinly not. Injuries, lack of quality backup, Bad defending in part and lack of ruthlessness in goal cost us aswell but a tie as close as this was always going to hinge on a moment of genius, a **** up by a player or a refs call. Senderous ****ed up, torres scored a great goal and the refs ****ed up x2.

If Arsenal had won the tie id be fairly sure that most neutrals would say Arsenal have deserved it due to their performance over tie.

I can assure you that if it was the case of Arsenal winning in similar circumstances there wouldnt be a possy of Arsenal Fans posting such "your bitter" remarks in the liverpool thread.

Thats not to say we dont welcome posts from fans of other clubs (unlike spurs! :D), but to expect us to come out and say " all hail to the mighty force that is liverpool" is a bit much, cause that what it strikes me as whats going on here, claiming us to be bitter!
    This is practically a Liverpool forum. No point in even making the slightest suggestion that they didn't deserve to win 8-0. I would absolutely love to see the reaction on here if the roles were reversed and Pool went out in those circumstances. I think penalty decisions would be a little more important in that case.

Absolutely, One can almost hear the trumpet calling the cavalry!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Sorry, i didn't make it clear. I'm highlighting that it's not as if the 2 penalty incidents came in the same game, given by the same ref. Once the second game is on there should be no mention of decisions that did or didn't go for you in the first leg.

Don't twist my words either, by saying i called Babel's peno a soft one. I said it was 'softer' than the Hleb one. There is a big difference. I didn't for one second question that Hlebs was a penalty. It was a refereeing mistake.

Yeah, not an Arsenal fan, but they should have gone through on this tie. Liverpool, whether by design or not, have had a lot of help from the officials in the last few years in the CL.

Arsenal clearly need a hitman. If they had Trezeguet last night they'd have scored two more. But who can they get? Sheva? Amauri?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭I-Bleed-White

yom 1 wrote: »
    I've been a member of Boards for a while now and have read some ridiculous statements, but that's in a whole other class of its own. Absolute nonsense.

"the cheating pool" - how the **** have Liverpool cheated there way through the Champions League over the last few years?:rolleyes:

"such a **** badly organised team (by champions league standards)" - Do you actually watch football. Liverpool are possibly the most organised team in Champions League football for the last few seasons. At times it aint the prettiest football but professional and organised it most certainly is

And as for the "chiefs are pissed" and "lowers the tone" oh yes im sure they are........ so much so that this cheating, badly organised, $hit team who paid the refs off, have been involved in some of the most memorable matches in the champions league over the last few years to include Ol ympiacos, Arsenal and whats widely regarded as the most memeorable final in 2005.

If you want to talk about history I by no means dispute that Liverpool have HAD some of the greatest teams in history. But on current form (and I mean that over the last 3 -4 seasons) when is the last time they mounted a league title CHALLENGE never mind a title. The liverpool teams of old won leagues. How can you possibly say that a team who find it difficult to finish 3rd in their own league deserve to be crowned the best of the best in europe. Is this common sense logic lost on you? Obviously by including the phrase (by champions league standards) I was looking for a little more leway then you are willing to allow and I apologise for voicing my frustration. They are obviously not tactically **** but there are a good few better. Cheating constitutes that CLEAR dive for the winning, game killing, undeserved goal. Don't be blinded by your bias.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,254 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I can assure you that if it was the case of Arsenal winning in similar circumstances there wouldnt be a possy of Arsenal Fans posting such "your bitter" remarks in the liverpool thread.

Shock horror I agree with Jank. Unlucky Arsenal. Maybe Pool just about deserved it but they got more than the Lions share in terms of luck with the pens and the defensive errors.

Well first off this is an Arsenal thread where most of the frustation will be vented out at the by these fans.
    2 of the major calls over the tie went against Arsenal. Nobody can deny that. Is that the sole reason that Arsenal are out, certinly not. Injuries, lack of quality backup, Bad defending in part and lack of ruthlessness in goal cost us aswell but a tie as close as this was always going to hinge on a moment of genius, a **** up by a player or a refs call. Senderous ****ed up, torres scored a great goal and the refs ****ed up x2.

If Arsenal had won the tie id be fairly sure that most neutrals would say Arsenal have deserved it due to their performance over tie.

Thats not to say we dont welcome posts from fans of other clubs (unlike spurs! :D), but to expect us to come out and say " all hail to the mighty force that is liverpool" is a bit much, cause that what it strikes me as whats going on here, claiming us to be bitter!

Absolutely, One can almost hear the trumpet calling the cavalry!

No, i dont expect the Arsenal forum to be full of people eulogising about how great L'pool were. I just thought i sensed a lot of pettiness on here. As in "we would have won but the ref fcuked us over".

I know if it had finished at 2-2 last night i would have been p1ssed off but not to the extent where i would have been bitter towards Arsenal and their progression in the tournament. I would hate to see Chelsea or Manyoo win it. If we had been knocked out, i would have loved to see another Arsenal Barca final.