Arsenal Transfer Rumours And General Chat

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Name me a winger who is better than Quaresma that Arsenal (or anyone else for that matter) could go for. Realistically now.

David Silva

Ronaldinho????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,114 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

PHB wrote: »
    Em, Ashley Young???

Not a patch on Quaresma to be fair.
    Melion wrote: »
    David Silva

Ronaldinho????????

Silva's good alright but again not a patch.

I wouldn't consider Ronaldinho a winger in the conventional sense.

Seriously lads I don't think you've seen enough of Quaresma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

Maybe, but reading the game is a skill you develop with time, but some players have it early on. Like Pique, who imo reads the game perhaps as well as Ferdinaind.

Really? well Roma created a ****ing shed load of good chances last night against two such great readers of the game. I actually think Pique has looked fairly poor since coming back to Utd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Quaresma in my opinion is too lightweight to make it in the premiership.
    Didnt impress me at all against Liverpool when they played them and i was
    really hoping he would as it might have tempted Rafa to buy him.
    Plus his flat refusal to play for Barca while Rijkaard was in charge doesnt
    speak a lot for him as a person.
    Too expensive and too much risk that he wont make it.
    No doubting his quality if given lots of time and space though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Ashley Young this league season: 4 goals and 16 assists
    Quaresma this season: 6 goals and 9 assists

I wonder which league is harder, the premiership or the portugese league.

Really? well Roma created a ****ing shed load of good chances last night against two such great readers of the game. I actually think Pique has looked fairly poor since coming back to Utd.

A. We must have watched a different game, not that many great chances.
    B. You can judge everything on one game, thats why we know Reina is a **** keeper and Carragher is a world class right back.
    C. Try defend with those two full backs on either side, the best defenders look weak

All in all, I thought Pique was very assured.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭IrishMike

Ashley Young this league season: 4 goals and 16 assists
    Quaresma this season: 6 goals and 9 assists

I wonder which league is harder, the premiership or the portugese league.

A. We must have watched a different game, not that many great chances.
    B. You can judge everything on one game, thats why we know Reina is a **** keeper and Carragher is a world class right back.
    C. Try defend with those two full backs on either side, the best defenders look weak

All in all, I thought Pique was very assured.

Ashley Young, David Bentley and Ronaldo are the three best wingers in the
    premiership this year.
    If there was a gun to my head i would say Young is better than Bentley due
    to his age and his pace.
    Young or Quaresma? No contest in my opinion, Young all the way

Absolutely. It's just that because Quaresma is foreign he is good type logic imo.

If there was one winger that I wanted United to buy who is probably availible in the summre (after Messi of course :P), it'd be Young.
    After Messi and Robben, he is probably been one of the best left sided wingers in the world this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭tred

IrishMike wrote: »
    Ashley Young, David Bentley and Ronaldo are the three best wingers in the
    premiership this year.
    If there was a gun to my head i would say Young is better than Bentley due
    to his age and his pace.
    Young or Quaresma? No contest in my opinion, Young all the way

Tell you one thing, Wenger has to see the value of blooding in Walcott now, like comapre him to eboue when the final ball comes, he seems to have his head on his shoulders. eboue either falls, takes the shot on when its not on, or just falls.....If ac milan were looking for him last season...let him off and use the funds. a big centre half is needed. I wonder what anyone thinks of Metzalder at real madrid, not getting much game, and could be a good backup instead of Senderos..I dont see us spending 30 million on richards. Now, not sure if Dunne has signed a contract, id say he would jump at chance to play for Arsenal...but then hes captain of city..so hard to know.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,188 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Absolutely. It's just that because Quaresma is foreign he is good type logic imo.

If there was one winger that I wanted United to buy who is probably availible in the summre (after Messi of course :P), it'd be Young.
    After Messi and Robben, he is probably been one of the best left sided wingers in the world this year.

Young isnt available, I am trying to nip such talk in the bud early. Villa are no longer a selling club and we would have to get VERY VERY SERIOUS money
    if he was to leave Villa park now.

I must say I have enjoyed over the past 2-3 weeks how all the smaller clubs fans have come in and said that they aren't a selling club. I think the claim has been made by Villa, City and Newcastle fans :)

Spurs said it a while ago too, when they were up and coming, but how is Carrick doing :P

I'd say Young would need a bid in the region of 20 million.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,044 ✭✭✭Sqaull20

Jaysus..

Better than Quaresma and Ribery!

In Portugal Quaresma has been one of the best, if not the best player for few seasons now. Amazing dribbler, IMO even better than C. Ronaldo who uses his pace to beat his opponent, but Quaresma uses his skills effectively to actually get past player. From elastico to rabona, all of them are actually practical for him..

Last season, he broke Portuguese Liga record with 28 assists. Great in link up play, his one touch passing has improved tremendously. He also a very good set piece taker, scored several goals this season from freekicks. If there's one player who would i dream about having at Emirates, it would be Quaresma him..

Ribery doesnt need explaining guy is class and miles better than Young, anyone that has watched him at Marseille,FranCe and Bayern can tell you that..

Hatem Ben Arfa is the guy I want, bit of a Pires about him..

If Ashley Young was to go for £8mill I would take him,but not for £15mill plus

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Ben Arfa looks to be the most realistic 'high profile' winger available at the moment (unless you include Ronaldinho), he's out in the cold at Lyon and isn't signing a new contract.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 23,188 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

I'd say Young would need a bid in the region of 20 million.

anyhing less than 20m and it would be a no IMO 20m or more and although most Villa fans would like to hold onto him i doubt it would happen, he be gone. But He is IMO the 2nd most valuable winger in the Prem and shuld spend atleast another season at Villa park

Portugese league is, wait for it, average!
    French league is, wait for it, average!
    German league is better, but Ribery hasn't exactly ever set the world alight either.

Ben Arfa looks a good prospect, no doubt, but Young has shown some real talent this year.

What Wenger needs for Arsenal is somebody who organises the counter-attack at extreme pace.
    For Arsenal to go to that next level, they need to be able to play the way they do, and add counter-attacking to the way they score.

German league is better, but Ribery hasn't exactly ever set the world alight either.

Ben Arfa looks a good prospect, no doubt, but Young has shown some real talent this year.

What Wenger needs for Arsenal is somebody who organises the counter-attack at extreme pace.
    For Arsenal to go to that next level, they need to be able to play the way they do, and add counter-attacking to the way they score.

Young isnt that player then, hes quick but doesnt have world class pace or power...Quaresma is the same, but Ribery while not being an incredible athlete has real force..

Havent seen enough of Ben Arfa to comment on his physical qualities, another young french lad Yohan Gouffran has all the those physical qualities you mentioned imo, plus intelligence..

Being a bit unfair on Quaresma imo, portugese league isnt great but that hasnt stopped Porto etc doing well in the champions league, Simao has been a torn in the side of english teams like United and Pool for a long while and Quaresma has done very well at International level ( young has what 1 cap?) and played very well against Arsenal last season..

Young hasnt done enough for me yet to want him over does guys..

In an ideal world I would like a thoroughbred athlete like Gouffran and a smart hungry guy like Ribery or Ben Arfra..

I would love Quaresma but he's not a wenger player..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

I think Diego Capel at Sevilla would be a great signing for Arsenal. He's looked outstanding for them down the left wing this season. I think he's not even 21 yet? Himself and Walcott on the wings would be some prospect for the future.

And BTW Ribery is World Class....pity Bayern weren't in the Champions League this year, he'll almost certainly shine at Euro '08 and next seasons Champions League.

Sevilla god know..

They have got enough laughs out of ous..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,894 ✭✭✭Nunu

Sqaull20 wrote: »
    Sevilla god know..

They have got enough laughs out of ous..

Oh yeah, Reyes I forgot about him:D

But seriously have you seen Capel?...he's having a great season and looks like a player that would appeal to Wenger - great skills/pace/counter attack ability.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,483 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Reyes, and you can partly blame them for Baptista. Sevilla deals haven't worked out for Arse.

Nunu wrote: »

But seriously have you seen Capel?...he's having a great season and looks like a player that would appeal to Wenger - great skills/pace/counter attack ability.

Have seen him against ous in the champions league and a few big la liga games against barca, madrd...

He was alright, decent pace and that, but a bit too much head down and run for me, not sure he would fly past full backs in the prem..

We had no bother at all dealing with him when we played him for example, while Quaresma troubled ous a fair bit..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

I've stayed away for the last couple of days but have to add a bit to the stuff here.

1: Liverpool were (deservedly) going out and got a lucky lucky desicion 4 minutes from time - they were very very very lucky.
    2: This doesn't mean the fact they frequently progress from close ties in the CL menas that they're frequently lucky, just that they were this time.
    3: All the 12th man did was shout 'penalty' to very good effect.

i realyl hope liverpool go all the way now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,079 ✭✭✭✭Malice

Does anyone know what's going on with Denilson?
    From here
    The mystery of Denilson's whereabouts has intensified after the Brazilian was once again omitted from the Arsenal squad to face Manchester United this weekend and the club failed to provide any sort of explanation for his absence.

The young Brazilian has not been seen since being an unused substitute in the San Siro over a month ago and would have been in contention to make a start at Old Trafford this weekend following Mathieu Flamini's ankle injury. However, Denilson's name was conspicuous by its absence from the 17-man squad named for the trip.

While Flamini has been added to the 'Injury News' section on Arsenal's website, no mention of Denilson has been made on the page. Nor has the club updated his personal profile on their site to provide any sort of insight as to why he has disappeared from view.

Meanwhile, with Flamini out of action and Denilson out of sight, Gilberto Silva is set to play alongside Cesc Fabregas against the league leaders. The news should fill Arsenal with foreboding: Gilberto deputised for Flamini when the Gunners were thrashed 4-0 at Old Trafford in February and Arsenal have won only two of the Premiership and Champions League matches the Brazilian has started this term.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

The Leagues may be average but some of the players in them certainly are not.
    Sagna came fromn Auxerre to the Premiership and settled in straight away, he has been fantastic for me and the best right back in the league this season imo.
    Essien, Diarra from Lyon
    Carvalho, Ferrera from porto etc etc...
    While a few Italian league players have come over and been cr@p

My point basically is, its not the league but the player

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,046 ✭✭✭eZe^

Nunu wrote: »

Capel gets panic attacks when he leaves Seville for too long, doubt he'll be leaving Sevilla for at least another 2 years.. He's only 20 also. Fantastic player btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭Evil_Clown

I would like to throw the croatian lad Modric in the ring for good wingers Arsenal could sign
    He looks a good player from what I have seen (admittedly only in internationals)

He's not a natural winger though, he's more of a CMF/ AMF.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,372 ✭✭✭✭Mr Alan

we're in for him as well supposedly, link in the Liverpool thread, quotes from him incl, he was impressed with the game the other night.

http://www.elmundodeportivo.es/web/gen/20080125/noticia_53430209696.html

So are Barca, his name doesnt look to bad on the back of the blaugrana jersey eh. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,483 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Hmmm, Modric 14. Wonder what that could mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,114 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Evil_Clown wrote: »
    The Leagues may be average but some of the players in them certainly are not.
    Sagna came fromn Auxerre to the Premiership and settled in straight away, he has been fantastic for me and the best right back in the league this season imo.
    Essien, Diarra from Lyon
    Carvalho, Ferrera from porto etc etc...
    While a few Italian league players have come over and been cr@p

My point basically is, its not the league but the player

Exactly.

I can't believe Quaresma is being written off based on the league he plays in not the player he is.