PSNI Recruitment (Archived)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 73 ✭✭GEMMAT1984

hey guys i posted a couple of months ago so thanks for the great advise, now however im still stressing out i have a medical date in april so im hoping thats a good sign, does anyone know if that means there considering you for a place, i got 54/70 on the assesment centre but ddnt want to ring the recruitment office about a merit number as they state not to contact them!! any advice before a start losing my hair at such a young age!!! :confused:

wannabeacopper

Its good that you have ur medical, u have same chance as nearly everyone on this providing you pass vetting. Look back at some of the posts and you could get an idea of your merit number from other peoples ac result!!! I think you'll be somewhere in the 300's!!

Keep your chin up it isnt over till its over:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭OfficerProblem?

hey guys i posted a couple of months ago so thanks for the great advise, now however im still stressing out i have a medical date in april so im hoping thats a good sign, does anyone know if that means there considering you for a place, i got 54/70 on the assesment centre but ddnt want to ring the recruitment office about a merit number as they state not to contact them!! any advice before a start losing my hair at such a young age!!! :confused:

Hey! I got like one mark higher than you in the assessment centre (55) and after months of humming and haaing about it i finally rang recruitment. The person i spoke to was very nice and happy to help. I was informed of my merit number - which is between 200 - 210, April intake is full and the next one is May - was also told they will be recruiting up until Oct/Nov.

I was told if you are successful they will try to contact you to tell you verbally first, then a letter goes out. If you are unsuccessful they will simply post out a letter :(

Hope this helps peeps. Glad i got the courage to finally ring - i would recommend it to anyone who hasn't yet. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55 ✭✭fencingj

Hey! I got like one mark higher than you in the assessment centre (55) and after months of humming and haaing about it i finally rang recruitment. The person i spoke to was very nice and happy to help. I was informed of my merit number - which is between 200 - 210, April intake is full and the next one is May - was also told they will be recruiting up until Oct/Nov.

I was told if you are successful they will try to contact you to tell you verbally first, then a letter goes out. If you are unsuccessful they will simply post out a letter :(

Hope this helps peeps. Glad i got the courage to finally ring - i would recommend it to anyone who hasn't yet. :)
    That's really interesting. My merit number's between 170-190, and I was asked to start in the March intake. I had to defer until April because it was slightly less than 4 weeks notice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 wannabecopper

thanks for the advice, does anyone have the number to ring for the recruitment office? do u need your consenia number to give them or do you just give your name

Direct line to appointments is 02890 922500. Speak to Diane, she's really helpful. Probably best having your candidate number, but I'm sure they'll be able to find you with your name and address, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 wannabecopper

hey thanks for the speedy reply i rang up and my merit number is in the 230's so hope thats good enough :eek:

Thats a really gud merit number, id say ur in if vetting is ok:D

Fencingj

U already for the big day next week????:eek: Have u decided if ur bringin someone with u, i think i will. i seen that ur 23 in another post its gud to know iv someone the same age goin in!!!:p If you dnt mind me askin are u male/female??

GEMMAT1984 wrote: »
    Fencingj

U already for the big day next week????:eek: Have u decided if ur bringin someone with u, i think i will. i seen that ur 23 in another post its gud to know iv someone the same age goin in!!!:p

Hey! Ready???:eek: Dunno about that now lol!!! The nerves are starting to get to me already!! Yeah, I'm bringing someone....quite embarrassed to say it's my mum!! I don't think I'd wanna go alone tho.

Have you started getting your shopping list in yet, or are you waiting for next week? Also, it says on one of the forms to bring your medical card to Garnerville on your first day. I can't for the life of me find mine....do you think knowing your medical number would be enough???:D

fencingj wrote: »
    Hey! Ready???:eek: Dunno about that now lol!!! The nerves are starting to get to me already!! Yeah, I'm bringing someone....quite embarrassed to say it's my mum!! I don't think I'd wanna go alone tho.

Have you started getting your shopping list in yet, or are you waiting for next week? Also, it says on one of the forms to bring your medical card to Garnerville on your first day. I can't for the life of me find mine....do you think knowing your medical number would be enough???:D
    LOL me neither i cant find mine newhere so i hope so!!!!! Yeah started gettin a few things goin to get the rest next week. I'm sooo bloody nervous and trust me the best person to have is ur mum, im bringin mine 2 lol

That makes me feel so much better.....especially because I'm a bloke and she'll know where to get all the stuff on her shopping trips!! YES!! Ah, about the medical number. Is that number in a format that starts something like U85......?

Hmmm hope not i phoned my doctor for mine and mine had no letters in it, il phone again and check incase i've got the wrong number!!!! Give me 5mins and il let ya know;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭pedro552

hey gemmat1984 and fencingj,
    are ye 2 on the april intake?? whats this day your talking about?? where your bringing your mams in (nothing wrong with that)?? just wonderin as im waiting on my vetting at this stage!!
    also are ye guys from north or south??
    ps. congratulations on starting, lucky people.. and best of luck too...

Nope it has no letters!!! medical number has ten digits and if you phone the dr you shud be able to get it off them;)

pedro552 wrote: »
    are ye 2 on the april intake?? whats this day your talking about?? where your bringing your mams in (nothing wrong with that)?? just wonderin as im waiting on my vetting at this stage!!
    Hey pedro, yeah we are in the April intake and its the registration night in Garnerville that we are bringing our mums to lol:rolleyes: im from the north, not sure about fencingj

pedro552 wrote: »
    hi pedro552, it's a student registration night you're asked to go to about 2 weeks before your intake date. Think they just give you info on the course, and what we'll need, and get measured for uniform etc... You're allowed to bring guests, so I'm bringing my mum lol!! I'm from the north, handed in my vetting in november and it was completed in feb. how about you?? the waiting game as usual?? I actually can't believe i'm in, can't wait, but so nervous!!

Hmmm hope not i phoned my doctor for mine and mine had no letters in it, il phone again and check incase i've got the wrong number!!!! Give me 5mins and il let ya know;)
    I'm confused now....my mate in work just happens to carry hers about (sad person). She showed me hers, and her NHS number at the top of the card's in the format Uxx/xx/xxxx/x (x=numbers).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭pedro552

hey guys, thanks for the reply...
    that registration night will be a good chance to meet other students.. although this thread is also good!
    have ye guys got in contact outside this thread ie phoned, email etc.. might be a good idea!!!!
    yeah im just playing the waiting game... waiting on the bleedin guards to do my vetting!!
    i wouldnt worry about the nerves, they're a good thing, keep you on your toes, anyway they'll be gone on the second day!!
    i've been in a similar situation before and when everyones in the same boat it makes things alot easier.. dont be worrying, ye'll be grand!!

hi pedro552, it's a student registration night you're asked to go to about 2 weeks before your intake date. Think they just give you info on the course, and what we'll need, and get measured for uniform etc... You're allowed to bring guests, so I'm bringing my mum lol!! I'm from the north, handed in my vetting in november and it was completed in feb. how about you?? the waiting game as usual?? I actually can't believe i'm in, can't wait, but so nervous!!
    U can get a replacement medical card by filling in a HS100 form from ur Dr and if u mark it Urgent u shud get it back b4 u go in to Garnerville, doesnt cost nethin!!!

I'm confused now....my mate in work just happens to carry hers about (sad person). She showed me hers, and her NHS number at the top of the card's in the format Uxx/xx/xxxx/x (x=numbers).
    HMMMMM me confused now too:rolleyes: i'm sticking down wat my Dr told me and hope its right applying for a new card today neway to be on the safe side;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭carlty888

Not everyone who is vetted and put through a medical will be offered a place.

There is a certain amount of wastage in case some applicants fail either the medical or vetting stages.

They are indeed only offering the vetting/medical to a limited amount of people as aposed to the previous campaigns where everyone in the merit pool went through these stages. IE the top 440 then a small amount just in case, obviously carlty was in the just in case part.

So how are you all?

Martin.

Hi Martin,

Congrats to you and your fiancee on getting in. Gotta say I'm jealous.

Thanks for the above explanation. It's better than I've been able to come up with myself. Still, not too keen on people saying that "something aint right with" me (Cheers for that Goodcopbadcop).

Going for campaign 14 now myself. IST in late April and after that.... who knows? Que sera, sera.

U can get a replacement medical card by filling in a HS100 form from ur Dr and if u mark it Urgent u shud get it back b4 u go in to Garnerville, doesnt cost nethin!!!
    Thanks, will fax an application across now. The picture of the medical card they show you on the website, that's the same one my friend has. And the number at the top of it is in the format Uxx/xx/xxxx/x. Think that is the right one after all? Oh, the stress!!!

Ah Ha found this on Northern Trust website.......

You get a NHS card when you register as a patient with a GP. You can find out your NHS number from this card. This card also contains other information such as your name, address, date of birth, and details of your registered practice or individual doctor. You can also get your NHS number by just asking your GP because your number is sure to be found in your medical records and notes.

If your medical card is more than eight years old then your NHS number is likely to have changed because the new ones have ten digits.

So u need to get ur new number;) ur friends medical card is out of date!!!! Its now called your health and care number

http://www.nhsdirect.nhs.uk/articles/article.aspx?articleId=897

Ah Ha found this on Northern Trust website.......

You get a NHS card when you register as a patient with a GP. You can find out your NHS number from this card. This card also contains other information such as your name, address, date of birth, and details of your registered practice or individual doctor. You can also get your NHS number by just asking your GP because your number is sure to be found in your medical records and notes.

If your medical card is more than eight years old then your NHS number is likely to have changed because the new ones have ten digits.

So u need to get ur new number;) ur friends medical card is out of date!!!! Its now called your health and care number

http://www.nhsdirect.nhs.uk/articles/article.aspx?articleId=897
    Thanks very much, I think I'll just make the number up (joking) because it'd be less stressful!!! haha!! see you on Monday!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Maura2145

Gemmat1984 was this your first attempt to get in? You must be so happy to be starting :)

Maura2145 wrote: »
    Gemmat1984 was this your first attempt to get in? You must be so happy to be starting :)
    Yeah first timer:p I cant wait, really getting nervous now tho just cant wait to get in and get started!!

Have u applied for Campaign 14 or u in for 13 aswell???

Thanks very much, I think I'll just make the number up (joking) because it'd be less stressful!!! haha!! see you on Monday!!
    See u then:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Maura2145

Yea i bet u do! How long does your training last there then?

Nah just 14. Im still at university but i would love to get in when i finish. its always what i wanted to do.

Maura2145 wrote: »
    Yea i bet u do! How long does your training last there then?

Nah just 14. Im still at university but i would love to get in when i finish. its always what i wanted to do.
    Training is 21wks in total with 4wks at the start which is live in then you pass out and do 10wks training in firearms, driving etc!!

Good luck for Campaign 14, its a lengthly process but its defo worth it in the end if all goes well:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭OfficerProblem?

That's really interesting. My merit number's between 170-190, and I was asked to start in the March intake. I had to defer until April because it was slightly less than 4 weeks notice.

Hey! :)

I only had my medical this month - got the letter to say i had passed about a week and a half ago i think...

How long was it between passing your medical and getting word as to whether you would be offered a place or not? Or did you have to wait on vetting? I have been told my vetting is complete. :confused::confused: