First Gen iPhone Unlock / Sourcing (non subs) [Post these questions here *ONLY* !!!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭whiteshadow

lotas wrote: »
    from what i can gather in relation to the vodafone 500mb bundle, its mobile internet only. all data goes though the vodafone proxy, which, by the way, i have not managed to get working on the iPhone. internet browsing should work without issue though... If you can setup the proxy...

So do you think meteor might be the way to go for the moment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

While we are on the topic of internet, is there a way to permanently save Edge APN settings?
    I don't have a data package at the moment so I disable edge when I'm not using it, otherwise I'd have a crazy bill from RSS feeds, mail, etc. When I turn on Edge it always prompts me for settings, I get a menu with AT&T, 2 t-mobile options and a custom option. I always have to enter my APN in the custom option. Would be nice if it would save this and stop asking me for it every time I activate edge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭higster

chriskat wrote: »
    i just 112otb unlocked my phone using the iclarified method and i have to say it was the easiest and most painless and straightforward thing i have done with it yet and that is saying a lot because most of this stuff goes over my head, it really is an unlock for dummies!!!!!!

ps. hardly used stealth sim for sale....

Chriskat...are you telling me if I use the iclarified method to go to 1.1.3 (have an unlocked 1.1.2 phone) that I will not need the *sim thingy on my top of my O2 card anymore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭dlane99

yes 3 wont work on the iphone. and im only 2 months into my 3 contract... typical!

Anyway not sure which network to go for but that's another days decision. Today i want to upgrade my oob 1.1.2 jailbroken iphone to the 1.1.3 version and then run the software unlock. Still having issues with iclarified version, it shows up in my sources but in Uncategorized and it shows up as Untitled Source, doesnt show up in categories list?? Anyone have any ideas?

you can transfer the files to \usr\bin using iphonebrowser,
    install terminal, openssh and bsdsubsystem.

install putty on ur pc,
    connect to iphone thru putty,
    copy and paste commands,
    then done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭lotas

So do you think meteor might be the way to go for the moment?
    it might be. unless someone can get POP3 and IMAP working though HTTP (or, ideally OpenVPN working on the iPhone) you might be stuck with them. im stuck with Vodafone for the next 11 months (new contract last month... Ugh).

higster wrote: »
    Chriskat...are you telling me if I use the iclarified method to go to 1.1.3 (have an unlocked 1.1.2 phone) that I will not need the *sim thingy on my top of my O2 card anymore?

That's the theory. But i still cant go to 1.1.3 through iclarified.. up till 2 in the morning refreshing my sources etc.. but yes, your *sim is no longer needed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 emzontheweb

after finding unlockthatiphone from boards on google search i placed a order but by looking through the posts everyone and me are sick of waiting i cancelled with them and got a 16giga b iphone for 599 the same price as unlockthatiphone were charging!!!!ordered friday and got it sat :) i love it. i got it off a place called iphonesimsolutions.com it came unlocked and now working with my o2 sim. Anyone know any good sources? just general interesting stuff?

it might be. unless someone can get POP3 and IMAP working though HTTP (or, ideally OpenVPN working on the iPhone) you might be stuck with them. im stuck with Vodafone for the next 11 months (new contract last month... Ugh).

Alternatively i could sign up with 02, on one hand, at least their network will support everything when the iphone is rolled out here.. on the other hand, and this is just complete unfounded paranoia, if im on o2 they might be able to tell im on a non - contract iphone and do something to block me... :confused:

thoughts?

That's the theory. But i still cant go to 1.1.3 through iclarified.. up till 2 in the morning refreshing my sources etc.. but yes, your *sim is no longer needed

Strange just got it on installer sources no sweat and is have the soft 1.1.3 jailbreak showing under packages...now to press install...gulp...defo re *sim? Thinking of getting iPhone for Mrs and my brother is getting one, would save a LOT of hassel if no need for the *sim yoke (broke my heart)

who is to say O2 get the contract for Ireland? Ireland may not get the iPhone untill all the contracts go away. it may be in 6 months when the 3G iPhone comes out, in which vodafone *may* take it on. In all reality, unless apple pull something amazing out of the bag, i cant see it being "up to date" enough for vodafone. Voda are ploughing money into their HSDPA network (so are O2) so why have a phone that only does 3g? might look a bit odd: we have a network supporting 3.6mb/s, but our flagship phone runs at 384k...

Strange just got it on installer sources no sweat and is have the soft 1.1.3 jailbreak showing under packages...now to press install...gulp...defo re *sim? Thinking of getting iPhone for Mrs and my brother is getting one, would save a LOT of hassel if no need for the *sim yoke (broke my heart)

Im gonna try to uninstall and reinstall the BSD subsystem.
    to see if that works, but i cant seem to get past...

Step Sixteen
    Add the source http://installer.iClarified.com and press the large OK button.

Update: it worked for some reason after reinstalling BSD subsystem.. think i had a week wifi signal last night and BSD
    didnt install correctly... im updating and jailbreaking to 1.1.3 as i write this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭davkav

Hi guys, listen im having awful trouble trying to get installer working on iclarified jailbroken 1.1.3

Last night I had my 1.1.2 softwre unlocked using iClarified and then i upgraded to 1.1.3 with iClarified also.
    When the phone restarted installer wouldnt work, it was on the springboard but when clicked it hung for approx 5secs and then went back to SB.

Now whilst on 1.1.2 i had installed some 3rd party apps and i had run iworld so at the moment Im in the middle of downgrading to 1.1.1->oktoprep->1.1.2-> installing BSd subsys->iClarified soft upgrade and then ill soft unlock

hopefully this will work cause i have a feeling the 3rd party apps where messing up the directory so ill see what happens.

Anyone else having this problem???

edit: oh i also tried SSH'ing installer.app over to the iPhone last night but same thing happened, hung for 5sec then went back to SB

Progress:

Right so I worked up from 1.1.1 to jailbroken 1.1.2, installed BSD subsystem and added the iClarified source nothing else.
    Used the iClarified Soft upgrade and when that finished installer was working so the installed Geohot Unlock and that worked.

My one and only problem now is and always ahas been with 1.1.3 is how to set the region so i dont have the problem of +3538xxx and 08xxxx

I tried the appsupport file fix numerous times, didnt work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

Installer problems, worth trying this:
    http://www.hackint0sh.org/forum/showthread.php?t=25844

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭atgate

Hi

I know I've seen this problem talked about before but even with a forum and google search I can't find it.

A mate of mine unlocked his 1.1.3 16gb iPhone last night. It took him a couple of attempts to get there but he managed to unlock it - he's now in 1.1.3 unlocked, with iWorld installed but every time he tries to make a call he is thrown back to the springboard.

Any ideas?

I uninstalled all the third pary apps like summerboard etc

Im trying the iclarified method to upgrade and jailbrake 1.1.3..
    im at this stage
    2872.png

But how long should screen be like this for!?
    Been about 20 mins now...

might be a stupid question, but did he run iWorld and set the country? i installed it, tried to send a text and it crashed out. wasent untill i read the site a second time i realized it has to be run...

I uninstalled all the third pary apps like summerboard etc

Im trying the iclarified method to upgrade and jailbrake 1.1.3..
    im at this stage
    2872.png

But how long should screen be like this for!?
    Been about 20 mins now...

it takes about 20-30 mins all depends on internet connection and server traffic im at that screen at the mo too

might be a stupid question, but did he run iWorld and set the country? i installed it, tried to send a text and it crashed out. wasent untill i read the site a second time i realized it has to be run...

eh if im not mistaken iWorld doesnt work on 1.1.3 version

ahhh. i ran it on 1.1.2 and then upgraded to 1.1.3 using the installer app... sorry...

davkav wrote: »
    eh if im not mistaken iWorld doesnt work on 1.1.3 version

so do we have telephone numebrs problems when we go to 1.1.3? Scared outta my head to press that button...davkak and whiteshadow please let us know how ye get on...I've read reports that you could be on that screen for 45mins (also depends on your wifi strength and bb connection speeds....

Will do.. im still on that screen
    which is 53 minutes now... davkak how are you getting on?

...installed BSD subsystem and added the iClarified source nothing else.
    Used the iClarified Soft upgrade and when that finished installer was working so the installed Geohot Unlock and that worked.

What is the Geohot Unlock?

Will do.. im still on that screen
    which is 53 minutes now... davkak how are you getting on?

literally just finished there dont know how long it took wasnt keeping time, lets just say i made 3 cups of tea whilst waiting ;)

Id maximum an hour anyway but it works grand now

ill update in a few minutes if and how i get the phone number fix to work

Actually lads...what phones have ye (were they 1.1.2 outta the box and then jailbreaked?) and which method did ye use...

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=611
    Uses Soft 1.1.3 Jailbreakpackage

or

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=649
    Uses Geohot Unlock (1.1.2, 1.1.3)

What is the Geohot Unlock?

its the unlock in installer to unlock either 1.1.2 or 1.1.3 hes the guy who came up with the unlock method

its under iClarified
    Source: installer.iClarified.com

Actually lads...what phones have ye (were they 1.1.2 outta the box and then jailbreaked?) and which method did ye use...

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=611
    Uses Soft 1.1.3 Jailbreakpackage

or

http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=649
    Uses Geohot Unlock (1.1.2, 1.1.3)

Mines 1.1.2 OTB

you need to use both methods the first one (soft 1.1.3) just installs version 1.1.3 and jailbreaks it for you and the secone (GeoHot) unlocks the phone so you can use any sim i.e. vodafone meteor etc....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

literally just finished there dont know how long it took wasnt keeping time, lets just say i made 3 cups of tea whilst waiting ;)

Id maximum an hour anyway but it works grand now

ill update in a few minutes if and how i get the phone number fix to work

I left mine for two hours - it was obviously stuck so I reset, and all was well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭atgate

Deffo not a stupid question.... he put iWorld on in 1.1.2 but the icon didn't show on springboard (he didn't know it should have) but it was in his list of installed apps. I told him to try it with another simcard which he did and when he put his own sim in the iworld icon appeared, set it to ireland and it's working for him. It is possible he just needed to do a full reboot to get iworld working properly.

Mines 1.1.2 OTB

you need to use both methods the first one (soft 1.1.3) just installs version 1.1.3 and jailbreaks it for you and the secone (GeoHot) unlocks the phone so you can use any sim i.e. vodafone meteor etc....

Good man! Thanks. How you getting on with telephone numbers/text etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭anthony4335

I have just unlocked an iphone for a friend resently, for the first time. In the quest to do this the amount of information is mind boggling. Some good others not.
    So what I have to ask is, what are the Xsims all about and do they work? As I see some people selling a unlocked I phone along with one of these.
    Also has anyone got one unlocked and are using a Three sim card in an iphone. As I had to borrow a sim from a friend as I could not get my three sim to work.
    Sorry about this ,as I am sure this has all been asked and answered already but as I have already said the amount of information on the iphone is unreal.