First Gen iPhone Unlock / Sourcing (non subs) [Post these questions here *ONLY* !!!]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Cremo wrote: »
    Just wondering if there a app out there to get applemail to check mail automatically, I know there is something like this in mail settings but 15 minutes is the shortest interval and that is way to long

I found that checking it every 15 minutes ate my battery. You can just open mail, let it start to connect, and close it and it will check in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,658 ✭✭✭PowerHouseDan

higster wrote: »
    On a completly different subject...headphones...which ones work with the iphone or am i stuck with the apple supplied ones (I prefer in ear ones and ones i have will not fit the headphone jack)

You can buy an adapter so that your ones will fit. I myself use bluetooth ones with my jabra a125s but you can buy a adapter for like 5 dollars.

Same
    chrislad wrote: »
    I found that checking it every 15 minutes ate my battery. You can just open mail, let it start to connect, and close it and it will check in the background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭davkav

Just posting this up to help other peeps that have OTB 1.1.2 iPhones.

I bought one of these hyper cards last week, worked a brilliantly and aparently wwhen 1.1.3 and so on come out i can update without any side-affects.

anyways if anyone is thinking of buying one off the net or is weary of buying one (cause ive seen some mixed comments on other forums) they work 100%.

One small note remember to install iworld and change the region to ireland so it recognises yous im cards format (i.e. all the +353 stuff and so on)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Kotek Besar

davkav wrote: »
    Just posting this up to help other peeps that have OTB 1.1.2 iPhones.

I bought one of these hyper cards last week, worked a brilliantly and aparently wwhen 1.1.3 and so on come out i can update without any side-affects.

anyways if anyone is thinking of buying one off the net or is weary of buying one (cause ive seen some mixed comments on other forums) they work 100%.

One small note remember to install iworld and change the region to ireland so it recognises yous im cards format (i.e. all the +353 stuff and so on)

It might be my eyes, but I can't see a price on their website?

i quite like the APPARENTLY it will work with 1.1.3 i would bet money none of them will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭darsar

cdebru wrote: »
    go to the installer and uninstall customize then reinstall it would probably be the easiest way

I tried that but it would not reappear. I downloaded xLaunch and that did the trick, thanks anyway:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,389 ✭✭✭cianclarke

i quite like the APPARENTLY it will work with 1.1.3 i would bet money none of them will.
    You're probably right, but given that hyper-sim and turbo-sim (IMO the best of the lot) are updatable there is a distinct possibility that it will work.

With some of the *sims they aren't updatable and don't stand a chance!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 markgoggin

benifa wrote: »
    It might be my eyes, but I can't see a price on their website?

Clicked on buy to see if there was a price. It went no further than a "website malfunction" statement and then gave me a form for them to contact me. Not a good start.

Been like that for weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭moorele

I'm having some trouble setting up my wifi. Dan & cdebru tried to help me before i went away... i'm back now and want to try and tackle it again. My wireless network is clearwire and its through a belkin 54g router. When i try to open a web page it tells me "Safari cannot open this page because it cant find the server.,"

When i go to settings>wifi belkin 54g comes up with a tick beside it and full strength airport symbol. When i click the blue arrow all the boxes under DHCP BootP and Static are empty. (They were filled in with numbers the last time but they're not this time.)

Any ideas? I'm logged onto wireless from my pc at the moment so dont think thats the problem

Click forget about this network and connect again also do you have wep protection?

By that you mean password yeah? Nope no password.

Ok under DHCP
    ip address 85.134.154.143
    subnet mask 255.255.192.0
    router 85.134.128.1
    dns 85.134.255.245, 85.134.255.242

cdebru told me to do this before:
    " That IP address is wrong it looks like a public IP address

You should have a local IP address like 192.168.xx.xx

your DNS servers are from clearwire so I presume that is your ISP.

I never used Clearwire what way is it set up is your desktop or laptop connected directly to the router via a lan cable or via wireless.

if you turn on your comp presuming its windows go to start then run in the box type cmd black box will open type ipconfig/all and then hit enter a list of stuff will come up
    what is your IP address is it the same as the one that your iphone is showing

also note your default gateway and DNS servers

I have no experience with clearwire but from the detail provided the IP address looks like a public IP and that could mean that your router is in bridge mode where it is just passing on the IP from your isp and not working as a router at all.
    maybe that is the way Clearwire works I don't know did the router come from clearwire or did you install it yourself do you have a separate modem or receiver from clearwire"

When i did the cmd thing this comes up:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : clearwire.ie
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : HP 802.11abg wireless LAN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-65-53-9B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9dce:3c06:2077:8c31%9(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 85.134.188.223(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.192.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 06 January 2008 15:50:42
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 07 January 2008 00:08:28
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 85.134.128.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 85.134.255.245
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 151001715
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 85.134.255.245
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Sorry for the overload of info

moorele wrote: »
    By that you mean password yeah? Nope no password.

Ok under DHCP
    ip address 85.134.154.143
    router 85.134.128.1
    dns 85.134.255.245, 85.134.255.242

cdebru told me to do this before:
    " That IP address is wrong it looks like a public IP address

You should have a local IP address like 192.168.xx.xx

your DNS servers are from clearwire so I presume that is your ISP.

I never used Clearwire what way is it set up is your desktop or laptop connected directly to the router via a lan cable or via wireless.

if you turn on your comp presuming its windows go to start then run in the box type cmd black box will open type ipconfig/all and then hit enter a list of stuff will come up
    what is your IP address is it the same as the one that your iphone is showing

also note your default gateway and DNS servers

I have no experience with clearwire but from the detail provided the IP address looks like a public IP and that could mean that your router is in bridge mode where it is just passing on the IP from your isp and not working as a router at all.
    maybe that is the way Clearwire works I don't know did the router come from clearwire or did you install it yourself do you have a separate modem or receiver from clearwire"

When i did the cmd thing this comes up:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . : clearwire.ie
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : HP 802.11abg wireless LAN
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1A-73-65-53-9B
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::9dce:3c06:2077:8c31%9(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 85.134.188.223(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.192.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : 06 January 2008 15:50:42
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : 07 January 2008 00:08:28
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 85.134.128.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 85.134.255.245
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 151001715
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 85.134.255.245
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Sorry for the overload of info

cdebru is correct.

It looks like your router is set to clone your WAN IP address. Quickest and easiest solution:

1. Hard reset your router.
    2. Setup wifi security on your router.
    3. Connect your Iphone to the new network.

Ok stupid question... How do i reset my router?

There should be a reset "hole" in the back of the router.

Ok i done that. I literally stuck a staple in the reset hole and held it for a few seconds... now what do i do?

Connect your Clearwire modem in to the WAN ethernet port on the router. A second ethernet cable will connect between your PC and one of the four LAN ethernet ports on the router.

the clearwire is connected to the router with an ethernet cable but i dont have a second cable connecting to my macbook. i'm still using the wireless to write these msgs. i'm on the belkin site now and its saying to log onto the WAP’s web-based advanced user interface by typing in the browser 192.168.2.254 and i should be able to set up a password there but the page wont open

sorry i'm a TOTAL novice at all this!

the clearwire is connected to the router with an ethernet cable but i dont have a second cable connecting to my macbook. i'm still using the wireless to write these msgs. i'm on the belkin site now and its saying to log onto the WAP’s web-based advanced user interface by typing in the browser 192.168.2.254 and i should be able to set up a password there but the page wont open

sorry i'm a TOTAL novice at all this!

Ok, since you've hard reset the router, theoretically you can connect your MacBook to the unsecured wireless network, log in, and configure a secured wireless network that way. In other words, it may not be imperative that you configure a secured wireless network using an ethernet cable.

I'm surprised Belkin are telling you that 192.168.2.254 is the gateway IP, because in past experience it's 192.168.2.1 for Belkin routers. Try either, but first you need to make sure that your MacBook is successfully connected to the (now) unsecured wireless network and has an IP address (which should be 192.168.2.x, where x is a number other than 1. It is likely to be 192.168.2.2). You should also be able to access the internet.

Once you've confirmed the above, log in to 192.168.2.254 or 192.168.2.1, whichever it is, and secure the network. After that, you'll need to re-connect your MacBook to the (now) secured wireless network. Finally, connect your Iphone. Done.

Ok, since you've hard reset the router, theoretically you can connect your MacBook to the unsecured wireless network, log in, and configure a secured wireless network that way. In other words, it may not be imperative that you configure a secured wireless network using an ethernet cable.

I'm surprised Belkin are telling you that 192.168.2.254 is the gateway IP, because in past experience it's 192.168.2.1 for Belkin routers. Try either, but first you need to make sure that your MacBook is successfully connected to the (now) unsecured wireless network and has an IP address (which should be 192.168.2.x, where x is a number other than 1. It is likely to be 192.168.2.2). You should also be able to access the internet.

Once you've confirmed the above, log in to 192.168.2.254 or 192.168.2.1, whichever it is, and secure the network. After that, you'll need to re-connect your MacBook to the (now) secured wireless network. Finally, connect your Iphone. Done.

On my macbook when i go to system preferences>network>TCP/IP it says
    ip address 85.134.139.15
    router 85.134.128.1

Is there anyway I can change the ip address???

On my macbook when i go to system preferences>network>TCP/IP it says
    ip address 85.134.139.15
    router 85.134.128.1

Is there anyway I can change the ip address???

Are those static values or assigned by DHCP? Are you sure that you hard reset your router?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 markgoggin

Just read in the Mail on Sunday that the iPhone will be released in March or April here. That's according to an O2 spokes person. Don't know how accurate that is as they said the reason for the delay is that the deal still isn't done with Apple and that the Edge network still isn't ready!

Are those static values or assigned by DHCP? Are you sure that you hard reset your router?

DHCP

and as for resetting the router i literally stuck a staple into the reset hole for 5 seconds. i'll do it again now....

Sorry about all this. Like i said i'm totally clueless!

Ok i just reset it again. I put a staple in the back, held it down for about 10 seconds... the lights all went off and came back on. I restarted my comp and airport automatically detected the network. When i opened the network settings they dont seem to have changed. Ip address is as before. I really havent a clue anymore!!! Resetting the router cant be this hard...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭cdebru

Ok i just reset it again. I put a staple in the back, held it down for about 10 seconds... the lights all went off and came back on. I restarted my comp and airport automatically detected the network. When i opened the network settings they dont seem to have changed. Ip address is as before. I really havent a clue anymore!!! Resetting the router cant be this hard...

What is the model of the belkin

Are you sure it is a router not a wireless Ethernet adaptor

cdebru wrote: »
    ..Are you sure it is a router not a wireless Ethernet adaptor

Good thinking! I bet that's it. Makes perfect sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Junior

Lads,

I've got a client bugging me about using an IPhone as a Business phone, now I would love to use one myself but supporting one for end l-users isn't my idea of fun.

Anyways his questions are ..

He only wants to be able to see the headers initially and download email only if required ?

I don't know if this is possible, he's connecting back to an exchange server, so it's dependant on the email client on the far end, I would have thought. Anyone an answer on that ?

Calendars & contacts synchronised automatically without the necessity of having to come to office to synchronise.

Again I'm pretty sure he's going to have to synch against something e.g. a laptop that connects to the office - I'm not sure if it will synch to an exchange server again ?

What's Battery Life like ?

Whats the situation on Car Kits ?

I presume it's bluetooth only ?

TIA

Junior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

jamegg wrote: »
    FAO: Jester77

Hi jester, I have now just done what you did a few posts back, can you tell me how to get the customize back??

Thanks.

I only had my phone a few days and didn't really have anything configured correctly at the time. I was still in the experimental phase ;)

I looked around and the few solutions I saw were a bit complicated so I decided that the easiest way was to start from scratch again so I started the whole unlock process and that worked fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I vaguely recall a program that allowed you to scroll down on the Springboard, rather than move side to side to a new page. I thought it was Customize, but I'm using 1.20 and the feature is not there. Any ideas?