Fireworks And Fools

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,706 ✭✭✭120_Minutes

next time you catch him in the act, tape bangers to each of his hands and one down his pants. then light them.

A knacker without a penis cant breed and a knacker without fists cant fight. He'll then realise that he's got no reason to live and kill himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,441 ✭✭✭Firetrap

OP. I'm sorry for the problems you're having. The only thing I can suggest to you in the short-term is for you to block up your letterbox and keep your windows closed so that no more fireworks can be dropped into your house. It's a horrible story - we could've been reading about Gavin & Millie all over again here. Or that poor unfortunate woman in Clonmel who burned to death because some of the local lowlifes decided to set a wheelie-bin on fire at her house.

It is feckin' typical that the guards can't/won't do anything to help you. If you were driving at 55kph in a 50kph area, you can bet your bottom dollar that you'd be caught.

The first thought that came into my head was to rig up some sort of surveillance equipment but I'm sure there are other helpful souls here who will tell me that that's a waste of time and about as much use as a chocolate fireguard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,310 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

It is what it is, a few kids playing with fireworks.
    Cop the f**k on. Ever see what happens to a small child when post comes through the door? Now imagine instead of post, it was a firework, which blew the small kids hands or face off? Still f**king laughing are you?
    Overreact much? The only way a banger could kill you is if you choked on it.
    Are you talking about fun snaps, or the one's that can blow the fingers off your hand?

=-=

If some little b*****d threw a banger into my letterbox, I'd hunt him down and **** several shades of **** out of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

FruitLover wrote:
    Overreact much? The only way a banger could kill you is if you choked on it.

Are we talking about bangers or fireworks here then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

ntlbell wrote:
    How do you suppose the parent's stop it?

have them in at 11pm? so they do it at 10/10.30pm instead?

How as a mother/father are you going to prevent your teenage kids from purchasing fireworks?

I understand you have the best intentions they're just not very realistic.

god, is there an 'ignore poster' option in this forum ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

I'm sorry God is busy right now, but He told me to tell you that if you follow this link you can add any poster to your ignore list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

next time you catch him in the act, tape bangers to each of his hands and one down his pants. then light them.

A knacker without a penis cant breed and a knacker without fists cant fight. He'll then realise that he's got no reason to live and kill himself.

But with no balls and no hands - the knacker would have no notion how to kill himself :D

Fireworks arent funny though and those kids should be run down and have the ****e scared out of them: if it were me I'd shove a sparkler up their holes.
    Hagar wrote:
    I'm sorry God is busy right now, but He told me to tell you that if you follow this link you can add any poster to your ignore list.

Cheers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Overheal wrote:
    Fireworks arent funny though and those kids should be run down and have the ****e scared out of them: if it were me I'd shove a sparkler up their holes.

Now that's funny :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 459 ✭✭Ger the man

The only thing that will stop them is when one of them suffers a serious injury when a firework goes off in there hand. I did a lot of work with the St.Johns Ambulance and coming up to Halloween was always a nightmare. Ive patched up more kids with firework injurys than Ive had hot dinners, when we tried to reach the parents we were called all the names under the sun because they had to leave the pub to collect their little angel.

Teenagers get away with too much today because they know they can imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,591 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

What's the most common source of fireworks at the moment? The 2 I can think of are going up the North or going down Henry street (in Dublin at least). Why can't the gards do anything about either of these? They are sold so openly in Dublin that the sellers should be routinely arrested. They are not hard to spot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

chasm wrote:

It is only early october yet and i dont think my nerves will hold out till after hallowe'en. Am I wrong to think that maybe vigilante justice is what some of these mindless fools deserve?
    Thanks for reading

No, you're not wrong. Its the only thing they understand. If it was my house its the route I'd be taking. Guards are a waste of time in these situations...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

Hmm not does not sound like fun at all, i remember a few years back the place where i was living had patio doors/sliding doors/french doors (wqhatever u want to call them) and TBH i love it when morons do stuff like that and every time you hear about someone blowing there hand or there finger off just have a good laugh to yourself and remember what they did to you.

Anyway back to the story... sliding doors, there was about 6 teens throwing fireworks at the window (open window in the top left trying to get them in but they where ****e shot, same story guardai called nothing happens then i heard them say "hes over there" so i looked and the cat was right outside the patio door cowering in the corner against the wall so i opened the door and the cat ran in, turned out those ****ers where throwing fireworks at my cat not the window, man i wish i wasent so young back then instead of being 11 (22 now but i still remember those scumbag primtive *****) if i had been equil or above age to those doing it but the stupid thing is i would be in jail even though they where the agressers.

****ing irish legal system, when i was younger i used to complain that fireworks where illigal but with morons like those and the ones described in your story its probbley a good thing they are illigal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

Hagar wrote:

my thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭chasm

Hi Guys, sorry for dragging back an old thread but im too wrecked to type out the story again in a new thread.
    Since my original post it was quite quiet here until earlier this week.

Then last night was like WW3. There were over 30 lads up here at one stage.
    A group of about 9 of them were kicking the Sh*te out of my front door(and my neighbours) and roaring like the neanderthals that they are, Then they tried to put another firework in the door-luckily i still have a bit of mdf screwed to the inside of the door over the letter box hole so Luckily no damage was caused but it set the alarm off
    (saves me testing it this week i suppose!!) and filled the house and my lungs with smoke.

Written down here it does not sound very frightening but i can assure you that at the time it was and im still very jumpy at every little noise today. Even now im very nervous of going to bed incase something kicks off again, even though i am absolutely shattered.
    I know this probably sounds like an awful thing to say, but as i said to my mother today,
    i can see what drives people to go out , get a gun and and just shoot the f*kers!!
    These fools do this stuff for kicks or whatever, but don't realise the impact it has on other people. I survived a house fire about 10 years ago and to be honest i dont need any nasty reminders of it!

With any luck this will be the end of it-but i seriously doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,421 ✭✭✭projectmayhem

chasm wrote: »
    Written down here it does not sound very frightening but i can assure you that at the time it was and im still very jumpy at every little noise today.

jesus, that sounds horrendous. what kind of animals live near you?!

around here we had 3 groups of kids round for trick or treating, and my little brother (who has now outgrown the whole trick or treating thing) had a mini-party here with some of his friends.

loads of fireworks but nothing sinister. saw the remnants of one or two bonfires (didn't look like they were big though) around here or there this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,112 ✭✭✭Blowfish

hmm, I'm kind of suprised at how seriously some people here are taking this kind of thing. Maybe it's just the area I'm in, but this type of thing is pretty much a normality for this time of the year, so all this talk of calling the guards and it being arson is quite suprising.

Once you get a new letterbox though, rather than nailing it up for next year, you are better off putting a bucket of water below the entrance. I've found that if it's blocked, they'll try to break whatever is blocking it to get the firework/banger in, but if there's a bucket there they will think they've been succesful and leave, but the firework will be extinguished. It also has the added advantage that very little smoke will be left lingering.

Around my area though, it's actually been fairly quiet with this type of thing this year, with just the two letterbox ones, two chucked at me, and 4 fires (not bonfires, just random things set alight).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭chasm

Blowfish wrote: »
    hmm, I'm kind of suprised at how seriously some people here are taking this kind of thing. Maybe it's just the area I'm in, but this type of thing is pretty much a normality for this time of the year, so all this talk of calling the guards and it being arson is quite suprising.

Once you get a new letterbox though, rather than nailing it up for next year, you are better off putting a bucket of water below the entrance. I've found that if it's blocked, they'll try to break whatever is blocking it to get the firework/banger in, but if there's a bucket there they will think they've been succesful and leave, but the firework will be extinguished. It also has the added advantage that very little smoke will be left lingering.

Around my area though, it's actually been fairly quiet with this type of thing this year, with just the two letterbox ones, two chucked at me, and 4 fires (not bonfires, just random things set alight).

I cannot help but take something that could potentially endanger my life as serious.
    Just because it was hallowe'en does not give people the right to break the law. Sure if that was the case i should go out at Xmas, get p*ssed and drive a car over some of them- I mean, drunk driving seems to be a normalily to some people at holiday season.
    I think half the problem is that we just ignore it and the little f*kers get away with it all the time. Once the fireworks run out they will just go back to their usual weekend fun of vandalism and fighting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Blowfish wrote: »
    hmm, I'm kind of suprised at how seriously some people here are taking this kind of thing.

What kind of area do you live in? I would imagine most people would treat that sort of stuff very seriously.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

chasm wrote: »
    I cannot help but take something that could potentially endanger my life as serious.
    Just because it was hallowe'en does not give people the right to break the law. Sure if that was the case i should go out at Xmas, get p*ssed and drive a car over some of them- I mean, drunk driving seems to be a normalily to some people at holiday season.
    I think half the problem is that we just ignore it and the little f*kers get away with it all the time. Once the fireworks run out they will just go back to their usual weekend fun of vandalism and fighting.

Gazzer was slagged for this by one poster, but you do need to catch them on video when they are doing the crim behaviour on your house.

The gardai will blab out the line that they have to catch them in the act, video evidence is catchin them in the act.

Put a night IR camera up in a discreet location and record what they are doing.
    If your recording with a hand camera, be careful not to be seen as you could agitate the situation further.
    This way the gardai can identify them, they will throw the book at them as you have provided the evidence.
    A few warnings of spells in St Pats will frighten most of the teenagers and they will stop targetting you at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

we sat out on halloween with a few beers and a pump action pellet gun. Much fun was had, i've never seen those little <unts cry so hard :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

if it was me i would beat the head of them with a baseball bat.:cool:
    i agree with this sentiment. you can get aluminum ones that make a very satisfying ding too.

cmon lads ? use your imagination ;) inserting one of the said fireworks up his back passage and lighting it would be much more fun, and an experience he wouldn't forget in a hurry :D