Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Week 4, Day 3

Squat:
    Bar x loads
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    95kg x5
    115kg x4
    135kg 2x3
    150kg x3
    160kg 2x2
    160kg x3

Bench: (all with long pauses)
    65kg x5
    80g x4
    90kg 2x3
    105kg 6x3

Flys:
    20kg 'bells 5x10

Pause Squats:
    60kg x5
    90kg x5
    110kg 3x5

Paused Dips:
    bodyweight 5x6

*supersetted with*

Hanging Leg Raises:
    5x10

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Many thanks to Malteaser! for keeping my journal updated while I've been unable to post.

Today was the final hurrah. The last few days have been truly brutual.

A brief recap; (I think I've gotten a max of 5 hours sleep each night since friday)

Friday: worked up to 200kgx3 sumo deadlift, 110kg 3x2 bench

Saturday: 180kg convo deadlift x10 (almost 11), famers walks with 140kg, keg carries etc

Sunday: squats up to 160kgx3, bench 105kg 6x3

Monday: Deads to knees, 150kg 4x2, incline bench balls out.

I'm feeling kinda rough at this stage.

Now, for the last time...

Week 4, Day 4

Sumos deads to knees: (ie pull the bar from the floor to just above knee level and hold there for a split second before dropping it back t othe floor)
    60kg x3
    100kg x3
    130kg x3
    150kg 4x2

Behind the neck press:
    20kg x5
    30kg x5
    40kg x5
    50kg x5
    60kg x5 (chuffed with that!)

Incline bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x4
    90kg 5x4
    90kg 1x6 (pretty much equal to my best ever incline, and considering it was after all the previous sets and after benching 3x this week already it says alot about how strong my chest has gotten)

One arm dumbbell rows:
    20kg x15
    37.5kg x40

Sumo stance pull thrus:
    3x15

Well, c'est fini.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,479 ✭✭✭t-ha

Congrats man - that is alot of work in those 2 pages. I'd say re-running the whole cycle again would almost be worse 'cos you'ld know what you've got ahead of you?!

t-ha wrote:
    Congrats man - that is alot of work in those 2 pages. I'd say re-running the whole cycle again would almost be worse 'cos you'ld know what you've got ahead of you?!

Wel tbh running the cycle was a bad idea because it was realy written for a master of sport or candidate to master of sport. Those guys are totalling 80-100kg over my raw maxes.... I should really have been doing a rated sports man cycle but I only found that out half way thru and there wasn't a chance in hell i was stopping!

Dave, I'm going to re-test my raw bench and sumo deadlift on Thursday, go on holidays on Friday, and then about the 7-9th of July hop back onto a 3 day a week Sheiko cycle for the next 2 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Leon11

Good work there bro

Thanks.. It'll be good work if I bench 140 tho.

ANyway, check out what Sheiko did to my legs...

Photo405.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Narrow squatting ftw huh? Great work, 500 on thursday!

tribulus wrote:
    Narrow squatting ftw huh?

Narrow squatting ftVMO ;)

It would appear I've packed on an absolute sh!t load of muslce onto my upper back, erectors, chest and delts too in the past 4 weeks. I have to say that when I looked at these pics I was truly shocked how much bigger my upper back and erectors in particular had gotten.

Photo426.jpg
    Photo415.jpg

now you're just showing off...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

http://asp.elitefts.com/qa/default.asp?qid=54819&tid=138

I don't know if this is where Hanley got his but it explains things well anyway and gives some templates.

daveirl wrote:

http://www.joeskopec.com/programs.html

I did the first cycle there. BUT it's not recommended. Apparently it's writtn for a MS/CMS. I didn't know that when I started tho.

And thanks, it's amazing what a diet of chocolate, coke, lucozade and fast food 4+ times a week can do!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

That's some savage work Hanley, fecking awesome. perhaps this is a silly question but you mentioned you had gained a couple of kilos on the first page and again at the top there. What's the cut off point for your weight division for the world comps? Is it possible you'd go over it? Perhaps that's fanciful thinking but you seem to be gaining a lot of muscle.

I lift at 90kg. Which bascially means I have to weight between 82.6kg and 90kg at the weigh in. Usually I get to within 1.5-2kg the week before the competition and the rest comes off thru water manipulation in hte days before. Typically I lose 2+kg for weigh in and have it all back on again within 2-3 hours!

First day back in the gym since I got back from Greece today. Decided I wanted to test and see where my shirted bench was at.

Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x3
    100kg x1
    120kg x1
    135kg x2
    145kg x1
    150kg x1
    155kg x1
    160kg x1
    165kg x1
    100kg 3x8

Face Pulls:
    p6 3x12

Bent Over Sholder Raises:
    15kg 'bells 3x12

Chest Supported Rows:
    p80 x12
    p100 x10
    p110 x6
    p120 3x6

Barbell curls:
    30kg x12
    35kg 2x12, 1x15

Absolutely over the moon with my bench strength at the mo. The 165 was a bit of a dogfight but I had done ALOT of work before it so I wasn't too surprised.

170 is right around the corner. I'm not competiting til late November so right now I'm gunning for 2x bodyweight (180kg).

My rear delts felt REALLY fatigued on the sets of 100. I remember reading somewhere that if you're failing around 2-3 board height then rear delts might be the cause since that's where the transition between the shirt and lockout strength is. Dunno how true it is, but that's where I usually miss lifts and since it was feeling a bit tired it might be something to work on.

I'll be restarting a 4 month sheiko peaking cycle on July 16th, so til then I'm just gonna be hammering some of the things I've been ignoring (specifically pull ups, rear delts, biceps and a few others.)

But woot, I bench 165kg/365lbs today. More confirmation that Sheiko is the ****!!

You are an actual beast!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Malteaser! wrote:
    You are an actual beast!!

Too right!
    Hanley wrote:
    165kg x1

Jaysus man that's incredible! I know/knew a guy who can bench 120 and I never thought anyone would be able to bench than that. How long have you been lifting weights?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Money Shot

Hanley wrote:
    First day back in the gym since I got back from Greece today. Decided I wanted to test and see where my shirted bench was at.

You're training seems to be going very well - great lifting - tis weird, I find a week off can sometimes get me over a plateau, when I expect to be down. Maybe it's the extra weight from a weeks indulgence:D

Can I just ask how much 'extra' the shirt gives you. I've never worn one, but have spoken to powerlifters before who have said that they give you a fair bit of extra poundage and give you the confidence to attempt weights you otherwise wouldn't go near. One guy always wore one, for every training session too. I suppose it makes sense if you're using it in a competition, you should be training in it as much as possible.

What is the current take on these shirts - I assume as they are legal in all or most powerlifting competitions, and everyone has to wear one to compete at the same level ?

First day back squatting today and I had to do it in Total Fitness Castleknock since Hercs closes at 7 and I don't get in from work til about 6.30 (shock, horror!!). The weight room's pretty good tho and seperate from the main gym area so it could have been worse.

Anyways;

Bench:
    60kg x6
    80kg x6
    100kg 2x6

Beltless Squats:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x3
    120kg x3
    140kg x10

Pause Front Squats:
    60kg x3
    100kg x3

Hypers:
    bw x6
    10kg x6
    15kg x6
    20kg x6
    30kg x6
    37.5kg x8

Dumbbell Rows (Kroc rows, no straps):
    30kg x15
    42.5kg x30

Absolutely delighted with the squats. HUGE PR there, my previous best beltless was 6 reps. Obviously I didn't test my max, but Sheiko put A LOT onto my squat. I probably woulda gone 180kg+ beltless today, so 10-15kg extra I guess.

The rows were done without chalk as well since the gym doesn't allow it. Another big PR tho.

Things are going well.

Money Shot wrote:
    You're training seems to be going very well - great lifting - tis weird, I find a week off can sometimes get me over a plateau, when I expect to be down. Maybe it's the extra weight from a weeks indulgence:D

Can I just ask how much 'extra' the shirt gives you. I've never worn one, but have spoken to powerlifters before who have said that they give you a fair bit of extra poundage and give you the confidence to attempt weights you otherwise wouldn't go near. One guy always wore one, for every training session too. I suppose it makes sense if you're using it in a competition, you should be training in it as much as possible.

What is the current take on these shirts - I assume as they are legal in all or most powerlifting competitions, and everyone has to wear one to compete at the same level ?

The week off's a big help because it allows your body to rest up and return to full power (and then some).

The shirt issue's a tricky one. For me, the simple answer is aboot 20-25kg.

Complicated answer... depends on the shirt. One of the original Inzer Blasts, maybe 5kg. The new single ply Titan's and Inzers... 20-90kg depending on lockout strength and technique. Double poly and double denim... 100-150kg but only guys benching 250kg+ can realisticly expect to use them.

The shirt isn't a magic bullet and it takes ALOT of work to get good in one. They're alot of fun tho. They also help protect your joints a huge amount (I don't feel near as beat up after a 1rm attempt in a shirt as I would in a tee).

Lots more to add but I'm falling asleep at the keyboard here. I'll update this tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Just checked out those vids, dude thats anawesome weight to be putting across your shoulders! You make it look easy. Keep up the good work, drop by when ever you get a chance.

Jon

Total Fitness again tonight :(

Pull ups:
    2x6 (just to wake the body up)

Deadlifts:
    60kg x3
    110kg x3
    140kg x3
    160kg x3
    180kg x3 (lost my grip, fatter bar than normal, no knurling and no chalk = ugh)
    180kg 2x5

Speed Pulls (done like they should be):
    140kg 8x1 (60 second rests)

Pull ups:
    bodyweight 3x8

Bent Over Rows:
    60kg x10
    80kg x10
    90kg x10

Power Shrugs:
    70kg x10
    100kg x10
    130kg x10
    150kg x10
    160kg x15

Barbell Curls:
    20kg x8
    40kg x6
    45kg x6
    50kg x6

Standing Dumbbell Curls:
    15kg 3x15
    180kg 2x5

There was a fair bit of work done in the gym today. I'm trying to work with higher reps now for the next 3 weeks just to build some endurance up before I go back at Sheiko again.

So far so good.

And the best part about today is that it was done 48 hours after a brutal squat session.

Feeling strong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

how come you're not in Hercs dude?

Jon wrote:
    how come you're not in Hercs dude?

I'm working full time for the next 2 months as part of an internship program for college. I leave my gaff about 7.50am in the morning and don't get home til like 6.45pm. Downstairs in Hercs cloeses at 7pm and trying to train upstairs would be WAY too much hassle.

TF's open til like 10 and it's decent enough so it's just what I have to make do with for now.

and this way you get to train with mmmeeeeeeeeeeee!!! :):)

Malteaser! wrote:
    and this way you get to train with mmmeeeeeeeeeeee!!! :):)

Please, you get to train with ME.