Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Registered Users Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

Hanley wrote:
    I'm working full time for the next 2 months as part of an internship program for college. I leave my gaff about 7.50am in the morning and don't get home til like 6.45pm. Downstairs in Hercs cloeses at 7pm and trying to train upstairs would be WAY too much hassle.

TF's open til like 10 and it's decent enough so it's just what I have to make do with for now.

Yeh its not a bad spot, you might bump ito Eamonn up there some evening

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

Jon wrote:
    Yeh its not a bad spot, you might bump ito Eamonn up there some evening

Yeah, I'd say I will.

I was actually talking to a couple of older lads who used to train in Hercs and they were saying Ger O'Grady trains in TF now a days too (as in IPF world champion Ger O'Grady!).

It would appear they're are some terribly strong guys up there.

Back in Hercs today. A welcome break after a weak of total fitness.

Bench:
    60kg x3
    100kg x3
    110kg x2
    120kg 2x3
    105kg x8

2 Board Press w/ chains*:
    100kg x5
    105kg x5
    110kg x3

Seated Dumbbell Press:
    25kg 3x12

Chest Supported Row:
    100 x8
    110 x8
    120 x8

Face Pulls:
    4x15

*The chains weigh about 10kg a piece on the top end (so 110kg +20ish kg)

My bench is definaely coming along. The extra bit of weight I'm carrying certainly seems to help.

Triceps and grip work to come later on tonight.

Training part deux tonight.

Hypers:
    unweighted 3x20 (to get the bloood flowing)

Skull Crushers:
    20kg x10
    30kg x10
    40kg x10
    45kg 2x10

Rolling Dumbbell Extenstions:
    15kg 3x12

Pushdowns:
    2x20

Plate Pinches:
    2 5kg's (smooth side out) 2x40 seconds
    2 5kg's with a 1.25kg sandwiched in the middle x40 seconds R, 39 seconds L

Barbell Holds:
    110kg x6seconds
    140kg x6 seconds
    150kg x6 seconds
    160kg x20 seconds

My grip's gonna have to start to come up now so I'll be training every Sunday night for the foreseeable future. I reckon a deadlift willl last no more than 6 seconds, and that's why I'm doing 6 second holds. If I can work up to 200kg for 6 seconds with no chalk over the next 4 weeks I'll be very happy.

TF was JAMMERS last night. Pain in the bloody arse.

Beltless Squats:
    60kg x3
    100kg x3
    120kg x3
    145kg x8
    145kg x6

Hypers:
    BW x10
    10kg x10
    20kg x10
    30kg x10
    35kg 3x10

Standing Cable Crunches:
    5x6

Leg Raises: (Legs going above head level)
    3x12

Short but brutal.

Kicking ass and taking names.

Deadlift:
    60kg x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x3
    170kg x3
    190kg x6

Speed Pulls:
    140kg 8x1

Chins (well "noses"):
    bodyweight 5x8

Bent Over Rows:
    60kg x10
    80kg x10
    90kg 3x10

Dumbbell Rows (Kroc's):
    27.5kg x20
    45kg x20

Power Shrugs:
    100kg x6
    140kg x6
    170kg x8

In other news my exam results FINALLY arrived today. Last year I failed Financial Accounting 4 (but woulda averaged a 2.1 if I'd even managed to pass the class) and decided against sitting the repeats cos I wanted a year to get my head in check, achieve some personal goals and get ready for the final push into 3rd year.

Here's what I wanted to do;
    -Get a 1st class honour in Financial Accounting 4 as a way of saying "fcuk you" to the subject. (I got 80%, more than double what I got last year)
    -Learn to drive
    -Learn to cook
    -Get some experience working in a real accounting firm/investment bank
    -Set more powerlifting records

All I can say is check, check, check, check and motherfcuking CHECK.

What a year.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

congrats on reaching your goals! Obv all your hard work and determination paid off:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Nice one man, are you TnGing the heavy pulls now or sticking to deadstop?

tribulus wrote:
    Nice one man, are you TnGing the heavy pulls now or sticking to deadstop?

Deadstops all the way dude. I wouldnt have it any other way.

Bench:
    60kg x3
    100kg x3
    120kg 2x3, 1x4

4 Board Press:
    100kg x3
    130kg x3
    140kg x3
    145kg x3
    150kg x0 (touched way high and nearly dumped it on my neck)

Seated Dumbbell Press:
    30kg 3x10

Bent Over Lateral Raises:
    15kg 3x12

Chest Supported Rows:
    100 x8
    120 3x8

Bit of a sh!t buzzzz today. Wasn't feeling very great, still hit a good few PRs tho (I detest saying I got PR's on things like Chest supported rows and sh!t like that, it sohuld be reserved for the big lifts).

Hips were seriously in the sh!ts today cos I wasn't properly warmed up. I only got into it when I hit my first top set. The ones before were pure agony.

Squats: (all taken way deep, even by my standards)
    60kg x5
    90kg x3
    110kg x3
    *belt on*
    130kg x3
    150kg 3x6

Ultra wide stance (think WPO) squats:
    100kg 2x6

Leg Curls:
    worked up to the stack 2x12

Hanging leg raises: (legs going OVER head height)
    5x6

Fcuk.

Hanley wrote:

Ultra wide stance (think WPO) squats:
    100kg 2x6

How high were they lol!

Great work on the squats, expecting big things come Novemeber.

I think outta the 12 reps, 2 MIGHT have passed. You can really feel the explosion out of the bottom tho. It's a really sudden thing, it's not like with normal stance squats where the speed builds up. It's like you're a rocket taking off.

I'm actually doing them to improve my sumo start. Hopefully I'll work up over hte next couple of weeks with them and see where it takes me. I figure my quads are stronger than ever so once I can bring my hips and Pchain up some more I should even more carryover come comp day.

The big trick now is to stay injury free!

A couple of quick update pics. 95kg in em

Photo451.jpg

Photo449.jpg

Since my appendix is threatening to jump out thru my abs any day now I decided an easy session was probably in order. I just wanted to work up to an easy 3 sumo to see what how my body was feeling.

Sumos:
    60kg x3 (sh!t that was TOO fast)
    100kg x3 (ummm is there any weight on the bar?)
    140kg x3 (goddamnit why are these so easy?)
    160kg x3 (why hasn't the bar slowed down yet?)
    180kg x3 (**** it, there goes my easy session)
    190kg x3 (alright that was a hard enough one, huge PR tho. Maybe I should leave it there, nah fcuk it. I'll see if I can pull 200 for 3)
    200kg x5 (oops... why do I always have to try and kill myself??)

Speed pulls (convo):
    140kg 6x1

"Noses":
    bodyweight 3x10

Seated Cable Row:
    90kg 2x12

Face Pulls:
    32.5kg x12
    37.5kg x12
    45kg x12
    52.5kg x12

Barbell Curls:
    20kg x12
    40kg x12 (fcuk it, I quit today was supposed to be an easy one, better not push myself)

All I can say is goddamn. I honestly cannot believe I pulled 200x5 sumo today. It's now stronger than my convo pull. The times they are a changing...

Hopefully I'll get op'd on Tuesday and be back to build up to the worlds in 2-3 weeks...

Did you just mix ME with DE stuff...tut tut

j/k

That's nasty stuff, and with just a belt.
    Then add in a suit (bodyweight depth lol) and it's getting a bit nuts.

I may have to come over in November, reflected glory and all that :D

Stall it over for the buzz! It'll be great craic.... Besides I need someone to dress me ;) (would anyone but a powerlifter get that?)

I'm actually shocked at how well speed pulls are helping. I think those in co-op with my squat taking a bit of a jump have pushed my sumo thru the roof. I'm confident I'd go 220+ raw right now.

Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x5
    120kg x5 (FINALLY!)
    107.5kg x8
    107.5kg x6

2 Board Press w/ chains:
    100kg +a chain aside 3x6

Seated Dumbbell Press:
    30kg 'bells x11, x10, x8

Bent Over Lateral Raises:
    15kg 'bells 3x15

Skull Crushers:
    40kg x8
    45kg 3x8

15kg 'bells x12, x10, x9

Solid little session. Bloody dead now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Malteaser!

Hanley wrote:
    Stall it over for the buzz! It'll be great craic.... Besides I need someone to dress me ;) (would anyone but a powerlifter get that?)

*raises hand and waves frantically* i do, i do!!!

oh and btw, great work on the bench today!!! Scotland isn't gonna know what hit it!! :)

Malteaser! wrote:
    *raises hand and waves frantically* i do, i do!!!

Meh.. you're like an honourable powerlifter these days!!

Carefull being so eager or you might end up helping me wrap my knees!

My hips were saying no again today. They're definately tight cos I'm being pulled forwards when I front squat and that NEVER used to happen.

Front Squats:
    60kg x5
    80kg x3
    100kg x3
    110kg x3
    120kg x3
    130kg x3 (big PR right there)

WPO stance squats:
    100kg x6 (and my hips said leave us alone)

RDLs: (each rep started from the floor so it was like a deadift and THEN rdls)
    60kg x10
    100kg x6
    140kg x6
    160kg x6
    170kg x6

Hanging Leg Raises:
    3x6

Leg Curls:
    Full stack 2x12

Face Pulls:
    45kg x12
    52.5kg x12
    60kg x12
    67.5kg x12
    75kg x12

Hopefully I'll hit 140x3 on the front squats in 2 weeks. Still seems light but at least it's respectable.

Tried posting earlier but Boards kept on crashing anyways...
    HAPPY (belated now) BIRTHDAY!!! <3

What! Kept that one quiet, old fogey now, you'll have to wear briefs and a shirt everytime you train ;)

Happy birthday.

I was supposed to deadlift yesterday but it just didn't happen. I had spent about 9 hours in hospital and by the time I got home I just didn't hae any energy to give to the gym. Postponed it to today, but I still wasn't really firing on all cyclinders so I just did a few random things.

Sumos:
    60kg 2x3
    100kg x3
    140kg x3
    *belt on*
    160kg x3
    180kg x3
    200kg x1
    *suit on, straps down*
    210kg x0 (fcuking bar stayed stuck tothe floor. My start position was all screwed)
    210kg x1 (reset, hit it easily)
    220kg x1 (straps down PR, hard tho)
    *straps up*
    230kg x1 (PR, bad pull tho. Shoulders in from of the bar, hips started high and I made it unneccessarily difficult on myself)
    220kg x1 (super wide stance, toes to plates, bit better than the previous pull)

Speed Pulls (convo):
    140kg 6x1

"Noses":
    bodyweight x15, 13, 11

Incline Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x3
    90kg x1
    100kg x1 (PR)
    110kg x1 (PR)
    115kg x1 (PR, took about 6 seconds, nothing wrong with a bit of a fight tho)

Having alot of trouble with my sumo start position at the moment. I wasn't able to get the suit to work for me at all today. I might work in it for the next 3 weeks and just do sets of 3 to try and sort things out.

Hanley wrote:
    Sumos:

*suit on, straps down*
    210kg x0 (fcuking bar stayed stuck tothe floor. My start position was all screwed)
    210kg x1 (reset, hit it easily)
    220kg x1 (straps down PR, hard tho)
    *straps up*
    230kg x1 (PR, bad pull tho. Shoulders in from of the bar, hips started high and I made it unneccessarily difficult on myself)
    220kg x1 (super wide stance, toes to plates, bit better than the previous pull)

Incline Bench:
    100kg x1 (PR)
    110kg x1 (PR)
    115kg x1 (PR, took about 6 seconds, nothing wrong with a bit of a fight tho)
    \

thats some mightily impressive work you!!!

I was tired today. Didn't wanna train. Trained anyway. Kicked ass. 'Nuff said.

Incline Bench:
    60kg 2x5
    80kg x5
    90kg x5
    100kg x5

Bench w/chains: (about 5kg at the bottom end, 20ishkg at the top)
    60kg x6
    80kg x6
    100kg x5
    80kg 6x3 (paused, speed presses)

Lateral Raise:
    10kg x12
    15kg 3x10

Pulldowns:
    p7 x12
    p9 x12
    p11 x12
    p13 x12
    p14 x12

Skull Crushers:
    40kg x10
    45kg x8
    50kg 2x8

15kg 'bells 3x12

Fcuking skull crushers.

26f54-DSC09511.jpg

Ouch, looks inflamed, hope you're popping enough pills!

When's the appointment?

Dude, the inflamation's muscle!! ;)

There's no balling or inflammation or anything. No pain either.

Judging by most of the pics I've seen it's not TOO bad. Here's hoping!

Hanley wrote:
    Dude, the inflamation's muscle!! ;)

There's no balling or inflammation or anything. No pain either.

Judging by most of the pics I've seen it's not TOO bad. Here's hoping!

Hahah sorry sir, it sounds like it can be worked around, though I have to say the fact you now get to do Smolov makes me very jealous!