Worst/Best Radio Ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

The current Gillette ad that highlights a promotion that's obviously running in Ireland (or else they wouldn't advertise it) but then goes on to say "visit mygillette.co.uk for more details" :mad:

I regularly use their stuff, but I'm considering stopping if that's the level of (dis)respect they're showing to their consumers in Ireland!

EDIT: I just visited the site in question, and if anyone (including me) thought that running the "swing low sweet chariot" ad mentioned earlier was pretty odd, you should see the Gillette site! :rolleyes:

You can win tickets to the England matches, England museum, signed England shirts or Guinness Premiership matches (which I think is the UK league ?), etc, etc

Why in God's name would they even bother advertising this in Ireland ?

P.S. I might have an answer to that question for ye later in the week, because I emailed the contact email address on the site with the same question.

Only thing is, they mightn't reply....the contact email address was ukconsumer@custhelp.com, so I probably wasn't entitled to use it....... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Bard

seanjohn88 wrote:
    i hate the add for northside shopping centre, and its catchy dam tune! always stuck in my head for ages then!

Northside shopping centre isn't a great big shopping centre, it's crap!

I always thought they always sang 'the great late shopping centre' (as in it stays open late... does it? I dunno... I don't live anywhere near that kip...)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭el diablo

Bard wrote:
    I always thought they always sang 'the great late shopping centre' (as in it stays open late... does it? I dunno... I don't live anywhere near that kip...)
    ha ha, but I'd rather live in Coolock than in Dundalk. 07388820.gif

not sure if it's appropriate for a mod to come out with that snide little comment..nono.gif

Orange pilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,732 ✭✭✭✭DMC

seanjohn88 wrote:
    i hate the add for northside shopping centre, and its catchy dam tune! always stuck in my head for ages then!

*Boing!* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,311 ✭✭✭✭Bard

el diablo wrote:
    ha ha, but I'd rather live in Coolock than in Dundalk. 07388820.gif

not sure if it's appropriate for a mod to come out with that snide little comment..nono.gif

The fact that I'm a mod (and not on this forum) has nothing to do with any sort of verbal 'etiquette' I must follow on here, and it's no less appropriate for me to slag Northside Shopping Centre (not Coolock itself, the shopping centre - which IS a kip) than it is for you to slag Dundalk.

Oh, and your smileys suck :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Jaysus..

That revolting Visa ad. with the Goon with the nauseus Northern accent going on about the Rugby World Cup.

Holy camole!!! Can there be a more revolting combination of accent and content going on today????

Total and utter drivel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

dulpit wrote:
    I love my home-en-ow.

What?!? Its pissing me off for the last couple of weeks since i first heard it, what does she love? Anybody know??
    I think she's saying:
    "I love my home and all, but sometimes I feel like I'm carting it around with me" or words to that effect. So why would she be carrying her home around with her, is she some sort of snail, or a hermit crab perhaps? "I took off the roofrack and it saves me a fortune in petrol". Hmm, slight exaggeration there love no? Depends on your definition of fortune I suppose. 50c a week must mean everything to her.
    And that bit in the end is stoopid, it'll be a bodhrán in the final? Who knows?
    If England keep playing the way they are it'll be <swing low sweet chariot played on a kazoo> in the final :confused::confused: It obviously made sense to someone, probably someone who has no idea about rugby or sport in general.
    Tallspoon wrote:
    The product is cr@p because most of the channels they mention are freely available anyway and the advert is crap as I cant remember which company it is for!
    It's for NTL & Chorus so you remembered both. Looks like the ad did work :eek: Run for the hills.....

/me runs for the hills

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

jor el wrote:

If England keep playing the way they are it'll be <swing low sweet chariot played on a kazoo> in the final

no, it's "If England keep playing like <slsc on kazzo> it'll be <drums?> in the final.

tbh wrote:
    no, it's "If England keep playing like <slsc on kazzo> it'll be <drums?> in the final.

Ah! NOW it makes sense!........NOT! :confused:

Could be wrong, but I think they added this in at the end, because I don't remember it from the original ad, where it seemed they were just on about watching England in the World Cup ?

Either way, it's a crap ad that makes as much <national anthem on digeridoo> as <bongos>

But that's advertising nowadays........doesn't matter what it says or how relevant or accurate it is - if it gets people talking about it (even about how ****e it is) it's worked........pathetic really....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,713 ✭✭✭✭jor el

tbh wrote:
    Ah yes, that was it. I'd struggled to forget it, nearly got there too. Still makes absolutely no sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭sudzs

What about those self promotional ones RTE are putting out at the moment....

...the ones with Duncan Stewart and Eanna Ni wots-her-name from Moony Goes Wild having a chat with "Eastenders" Peggy Mitchel about a party.

Holy Jaysus! :eek: It has to be the worst!!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,466 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

sudzs wrote:
    What about those self promotional ones RTE are putting out at the moment....

...the ones with Duncan Stewart and Eanna Ni wots-her-name from Moony Goes Wild having a chat with "Eastenders" Peggy Mitchel about a party.

Holy Jaysus! :eek: It has to be the worst!!! :mad:
    The other ones are just as bad. Don't get me started.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭sudzs

Bond-007 wrote:
    The other ones are just as bad. Don't get me started.

Oh sweet gentle jesus!

Have just hear the other one with Pat Kenny and Pillock Moony...

:eek: :eek: :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭JoeB-

123.ie, just log on and save money....

he he, i love it... it's a great tune...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭sturgo

about five years ago i used to work in the radio center in RTE. i had to listen to take after take of cheap, sh1te, irratating radio ads. as i'm sure you have guessed... it's the same five people who do all the ads. and believe it or not they get paid feck all (in house RTE anyway). i remember one guy refusing to record an add for sky tv because the pay was so bad.

anyway... i hated those bastards and i still do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,095 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Just listening to Today FM there, heard that stoopid ad for diet coke, where the girl describes the experience of diet coke... Thought it had gone forever, but apparently not...

That girl has quite possibly the most annoying voice in the world...:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,095 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Oh and to add to annoying ads, that one with the 2 from Fawlty towers (Well people ripping off their voices anyway) that one sucks too...

I'm guessing there's a thread on annoying ads, i apologise if i'm venting in wrong place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,757 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Some REALLY bad ones that came up recently....

"SEAN! GET THE WAFFLES!"

"Phone bill there? Hang on let me get the oven gloves...."

"Finally its finished. Just hit print, and..." (5 seconds of wailing thats worse than nails on a blackboard)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Green Giant

BEST
    Daft Dave, absolute travesty that he got taken off

WORST
    Little arse monkey asking his dad to get Irish Broadband
    Steve Davis
    Car ad, i think it's for mini, with the young lad pretending to drive it "rrrrr, a touch of handbrake and a flick of that responsive steering...", annoying is too small a word

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

"Roar on Leinster"

That is all.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭el diablo

WORST
    Little arse monkey asking his dad to get Irish Broadband

yeah that's the worst ad on the radio. the culchie kid asking his daddy to get broadband. "Daddy, Daddy, when are we going to get broadband?" bash.gifredcard8kq.gifbat.gif

and the Birdseye Potato Waffles ad is **** too.

Orange pilled.

Is that kid a "culchie" ? Doesn't sound like any real accent that I recognise......but yeah - VERY annoying!

The BEST one on radio at the mo is the one with Neil Delamare advertising something.....can't remember what........oh yeah, "LOTTO!" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

TmB wrote:
    Some REALLY bad ones that came up recently....

"SEAN! GET THE WAFFLES!"

"Phone bill there? Hang on let me get the oven gloves...."

"Finally its finished. Just hit print, and..." (5 seconds of wailing thats worse than nails on a blackboard)

I see you listen to newstalk ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,757 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

They're on TodayFM too. No station is safe.

Latest one to bug me is one for Eircom Phonewatch (they've moved from buuuuuh-gluuuuhhhhsssss to ads that don't make sense). They say that when thieves break into your house, the first thing they look for is car keys. Fair enough. But why does phonewatch help any more or less than another alarm system? The buuuuuhhh-gluuuhhhsss will still be 15-30 miles down the road before the cops get there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,968 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

The inkjet ad.
    The guy is trying to print but cant and starts shouting Noooooooooooo!

When I listen to the radio and am leaving the office, the last thing I want to hear is someone getting stressed in an office. Puts me in bad form just listening to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 sim2

The Meteor television ad with the cat. I know this is a radio thread but........

Where did that girl get her voice..."You got her a little bowy friend"

Arrrrrrggggggggghhhhh!
    It's the same voice that is on everything!!! People in Ireland had different accents which makes things interesting so why don't ad makers consider this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

Does anyone know who sings the Eircom 11811 ad? Love her voice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

dulpit wrote:
    Just listening to Today FM there, heard that stoopid ad for diet coke, where the girl describes the experience of diet coke... Thought it had gone forever, but apparently not...

That girl has quite possibly the most annoying voice in the world...:mad:
    She's very annoying alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

micmclo wrote:
    The inkjet ad.
    The guy is trying to print but cant and starts shouting Noooooooooooo!

Worst ad ever!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,441 ✭✭✭Firetrap

How about that ad for Blueface? A woman with a dreadful Dort accent telling us in singsong gloating tones about how she's making "phune colls" using this cursed blueface service. She deserves to be clubbed to death with a VOIP handset.