Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Oxegen 2006 Line up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

What a sh*t line up, possibly the worst ever!
    What are they like putting The Who on? The Who are a great band and all but the people who are into them aren't going to want to go to a muddy festival to be surrounded by teenagers all day.

Electric picnic is going to be a million times better :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,629 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

I couldn't be more underwhelmed...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 337 ✭✭odhran

That's depressingly bad! I wouldn't mind seeing Sigur Ros, but I can't see the crowd, as a whole (i.e. the fourteen year old knackers), being too enthused about them. My heart now officially belongs to the Electric Picnic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭wba88

Thats gonna be the best wkend of the year by far!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,629 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Has the line-up for Electric Picnic been announced yet?

Sleepy wrote:
    Has the line-up for Electric Picnic been announced yet?

no, however massive attack and super furry animals have confirmed themselves that they're playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Rockee

odhran wrote:
    That's depressingly bad! I wouldn't mind seeing Sigur Ros, but I can't see the crowd, as a whole (i.e. the fourteen year old knackers), being too enthused about them. My heart now officially belongs to the Electric Picnic.

You never know, people who are 14 also have ears....Wahoo! The Who in Ireland again! Last time was The National Stadium in Dublin in 1966! Cannot wait!! Pity Keith Moon and John Entwistle arent around but hey! The Chillis on the other hand....:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭Redegg

yea. not really what id go for. Liked the chilis before they got s##t not really expecting much from the new stuff. Sigur ROs is the only band I'd want to see. Why arent they playing electric picnic,,, ahh. so annoyed.

Rockee wrote:
    You never know, people who are 14 also have ears....Wahoo! The Who in Ireland again! Last time was The National Stadium in Dublin in 1966! Cannot wait!! Pity Keith Moon and John Entwistle arent around but hey! The Chillis on the other hand....:mad:

When I was 14 it was an absolute minority who were into anything other than music you hear in the charts and i'm only 24, I don't think things have changed that much.

I wasn't slagging teenagers myself, I was slagging the organisers because this is a really really badly thought out line up. Talk about skewing and alienating your demographic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

What a particularly uninspiring line-up. It's more or less the same as last year. I've seen most of those acts in the last few months and something a bit different would've been nice (althought I'd love to see The Who). I'm not gonna kill myself to try and go. I'm gonna see what the Carling line-ups are like instead, maybe go back over to Leeds again.

eth0_ wrote:
    When I was 14 it was an absolute minority who were into anything other than music you hear in the charts and i'm only 24, I don't think things have changed that much.

I wasn't slagging teenagers myself, I was slagging the organisers because this is a really really badly thought out line up. Talk about skewing and alienating your demographic.

Hey, its cool, Im 24 too. I know you werent slagging tenagers but in amidst all the craziness the teenagers get up to at Oxegen there are always a few listening out to a band that they dont know they'd like yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 munky_boy

i want to go for the 2 day campin but im only 17 will there be any chance of me being stoped going in:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭spartacus93

munky_boy wrote:
    i want to go for the 2 day campin but im only 17 will there be any chance of me being stoped going in:confused:

I'm in the same boat. AFAIK 17 year olds have to be with an adult. Not a parent. So if you know anyone else goin you should be perfecto!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭Nimrod's Son

I'm in the same boat. AFAIK 17 year olds have to be with an adult. Not a parent. So if you know anyone else goin you should be perfecto!

I wouldn't worry too much, lads. You'll have no bother getting in at all unless security clean up their act big time this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

This is gonna be first Oxegen, so whatever about the rest of ye bitching about the line-up I am verrry excited about going!! :D
    Chillis and Arctic Monkeys can't wait!

I wouldn't worry too much, lads. You'll have no bother getting in at all unless security clean up their act big time this year.

deisedolly wrote:
    This is gonna be first Oxegen, so whatever about the rest of ye bitching about the line-up I am verrry excited about going!! :D
    Chillis and Arctic Monkeys can't wait!

Me too! Must be a Waterford thing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Jamey

Arctic Monkeys.....I'm there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 lizzyrocker

I'm totally underwhelmed with the mediocre lineup, only The Who and Sigur Ros would really interest me, and the organisers have the cheek to raise the prices for such s**t. I went last year and enjoyed some of the more interesting bands (Bloc party, Doves, Audioslave, James Brown), but as of the current lineup, I'm defo going to give it a miss.

The organisers will want to seriously add some talent to that lineup for me or any of my mates to reconsider. :mad: It looks like its electric picnic all the way this year !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,517 ✭✭✭Blisterman

The Who and Red Hot Chili Peppers. That sucks.
    I really wanted to see them, but I'm gonna be in Greece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 326 ✭✭fatguy2k1

Sleepy wrote:
    I couldn't be more underwhelmed...
    i told you it was crap-taculer gracie! and no work on the ep lin-up yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 DubGal

I like the lineup, yet my mates don't, so it might be hard to find people to go with... The Who would be awesome.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Seems pretty damn crap...oh well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

By the way, I addressed the question of Hoff to Justin Green of MCD, who said that he hadn't heard of the campaign, and that there'd be virtually no chance of it happening. He also gave me some weird looks - as did his colleague.

(And yes, I'm serious.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭joe316

NoelRock wrote:
    By the way, I addressed the question of Hoff to Justin Green of MCD, who said that he hadn't heard of the campaign, and that there'd be virtually no chance of it happening. He also gave me some weird looks - as did his colleague.

(And yes, I'm serious.)

bastard, i sent him a personal letter months ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Yeah, I figured someone would've tried to bring it to his attention already. The prick. I also mentioned 2fm's campaign to him too - but that went over his head too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭mada999

The Who - Sat ****************
    The Strokes - Sat ****
    Kaiser Chiefs - Sun
    Franz Ferdinand - Sun *
    Bellx1 - Sat ***
    Arctic Monkeys - Sat **

thats all who I want to see...not sure if I want to go....bit pricey....got in free last year it was a blast:D :D ....was so sunburnt and tired tho, it was hassle tryin to get camping for free but the 3 opf us got in...slept on a deck chair tho ;);) prodigy were the highlight ---legends...

NoelRock wrote:

(And yes, I'm serious.)

What a pair of assholes, did they not go online and see the amount of signatures?? Thats the problem with Oxegen...playing it safe! Festivals are just like glorified music videos nowadays and corporate as hell, I love looking back at the old footage of Woodstock and The Isle Of Wight, was a lot more free. Sure there were some greedy promoters but not to the extent of nowadays. Back then they'd stage a band/act for artistic expression and 'the vibe'...now its all about wheter you've been on MTV2 recently or you're hip with the college crowd....obviously The Strokes are 'it' in MCDs eyes. Bring on The Hoff!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Kazaanova

I was put off this years festival the minute I saw "The Strokes, the coolest band on the planet".

Shame that Sigur Ros won't be at EP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Toast

Rockee wrote:
    What a pair of assholes, did they not go online and see the amount of signatures??

It was an idiotic idea that FAR outlived its very limited humour value.

No it was.

No really it was.

Dont even bother attempting to defend it.

Stop it... I see you're typing something there... stop just stop... it was a **** idea.... just let it go....

...just let it go.