Bouncers denying me a social life

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Johnson

dlofnep wrote:

The fella just went nuts and ran over and starting to kick the **** out of this motorbike - he obviously knew the bouncer and knew it was his bike. the bouncer ran over and yer man pegged it off taunting him.

Exactly the sort of prick that should be kept out of a club. Well done to the bouncer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

I'd say well done to the bloke, based on what dlofnep tells us. Some people need their ego taken down a notch, and that bouncer won't be showing off again any time soon. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Well this thread has been good read!

A lot of people are quite pi$$ed off with bouncers and with good reason however its a profession with its own laws and rules which has only two outcomes either you get in which makes you happy and relieved or you get refused which makes you go frickin mental. Guards dont want to know and complaints are laughed at 99.999% of the time as the bouncer will always have the benefit of the doubt from the manager which is how it should be in any job, i know if my manager didnt trust me i wouldnt work for them.

The thing im finding remarkable is how nearly everyone with an opinion on the matter is forgetting that the bouncer/s are there for the safty of every single person in the venue.....customers, staff, themselves. They must make a split second judgement and decide whether you're a nutter/rapist/dealer or an all round low life.

Ive worked in bar from 15 till last year, there is a great sense of security when there is door staff on, if i had it my way i'd always have security on.

Regarding the OP, it seems you have not learned from your experiences. The fact that you get refused everywhere says that it is your appearence thats the problem as if it was the same place you couldnt get into it would seem like a personal issue, its not nice to be told you look dodgy but if you want to go to these clubs you must play by their rules, its a feck but they can make up their rules to suit the venue.

I've had plenty a run in with bouncers myself but i dont take offence nor hold a grudge....its a job, their getting by, i've to do the same myself and i will commmend any person doing a job where dealing with drunken idiots is necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭electric69

Can some people not read the Op or are they just stupid.....his point is NOT ABOUT AGE...it is about his personal appearance so stop it with the stupid idea about raising the drinking age!!

Chernobyl i have been out hundreds of times and i havent been refused ever because i show the bouncers respect and dont act like a wan**r so my point was completly valid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Son_of_Belial

Hm. Try being a bit more confident. Dress up a bit more (nice shirt, jeans, no runners, maybe even a blazer) Don't stop unless they expressly stop you. Try not to look them in the eye, and if you do, make it quick and maybe say something like "How's it going?" as you breeze through. I don't know, I'm talking off the top of my head, also, if at all possible if you must talk to them, try to lessen the inner city accent a little. Just a couple of pointers that I hope will help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,038 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

electric69 wrote:
    Can some people not read the Op or are they just stupid.....his point is NOT ABOUT AGE...it is about his personal appearance so stop it with the stupid idea about raising the drinking age!!

Chernobyl i have been out hundreds of times and i havent been refused ever because i show the bouncers respect and dont act like a wan**r so my point was completly valid.

Calm down. He said age was a part of it, so maybe you need to re-read the original post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Tbh getting into a club can depend on the mood of the bouncers more than anything

Case in point- about a month ago on a Friday night I got refused at Redz (note, I despise Redz, I was going under duress). Before I arrived I had drank 3 cans in the past hour or so, just a nice amount, but got refused. Told them my mates were already in, that Id barely had a drink, but they gave absoloutely no reason.

The night of the Ireland V Faroe Islands match, one Wednesday back in early June iirc, my mate was headed to Redz for a college social (Im not in his college). Between half 7 and arriving at the door of Redz at about 11 that night I drank 6 cans at home, one on the bus, another on the walk and 2 pints after we decided to hit a pub first. Was feeling good but by no means bollixed, and I got in no problem (only stopped me for not having the college ID, just said I was with a mate and they said go on ahead)
    And if you were wondering if it was clothes related, I wore the same shirt both times

Now, find the logic. In June I arrive at a social Im not meant to be at with 10 beers in me and get amicably waved through. A few months later I arrive nearly stone cold sober and get refused. Its unpredictable tbh

What I dont understand is why they dont realise giving a reason would make their own lives alot easier. Dont like your shirt, dont like your walk, you are too drunk, the club is full to capacity.....they may be the reason, but they are seldom said. However, they seem to get angrier when pressed for an explanation. For me, if I was told why, Id either feck off somewhere or remedy the problem. Now, I know arguing with them is usually fruitless but still

Out of curiousity, have any of yis ever went back to a venue during the day to have a word with the manager over what you regard as unwarranted behaviour towards you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

ziggy67 wrote:
    If you want respect, show respect. Talk down to people & they will see you as a w****r.
    I see you finally get my point...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

go to zanzibar on the quays. the bouncers there have never refused me. all you have to do is not tell them you're going to burn the place down and then show them the petrol can and you'll get in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

Question to the bouncers commenting on this thread, are runners still as much of a taboo as they always were?

Im not taking about giant air max type runners, but smaller dark more descrete runners? A mate has recently taken to wearing them out & to my surprise has yet to be stopped going into a club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭SparkyLarks

I must say I've never had any problems with bounceers.

If I do get stopped and asked for ID, I take it out and say here you go.
    Never any problems. Nowadays I joke about it when asked, m" That moisturiser must be working well" I'm 26.

To the OP. If all the bouncers are stopping you then there's something about you. Try this. Next time your refused, say to the bouncer. look I don;t want to cause hassle but I'm having big problems getting in places. I don;t know what it is, is it the way I look the way I dress the way I act. Any help would be apreciated. you could even introduce your self.

Now the bouncer will probably be carefull in his answer cos he'll not want to be sued on any grounds but he might give you an answer. He might even let you go in there and the. wither way he'll remember you and you've a much better chance of getting in next time.

If he does give you advice and still doesn't let you in then say again in a friendly way, what gives I did what youy said, what's wrong now.

to everybody else. Being a bouncer is not a easy thing to do. ya ther are **** but most do act decently twords you if you you act decently twords them. Same as most people.
    though I'd say ther are more unreasonable drunk people then unreasonable bouncers.

Finially. This whole I was drunk but I wasn't causing any hassle. I was just arguing. Arguing is grounds to be thrown out. Being a danger to helath and safety is also, and someno who is drunk is a danger to their own health and safety Check out: http://www.oasis.gov.ie/health/alcohol_and_drug_treatment_services/alcohol_and_the_law.html?search=drunk+disorderly

To the guy who got fallen on in a fight. Though break but come on from the bouncers pint of view, 3 guys in a melee on the floor. Looks like 3 people in a fight.

To the guy who was in a suit. If your stone cold sober. Ask to speak to a manager, if the bouncer refuses, take out the phone( I assume you have one) ask to talk to the manager. Explain the situation and that you'd like to complain. Say that you and your 15 friends are now leaving.

If the manager decides to let you in great. If he comes down and is polite but says, that it's the door man's decision( he migh want to back the doorman in public) say fine Thank him and leave. If he's rude Leave, tell him you won;t go back and don't.

^
    Yeah, sound advice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,155 ✭✭✭✭28064212

skywalker wrote:
    Question to the bouncers commenting on this thread, are runners still as much of a taboo as they always were?

Im not taking about giant air max type runners, but smaller dark more descrete runners? A mate has recently taken to wearing them out & to my surprise has yet to be stopped going into a club.
    Not a bouncer, but I doubt it matters that much. Depends where you're going of course, but the standard city centre places ie Redz, Coyote, wherever don't seem to care. I would only very rarely wear shoes out. Have worn Converse as well as more standard runners, never had a problem. Then again, I've never had a problem with bouncers, if you do wear them it could just give them an excuse if they don't like the look of you

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

depends,

The club i worked in was part of a hotel, so any kind of runners were a no no.
    But depends on the place, some places are real retro, so tracksuit tops and runners are ok, others they are't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

ziggy67 wrote:
    No doubt about it bouncers are c***s of the highest order but i'm glad you don't get in anywhere with you superior Southside attitude. They probably see you smarming about and decide to bring you down a peg or two!

What a pathetic, jealously laden comment. No brain at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 140 ✭✭zinc

Well basically as you get older it becomes less hassle, also depends a lot on your group.

In the days when I went out with the lads (were from the land of Robbie Keane) we rarely got in, but once I hit UCD and made some friends out there things changed obviously.

I guess clothes can have an effect, if you look fairly secure in yourself, arent afraid to say hello to a bouncer then you'll be fine.

I'll admit at 20 I always get asked for ID, no idea why but never actually refused. I think its done to a bit of babyface, I hope anyway.

Plus ya'll should be avoiding any place with nobhead bouncers like Qbar or Redz etc and head out to some easier going places.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

Tbh it's a simple problem with a simple solution. Nightclubs are for grown ups. Stop whinging about it like a little girl and be a man. Grow a beard or something, beards get you in anywhere ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165,998 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

My policy is to walk right past them and act as if they aren't there — Im sick to death of these knob-ends on power trips. The majority of bouncers in Galway are complete dicks (there's about five I can count that are sound enough), and they will try anything to belittle you.

What I particularly enjoy is in one club where the bouncers are renowned for bein dicks and they constantly stop people with the "not tonight", "you were too drunk the last night so you cant come in" etc. etc.

Whip out the mobile, ring the owner and get him to come out. I'd always make a point of complaining about their attitude to him in front of the bouncers.

Went back there last weekend and these guys (theres a clique at the door) refused a guy they know is my friend "for causing trouble last weekend" — strange, he hasn't been around for the past five weeks. Anyhoo, I asked why he'd been refused, one of the bouncers put his arm out kind of pushing me back with his elbow. Then they talked amongst themselves, obviously about me and laughing.

The reason? The owner wasn't there that night. But he was when I rang him yesterday morning and threatened to report the bouncer (a total wánker) for assaulting me. He's been given a written warning.

Im making it my mission in life to make these guys' lives misery because of the way I've seen them treat other people, year in, year out. I feel all warm inside now :)

Buckfast wrote:
    Im making it my mission in life to make these guys' lives misery because of the way I've seen them treat other people, year in, year out. I feel all warm inside now :)

Doing the right thing for the wrong reson.
    Trying to make people lives misery is bad karma and will come back to you.

Doing the right thing for the wrong reson.
    Trying to make people lives misery is bad karma and will come back to you.

Hmm, but if they wrong people and I wrong them, don't two wrongs make a right? :)

Buckfast wrote:
    Hmm, but if they wrong people and I wrong them, don't two wrongs make a right? :)

I think that's how the saying goes, yep ;)

Buckfast wrote:
    Im making it my mission in life to make these guys' lives misery because of the way I've seen them treat other people, year in, year out.
    People with your attitude make our lives miserable without even trying, so don't try any more, you do it naturally. But trust what sparky said. Karma's a b!tch.

what an immature comment.

Divers, these people are, from what we're told, the kind of bouncers that you presumably don't want to be associated with; they're abusing their power and generally showing off. Lots of bouncers are sound, but there's d*ckheads everywhere, as you can appreciate, so I think if they're being assholes intentionally, then they deserve to be punished in whatever way their boss sees fit(legally, lol). If their boss believes them over Buckfast, then nothing will happen, but if they're getting complaints against them for this kind of thing(if it's not just from Buckfast), then do you not think that the manager would want to discipline them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,155 ✭✭✭✭28064212

If you believe in karma, then you can go around doing bad things to people, and assume that they deserve it

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

Divers wrote:
    what an immature comment.

So if they fail to extend the most basic of courtesies (respect) to customers on behalf of their employers, that's fine with you, but if I choose to show them no respect in return, I'm immature? If you want to criticise/comment on my post, then at least be balanced and comment on the rest of it (i.e. the bouncers in this particular club), and not just focus on one sentence.

Perhaps my username influenced your post and prompted you to call me immature? I hope not, because then you'd be guilty of what you've denied throughout this thread — prejudice, just like the prima facia conclusions the majority of bouncers draw when they see someone approach "their" door.

So, you probably think I'm a buckfast-drinking teenager/student right? Somebody registered me on boards a few years back and chose this name for the craic.

Buckfast,

there's nothing wrong with prejudice when you're a bouncer; it's necessary! That's the only way to decide who should be allowed in and who's gonna cause trouble. As I said, it's not the perfect method, but it's the only one (well, in conjunction with other smaller ones) they can use, save everyone coming to the door with some sort of record that shows if they were arrested for holliganism at a football match last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,635 ✭✭✭✭nesf

I agree with Divers.

The thing people simply do not appreciate about bouncers is that they have to work very anti-social hours and for a lot of them the pay does not merit the amount of **** they have to put up with. The vast majority of bouncers in my experience are not pricks, they are grand. Treat them like people and they'll do the same. Give them **** and you can't expect to be treated like an adult now can you? They can be, depending on the place, be exposed to violence and worse tbh.

Buckfast, your attitude is not only childish but is one that is simply anti-social. Yes there are some muppets on a power trip out there bouncing but that number has gotten a lot smaller in recent years. It used to be a lot worse, believe me. Your average bouncer is grand, he's not out to **** over your night, he's there doing his job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I remember being outside a well known club in town. We had just left a pub and were on the way home, I was dressed like a gypsy painting his caravan and swigging from a flagon of cider. We were just outside it waiting for another person, the bouncers were telling us to move on, we were not going to go in anyway.
    Then out comes the manager who lives on my road! I didnt know he was managing this place, he had done a few pubs in the past he is maybe 10 years older than me. He calls out to me from behind the bouncers "hey, come on in" so I gladly barge through the 3 bouncers sneering at them "scuse me lads, yez are in me way" flagon in hand, have a chat with the manager and out again a few minutes later to my mates. Bouncers disgusted.

Anybody got good revenge stories on bouncers you had a run in with, like working in a resturaunt and being able to refuse a bouncer who arrives with his girlfriend because "sorry mate, I dont know ye", "no shoes tonight boss" "too casual"

Buckfast you comments are immature because you are " making it my mission in life to make these guys' lives misery because of the way I've seen them treat other people, year in, year out. I feel all warm inside now"

you complaing that they treat other people badly so your planning to treat them badly. Makes you as just the same as them.

Complain when ther is due cause but do it in a polite curteous manner.

You shouldn;t actively try to make another person's life miserable. That is evil, in the true sence of the word. Delighting in the misery of others. That is pathetic.

you complaing that they treat other people badly so your planning to treat them badly. Makes you as just the same as them.

Complain when ther is due cause but do it in a polite curteous manner.

You shouldn;t actively try to make another person's life miserable. That is evil, in the true sence of the word. Delighting in the misery of others. That is pathetic.

Whoooa a second. Where did I say I'd treat them badly? I simply said I refuse to acknowledge them as I walk into a club when I know they're dicks. Perhaps I should have phrased "act as if they aren't there" a bit differently.

Yes I certainly will complain courteously, but not to the bouncers, they're generally not worth it — another friend who complained about not being let into a club one night was told to go and get a coffee, she had too much to drink. She is a tee-totaller. No, I prefer to make an official complaint to management, preferably the following day. Which, surely is my right when I believe someone has been wronged, and especially when the management may not be fully aware of what actually goes on.

As for making another person's life miserable — are you saying that I shouldn't make a complaint then? That these wrongdoers be allowed to continue treating people as they do.

Nesf — "your average bouncer is grand" ... I'm sorry, have you met any of the guys Im referring to?

Dave McG — we'll have to agree to disagree on stereotypical prejudices. Yeah, maybe they can spot a pikey from 10 paces, but what if I'm wearin a soccer jersey, does that make me a hooligan? (I don't want to get into an argument about dress codes or the chances of trouble in a club with rival supporters, I'm just giving an example).

The sooner strict training/regulations are brought in for "security" staff, the better.