Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bouncers denying me a social life

• 30-08-2005 10:55am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭

First of all, I'm 19 and the youngest of 3 lads. I'm the only single one out of the 3 so most nights they'd have their girlfriends with them.

Now for the rant. We do not get into any niteclub in the whole of bloody Dublin. Age plays a part but is not the reason as I would get in to niteclubs with a few of the lads from college. The reason is a bouncer looks at us and see's a thug. We dress in Jeans, shirt and shoes most nights so dress is not the problem.

We're from the south city centre area. For those that don't know how easy it is to differentiate between a person from a rough area and one from an upper class one here's a couple of pics:

Robbie Keane - Footballer
    Jimmy Doyle - Fair City
    Ronan O'Gara - Rugby player

No matter what, if none of those people were famous and you put the 3 in the same clothes, its quite obvious that Keane and Doyle weren't brought up with silver spoons. There's nothing they can do about it. Faces seem to grow a different way in different parts of the city/country. :)

The reason I decided to post this now is because 7 of us (4 boys and 3 girls) spent a weekend in Newcastle 3 weeks ago, ages ranged from 19-21. We got in everywhere. Not once did we get refused entry into a pub or niteclub. We had a quality time and I even managed to 'pull' on one of the nights.

Saturday night last, we got persuaded to try Tramco in Rathmines. I pretty much knew we wouldn't get in but tried anyway. The 2 girls got the first taxi and the 3 of us followed them. The single girl was meeting up with someone in there so went in before us while the other waited for her bf who was with us. We got out of the taxi at tramco, walked over to the door and to no surprise we were refused. The bouncer said he didn't have to give a reason when questioned by my mate (I'm so used to it now I just walked away without questioning).

Sometimes I can honestly feel the tears creeping up and my face boiling. Its so frustrating. Getting dressed, taxi's to Rathmines and then turned away. It took a weekend away in Newcastle to realise how harshly we are being treated. We spend our weekends in the exact same pub, Friday, Saturday and Sunday. At the age I'm at now I want to have as much fun as possible and try to get a girl. Do I have to go away whenever I want to pull a girl?

It'll be another 3 years before we will be getting into niteclubs as my brother was in the exact same boat as me at my age. There's bouncers on the door in the pub we go to and he really sympathises with us. He basically says they give all bouncers a bad name but I told him he was in a tiny minority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,968 ✭✭✭jcoote

i think peoples attitudes to bouncers are that they are the law and we should fear them...they are just a couple of lads makin an extra few quid..i've very rarely been refused (from ballyfermot btw) and i think it might be because i walk past boucers as much as possible rather than stopping for their approval...if u seem like u have something to hide or give of the impression that u won't get in then they'll cop it and stop u...thes my 2 cents anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

ziggy67 wrote:
    No doubt about it bouncers are c***s of the highest order but i'm glad you don't get in anywhere with you superior Southside attitude. They probably see you smarming about and decide to bring you down a peg or two!

I think you read the OP's post wrong cos he said that he was from the soiuth inner city therefore the bouncers think he's a scumbag. Bouncers in Dublin are the biggest sh!ts ever. I was refused entry into the redbox cos I was from Kilkenny, Wtf???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Ahh that sucks mate :( Have you tried going up to the door individually? Or even better, just a guy and a girl couple. If a big group of shifty looking people walk up to the door, it's alot easier to refuse them, but if they think you're just goin in with your mot, then they might overlook whatever the problem is. I presume you've tried this though, seems you're at your wits ends :P I really don't know what else to say mate! Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Einstein

So i'm a c**t because I stop wasters getting into clubs causing hassle?
    Or am i one of the reasonable ones who gets on with people and has a laugh.

Don't tar people with the same brush Ziggy. Work a couple months on the door and see how people treat you, then get back to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I think the OP is saying hes not superior Southside, correct me if I'm wrong.

As Jcoote stated: Confidence. Walk by the bouncers, say hello but dont stop until you are stopped.

yeah bouncers stopping a big group of chavs will get hassle no doubt but i think a lot of bouncers generalize...like my mate always gets stopped cos he has a fringe and tattoos...hes not a troublemaker he just has no fashion sense and i think that is discrimination tbh...like say for example a silver spooner went up after been in a car crash and got refused its the same principle innit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 387 ✭✭fischerspooner

The fact is mate, you're only 19. Bouncers don't let you in at that age unless you're a girl or you look older and very "respectable". The pictures showing the difference between working class and toffs are hilarious though. It's weird how people's faces develop differently depending on the area they're from.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Maybe you should go live in Newcastle then?

The only reason you probably even got in over there is because a guy from Newcastle can't tell a posh dub accent from a working class one. Hell he prob couldn't even tell a Dublin accent from a Cork accent when you break it down. He earmarked you as 'irish' and if that was good enough for him then you were ok. Same thing goes for how you might look. What might be deemed undesirable here mightn't raise a flag somewhere else.

So don't be making out like everywhere else is an enlightened liberal paradise whilst at the same time your own back yard is cutting in on your fun. I'd wager every single bar you got into over in Newcastle was probably blocking locals for the very same reasons you get barred here for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,707 ✭✭✭skywalker

jcoote wrote:
    because i walk past boucers as much as possible rather than stopping for their approval...if u seem like u have something to hide or give of the impression that u won't get in then they'll cop it and stop u...thes my 2 cents anyway

You might want to be careful with that one. Ive seen it backfire, & if they call you back after youve walked past them, they will do their best not to let you in.

The best advice I can give you for getting into places is, when walking up to the door, look the bouncer straight in the eye, smile on your face, & say whats the craic? ask him how he is. Give him the impression you vaguely know him from before.

DONT LOOK AT THE GROUND or shift around uncomfortably. Be confident & dont look nervous.

Oh & if your going in with girls & guys, pair off.

yeah u can spot different classes a mile away its amazing u'd never think it...well see if bouncers see kickers shirts, levis and a pair of white kickers shoes (or something similar) they will probably stereotype the people in question as dodgy or whatnot...way less people get stopped with spiky hair and a pair of ripped jeans..not fair really but it seems to be the pattern (i'm not a bouncer btw just goin by what i've seen)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 BAm MArgera

I know the solution. Go to underage discos

skywalker...sorry i phrased that wrong i would do as u said and kinda say hows it goin but not look like i wasn't gonna get in..basically like they are just 2 lads standin at the door...thats a bit more like what i was sayin :o

i don't actually do it anymore, but I have NEVER used the excuse "regulars only". Legally, we have the right not to give you a reason, we act on behalf of the management hence the sign, "Management reserve the right of admission".
    But I'd take pleasure in stopping someone like you.

Why is everyone afraid of bouncers. This subject makes me laugh, I'll admit there are a lot of tossers out there, but most of 'em are actually decent. I still get stopped walking into places, one said to me "Sorry bud don't know you," to which I responded "I don't know you either this is my first time here". he laughed and let me in. They're just lads doin a job, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭Sparky

Divers wrote:
    So i'm a c**t because I stop wasters getting into clubs causing hassle?
    Or am i one of the reasonable ones who gets on with people and has a laugh.

Don't tar people with the same brush Ziggy. Work a couple months on the door and see how people treat you, then get back to me.

I can see where your coming from there, ive worked in a pub where a door man had to be employed and the amount of abuse you guys put up with is unbelievable, thats why in my experience i always get asked for id because i look like 15 but am 19 turning on 20 and sometimes ive been refused and to the shock of one bouncer i apoligised and he changed his mind and let me in.
    It was like he was expecting to get abuse hurled at him.
    So it all depends on the bouncer

Sparky_S wrote:
    I can see where your coming from there, ive worked in a pub where a door man had to be employed and the amount of abuse you guys put up with is unbelievable, thats why in my experience i always get asked for id because i look like 15 but am 19 turning on 20 and sometimes ive been refused and to the shock of one bouncer i apoligised and he changed his mind and let me in.
    It was like he was expecting to get abuse hurled at him.
    So it all depends on the bouncer

hit the nail on the head Sparky, be polite to us and you might be surprised that we can be polite back :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Simple, split up, walk into the place in pairs, you + mates girlfriend, mate + GF,

Then send the GF out to meet the real boyfriend and come in with him.

Sometimes bouncers think you may be drunk and want to hear you speak. I always go up stare them in the eye, nod and say "hows it going lads". If they ask the old "have you been drinking lads" dont get smart, just say yeah we had a few round the corner in -insert local resturaunt-, then they think you are not solely a piss head, and you have a belly of food to stop the drink affecting too much.

If we ever get refused, NEVER complain, we stand outside, ringing pretend people in the pub, or just quietly and calmly discussing where we will go instead. Once they see you are not getting pissed off or aggro, they often turn around and let you in. If they refuse you and you start cursing them they are thinking "good, at least we didnt let this drunken loon in, he is looking for a fight", if they see you calm they are thinking "I was wrong about this lad". If they do not offer to let you in, just ask calmly again, "is there any chance we will get if people leave, or "can I just go in to tell my girlfriend where I am", leaving your friend outside, they will usually just let you all in.

I think dressing up too well could actually be a bad thing. I used to always get in one club with runners jeans and a sweatshirt, my mate in shoes, slacks and shirt was always refused. I think they might look and think "he has to dress up everywhere he goes just to get in, must be trouble"

yeah its common thought that bouncers are **** cos everyone has gotten stopped at one point for bein wasted altogether..so they are kinda like 'the enemy' if u will because they uphold the peace or whatever...they do get a lot of stick but i've no problem with the majority of em...thats not to say there are some pricks like in every job

• Closed Accounts Posts: 383 ✭✭bullrunner

Divers wrote:
    They're just lads doin a job, get over it.

Just lads doing a job is fine...but just lads on a power trip doing a job is not fine....and dont tell me bouncers dont get on a power trip...they do ...not all but most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ginger

After spending 5 years working on a door in Limerick, Dublin & Galway I always feel somebit sorry for the guy that gets refused and isnt causing hassle.

Some bouncers are the embodiment of what steroids and agro can do to people. Others are just doing a job, to pay the bills, have a laugh or just to work their way through uni (my case anyways)

Any respectable club will/should have the rules of entry clearly stated. Certain things like dress code etc must be stated. Other things like race,religion etc cannot be used as an excuse for denying entry to a club. Refusing to comply with a mandatory search is. Age I dont think can anymore if you are over the legal age. Correct me if I am wrong on this one?

If the bouncer has a few people at the door dont ask why he/she didnt let you in. Because we are in fact doing work and come back when its quieter and be polite. I have been refused to places and wandered back after 5 mins, asked politely and was let in no worries (in some places offered a job!)

You always have to see it from the guy on the door's point of view. If we screw up (eg let underaged people in and we get raided) well its gonna cost the management a bit and guess what we might not have a job.

Due to the intoxication laws now, its getting harder and harder for the blokes on the door.

If you think we have it bad, spare a thought for the blokes in the taxis coz man they have it worse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

you can't paint all bouncers with the same brush, i'd say there's around 2 or 3% or em that aren't kunts.

ask them for their name, and if they ask you why you want their name, tell them you need it to make a complaint to management.

we got a bouncer fired from westwood as he wouldn't let a friend of mine in cause she was wearing runners.

i was 26 at the time, so it had been a while since i'd gotten lip of a bouncer.

we didn't stand for it, while we didn't get back in, we got the head bouners name, made a complaint, found out there had been other complaints, so they fired the ape.

got me thinking to when i was 18 - 22 or so, i'd take this crap from these tossers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

they should raise the drinking age to 21, that would solve this problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Just wondering, do you have proper ID?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭electric69

What a stupid idea...did you even read the OP? Its not about age,its just about the appearance of the person and their manners towards the bouncers at the door.If you are well dressed and act in a courtious way the bouners have no reason 2 refuse you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 541 ✭✭✭chern0byl

Nightwish wrote:
    I was refused entry into the redbox cos I was from Kilkenny, Wtf???

When i first came to dublin and used to suffer the odd refusal, i was always able to use the kilkenny/country accent to my advantage.

OP: forget about the clubs(in general) man, just drink in some nice boozer. I know barcode in Clontarf has a relaxed enough door policy as its full of scum these days.

electric69 wrote:
    If you are well dressed and act in a courtious way the bouners have no reason 2 refuse you.

You have either never been refused or never been out :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,896 ✭✭✭✭28064212

jaggeh wrote:
    they should raise the drinking age to 21, that would solve this problem.
    How? The whole point of the thread is bouncers refusing entry based on appearances.

Personally, I've never been stopped going into any club since I got my age card at 18. Except once, in Maynooth, where the place had an ridiculously strict 'shoes only' policy, no matter what age/appearance/anything else, you had to have proper shoes. Admittedly though, I do look fairly 'innocent' (not my words). I can't say I've ever had a problem with bouncers

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 mitnick

i hate it when they ask for id sure i do look young but i dont want to bring my passport with me if i want a few drinks always tihnk it will fall out my pocket r sumtihng in dont have provisional cos wont be able to drive cos of uni n bills so the only id i got on me is this piece of plastics that looks fake ( was fake lol but became 18) so divers what id would u take. dnt be pissed at me cos i was underage cos i nevr got totally rot off i dnt start fights just enjoy them.
    the most annoying thing is when you spend a whole nite with the bouncer then a month down the line he just says to u ur lucky to get in like come he knows im dead on
    aww well n ps raise it to 21 u say bad idea the increase of carry outs is v v bad cos u just get the strong stuff like vodka r jd then
    long live the guinness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

chern0byl wrote:

OP: forget about the clubs(in general) man, just drink in some nice boozer. I know barcode in Clontarf has a relaxed enough door policy as its full of scum these days.

I think barcode is one of the worst places to try get into.. I had to show them my garda id, my student id, my social services card and my bank card. Eventually they let me in and i normally don't have a problem getting in anywhere. Like normally im not even asked for id.

ziggy67 wrote:
    Where do you work because i would love to go to a place with decent bouncers, it would make a pleasant change believe me. Oh wait, i'm "not a regular" so i probably wouldn't get in.

oh ziggy ziggy ziggy.
    Reverting to the sterotype?? moi?
    I already told you that I don't use that excuse, and that when I worked in clubs that I was polite and friendly and had the craic with most of the crowd.
    As already mentioned, sometimes we specifically talk to you to see if your locked, drugged, or whatever else falls into the category.

Sometimes I'll refuse someone to see what they say and how they react, if they give aggro straight away, I've made the right decision, if they say fair enough, is there any chance later on and are polite about it, 90% of the time, they will be allowed in.
    So next time someone says to you regulars only, get off your pedestal and be polite to them. They might surprise you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

You're aiming your sights to high. Forget Tramco and get yourself down to Coppers! They'll let anyone in and you're guaranteed to 'pull' as you put it, unless you're a monk.

That said, had a weird experience a few weeks ago. Going into Break for the Border a few Saturday nights ago with a few from work. Me and all the 18-25 year old group had no bother getting in.

Then one of our managers, who is in his late 20s/early 30s, couldn't get in. Despite being dressed perfectly and trying to walk in with two of the girls.

Just didn't make sense at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Triton wrote:
    dressed perfectly and trying to walk in with two of the girls

Maybe they thought he was a pimp ?

mitnick wrote:
    I hate it when they ask for ID, sure I do look young but I don't want to bring my passport with me if I want a few drinks, I always think it will fall out my pocket or something. I don't have a provisional because I can't afford to drive because of university and bills, so the only ID I have on me is this piece of plastic that looks fake
    The Garda ID? You know, the ID that was produced specifically to prove your age? And learn to post stuff that's vaguely readable

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

28064212 wrote:
    How? The whole point of the thread is bouncers refusing entry based on appearances.

because if the drinking age was 21 he wouldnt even have to worry about trying to get in.

jaggeh wrote:
    because if the drinking age was 21 he wouldnt even have to worry about trying to get in.
    Not exactly a permanent solution. Besides, I think we're dealing in generalities here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Johnson

Seems to me the OP has a chip on his shoulder when it comes to bouncers. In my experience, if you just act with a bit of class and courteousy, you won't have any problems. That's how I act, and I've never had any problems with regards to bouncers refusing me entry. In fact, a certain establishmentallowed me in even though they knew I was under their age limit. The bouncer just asked me the question until I gave him the answer he wanted to hear. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

he doesnt have a chip on his shoulder, he's just frustrated at the bouncers that dont let him in!

i've only ever been refused from a club once, and it was because we were underge. as one fella said its about confidence too, dont look at them, just glance and say "alright lads", even light up a smoke before you go in and have a laugh with them.

some are on a power trip (barcode, slapper face jacks), and give hassle cause they can, but some are sound, really sound.

try wearing a t-shirt on nights out, i always do now, if your wearing a benny sherman shirt straight off the table your gonna be stopped.

oh my god you think thats antagonising?
    dude you should see the crap that most of us put up with, before you use words like that. It's separating the muppets from the others, by sussing them out in various ways, and you'd be surprised how tricky that can be.
    I know well that the shoes that you could be wearing might have cost you €100. and the shirt another €75 etc, but there's always gonna be a system where some bouncers are ignorant pratts who have no right standing at the door (I know, I've worked with enough of them) and will refuse people for the power trip and get in fights at the drop of a hat.

Then theres the other side who are stern about what they do, yet totally approachable. I worked clubs for 3 years and I was never involved in one fight.
    It's how you talk to people, and the way they react or don't react that determines the attitude of the bouncer in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Divers wrote:
    Why is everyone afraid of bouncers. This subject makes me laugh, I'll admit there are a lot of tossers out there, but most of 'em are actually decent. I still get stopped walking into places, one said to me "Sorry bud don't know you," to which I responded "I don't know you either this is my first time here". he laughed and let me in. They're just lads doin a job, get over it.

And yet until you made him laugh he wasnt going to let you in for the spurious reason of "not knowing you"
    johnson wrote:
    Seems to me the OP has a chip on his shoulder when it comes to bouncers. In my experience, if you just act with a bit of class and courteousy, you won't have any problems. That's how I act, and I've never had any problems with regards to bouncers refusing me entry. In fact, a certain establishmentallowed me in even though they knew I was under their age limit. The bouncer just asked me the question until I gave him the answer he wanted to hear.

And yet, I have am never anything short of being courteous and polite and yet used to refused like it was going out of fashion, just because the ape, and lets face it some bouncers are, doesnt like the look of me, and used whatever spurious reason they can come up with.

And for any and all bouncers here trying to defend themselves with the "dont tar with the same brush excuse" - the problem is if it happens on a regular basis, you will always be tarred with the same brush, no matter how "nice" a doorman you are. As a patron I deserved to be judged by my actions, not what I may or may not do

And yet until you made him laugh he wasnt going to let you in for the spurious reason of "not knowing you"
    exactly!! my point being that unless you can respond and talk to most of them like normal people instead of annoying tossers, you'll be fine!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Divers wrote:
    exactly!! my point being that unless you can respond and talk to most of them like normal people instead of annoying tossers, you'll be fine!!

And then you have the less quick witted of people who just stand there completely baffled as to why they havent been left it - that is a completely unfair thing to do on any individual

And before I get the "try it before you talk about it" - I have, I worked the door for a few places in Clondalkin, Tallaght as favours - I never once stopped anyone unless they were completely legless or underage.

This crap of testing people before they go in, is completely pointless - what happens if whomever you refuse, comes back, loaded with alcohol and a few mates and gives you the kicking of a lifetime - your test will have lost the management money and gained you a new aspect of pain tolerance (this is a completely hypothetical situation)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

Bouncers are idiots, I wouldnt even pay any attention to them walking in.

ziggy67 wrote:
    divers wrote:
    oh ziggy ziggy ziggy.
    Reverting to the sterotype?? moi?
    I already told you that I don't use that excuse, and that when I worked in clubs that I was polite and friendly and had the craic with most of the crowd.
    As already mentioned, sometimes we specifically talk to you to see if your locked, drugged, or whatever else falls into the category.

Sometimes I'll refuse someone to see what they say and how they react, if they give aggro straight away, I've made the right decision, if they say fair enough, is there any chance later on and are polite about it, 90% of the time, they will be allowed in.
    So next time someone says to you regulars only, get off your pedestal and be polite to them. They might surprise you.
    Thats big of you antagonising someone & if they don't react you might let them in later. Meanwhile the person who has passed your little test is left in the street like a gob****e even though you were wrong.

And your one of the good ones :)
    Presumably he only refuses them if they look like there's a possibility they could cause trouble. TBH, if anybody gets aggressive over being refused into a club, they don't deserve to get in. But definitely, bouncers have a little too much power. If they have a legitimate reason, ie under age, drunk, way off what could be deemed acceptable dress, then fair enough, but just because they don't like the look of them..... If you want a strict dress code ie shoes, shirt etc, this should be publicly posted and applied strictly and equally to everyone, otherwise runners, jeans and a t-shirt should be the minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

Personally I hate going to a pub or club full of 19 year olds.
    Unless they're all girls of course...

*sigh* i dont even work the door and I still get hassle.
    Look, regardless of what you think about my little tests, and they aint mine, and they aren't done on EVERYONE, think of them as spot checks if you will.
    And regarding the kicking of a lifetime, my whole point being that in 3 years, i NEVER got a kicking, or threatened...so no matter how it sounds, whether it be far fetched, unfair, whatever, it seems to you, it worked. I got no hassle, I prevented a lot of hassle, and I got on well with everyone.
    So tbh I don't care what you think of my reasoning, but like any job, theres ways that work for certain people and ways that don't.

Mine worked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

I have seen bouncers act the full array of behaviour. Worked in a night clubs and pubs. Been at the door and refused people myself. I have also been beaten up by bouncers (tip: never go off with a bouncer's girlfriend). It is a tougher job than it looks and many people assume they are just goons. I know of two scientists and a doctor who have all been bouncers and one still is.
    If the OP is being refused everywhere he goes it is simple. He is wearing the wrong clothes and general apperence is not up to sratch. I know he is saying you can tell just by sight but that misses what is being seen. If all you are suffering is not getting to night clubs you can be sure everybody gives you bad looks all the time. You have a choice learn what makes you look like trouble and change it. You might think your fashion is your choice and you would be right but it has other effects you are unaware of. What ever your look is it makes you look like you are going to be trouble. That means people either avoid you or likely to cause trouble with you. If you have a strong accent learn to change it as it will effect the rest of your life and limit job chances and what everybody thinks of you.
    I see somebody in a tracksuit that he obviously lives in I think trouble
    A bad bleach job on a guy is a sure sign too in most people's eye's
    You can decide to look what ever way you look but at least be aware of what way it means you will be treated like. Used to have long hair and a beard so people called me hippy, I thought they were idiots but I was aware my apperance was going to mean people would say that to me.
    Generally people can spot what your lifestyle is like by your apperance but you don't need to advertise it all