Bouncers denying me a social life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,631 ✭✭✭Einstein

ziggy67 wrote:
    Where do you work because i would love to go to a place with decent bouncers, it would make a pleasant change believe me. Oh wait, i'm "not a regular" so i probably wouldn't get in.

oh ziggy ziggy ziggy.
    Reverting to the sterotype?? moi?
    I already told you that I don't use that excuse, and that when I worked in clubs that I was polite and friendly and had the craic with most of the crowd.
    As already mentioned, sometimes we specifically talk to you to see if your locked, drugged, or whatever else falls into the category.

Sometimes I'll refuse someone to see what they say and how they react, if they give aggro straight away, I've made the right decision, if they say fair enough, is there any chance later on and are polite about it, 90% of the time, they will be allowed in.
    So next time someone says to you regulars only, get off your pedestal and be polite to them. They might surprise you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 559 ✭✭✭Triton

You're aiming your sights to high. Forget Tramco and get yourself down to Coppers! They'll let anyone in and you're guaranteed to 'pull' as you put it, unless you're a monk.

That said, had a weird experience a few weeks ago. Going into Break for the Border a few Saturday nights ago with a few from work. Me and all the 18-25 year old group had no bother getting in.

Then one of our managers, who is in his late 20s/early 30s, couldn't get in. Despite being dressed perfectly and trying to walk in with two of the girls.

Just didn't make sense at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,584 ✭✭✭c - 13

Triton wrote:
    dressed perfectly and trying to walk in with two of the girls

Maybe they thought he was a pimp ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,155 ✭✭✭✭28064212

mitnick wrote:
    I hate it when they ask for ID, sure I do look young but I don't want to bring my passport with me if I want a few drinks, I always think it will fall out my pocket or something. I don't have a provisional because I can't afford to drive because of university and bills, so the only ID I have on me is this piece of plastic that looks fake
    The Garda ID? You know, the ID that was produced specifically to prove your age? And learn to post stuff that's vaguely readable

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭jaggeh

28064212 wrote:
    How? The whole point of the thread is bouncers refusing entry based on appearances.

because if the drinking age was 21 he wouldnt even have to worry about trying to get in.

jaggeh wrote:
    because if the drinking age was 21 he wouldnt even have to worry about trying to get in.
    Not exactly a permanent solution. Besides, I think we're dealing in generalities here

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Johnson

Seems to me the OP has a chip on his shoulder when it comes to bouncers. In my experience, if you just act with a bit of class and courteousy, you won't have any problems. That's how I act, and I've never had any problems with regards to bouncers refusing me entry. In fact, a certain establishmentallowed me in even though they knew I was under their age limit. The bouncer just asked me the question until I gave him the answer he wanted to hear. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ziggy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

he doesnt have a chip on his shoulder, he's just frustrated at the bouncers that dont let him in!

i've only ever been refused from a club once, and it was because we were underge. as one fella said its about confidence too, dont look at them, just glance and say "alright lads", even light up a smoke before you go in and have a laugh with them.

some are on a power trip (barcode, slapper face jacks), and give hassle cause they can, but some are sound, really sound.

try wearing a t-shirt on nights out, i always do now, if your wearing a benny sherman shirt straight off the table your gonna be stopped.

oh my god you think thats antagonising?
    dude you should see the crap that most of us put up with, before you use words like that. It's separating the muppets from the others, by sussing them out in various ways, and you'd be surprised how tricky that can be.
    I know well that the shoes that you could be wearing might have cost you €100. and the shirt another €75 etc, but there's always gonna be a system where some bouncers are ignorant pratts who have no right standing at the door (I know, I've worked with enough of them) and will refuse people for the power trip and get in fights at the drop of a hat.

Then theres the other side who are stern about what they do, yet totally approachable. I worked clubs for 3 years and I was never involved in one fight.
    It's how you talk to people, and the way they react or don't react that determines the attitude of the bouncer in question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Divers wrote:
    Why is everyone afraid of bouncers. This subject makes me laugh, I'll admit there are a lot of tossers out there, but most of 'em are actually decent. I still get stopped walking into places, one said to me "Sorry bud don't know you," to which I responded "I don't know you either this is my first time here". he laughed and let me in. They're just lads doin a job, get over it.

And yet until you made him laugh he wasnt going to let you in for the spurious reason of "not knowing you"
    johnson wrote:
    Seems to me the OP has a chip on his shoulder when it comes to bouncers. In my experience, if you just act with a bit of class and courteousy, you won't have any problems. That's how I act, and I've never had any problems with regards to bouncers refusing me entry. In fact, a certain establishmentallowed me in even though they knew I was under their age limit. The bouncer just asked me the question until I gave him the answer he wanted to hear.

And yet, I have am never anything short of being courteous and polite and yet used to refused like it was going out of fashion, just because the ape, and lets face it some bouncers are, doesnt like the look of me, and used whatever spurious reason they can come up with.

And for any and all bouncers here trying to defend themselves with the "dont tar with the same brush excuse" - the problem is if it happens on a regular basis, you will always be tarred with the same brush, no matter how "nice" a doorman you are. As a patron I deserved to be judged by my actions, not what I may or may not do

And yet until you made him laugh he wasnt going to let you in for the spurious reason of "not knowing you"
    exactly!! my point being that unless you can respond and talk to most of them like normal people instead of annoying tossers, you'll be fine!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭Ph3n0m

Divers wrote:
    exactly!! my point being that unless you can respond and talk to most of them like normal people instead of annoying tossers, you'll be fine!!

And then you have the less quick witted of people who just stand there completely baffled as to why they havent been left it - that is a completely unfair thing to do on any individual

And before I get the "try it before you talk about it" - I have, I worked the door for a few places in Clondalkin, Tallaght as favours - I never once stopped anyone unless they were completely legless or underage.

This crap of testing people before they go in, is completely pointless - what happens if whomever you refuse, comes back, loaded with alcohol and a few mates and gives you the kicking of a lifetime - your test will have lost the management money and gained you a new aspect of pain tolerance (this is a completely hypothetical situation)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,878 ✭✭✭bush

Bouncers are idiots, I wouldnt even pay any attention to them walking in.

ziggy67 wrote:
    divers wrote:
    oh ziggy ziggy ziggy.
    Reverting to the sterotype?? moi?
    I already told you that I don't use that excuse, and that when I worked in clubs that I was polite and friendly and had the craic with most of the crowd.
    As already mentioned, sometimes we specifically talk to you to see if your locked, drugged, or whatever else falls into the category.

Sometimes I'll refuse someone to see what they say and how they react, if they give aggro straight away, I've made the right decision, if they say fair enough, is there any chance later on and are polite about it, 90% of the time, they will be allowed in.
    So next time someone says to you regulars only, get off your pedestal and be polite to them. They might surprise you.
    Thats big of you antagonising someone & if they don't react you might let them in later. Meanwhile the person who has passed your little test is left in the street like a gob****e even though you were wrong.

And your one of the good ones :)
    Presumably he only refuses them if they look like there's a possibility they could cause trouble. TBH, if anybody gets aggressive over being refused into a club, they don't deserve to get in. But definitely, bouncers have a little too much power. If they have a legitimate reason, ie under age, drunk, way off what could be deemed acceptable dress, then fair enough, but just because they don't like the look of them..... If you want a strict dress code ie shoes, shirt etc, this should be publicly posted and applied strictly and equally to everyone, otherwise runners, jeans and a t-shirt should be the minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

Personally I hate going to a pub or club full of 19 year olds.
    Unless they're all girls of course...

*sigh* i dont even work the door and I still get hassle.
    Look, regardless of what you think about my little tests, and they aint mine, and they aren't done on EVERYONE, think of them as spot checks if you will.
    And regarding the kicking of a lifetime, my whole point being that in 3 years, i NEVER got a kicking, or threatened...so no matter how it sounds, whether it be far fetched, unfair, whatever, it seems to you, it worked. I got no hassle, I prevented a lot of hassle, and I got on well with everyone.
    So tbh I don't care what you think of my reasoning, but like any job, theres ways that work for certain people and ways that don't.

Mine worked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,031 ✭✭✭MorningStar

I have seen bouncers act the full array of behaviour. Worked in a night clubs and pubs. Been at the door and refused people myself. I have also been beaten up by bouncers (tip: never go off with a bouncer's girlfriend). It is a tougher job than it looks and many people assume they are just goons. I know of two scientists and a doctor who have all been bouncers and one still is.
    If the OP is being refused everywhere he goes it is simple. He is wearing the wrong clothes and general apperence is not up to sratch. I know he is saying you can tell just by sight but that misses what is being seen. If all you are suffering is not getting to night clubs you can be sure everybody gives you bad looks all the time. You have a choice learn what makes you look like trouble and change it. You might think your fashion is your choice and you would be right but it has other effects you are unaware of. What ever your look is it makes you look like you are going to be trouble. That means people either avoid you or likely to cause trouble with you. If you have a strong accent learn to change it as it will effect the rest of your life and limit job chances and what everybody thinks of you.
    I see somebody in a tracksuit that he obviously lives in I think trouble
    A bad bleach job on a guy is a sure sign too in most people's eye's
    You can decide to look what ever way you look but at least be aware of what way it means you will be treated like. Used to have long hair and a beard so people called me hippy, I thought they were idiots but I was aware my apperance was going to mean people would say that to me.
    Generally people can spot what your lifestyle is like by your apperance but you don't need to advertise it all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,387 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Divers wrote:
    Why is everyone afraid of bouncers. This subject makes me laugh
    People fear them because they can ruin a night out for them by simply refusing them entry. I had a mate who would not be let into a certain club 9 times out of 10 for no reason. The the OP is saying, they are ruining his social life. This club was out of the way, I rarely went there, there was no other club for miles, so it wasnt like the mates who had paid in already were all going to come back out and head elsewhere. In the end he just gave up on going there, wasnt worth the hassle/disappointment/taxi fare.

If there was only one bus going into town (no taxis) and the bus driver was in the habit of not letting people on because they wore the wrong shirt or were never on the bus before, then people would "fear" bus drivers too, or a checkout woman in tescos if they could refuse to serve you. It is the humiliation too, esp. if only one out of a group is refused.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Divers wrote:
    *sigh* i dont even work the door and I still get hassle.
    Look, regardless of what you think about my little tests, and they aint mine, and they aren't done on EVERYONE, think of them as spot checks if you will.
    And regarding the kicking of a lifetime, my whole point being that in 3 years, i NEVER got a kicking, or threatened...so no matter how it sounds, whether it be far fetched, unfair, whatever, it seems to you, it worked. I got no hassle, I prevented a lot of hassle, and I got on well with everyone.
    So tbh I don't care what you think of my reasoning, but like any job, theres ways that work for certain people and ways that don't.

Mine worked.

I agree with you... And I don't know why everyone's giving Divers a hard time, you would (or should) all do the same thing -- if you wanted to keep your job. Bouncers have to be able to suss out good people and trouble-makers before they let them in. Sometimes they make mistakes, because it's down to judgement, and it's a personal thing. If someone walks up to you wearing a clown suit, there's a good chance he's a clown. It might not necessarily be the case, but without researching their history, you can't be sure. Sometimes mistakes are made and decent people won't get in, but look at it the other way -- if they allow every scumbag in off the street, then there'll be fights and the likes all the time. It's the bouncers' obligation to make sure that scum doesn't get into the place, and I'm quite grateful that they do -- it's what makes some places nice and other places kips. I don't wanna be dancin up next to Johnny McHeroin-addict or Mary McPikey-tramp.

So just think about it from the bouncer's point of view -- find out what's making you look like trouble and fix it. If you don't want to for whatever reason, then you have to come to terms with the fact that it's gonna cause you trouble. It's the way the world works, I'm afraid, and it's not the bouncers' fault; they have a job to do, and a tough job at that. They have to make decisions based on stereotypes and appearance, nothing you can do about it unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Bouncers aren't strict enough tbh, too many underagers and knackers getting into clubs these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

I've worked in nightclubs and even had a stint on the door when they were desperate (and I'm not a big lad at all so they were really really desperate :D) . I've been refused twice from nightclubs in Dublin.

Once: aged 24, coming back from a job interview so I was in a suit and went in to fireworks to meet some friends. I got stopped on the way in and told I couldnt go in. I asked hwat the problem was and I was politely told "I dont have to give you a reason. now f**k off". The guy was busy so I waited until it was quieter and asked again and tried to reason with the guy. I'm stone sober, I'm resepectably dressed, I'm meeting some friends. My answer "F**k off". So I called my friends and let them know I was being stopped. One came down to me and pretended to be my GF but still the bouncer wouldnt let me in. They lost 15 customers for the sake of a self important prick who "doesnt need a reason".

2nd time: 10 girls, 3 guys going in to night club. Club M (thank god I was refused!). Everyone dressed well except me who had just come from work and was in jumper and jeans (perfect condition and tidy but not clubber gear seemingly). Guys got stopped and the girls were told to go on ahead, a few of the front ones had already paid by the time they found out we were stopped. Reason: I was wearing a jumper. How stupid is that? it's a jumper!!! So I went home. no point in ruining others people's night for an ignorant opinionated git. Was told by an ex-Club M bouncer that they are told to keep a certain ratio of guys to girls during the night as well so I could jsut have been unlucky about when I turned up.

I got turfed out of a nightclub once after paying in and all. Wasnt drunk, wasnt fighting. However, when two lads started a row and landed on top of me the bouncers decided I was involved and booted me too, without even hearing my protests. they then proceeded to boot my friends who were arguing on my behalf. I understand the need to get trouble out of the premises but to just grab a bystander and not wait for an excuse was ridiculous.

Generally Bouncers are a grand lot. It's unfortunate though that the complete gits are allowed behave the way they do and still have that level of authority. The main problem I see with this type of bouncer, and I see it when they are stoppin gother people who i *know* are sound and not drunk is a complete and utterly stubborn refusal to admit the possibility that they just might be wrong. They get all bouncers a bad name and yet the decent bouncers wont over rule a decision they make or even try to mediate a situation.

Clearly marked requirements for entry to a club / pub is the best answer to this. It lets the patron know whats expected of them to gain entry and takes the power trip away from the ego maniacs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,240 ✭✭✭Endurance Man

Crumbs, im kinda glad iv never gone clubbing in dublin after those^^ storys :eek: . I have actually only been to 2 clubs in ireland and iv not had trouble. I look a lot younger than i am :rolleyes: , so ID is always asked for. I supply it, and im let in. I think people in power will more than likely abuse it at 1 time or the other. To call all bouncers obscene names is just stupid though, and does not reflect well on the name caller :rolleyes: .

PS: It is very annoying seeing youngsters in the clubs, i waited for the privelage, so should you. I have also found that the underage kids will begin running a mock as they consume to much, and thats when trouble starts.

Well myself and my friends do not cause any trouble when we go to clubs -- even if we're drunk. We go out to get a bit of a buzz from the drink, to have a laugh with friends, and to dance -- what's wrong with that? Just because you had to wait doesn't mean everyone should. I'm mature enough to know I can handle my drink and myself, so going to a club isn't a big deal -- why should it be? I probably handle myself better that most of the 18/19 year olds(I'm 17, btw), I bet, so why should I have to "wait for the privelage"?

The laws aren't there because nightclubs are some kind of gentlemen's gathering and only aristocrats are allowed enter; they're there because younger people generally can't handle their drink(a point I accept) and so end up causing trouble/passing out. My friends and I do not fit into this group, because we drink sensibly and take care of each other (if someone happens to get too drunk, there's loads of others to help them or take them home -- which has happened; dedicated and mature friends), so why should it bother you to see us in a club enjoying ourselves?

It's not a privelage, it's a law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Ph3n0m wrote:
    And then you have the less quick witted of people who just stand there completely baffled as to why they havent been left it - that is a completely unfair thing to do on any individual

And before I get the "try it before you talk about it" - I have, I worked the door for a few places in Clondalkin, Tallaght as favours - I never once stopped anyone unless they were completely legless or underage.

This crap of testing people before they go in, is completely pointless - what happens if whomever you refuse, comes back, loaded with alcohol and a few mates and gives you the kicking of a lifetime - your test will have lost the management money and gained you a new aspect of pain tolerance (this is a completely hypothetical situation)

No offense, I mean you seem like a pretty balanced person, you've got a chip on both shoulders :D

Seriously though, in any job, you'll have decent folk and eejits. Bouncers have just seconds to make a call on someone who is approaching the door. Sometimes they can't make that call confidently in the time so they stop you. People always think of being stopped in the negative, but IMO the good bouncers are the ones who stop you with the intention of satisfying themselves that you're ok and won't be trouble.

It's similar to a guard stopping you at a checkpoint. From outside the car, they mightn't be able to tell that you're gee-eyed, so they get you to roll down the window and engage you in conversation for a few seconds to be sure.

Most courteous bouncer I ever came across was at a pub in Galway many years ago. I was going in with a friend, and got asked for ID, when I showed him my drivers licence, and it was, 'ok, thanks very much, have a nice night", and he even held the door open for me. So don't tar them all with the same brush. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Some bouncers are dickheads, it's plain and simple. They refuse peopel at a door to boost their ego. They like to dwell on their moment of power and clarity. The best thing to do with these type of guys is to explain to them that you will drop by the next day to speak to their manager to report them. Drop in the next day and politely ask for the manager. Explain to him/her that you were refused entry to the premises without any excuse and were just out for a quiet drink. Explain the inconvenience that it caused you to get a taxi and get ready for a night out, only to be refused at the last minute without warning.

I've had my fair share of run ins with bouncers, I understand how fruterating they can get. I remember a few years back, a bouncer wouldn't let this guy in for personal reasons and even though the guy was being polite, the bouncer kept acting like a dick to him and showing off in front of these few girls he was talking to. The fella just went nuts and ran over and starting to kick the **** out of this motorbike - he obviously knew the bouncer and knew it was his bike. the bouncer ran over and yer man pegged it off taunting him. I didn't feel one bit sorry for the bouncer, even though yer man was after doing all this damage to the bike. I just thought to myself "prick deserved it".

To be honest, there should be some sort of laws to prevent bouncers refusing entry to a premises based on no grounds. I can understand them refusing someone who's absolutely plastered drunk or causing fights, but for soem quiet fella and his friends to be refused for no reason is absolutely stupid.

Yeah I love when you come across really nice people who others might generalise as d*cks. Like I was on the bus a good while ago, and it was full, so the driver had to pass by a stop. Some drivers would just forget about it(as I've seen), but this bloke got on the radio and said somethin like, "There's 2 people at [the bus stop], I had to pass them by -- can someone speed it up a bit for them?" I just thought that was really nice :) And another time, I was at traffic lights waiting and a bus was about to pass, and I just kinda flailed my hand out a bit, in despair, lol, and to my astonishment, the driver stopped at the stop that was a good 50 feet up the road(and nobody was getting off)! It was great, I love when that happens, it makes my day, lol :P