Leinster Team Talk Thread (Love you Furlong time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 978 ✭✭✭PmMeUrDogs

I'm happy with the team selection, although I can understand why not everyone is.

Feeling relaxed about it. Despite all the begrudgery and giving out all season, Leinster are in a fantastic position in CC and URC. Whatever the outcome of tomorrow, fair play to the lads, and I hope for a good game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,086 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I wouldn't go as far as to condemn the selection, because to do so without knowledge of the day to day training outcomes is just stupid.

But I do feel Henshaw must be a bit lucky to be in there. I agree that I would have started Osborne at 12, and had one of Henshaw, Lowe or JOB in the 23 shirt, in order to move Ioane in at 60 mins, but I cant argue with the selections at 10, 14, and 22.

Having Furlong and Paddy Mac available to come on will be vital and I hope Mangan does not become overawed by the occasion, because at his best, he is very, very good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭FtD v2

I dunno if Deeny's injury is a factor, I think they rate Mangan more highly.

Clarkson is 100% the right call for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,070 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I think Mangan has had stronger performances than Deeny in the last few months. I think Mangan is going to improve a lot next season. Really like having him in the squad. He's earned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,057 ✭✭✭johnh6767

Very happy with that 23, in the hands of the gods now and each of them giving their all which I’m absolutely sure will be the case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭50HX

Pretty solid team.

Would picked Lowe ahead of Osbourne purely because he is a big game player & offers something with his left boot as well.

Frawley covers enough across the backline if things have to be re jigged mid game.

Huge game for Byrne...win this & him having a v v solid day will kick him on further.

No silly yellow card that will sap the energy, if ye are within 3-5 in tne final 10mins i'd fancy ye to do it

Best of luck Leinster.

Cracking final for the neutrals

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

Deeny is way off this level imo. Also gives away some monumentally daft penalties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,087 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

But I do feel Henshaw must be a bit lucky to be in there.

He's in better form than Osborne who's been ropey enough at 12 but offers a great solution for the 23 jersey, the right call was Henshaw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,376 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

We've a strong bench that I hope to God we actually use correctly. I feel like we never spring Kelleher early enough especially. Sheehan is world class and maybe our best player, but I feel like he's always kept on too long and past the point where he can make huge contributions.

Would rather we tasked him with going all out for 50 minutes, then using Kelleher for the last half hour. Same with the other front row subs too actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭aloooof

I think Leinster coming in as underdogs might take some bit of the weight of pressure off them and suit them. They haven't had things their own way this season, so I wouldn't expect any of the complacency that may have been there vs Northampton last season. The bit of adversity, and not cantering to the end of the season, might stand to them here.

Probably the biggest game of Harry Byrne's career, he'll be hoping to put a performance in here in it's own right. But it could also lead towards gametime this Summer with Ireland.

I hope Leinster can do it, you'd be delighted for the likes of Doris, Sheehan and Keenan, world class players who weren't around in 2018. Even mainstays like VdF, Porter, Furlong, Ryan, Conan and Ringrose will feel like they should have more and are running out of chances.

Saw it on Leinsterfans, but worth flagging that Leinster produced 20 out of 23 taking the field tomorrow, including every forward in the 23. That, in and of itself, for a European Cup Final, is a pretty incredible achievement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭ujjjjjjjjj

Can't agree with you. It's spot on for me. Delighted with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,138 ✭✭✭arsebiscuits1

Im bitterly disappointed. They've just gone and shot themselves in the foot.

Lost all faith in Cullen to pick the right team.

And what if we win?

I never really understand this mentality. Negatively nailing colours to the mast so one can gleefully say 'I told you so' if their predictions come to pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭crisco10

It certainly is. And yet, it is more often used as a stick to beat them with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Madeoface

Two strong teams. Hopefully a good game. Id agree with the bookies in Bordeaux Begles being favourites but it's a cup final.

Please don't get injured Harry....

Not only Leinster produced. Of the 20 Leinster developed players we have:

• 19 Internationals
    • 12 Lions (8 test capped)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭ionadnapóca

With all due respect my "mentality" isnt "negatively nailing colours" nor am I a "I told you so". I will be delighted if Leinster win.

Its my opinion. Is that not ok?

Of course your opinion is ok.

As is my opinion that it's exhausting to see people sharpen knives on the eve of the biggest game of the season.

I never accused you of not being delighted as the concept of Leinster winning. But you've already pre rationalised some potential causes of us losing. And that is sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,327 ✭✭✭TRC10

The whole underdogs thing might be a thing for fans, but I can guarantee you the Leinster players won’t be going into this thinking “we’re underdogs so the pressure is off us”. They’ll be going into this game believing they’re good enough to win. So I don’t think it’s as much a factor as people think.

I also think Leinster being bookies underdogs is more a reflection on the coaching than on the players. That Leinster 23 has 14 Lions in it, an 80 cap All Black, and the Ireland captain who probably would have been Lions captain had he not got injured. Plus they had the luxury of leaving another test Lion (Lowe) out of the 23 entirely. There’s more than enough firepower in that 23 to beat the 5th ranked team in the Top14.

You're talking out of both sides of your mouth here a bit.

No one denies the strength of this Leinster team; we absolutely could win this game, and I agree the players will 100% believe they can and should win it.

But it's disingenuous to list off all of Lions etc, and then refer to this Bordeaux team as just the 5th ranked team in the Top14.

I will. I hope you can find it in your heart to cheer for the team after your "bitter disappointment"

Dont you worry. I've been "cheering for the team" edit for yrs

Hence the bitter disappointment at Cullen getting the selection wrong for another final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,087 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

this Bordeaux team as just the 5th ranked team in the Top14.

The reigning European champions, and the other thing is Bilbao is a very handy drive from Bordeaux. It would be like Leinster having to travel to Killarney for a European final, it'll be close to a home game for UBB.

Has he got the selection wrong?

Any chance of tonights lotto numbers too please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Tommysocks11

Sad for Sam P not to make squad when this time last year he was heir to sextons throne and golden boy of irish rugby, hope he discovers his form next season but his flaw is a big one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭OldRio

Weather forecast for tomorrow in Bilbao. 31C and Sun. The temp in the stadium will be higher. Not ideal for running rugby or any sport tbf.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 17,590 Mod ✭✭✭✭Quin_Dub

Makes the benches even more important I guess..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

My worry is the blitz defence will wilt in these conditions