Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,970 ✭✭✭decies

Talking to a lot of Tipperary hurling supporters they are angry and deflated after this down season , less than a year from winning an all Ireland . I’d give anything to have those type of problems . Our default solution seems to be brush ourselves down and go again . Maybe we aren’t just doing things right doing here , maybe we could be doing things better like other hurling counties who did take advantage of down time by a slighter lesser limerick team . We need to have better GAA facilities in every town and parish like those successful Hurling Counties . We need to have better again supporter club offering real value for supporters to cough up their cash . Nobody is going to hand us a trip out of Munster championship never mind an all Ireland . There’s a whole generation of Waterford GAA fans that have never seen us win an all Ireland . Are we giving us the best chance to finally break the curse??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭LeoD

Limerick man here and was at the game on Sunday. Good display from Waterford but biggest takeaway from it is the dysfunctional championship structure we have. How those in charge of the game think it's good that counties like Waterford and Tipp have no inter county games until the league next Jan in the shi**y wet and cold is crazy. And I think the current structure is particularly unfair on Waterford who would easily finish top 3 in Leinster every year but will unfortunately struggle to get out of Munster on a regular basis. Counties need to be in the fight up to July to keep the game in the public's mind and help promote it with the next generation. The success of Ballygunner cannot be good for Waterford hurling either - is it only masking problems with numbers in the rest of the county? I'd be worried for the longterm future of Waterford hurling if this structure remains because it'll slowly die if you have zero inter county hurling after the month of May year after year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 westwaterfordaqua

More whinging about the format, it’s the same every year. We’ve all year to complain about the format, why management decides outside a losing dressing room to bring up the championship structure is beyond me. Media must be buzzing when they see them coming.

Questions have to be asked about the mentality this management are pushing, we’re the poor mes of Munster not able to catch a break. How does that effect coming down the home straight of games we’re clearly capable of winning but can’t close out.

I’ve always been dead against the revolving doors so I’m torn on weather to stick with the current management, but would love a bit of ruthlessness brought into how we play and talk. If that means certain players have to go then so be it. I’d say some of the players are scratching their heads at the levels they know they can get to but management crying out to croke park to come in and save them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭razorronan

In my opinion a league structure (such as the current Munster Championship) nearly always favour the bigger teams over time. If you take Scotland (yes I know its a different sport) for example the last time someone won the league outside the old firm was 84/85. However in that same time 9 different teams outside the Old Firm have won the Scottish Cup.

The times Waterford have gotten to the All Ireland over the last 20 years were when we were knocked out of the Munster Championship after suffering early losses. A cup type format like the old structure always gave you hope you can get a good run, put in a good performance in a semi final and get to a final. The longer summer of inter county hurling with the build up to semis and finals would always help keep the kids interested in hurling.

Can we win 2 games to get out of Munster, absolutely. Can we do it consistently over a 10/20 year period highly unlikely. We are at a disadvantage over playing numbers, stadium capacity, money for training/facilities/development squads (Cork inter County team budget €2.3m, Waterford €1.6m).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭sasol

I find it difficult to fathom all the complaining from Waterford about the format. 

The format is the same for everybody. 

Waterford played 4 and won 0 in 2026. 

Waterford played 4 and won 1 in 2025. 

That’s a single win from 8 games. 

Do Waterford not see the connection between poor results and an early exit from championship ? Do Waterford want everyone to keep playing, and playing, and playing, until they start winning games ? 

This suggestion that 4 teams should qualify from Munster is laughable. Notwithstanding the fact that ye still would not qualify, what do ye want then – change the format so that all 5 teams qualify from Munster ??

This isn’t an U6 blitz where everyone gets a medal at the end ! 

There are winners and losers. You win games, you progress. You fail to win games, you lose out. That’s the nature of sport.

careful limerick lad that kind of sensible post does not go well around here . You can’t have a limerick supporter who heve such great success in recent years who would have won no matter what format was used looking at the BIGGER picture for the Hurling championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭5948ai

Not many here suggesting 4 teams to qualify. Discussions here on overall format. The fact that we're out so early and lack of exposure to generate interest for youngsters to take up the game in future. Big outcry from Cork when their games were behind a paywall last year.. we just got on with it this year. A couple of years during round robin we couldn't even have home advantage due to Walsh Park needing to be upgraded. WP currently being upgraded and we still have approx 4k from Cork at last game due to rules around season tickets.

Other counties in Munster obviously have none of the issues above. Waterford supporters here are entitled to have opinions on championship structure.

Best that you stick to your county forum as you're contributing nothing to discussion here.

cry me a river.

The reason Waterford didn’t get out of Munster was due to season tickets, Walsh park renovations and tv paywalls ??

Did it even cross your mind that maybe, just maybe, Waterford didn’t get out of Munster because they consistently perform worse than the other Munster counties ?

the Davy Fitz mentality of blaming everything and anyone except himself , lives on in Waterford

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Deiseen

I think you are deliberately missing the main issue here. No one has an issue with losing or not being good enough but not having waterford or tipperary hurling beyond May is outrageous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Jerry Atrick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭gunners200

I’d love to know what those Waterford players think they had Davy fitz tell all the media they were mentally scarred and broken u then have queally come in blaming decisions, the weather and now banging on for two years about the format.

Stick to association football lad .

so you’d prefer to lose your games in June rather than lose them in April ?

I think you’re deliberately missing the point here. The problem is not paywalls, it’s not Walsh park renovations, it’s not season tickets , it’s not the calendar as you have suggested. The problem is you’re the worst team in Munster, so you get eliminated earliest.

This mentality of blaming everything and anything rather than face the actual problem head on is nauseating.

Should we just hand you over a trophy of some sort to keep you happy ? A wooden spoon perhaps?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 37,289 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Mod Note

@sasol Tone down your posting in this thread if you wish to continue posting here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Dammo

While I don’t agree with the tone, is s(he) that far off the mark? I don’t think so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,114 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

The Leinster Championship team supporters get an extra day out too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Moggy13

I'd agree. News & Star did a good piece after the Cork game, I would say pretty much echoing alot of the way we are feeling at the moment:

https://www.waterford-news.ie/sport/gaa/a-tiring-rendition-of-a-familiar-tale_arid-97792.html

Apologies if someone already put it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭914

Here's the thing. Someone said the format suits the bigger teams. Limerick and Clare were similar to Waterford, the old traditional top dogs are Killenny, Cork and Tipperary.

Kilkenny's last all Ireland win 2015

Corks last all Ireland win 2005

Before last year Tipperary were 2019.

If anything we have seen a shift. Our issue was not getting it right after Cahill. The great Waterford minor/u20 team their big opposition at the time was Limerick.

Limerick made the correct appointments and dove on, unfortunately we didn't, I don't think there is anything drastically wrong here, at this point in time we are just not good enough.

Counties like Waterford, clare, Limerick, Wexford and offaly come and go unfortunately, the issue we have had is when we had the chance we didn't take it. Other counties for that chance and took it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭cbwfd

We absolutely have not been good enough to get top 3 in Munster. That's completely on us. My issue is that geographic location gives you a much easier route to the All Ireland championship. The level of performance we produced this year (most years) would 100% get us out of Leinster.

The only way to fix it is to give each team a shot at the All Ireland Championship. Of course have your incentives for winning your province/making a final but I don't understand how people can't see how nonsensical the current structure is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Jack C

A friend suggested the following format to me and I thought it was an excellent  idea. It would see the provincial and all-Ireland competition  ran through the same group games.

So 2 groups of 6 with the top 4 teams from each province split with 2 in each group . 

Now the group games between teams of the same province would have the added significance of determining who gets to a Munster or Leinster final.  So if Cork, Tipp  were in 1 group and Waterford was also drawn in group 1, the team with most points from the 3 games  among just those teams would play the winner of Clare/Limerick in the other group in the Munster final. Likewise the games between just the other teams would qualify 2 teams for a Leinster final.

Then after all group games ( 5 weeks),  just top 2 from each group qualify for all-Ireland semis. Bottom 2 teams play for relegation to Joe MacDonagh.

Relegation and Provincial finals (which may or may not have all-Ireland semi-finalists) played on week 6.

Every team gets minimum 5 matches.

Provincial competitions still intact.

Slightly weaker teams get a crack at teams they normally wouldn't get to play.

No quarter finals means group games can be played bit later into summer.

I think everyone or at least everyone in this thread is not arguing to have more teams qualify so we in Waterford have a chance.

If we were in Leinster while some believe we would qualify every year I wouldn't be so sure. While the league is the league we have struggled against Leinster teams in the league and in previous championships we always had difficult days against leinster teams, where as in Munster you have to play every game as of it's a Munster Final and that surely only brings you on.

That said we all know one provence is far stronger than the other.

I think the real argument is, it is probably harder to get out of Munster than to win the All Ireland, which shouldn't be the case, the road to the All Ireland should be the hardest part.

The prime example of that. Clare win the All Ireland and fail to get out of Munster the following year. Tipp win the All Ireland and fail to get out of munster the following year.

In the last ten years. The AI has been won 9 times by Munster teams, with the exception being Galway in 2017.

I think there needs to be a discussion about what's best for hurling, how can we have a format like the Munster championship across either both provence's or across an All Ireland series, as it's epic and what we all want to see if full stadiums with epic encounters, more teams progressing, and by progressing I mean teams genuinely going toe to toe with each other, making weaker counties stronger, getting Wexford back strong, keeping offaly up to the level, progressing the likes of Laois, Antrim, Kildare, Westmeath etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,114 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,370 ✭✭✭Krazy gang

Thats the problem though its not. 3 inter-county games on gaa+ last weekend. None on rte.

While I agree, most GAA kids will still see the game, whether that's through parents brining them to the games, getting in GAA+ or going to their local club or bar to watch it.

I think more should be televised but without GAA+ these games wouldn't be on the TV anyway so we still wouldn't be seeing them.

There you go - you are right, you have absolutely not been good enough to get top 3 in Munster.

Waterford have won just 4 out of 28 games since the Munster round robin was introduced. Stop blaming the format. The problem is a lot closer to home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 handy_out

I remember watching the first ever televised live Munster hurling final. We’re definitely spoiled these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭cbwfd

I think you are also missing the point and probably came into this thread late, the majority of discussion here isn't about making it easier for a county like Waterford to qualify but rather how can the current format be improved or tweaked to ensure we get best All Ireland format that we can possibly have.

The fact a hurling strong hold like Tipperary are finished hurling in May is madness, Kilkenny could also be finished after the weekend.

Some will say that's tough shite but at the end of the day we all want to see as many teams as we can in hurling going toe to toe in ideal conditions, top of the ground in summer.

We already have limited numbers in hurling and we want to sure we continue to expand the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭MfMan

Bar being actually brought to it, I doubt kids would ever watch it on screen. Too busy these days watching their own screens. Wouldn't really develop much interest in watching games I'd say until well into their late teens anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭5948ai

No one is disputing that we're just short on quality to qualify. We're discussing the entire format and mostly the drawbacks in relation to season schedule and how we're finished so early. I think that's a fair debate to have.

You've mentioned we haven't been good enough multiple times here on this forum. You're sounding like a broken record.