Waterford GAA Thread - Mod note post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

can you elaborate on why Ryan wouldn’t be a good candidate…? Anything to do with his predominantly ‘big ball’ background. John Kiely has same pedigree and look what he has achieved…?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭rockable_audio

I was critical of Queally and Shanahan last week against Cork I was furious with the display but ya have to give the management group credit after today. We are not a million miles off the other teams. I don't think Queally should continue but I do have sympathy for him after that performance. Its just the lack of consistency that drives me mad with this management group. We should be playing 1A hurling next year. We were unlucky not to get something out of it today. You cannot fault anyone today. Paddy Leavy done an outstanding job on Gillane I can't remember seen Gillane as quiet as he was today. The management team have blooded some excellent young players over the last 2 years. Conor Keane was very good again today and that sideline in the second half from Aussie was outstanding to see. I really have belief in this panel of players and we are only going to get better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭Deiseen

A manager who has won a hurling all Ireland WITH WATERFORD and people think he shouldn't be considered.

The same shite was said about Sean Power. People said "anyone could have won an all Ireland with that team". As if we have medals galore down here.

Honestly strange. Other counties don't behave like this. They recognise you need strong stuff to win club all Ireland medals and underage medals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53 ✭✭rockable_audio

Sean Power would have been a far better choice than Paraic Fanning in 2019. Our u21s played a fantastic style of hurling under him. We put up some fight against a strong Cork team in our only u21 game in 2018. I would give it to Jason Ryan he could get the best out of this group alongside O'Rourke. Our hurling needs a small improvement. Again today we gave one or two wayward passes. As I said we have the players and there's more players coming and also more to come from the group that's there already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 handy_out

What’s another year?

Went to the match with the intention of just enjoying it, expecting a loss and not getting too upset over it. But it was another game we could have won but didn’t, which is the most frustrating part. Great effort though and the lads did us proud. Paddy, well done! I think TDB got some unfair criticism above. (The goals were not his fault?) His positional sense, leadership and experience backboned a lot of what was good today. It was good to see him back!

I’d give Peter another year. I certainly don’t always agree with his team selection but he’s got balls and I feel like he’s on a journey. He didn’t come into the job with a load of experience, let’s not forget. The most important thing is that the players obviously back him. Today really proved that.
    That’s it for the year now. We might see two or three retire. Potentially two of our greatest ever players.

Positives for me this year were seeing Mackey break through, Bennett being Bennett, Barron being Barron, Kevin Mahony and Sean Walsh finding their feet at inter county level, Jack Prender and Leavy proving the doubters wrong, some big moments from Billy and Shane Bennett. It was fun while it lasted.

Next year, hopefully we’ll have more luck with injuries but I think we need to plan to depend less on some lads who are unfortunately just continuously injury prone, as cruel as that seems. We definitely need a full back and some more scoring forwards to help out. Patrick Fitz coming back with some fresh young blood to help would be great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭5948ai

Just watched the Sunday game analysis. Utter shite if you ask me. Dalo with a cheap shot at Aussie for celebrating point from sideline cut and then Cummins vaguely mentioning the dropped hurley for the second goal handpass. That was the crucial score in the game!... Thankfully with us out I won't be watching much more of this crap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭JD. 60

Peter Queally said he would talk to his family and the county board and do what's right for Waterford (or words to that effect). I imagine he would like another year at it.

I've no animosity with the chap but our record in the last 8 championship games is one win (against a Clare team missing Kelly & O'Donnell). Is that the fault of management or the players ?

Some of the players will probably call it a day but if the remaining players want Queally to stay on, so be it. If so, perhaps he might shake up his backroom team (but keep O'Rourke on board).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Mastermcgrath

My point is that I wouldn’t be moving Queally out unless there was someone really obvious to step in, but if Queally is to step aside of his own accord I expect Ryan would be a candidate. Anyway isn’t he back with Ballygunner for the coming season so that would effectively rule him out of the reckoning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Deskjockey

Agreed. Absolutely unnecessary cheap shot from Daly at Gleeson- loads of players celebrated a score in both codes all weekend so it was pretty low for Daly to single out Gleeson for doing what loads of others did over the weekend. Gleeson has burst himself trying to get back to where he needs to be in terms of fitness this year and putting over a sideline cut in a big match like that is an incredible skill, so to focus on a celebration after doing that is fairly small minded- Anthony Daly has revealed himself to be a small man in my book after his comment tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Relhcstirt

It's White and blue, always has been.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Montys return

Calum Lyons has been outstanding the past 3 games. Shane Bennett was excellent yesterday, they really showed the leadership to lead the fight in that spell where we outscored Limerick 10pts to 1.

Mahony has also really stood up since the Tipp game and its fantastic to see it because we are short on scoring forwards. Leavy too has had an excellent championship. These are the lads that will need to drive it on for next year and hopefully we can find a few more players to emerge to push beyond performances to results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,093 ✭✭✭Asdfgh2020

Does anyone else think the waterford panel every season seems to have a disproportionate amount of injury prone players……..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭gunners200

Very good performance. Mark fitz just ain’t a full back play the man at 6 alredi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 handy_out

Definitely! I touched on it in my previous post. I believe two of our starting defenders could be controversially dropped next year. Peter would get serious questions over it but we’d very likely not have those players available when it matters anyway… so isn’t it wiser to plan that way? Fully fit players over injured lads any day for me! (Bennett and Aussie being exceptions but you need a fit stable defense)

On Dalo… shocking comment. Limerick put to the pin of their collar for an hour and that’s his analysis?? And RTE slowing down Aussie’s finger wag too. It was a completely irrelevant moment. I hope he’ll make a big deal of Tony Kelly fist pumping the stand next time Clare lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭seananigans

conor prunty is injured,not a whole lot we can do about it, Aussie played there before so maybe could be a candidate or at least first backup once we have conor back . We definitely need a better backup plan for next year , christ even get barry out of retirement if he will do it

Barry Coughlan isn’t even playing club hurling any more. Surely you can’t be serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭914

Ah here, seriously.

Call back a lad who isn't even playing club hurling, that's one way to prepare for the future alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 rondo saint

Waterford should have 6 points should have won in ennis and also should have beaten tipp and cork yesterday was not there downfall.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,790 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Austin Gleeson really did have so much potential as a hurler. For whatever reasons he never really fulfilled on it so far imo. It's sad for both himself and Waterford.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Is anyone else getting sick to death of complaining

https://www.rte.ie/sport/hurling/2026/0518/1573927-waterford-schedule-sticks-in-shanahans-craw/

""The bigger fish always get the break. We don't get any breaks," said Shanahan. "We haven't had any luck with them decisions. As long as this competition has been going on, we've never had a home game last."

Regarding Dan's point, the previous two campaigns, our opening two games were at home, win both and the 3rd and 4th game probably don't matter. I think have both opening games at home is a far greater advantage.

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaa/hurling/queally-waterford-fans-should-be-watching-the-dessie-hutchinsons-and-the-mark-fitzgeralds-not-the-soccer-world-cup/a/151880350.html

"Waterford fans should be watching the Dessie Hutchinsons and the Mark Fitzgeralds – not the soccer World Cup"

Regarding Peter's point, they can watch the dessie's and Fitz's, club championship will be in full swing, and they can see them in the flesh, meet them after the game.

I grew up and played hurling as a kid/teen throughout the 80s and 90s, when Waterford played one championship game most years. It never dampened my flame for hurling.

I had Waterford idols, other county idols and club idols. I wanted to be the next Nicky English or DJ Carey (I wasn't good enough but it didn't stop me dreaming).

Once hurling is giving proper air time and kids get to see intercounty games on the telly it will inspire them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭JD. 60

The show is over lads.

We'll do it all again next year. Keep the Faith.

Oh i Dunno , i reckon you're a bit better than DJ …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭cbwfd

No issue with the complaining as it absoloutely is a ridiculous system. Condensed, imbalanced, rushed and up until this year 2 Joe McDonagh teams were given a free pass to the AI series that every other team had to fight tooth and nail for. Granted they have changed that this year but more needs to be done. I mentioned here before that a 4th team should qualify from both provinces and was told it would lead to more dead rubber games. I argued the contrary and Munster this year proves that.

I don't believe we had a problem with the previous provincial knockout setup where if you lost you were into the qualifiers. The likelihood of Waterford playing Kilkenny or Waterford playing Wexford in championship hurling is way down now and I think its a shame and a huge loss as over the years some of these qualifier games were novel and brilliant spectacles. I foresee this round robin setup getting stale if it has not done so already.

I agree it needs changing/tweaking but for the past 2-3 years it has been a "poor us" kind of arguement.

Unfortunately when you can't qualify like us, even with the best intentions in the world it will come across and be portrayed as "poor us, it needs to change to suit us"

I think there are better ways to put across the arguement rather than after defeat or failure to qualify.

Well you could do top 4 qualify from both provinces . as all Ireland quarter finals

Home advantage for provincial winners.

1st Vs 4th , 2nd vs 3rd . straight knockout,no replays

repeat pairings to be avoided .

You'd never get leinster to vote for it mind as the odds of an all Munster AIF go up massively ,with every leinster team expected to win 1/2 matches against munster opposition to make an AI .

For 20 years you had a system when your beaten in the Munster championship your then back into the AI series through the back door, now they’ve changed it and given so much more power back to the provincial championships that you get no ticket into the AI series when your out of Munster. It just feels like a massive step backwards for us because we’re stuck in purgatory in this annual group of death. I do think we’ve had no luck whatsoever with injuries and certain decisions going against us but the bottom line is we’re still just that bit short of the other 4 counties and that has been fairly consistent as results show over the past few years.
    personally I think Queally has done a fantastic job and if anything he has us punching above our weight a bit going toe to toe with the other Munster counties. The man has Waterford hurling running through his veins and the passion he has is is clear with how much the players have put in for him over the past 2 years.
    Unfortunately it’s a results business and I wouldn’t be surprised to see him step away. His interview was interesting he said ‘he hopes this group of lads stick together whatever happens’ talking like a fan again rather than their manager. Queally is a competitor and no mug and won’t want to go a third term with similar heartbreak of just missing out on qualifying again.

I hope I’m wrong as I think we need to hold onto him if we can I think we’ll be very close with him again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭gunners200

wouldn’t say he has done a fantastic job now we got relegated from division 1 Havnt won a game since February and have gotten 3 points out of 16 in two years. If I’m not mistaken in Davy fitz last year didn’t we equal that point tally in one championship. Just missing out on qualifying we got one point

He is also honest head, I have no doubt he had planned two qualify out of munster within the two years and the fact he didn't has him deflated and hence why he is saying he hope's the lads stick together as he himself would feel he has let himself, the panel, the board and the county down as you know he is the kinda fella who holds himself accountable.

I am sure if he takes a few weeks as does the county board to let things settle, review with clear heads, both Peter and the board will come to their own honest conclusions.

The few weeks allows him to reset and see if he has it in him to go again, as the time and effort these lads put in is off the charts, especially balancing it all with work, family and other commitments, especially when you are not winning it must be mentally and physically draining.

Just my opinion, Personally I think he’s been a brilliant manager for this group. But like I said also, it’s a results business and we just haven’t been quite good enough. so won’t be surprised if he goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭5948ai

You have nailed it on the head with "we’re stuck in purgatory in this annual group of death" sums it up perfectly. We are just that bit short but not having a chance to regroup against a similar quality opposition in Leinster for example is a bit soul destroying. Unfortunately if this losing run continues it will turn people away from the game. I definitely can see a reduction in interest in hurling with my wider group of friends over the last couple of years.

In relation to the championship structure, the format currently falls off after a couple of rounds. Quarter finals have now become low key affairs for some reason recently. I know people will think I'm saying this because we haven't qualified but genuinely even if we had, the structure is just not right. I mean the league is meaningless now. Why couldn't a provincial and all Ireland series be introduced as a replacement!