Ireland Team Talk XII: Farrell's First Fifteen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,008 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

The best no 10, by far, is Sam Prendergast's potential. Nobody holds a candle to SP's potential, not even Sam Prendergast.

I'm only half joking about that. I think the other players are being compared to how good people think SP could be if he sorted out his aversion to contact and his goal kicking.

Crowley isn't world class, but he's the best actual option we have. Harry has had some very good performances, but yesterday wasn't good for him.

I'd love if Frawley has a good run at Connacht and puts himself in contention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭almostover

Let me spell it out for you, the clear no.1 choice at 10 as evidenced by his selection for the final 3 Six nations games remains the best choice. His goal kicking is no worse than the alternatives. His defence is significantly better than the alternatives and his attack is on par with the alternatives despite playing for a team that is regularly bested up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭DBK1

He’s the best of a bad lot, no doubting that at the minute, but none of them are good enough at present.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭shinana abu

Byrne best off the tee..🤔🤔🤔 not under pressure. .

I agree, none of them are world class. Crowley is good enough for international level. Prendergast would be too if he could sort out his defense. Byrne I'm not so sure.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,424 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Yeah best of an average group. we dont have a stand out clear first choice 10. no

none are near world class but very few 10s are. Would agree about Crowley being a good international 10. Yes about Prendergast but its a big if if he can properly sort his defensive issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,038 ✭✭✭50HX

No doubt Sam P has talent i'd love to see him sort out his defence.

This is not to sh1t on him but until he sorts that out then he should be nowhere near an international team.

That's successive CC semi finals he's been caught out flapping like a seagull in a tackle that led to a try.

I can't see how his team mates can fully trust him as a link in the defensive line.

If Leinster want to persist with him & balance that risk of his defense then thats fine but not at Test level please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,974 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I don't agree that Crowley is ahead of the rest by a distance. I don't think there's much between him and Byrne. I do agree that Leinster would live to have a better 10.

I'm not sure Frawley will get much time at 10 with Connacht. I always thought he might be better if he got a decent run of games at the position but Sean Naughton has broken through now and looks like the future 10 for Connacht.

Indeed Naughton might be the next 10 for Ireland. He's a bit conservative at the minute but he's an excellent kicker both out of hand and at goal. Lancaster started him at fullback this year before he moved to 10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭big-al

pretty obvious that Crowley is the standout outhalf in Irish rugby.

Prendergast is a few levels below him and has been a massive liability in defence and Byrne is also flakey.

Crowley may not be world class, (nether was ROG, despite what the Irish media told people) but there is daylight between him
    and the rest ATM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,863 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

it wasnt just the irish media. erc named him the best player of the first 15 years of the heineken cup. rugby world had him as the second best 10 in the world behind dan carter in 2007. maybe not across his whole career but there was definitely a time where he was world class

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭ersatz

Sure, he had a couple of seasons where he was imperious, but ROG always had holes in his game. He was surrounded by a fantastic team in Munster and Ireland and played the kind of game that worked phenomenally well with that group. Coaches knew exactly what they had in him and planned accordingly. He was also a very intelligent player and made the most of whatever opportunities there were on the field, also an excellent leader. He was a 3 times Lions tourist who won only 2 caps, both off the bench iirc. That's a fair indication of how he staked up against his peers.

world class doesnt mean having an absolutely prefect all round game though, much as i agree with most of the rest of what you are saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,622 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Out of the 8 or 9 nations to poll, while he was playing, he was generally the 4th or 5th best OH in world. In Europe, he would've been behind Wilkonson, Michelak, Jones and later on Sexton and Farrell. I don't think he could ever be said to have been ahead of the NZ OHs, be they Merhtens, Spencer, Carter or Barrett. I think he was better than his contemporaries with Australia and South Africa, and behind his Argentinian peers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭big-al

he wasn’t better than Larkham or Quade Cooper

absolute revisionist history going on here im sorry

saying michalak was a better 10 is a bit of a joke. im not as big a fan of JW as others are so he wouldnt be as far ahead of ROG in my opinion but i will conceded he was better in general when fit (which is a big proviso in JW's case). he and stephen jones were on par overall, with SJ benefitting on lions tours in having the standout 9s being welsh (and 12 in 2009). i think the fact that ROG barely played test rugby for the lions is a bit bizarre but sometimes the timing doesnt work out

sexton obviously kicked on to becoming world class later in his career but he was up and down before ROG retired so i would have had them equal enough while they were both playing. Farrell similar in that he went onto becoming a fantastic player but that was after ROG retired

carter is carter and he was clearly the best 10 in the world (and ever imo), but there was a period where ROG was second to him. I was a fan of mehrtens so id have him up there with ROG (maybe even ahead of him at his best). spencer was a good player but was never anywhere near world class. BB is a much better rugby player than ROG (and most of the other 10s mentioned here) but thats as a 'player' rather than a 10 - hes gotten much better at the nuts and bolts of a 10 recently though

quade cooper - not even going to dignify that with a response to be honest, a poor mans carlos spencer

larkham was probably better that ROG for most of his career, his bad luck with injuries and slight dip in form coincided with when ROG was at his best

the argentinians - some great players but the only one that would compare to ROG was contepomi and ROG was better overall. quesada was good but nothing amazing, JM Hernandez had a great rwc in 2007 at 10 but barely played there after that and was better suited elsewhere, todeschini had a few good games but wouldnt be in the conversation

SA had poor 10s for alot of ROG's career, much as i liked morne steyn and butch james was a solid player - wouldnt say either were world class though

diego dominguez was up there with the best during his career but his didnt have that much overlap with ROG's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,862 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Would agree with most of the post above - Cooper and Michalak were mercurial - great to watch on a good day (but extremely flaky). Don't think there's any daylight between Jones being ahead of ROG.

Also, if Lions tour test appearances are the bar - didn't James Ryan only get his first and only test start last year… but we're repeatedly told on here he's world class… so…?

Post edited by leakyboots on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,974 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Did you see Cooper play? Awful goalkicker and not great kicking to touch either.

I still loved to watch him play particularly when he was with the Reds beside Will Genia.

He wasn't a great out-half though, ROG was miles ahead of him.

Larkham was very in and out too, just inconsistent.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 33,849 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

but we're repeatedly told on here he's world class

Are we though?

The definition of "world class" is pointlessly vague anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 885 ✭✭✭darkened_scrum

More desperate whataboutery.

"Whaa what about James Ryan", are we serious 😂

Post edited by darkened_scrum on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,622 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

The biggest detriment for ROG in comparison to the lads mentioned was his defense and lack of pace. He was very good at controlling an attack and creating gaps to put runners through, but offered little himself with ball in hand. His defense more than anything cost him on Lions tours, no coach would accept his short comings there if they didn't have to, and that was born out over the years. I don't think any of the leading nations would've selected him ahead of their own options. Saying he was 2nd to Carter at one point is an extremely rose tinted view of things. I don't think he was ever in that echelon of player. Sexton is the only OH we've had in the professional era who was genuinely world class, and I'd have him as arguably the best NH outhalf of all time personally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,652 ✭✭✭P.Walnuts

The " something said bad about Munster player, must equate it to a Leinster player" is really exhausting, do you honestly not get sick of it yourself?

In many ways ROG and Sam P have exactly the same weaknesses. Weak defenders and lacking pace. ROG also had the goal kicking yips early on in his career. He had a very poor day in the HC final against Northampton in 2000 and if he brought his shooting boots that day Munster could have stolen an unlikely win. If Sam equals ROGs record and becomes as good as ROG was then we'll all be very happy. Currently that's a big if.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Packrat

I'd beg to differ.

Rog had a poor tackling technique which he somewhat corrected over his career, but lacked pace and bulk to make them effective.

SP either doesn't WANT to tackle or is AFRAID to for whatever reason, and that isn't going to improve unfortunately unless he can get his head right and then learn it from scratch which no 23 year old capped international should be doing.

I agree with your distinction, both poor defenders, but for different reasons.

ROG was 5'11" and 83kg (very similar to myself and I'd be murdered on an international rugby pitch). So he lacked the physical strength to tackle, and the pace somewhat.

Sam is 6'4" and 91kg, somewhat lanky but plenty of bulk to do better than he is currently. It's a mentality thing.

ROG often was steamrolled but he committed to his tackles.

Sam has a mental block and doesn't seem to comitt properly.

Jack Crowley is 6'1" and 90kg. Much more powerfully built and goes in with full comittment. He saved Munster an LBP agaisnt Toulon in the pool stage of the CC by holding up a player with a big hit in the line. Fat lot of good it did us in the end but it demonstrates his physical power and willingness to get stuck in.

Just looked up Sexton, 6'2" and 90kg. Was a very strong defender. In fact he often was criticised for getting too stuck in and getting himself concussed.

ROG's defensive frailties appear to have been physical limitations, Sam's more so a mentality issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭Packrat

It was also a somewhat different era when Rog played. Sports science has moved on dramatically. Today he'd still be 5'11 but probably 88kg due to better targeted gym and speed work and measurement of results of said gym/speed work. Commitment which he had in spades would do the rest.

Sexton had an exceptional ability to chop down a ball carrier or to hold him up and smother him if needed. As you say, - often to the detriment of himself and his team.

I didnt like him much, - apart from being Leinster, he doesn't seem friendly or talkative which are attributes I like in a person.

He was a generational talent though, and I'd worry for his future after all the concussions. He served his province and country better than almost any other.

For all the excoriation that ROG gets for the 2nd Lions test in 2009, it's a perfect example of your point. ROG gets concussed trying to tackle Spees, then gets smashed again when trying to tackle Fourie in the corner (a tackle Bowe absolutely shat out of for what it's worth). He was a willing speedbump, rather than an arm flapping turnstile a la Geordan Murphy or Prendergast currently.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,487 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,687 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Have to disagree with your assessment of Larkham. Absolutely world class in the late 90s and early 2000s. His pairing with Gregan was the best in the world for a number of years. I hated them 🤬

Cooper was an outstanding rugby player but very inconsistent. A lot like Finn Russell in his early days. Could win the game but could also lose the game with a brain fart. Often seemed more interested in mouthing off or starting scraps. Very much a confidence player that was easy to rattle. @sprucemoose described him perfectly as a poor man's Spencer.

King Carlos. What a player! Did things no one else would even think of. Bit unlucky with the number of caps he got as Mehrtens was always ahead of him then just as he became first choice, around 2003 RWC, Carter emerged.

Just to add that from an NZ perspective, ROG was never rated as a player. He had no running threat. Also the 6 Nations and Heineken Cup didn't get a lot of viewing in NZ as they were seen as inferior competitions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,296 ✭✭✭FtD v2

ROG's European Cup points scoring record is phenomenal and it's almost impossible to foresee it being caught.

He's on 1,365 points, which is a phenomenal 491 points clear of second place (Owen Farrell on 874 points), with Stephen Jones third (869 points) and Johnny Sexton fourth (784 points).

All three of those guys in 2-4 had long careers playing in the tournament, and Sexton & Farrell won it lots (so playing in a lot of matches every year etc) and they're still miles away. I know more recently there is probably significantly less penalties being kicked etc, but even still it's some gap.

ROG average 12.4 points a game for his entire 110 cap European Cup career (second only to Cian Healy on 114 caps).

Farrell is the only current player in the top 10, and you need 523 points (i.e. 842 points less than ROG) to make 10th place (Leigh Halfpenny).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,862 ✭✭✭leakyboots

Some do, there was reference to it by someone in relation to his rucking over the weekend. He got blown away in a few physical exchanges I felt but worked his socks off.

I'd agree with your second point for sure.

I'm actually just pointing out the bit of silliness behind the idea that the bar of Lions test caps = how ROG stacked up against his peers that is the gauge here. It's very easily flipped like I did there.

(fair play for engaging without resorting to personal comments - some people on here are completely incapable of engaging properly - you can disagree with what someone says, even if you think they're being outlandish, without playing the man)